Series: Aspen Valley

Chasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton

Posted June 5, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Animals, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Horses, Review, Romance, Series, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Chasing the Wind by Hannah HootonChasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton
Series: Aspen Valley #5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Smashwords Edition on January 30th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance
five-stars

Champions are made by the adversities they overcome.
When tragedy strikes Aspen Valley Stables, racehorse trainer Jack Carmichael is in danger of losing everything – his wife, his reputation, his sanity… then in walks Lucy Kendrick, a young reporter, all set to shadow him.
Every journalist has an agenda and Lucy is no different. Can she uphold her cover when charismatic jockey Finn O’Donaghue makes her want to be no one but herself?
The Grand National beckons once more, but when the yard’s runners start to foul fall of the authorities, the future of Aspen Valley Stables is threatened. Is the wreckage that is his personal life compromising Jack’s ability to train or is there something more sinister going on?
***
PRAISE FOR HANNAH HOOTON
‘The literary love child of Dick Francis and Jilly Cooper.’ ***** Christina Jones, bestselling author
‘Evocative imagery and crisp writing sets this story apart from the competition.’ ***** Natalie Keller Reinert, bestselling author
‘The female Dick Francis.’ ***** The Filly Forum

My take in this book:              Chasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton is such a wonderful book that I have been dying to read since I started this book series. These book is about the horse racing but also about two couples, Jack/Pippa and Lucy/Finn, that are trying to find their way back to each other and about starting a relationship. The way back to each other falls with Jack and Pippa whereas starting a relationship is with Lucy and Finn.

Jack and Pippa have been through a lot in this book and through every terrible turn that they went through, I just wanted to jump into the book to help them through it. Thankfully that didn’t have to happen as it ended up being good for the two of them after a lot of time. I felt bad for these two throughout the whole book since they went through losing someone to a strained relationship to almost ending their relationship but thankfully none of that ended up happening. Much like the other relationships in the Aspen Valley series they have a happy ending once again.

Well most relationships, Finn and Tash didn’t really get their happy ending, but that’s okay as Finn and Lucy ended up having one. Well one that they tried to avoid at first since Lucy had a boyfriend and that relationship didn’t last very long at all. Finn and Lucy’s relationship has been a very interesting one in the whole series but I ended up loving the two of them together. Lucy is a great addition to the series even if she came into it in the last book.

Chasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton is such a great book that I am giving it a five star rating. This story has made the characters even more real as they deal with the life issues that are thrown at them. I truly felt like I was a part of this wonderful world. I loved this story and I am glad that I had this opportunity to read this series.

Overall I would recommend reading Chasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton to everyone (at least adults to read it, it is a little much for the young adults).

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Hannah Hooton

Hannah Hooton is a multiple award-winning author and screenwriter based in UK.

After splitting with her literary agent to venture into indie-publishing, Hannah burst onto the contemporary romance scene in January 2012 with the release of her debut novel, At Long Odds. This was followed by the Amazon bestselling Aspen Valley series, which charts the lives, loves and dramas of a jump racing yard.

The inspiration for her novels came while combining her wanderlust with her love of horseracing when travelling around Australia and working from one racing stable to the next as a strapper (not to be confused with stripper) and the exuberant imagination of a girl with an empty purse and a passion for a very expensive sport.

Giving Chase was the winner of Best International Romance at the Some Kind of Wonderful Awards in 2012, one place better than Keeping the Peace finished the year before.
Share and Share Alike won the ARU Katy Price Prize 2014 and finished runner-up in the RWA Marlene Contest 2014.

Recently graduating from Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge with First Class Honours, Hannah was also awarded the McCleod Prize for finishing top of her year.

Hannah balanced her time at university writing her novels and improving her craft, but also learning the art of screenwriting. To date, Hannah has completed three screenplays (one of which sparked her abrupt change in career to return to university as a mature student just so she could learn how to write it properly), all of which received critical praise and first class marks. The feature-length script, Incarnate, is a science fiction WW2 drama with romantic elements, a world – quite literally – away from Hannah’s comfort zone of horse racing romances.


