Format: ebook

Releasing the Demons by L.D. Rose

Posted October 7, 2017 by karenbaron in Fantasy, Guest Post, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Urban, Vampires / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Releasing the Demons by L.D. RoseReleasing the Demons by L. D. Rose
Series: The Order of the Senary #1
Series Rating: four-stars
Published by Soul Mate Publishing on April 28th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General
Pages: 332
Format: ebook
four-stars

Blaze Knight has been through hell and back, but the nightmares aren't over yet. Five years after Blaze was maimed by Cyrus Chimola, a powerful vampire with a penchant for torture, he's still trying to pick up the pieces of his shattered life. As a genetically engineered mercenary with the ability to bend fire to his will and to see in infrared, Blaze's mission is to protect what's left of humanity. When Chimola and his crew return to the Bronx gunning for Blaze's blood, Blaze is forced to face the demons of his past. Hell-bent on revenge, he seeks the help of Valerie Medeiros, an NYPD detective who manages to steal his heart and save his life in more ways than one. Motivated by her sister's gruesome death, Valerie has made it her life's goal to bury every vampire in the ground where they belong. When she brings in Blaze Knight for suspected murder, she discovers he's not only innocent, he isn't a man at all-he's a half-vampire hybrid working with a band of brothers for the U.S. military. Valerie has a hard time trusting anything with fangs, yet she quickly falls headlong into Blaze's life, a life full of darkness and horror she can't even begin to fathom. The bodies are stacking up, but Valerie can't seem to let go of this hybrid, a beautiful monster filled with pain, rage, and passion unlike anything she's ever known. In a world where the line between good and evil is blurred, Blaze and Valerie will find danger at every turn, risking everything they've come to know and love, including one another.

Releasing the Demons by L.D. Rose was dark but filled with light.

Things that I liked:

  • Blaze isn’t perfect on the outside or inside, but he kept it together and truly tried to be whom his family needed him to be
  • Blaze’s power, fire is very compelling
  • Valerie is strong and trust mostly her own instinct but she is willing to trust Blaze
  • The romance worked out great not one of the love at first sight type of books
  • The setting of New York City, with parts closed off and in ruin.
  • I really like the Ms. Rose’s descriptions, it made the story so fluid in my mind
  • The concept. I really loved, the dark and light, humanity and strong characters

I think this is an excellent start to a new series. It is a little on the dark side but that is part of the draw. The characters are witty, scarred and full of life. The Order of the Senary, seems to hold many secrets along with its collection of oversized men and their abilities. However, that mansion might needs a bit of the feminine touch.

My rating is 4 stars. I really enjoyed the story and I am looking forward to starting the next book in the Order of the Senary series, Black Bullet.

**Where to find Releasing the Demons**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

four-stars

About L. D. Rose

L.D. Rose is a neurotic physician by day, crazed writer by night, and all around wannabe superhero. She writes dark paranormal romance and urban fantasy, but she’s been known to delve into horror, sci-fi, and medical suspense on occasion. L.D. Rose is a PAN member of the RWA, FF&P, NEC-RWA and CoLoNY. She currently lives in Rhode Island with her studly hubby, her hyperactive Boxer, and her two devious cats.

(Taken directly from L.D. Rose’s website)


Sweet Reality by Laura Heffernan

Posted September 5, 2017 by karenbaron in Contemporary Romance, Guest Post, Review, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sweet Reality by Laura HeffernanSweet Reality by Laura Heffernan
Series: Reality Star #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Kensington on September 5th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Contemporary Women, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 272
Format: ebook
five-stars

SUGAR, SEA SALT, AND SHOW BIZ   Jen Reid’s life after walking off a reality show has been great—she’s gone from being a broke twenty-four-year-old Seattleite with no love life and no job to the twenty-five-year-old who got the guy, moved to Miami, and is starting a bakery with her best friend. She thinks her showmance boyfriend might be about to propose. And with mouthwatering goodies based on everyone’s favorite shows, her business, Sweet Reality, is destined for success.   That is, until a killer competitor opens right across the street. If she’s going to save Sweet Reality, Jen has to come up with a secret ingredient—like the recipe that won the Totally 80s Bake-Off. Jen can get it—if she steps back into the spotlight. Soon she and her boyfriend are out to sea on a cruise ship full of reality stars, including her nemesis, Ariana; her lying, cheating ex; and some wicked producers looking to bring the drama. Separate cabins, “surprises” from her past, and scenarios tailor-made to spark fights are just the beginning. But with her self-respect, her business, and her future on the line, the fallout from this made-for-TV plotline will be all too real . . .   Praise for America’s Next Reality Star   “Smart, witty, and really freaking good, America’s Next Reality Star is a fun read that has you cheering from the first paragraph through the last page.” —Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal bestselling author   “Reality TV fans, this is your book! Laura Heffernan captures all the drama and over-the-top craziness in this fun and flirty romance.” —Amy E. Reichert, author of Love, Luck, and Lemon Pie   America’s Next Reality Star is one sweet, sexy brain-candy read! You won’t be sorry you indulged.” —Leah Marie Brown

A romantic cruise, some cupcakes and friends, what a delicious thought.

Sweet Reality by Laura Heffernan is the second addition of the Reality Star Series and it is great. Jen and Justin are dealing with family problems, a bar exam, a new bakery business, money, and trying to make time for their own relationship. Sounds normal, right? Now add in a offer of a free ocean cruise. This is just what they needed, time to themselves, beautiful scenarios, free publicity for the bakery and no cost to them. There has to be a catch, right?

They will be part of a new reality show called Real Ocean: Caribbean. Jen and Justin have a great relationship and being on a ship with all this negative feedback and people with different agendas really plays with their personal insecurities. On the ship we meet lots of reality stars from the other shows, this doesn’t promote warm fuzzy feeling between Jen and Justin.

It was nice to see some faces from the Fishbowl, like Rachel and Ed. It was nice for Jen to have that little backup that she needed. Justin was a little surprising, he did some things that seemed out of character. Oh, let’s not forget the return of Ariana, she was back in all her glory or was she? Then we meet some other reality stars, I will let you learn about them yourself.

I wanted to mention that I don’t actually watch reality tv (anymore), that being said I love this series. I think it appeals to me because even though they are on a reality show, we as readers get to see how the Network manipulates the stars and the viewers. Not to mention, it is easy root for Jen. Oh, you will never in a million years figure out the secret ingredient in Tammy Rae’s cupcakes. Crazy!

My rating is 5 stars. I loved this book this book as much as the first one, America’s Next Reality Star. Thank you Ms. Heffernan for such an awesome story, I read this book in a day. Yes, it is that fabulous! Please keep writing Ms. Heffernan.

**Where to find Sweet Reality**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Laura Heffernan

Laura Heffernan is living proof that watching too much TV can pay off: AMERICA’S NEXT REALITY STAR, the first book in the REALITY STAR series, is coming from Kensington’s Lyrical Press in March 2017. When not watching total strangers participate in arranged marriages, drag racing queens, or cooking competitions, Laura enjoys travel, baking, board games, helping with writing contests, and seeking new experiences. She lives in the northeast with her amazing husband and two furry little beasts.

 Some of Laura’s favorite things include goat cheese, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Battlestar Galactica, the Oxford comma, and ice cream. Not all together. The best place to find her is usually on Twitter, where she spends far too much time tweeting about writing, Canadian chocolate, and reality TV. Follow her @LH_Writes or visit www.lauraheffernan.com for more information.


Beyond Death by Deb McEwan

Posted August 6, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Death, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghosts, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural / 1 Comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Beyond Death by Deb McEwanBeyond Death (Afterlife, #1) by Deb McEwan
Published by Createspace on June 18th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 190
Format: ebook
four-stars

A DEAD WOMAN'S STORY
“With so many supernatural tales on the shelves it’s hard to find something genuinely original yet Beyond Death fits the description well, with author Deb McEwan bringing a distinctive new voice to this ever popular genre.” Book Viral
What really happens when we die? Twenty-something Claire Sylvester is about to find out. The morning after the best night of her life she is taken before her time.
Claire is suspended in her strange new world. She watches as the secret lives of those she loves unravels, and sadistic villains are punished on the road to their own personal hell.
All the while a higher authority ponders her ultimate fate.
More than Claire knows depends on her actions and those of the unlikely partner who accompanied her on her journey.
What will be her final destination?
Beyond Death - a supernatural thriller of love and loss, deceit and revenge, with a little romance and humour.

My take on this book:              Beyond Death by Deb McEwan is a pretty interesting read. What first caught my interest is the plot then the book cover. The plot was well-crafted and made me interested in reading the book. Since this book isn’t what I normally read and everyone who knows me and has read this blog knows that. I do know that this is bad to say but I also sometimes judge a book by its cover but not all the time. Anyways I’m giving this book a four-star rating because it did keep me entertained but it did have something keeping it from being five stars.