Making the Running by Hannah Hooton

Posted June 4, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Animals, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Horses, Romance, Series, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Making the Running by Hannah HootonMaking the Running by Hannah Hooton
Series: Aspen Valley #4
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Smashwords Edition on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 462
Format: Kindle
five-stars

On the surface of things, life for stable lass, Kate Creswell, looks rosy. Wealthy boyfriend, Nicholas, is a text-book example of the perfect partner, and her ambition to lead up at Cheltenham Festival is set to come true with her favourite horse, d'Artagnan.
But dig a little deeper and things aren’t quite so blissful. There’s the small task of keeping her mother's alcoholism a secret from Nicholas's well-to-do family. What about Nicholas’s dislike of d’Artagnan’s jockey, Ben de Jager? Could there be something more sinister to Ben's ability to be a good loser, and could their Gold Cup bid be in jeopardy?
A lot of things can change between flag fall and finish line. Nothing is a certainty. Not in life, not in racing, and not in love.
‘A modern day Jilly Cooper.’ ***** Gallops & Garlands
‘By far my favourite equestrian novel I’ve read.’ ***** LB Equestrian
‘The balance between simplicity of describing a race and giving my imagination enough fuel to see the horses jumping was perfect.’ ***** The Rubber Curry Comb

My take on this book:              Making the Running by Hannah Hooton is another great book of horse racing, from the Aspen Valley Series, by this wonderful author. This one focuses on Kate, a stable lass at Aspen Valley, and her, recently, complicated love life with two half-brothers, Nicholas and Ben. Kate has never really felt pretty or beautiful when she is standing or sitting next to her younger sister, Saskia, who she practically raised by herself because her mom was not really there and her dad was never around.

Kate’s life is pretty much complicated all the way around, between her complicated home life and dealing with two half-brothers’ that she might be in love with, but isn’t sure which. Kate has tried to keep her personal life away from her work life and it has been going very well for her. Although working with her sister is extremely trying at times..

She has mostly been keeping the secret of her mom’s alcoholism to herself, along with trying to keep her youngest brother in school and whatnot. Mostly she didn’t want Nicholas and his parents to dislike her or her family just because of her mom’s drinking problem. Kate tried to fit herself into Nicholas’ life while disliking what he was doing to d’Artagnan, the horse she takes care of, so that The Whistler could win.

Ben, d’Artagnan’s jockey and half-brother to Nicholas, didn’t like what was going on with the horse either but that is what he does for his dad. Ben thought he liked Saskia at first, which is why Kate went after Nicholas, but after a while he realized around the same time as Kate that he liked her and she liked him. Kate and Ben have been on a rollercoaster of feelings since they first met to the very ending of the book.

Making the Running by Hannah Hooton is such a good book that I’m giving it a five butterflies rating because it is that good.

Overall I would recommend reading Making the Running by Hannah Hooton to everyone (at least adults to read it, it is a little much for the young adults).

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Hannah Hooton

Hannah Hooton is a multiple award-winning author and screenwriter based in UK.

After splitting with her literary agent to venture into indie-publishing, Hannah burst onto the contemporary romance scene in January 2012 with the release of her debut novel, At Long Odds. This was followed by the Amazon bestselling Aspen Valley series, which charts the lives, loves and dramas of a jump racing yard.

The inspiration for her novels came while combining her wanderlust with her love of horseracing when travelling around Australia and working from one racing stable to the next as a strapper (not to be confused with stripper) and the exuberant imagination of a girl with an empty purse and a passion for a very expensive sport.

Giving Chase was the winner of Best International Romance at the Some Kind of Wonderful Awards in 2012, one place better than Keeping the Peace finished the year before.
Share and Share Alike won the ARU Katy Price Prize 2014 and finished runner-up in the RWA Marlene Contest 2014.

Recently graduating from Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge with First Class Honours, Hannah was also awarded the McCleod Prize for finishing top of her year.