One of those things is how the first act seemed a bit choppy especially with introducing so many characters at first in the beginning and then not seeing them again until the middle act. She did have a lot of subplots going on and she did finish them all up which is a good thing. Ms. McEwan is a pretty good author and a bit of the book seemed like it still needed some work to truly be a good book. What I mean by that like she could have gone back to reread it and make sure that it flowed nicely with the rest of the book.

All the character in the book were very well developed and I liked them all. Even the ones that are evil because of how well developed they all are. I especially liked the transformations of Claire, Ken, and Ron. Claire because she did it the most. She died at a young age and has to go through with the fact that she isn’t alive anymore and that she needs to let go and forgive the people that she loves down on Earth. Ken also did the most as well. He was first introduced as a bad guy and then he died. He has been going through more of a tough time than Claire and Ron ever did since dying and he is hoping to redeem himself. Ron kind of did as well. The reason for that is because he is also trying to learn to let go and forgive the people that he loves down on Earth while trying to figure out if he should do a hard thing at the end of the book.

I do recommend this book to my more adult readers of this blog if they are interested in this book. Beyond Death is a good book and I am glad that the author contacted me to read it. I am also at this moment unsure if I will be reading the rest of this series.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

four-stars

About Deb McEwan

Following a career of over thirty years in the British Army, Deb and her husband moved to Cyprus to become weather refugees.

She’s written children’s books about Jason the penguin and Barry the reindeer and adult books about aliens, the afterlife, soldiers, and netball players.
The first book in the latest series ‘Unlikely Soldiers’ is set in nineteen seventies Britain. The second covers the early eighties and includes the Falklands War, service in Northern Ireland and (the former) West Germany. ‘Friends and Revenge’ is the third in the series, and takes a sinister turn of events.

‘Court Out (A Netball Girls’ Drama)’ is Deb’s latest book. Using netball as an escape from her miserable home life, Marsha Lawson is desperate to keep the past buried and to forge a brighter future. But she’s not the only one with secrets. When two players want revenge, a Tsunami of emotions is released at a tournament leaving destruction in its wake. As the wave starts spreading throughout the team, can Marsha and the others escape its deadly grasp, or will their emotional baggage pull them under, with devastating consequences for their families and team-mates? ‘Court Out’ will be published in August 2017.

Deb spends her time writing, avoiding housework and playing tour guide. She occasionally blogs about her books and (tongue in cheek) from Donut the dog’s point of view. She also tries – and mostly fails – to keep the pounds off.


Links by Lisa Becker

Posted August 1, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Fiction, Review, Romance / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Links by Lisa BeckerLinks by Lisa Becker
Published by Desert Breeze Publishing on August 1st 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 197
Format: ebook
five-stars

Charlotte Windham, a nerdy high school prodigy who tutored classmates to earn money for college, escapes her geeky past to become a celebrated novelist. During a chance encounter at a Los Angeles restaurant 15 years after high school, she reconnects with her secret crush, Garrett Stephens, the popular star athlete and teen heart breaker. Garrett, still leaving broken hearts in his wake, is now a successful professional golfer who recently suffered a possible career-ending shoulder injury. As he and Charlotte spend time together, developing a friendship based on mutual respect and comfortable companionship, can Charlotte forgive the past and can Garrett reform his lothario ways for a chance at love?

My take on this book: Links by Lisa Becker is another wonderful book. Ms. Becker is a wonderful author that can transport you into her stories, that once you leave you just want to hop right back into it to keep on living with the amazing characters.

Speaking of amazing characters, I felt like I was best friends with both Garrett Stephens and Charlotte Windham. Granted I probably felt more like a best friend to Charlotte more than Garrett but seeing from both sides of their perspective in this book made it seem like anyone could be friends with both of them.

Charlotte Windham is the main character, and the main female lead, of this book and she, is such a wonderful character. She makes you fall in love with her and want to be her best friend. The entire time of this book she knew about Garrett’s past of being a player back in high school and thought he was the same now that they are adults especially, due to the number of girlfriends that he has had. She also changed from what she looked like in high school but she never really got over her insecurities. She was still thinking that Garrett is the same boy that she had a crush on back in high school without realizing that he was doing things with her that he has never done with any of his past girlfriends at all. She took a while to figure out that she was worth his attention and love. It was wonderful to see her open herself up to those possibilities.

Garrett Stephens is the main male lead of this book and he is also such a wonderful character. At first, you hate him for not realizing that Charlotte is there in his house and then to also not recognize her when we are in his first perspective. He would be clueless if his sister didn’t tell him. The further you get into the story, though, the more you realize that oh hey he isn’t that such of a bad guy. I especially liked when he wants to protect Charlotte from all the harm that has happened to her when he wasn’t around. He tries to protect her now from anyone that doesn’t want to say anything nice to her. I also truly enjoyed Garrett changing and trying to be a good person for Charlotte. It was like I was there watching the story unfold.

The copy I received had some mistakes here and there with words being in the wrong spot or the author’s editor made a change that wasn’t taken out before it was sent as the was an ARC copy. Besides those things, which weren’t bad enough to take me out of the book. The words just fixed themselves in my head.

I am giving this book a five-star review because it was totally awesome and I am still having a little bit of a book hangover over as it was that good.

Links by Lisa Becker was such an awesome book and I can’t wait to read another book by Ms. Becker. She is an outstanding author and an even better storyteller that makes you, at least for me, feel like you are a part of the book and hanging out with her characters.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

five-stars

About Lisa Becker

Lisa had endured her share of hilarious and heinous cyber dates, many of which inspired Click: An Online Love Story, Double Click and Right Click. The books, about a young woman’s search for love online in Los Angeles, have been called, “a fast read that will keep you entertained,” “a fun, quick read for fans of Sex and the City,” and “hard to put down.” The first in the series has now been optioned for a major motion picture.

She’s written bylined articles about online dating and has been featured in Cupid’s Pulse, Garmental.com, TV Grapevine, GalTime.com, Single Edition, Career 2.0, The Perfect Soulmate, Chick Lit Central and numerous other book blogs and websites.

A former public relations professional, Lisa has worked with some of the biggest consumer companies in the world including McDonald’s, Ford, Sony and Gatorade. She’s also a former college professor, teaching public relations and communications classes at University of Southern California and Oglethorpe University.

As Lisa’s grandmother used to say, “for every chair, there’s a tush.” Lisa is now happily married to a wonderful man she met online and lives in Manhattan Beach with him and their two daughters. So, if it happened for her, there’s hope for anyone!


The Book Before Revelations by Daniel Manning

Posted July 20, 2017 by karenbaron in Adventure, Angels, Death, Demons, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal People, Review, Romance / 0 Comments

The Book Before Revelations by Daniel ManningThe Book Before Revelations by Daniel Broken Manning
on December 21st 2015
Pages: 376
Format: ebook
two-stars

The Book Before Revelations is a modern-day religious fantasy starring angels and demons that wage the ultimate battle. Meet Nate, a young adolescent who has survived nothing but the worst from an abusive family and bullying at school. He meets an angel named Angie, who has experienced similar betrayals in heaven. The two begin to bond on an unusual level. As their friendship grows, Angie hears about an unstoppable war that hell plans to unleash on earth. There is no way heaven stands a chance of victory ... unless the believers on earth can stop it with their heavenly yet human bodies opposing hell's angels and demons. The young boy who was a non-believer begins training one on one with the angel. On Nate and Angie's journey, will they find happiness, love, friends, and peace in a time of war? About the Author: Daniel "BROKeN" Manning is a student and this is his first book. Sequels are in the works. Publisher's website: http: //sbprabooks.com/DanielBROKeNManning Author's Facebook: www.facebook.com/brokentheaurthor101

My take on this book:              Finally after a little bit of a year later from being asked to read this book by the author I am finally able to read it.

Sadly, I have to say that this book is getting a two-star rating from me. The reason for this is because it’s a good idea for a story but something that didn’t really keep me entertained. There were also some grammatical errors and some spelling mistakes. The book wasn’t edited and it definitely shows a lot through the writing. The characters all seem to be really good and exciting to see in action in the book but it also seems a bit rushed during parts of the story.

Overall, this book has a lot of potential. I hope the author to go back, redo some things, add to it a bit and take his time with writing. Especially with the dialogue since I’m not sure that ageless angels would be talking like teenagers but then again who knows what they will sound like. Mr. Daniel Manning has a lot of potential to grow. I will keep my eye on this author’s work as I believe that his books will become great one day.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

two-stars