Hannah balanced her time at university writing her novels and improving her craft, but also learning the art of screenwriting. To date, Hannah has completed three screenplays (one of which sparked her abrupt change in career to return to university as a mature student just so she could learn how to write it properly), all of which received critical praise and first class marks. The feature-length script, Incarnate, is a science fiction WW2 drama with romantic elements, a world – quite literally – away from Hannah’s comfort zone of horse racing romances.


Share and Share Alike by Hannah Hooton

Posted June 3, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Animals, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Horses, Review, Romance, Series, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Share and Share Alike by Hannah HootonShare and Share Alike by Hannah Hooton
Series: Aspen Valley #3
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Aspen Valley Books on August 2nd 2014
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 314
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Finalist in the Washington Writers Marlene Contest 2014. Tessa thought buying a share in the dysfunctional Ta' Qali Racehorse Syndicate would be the perfect distraction from a life best forgotten. Some are willing to distract her with words of woo, while others are able to distract her with just a nonchalant look. But neither Hugh's flirtations nor Sin's disregard are diversion enough when their horse, Ta' Qali, is found deliberately injured. Someone close is responsible and Tessa finds herself questioning the innocence of everyone around her. With his nobbler still at large, the race is on to get Ta' Qali fit and on course in time to prove himself the champion Tessa's always believed him to be. But he isn't the only one up against the clock. Love is threatening to leave without her; and win, lose or draw, Tessa's in for the ride of her life...

My take on this book:              Wow this book was so good. It had me by the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading it. I am giving this book five stars because it is so good. Tessa Hawkesbury-Loye is the only daughter of Lord Hawkesbury-Loye and the only kid he dislikes currently. Tessa has always been a free spirit and one that doesn’t like the way that her mother used to treat everyone else in a snobby way. Tessa has traveled to a whole lot of different places and from one of those places she found out that she had a talent with making jewelry and started her jewelry business. While she was on those trips though she didn’t do so well in the dating department and doesn’t really know what to do about it anymore.

She meets F.D. Sinclair at the Aspen Valley Racing Stables showing of the horses and he is just so mysterious for her. Tessa makes a lot of assumptions of Sin (as he likes to be called Sin instead of F.D.) throughout the book. She also listens to rumors about things Sin did. Tessa having formed a opinion of him, wouldn’t hang out with Sin all that much. All the while this is happening the whole Ta’ Qali Racehorse Syndicate is being followed by TV cameras for their reality TV show but that is only on things that are revolving around their horse Ta’ Qali.

While all of that is happening someone nobbled their horse so that Ta’ Qali couldn’t race anymore and of course that brought a whole investigation that centers around the whole Syndicate as suspects in their own horse’s nobbling. Even though a whole bunch of them fell of the suspects list. This whole thing with Ta’ Qali was the biggest mystery in the whole book and I thought I knew who it was. I was so totally wrong about my assumption. However. I was kept guessing right along with Tessa and everyone else. They did catch the guy thankfully to Tessa’s smart idea of entering him into another race. Everyone in this book gets a happy ending as well including Ta’ Qali.

Overall I would recommend reading Share and Share Alike by Hannah Hooton to everyone (at least adults to read it, it is a little much for the young adults).

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Hannah Hooton

Hannah Hooton is a multiple award-winning author and screenwriter based in UK.

After splitting with her literary agent to venture into indie-publishing, Hannah burst onto the contemporary romance scene in January 2012 with the release of her debut novel, At Long Odds. This was followed by the Amazon bestselling Aspen Valley series, which charts the lives, loves and dramas of a jump racing yard.

The inspiration for her novels came while combining her wanderlust with her love of horseracing when travelling around Australia and working from one racing stable to the next as a strapper (not to be confused with stripper) and the exuberant imagination of a girl with an empty purse and a passion for a very expensive sport.

Giving Chase was the winner of Best International Romance at the Some Kind of Wonderful Awards in 2012, one place better than Keeping the Peace finished the year before.
Share and Share Alike won the ARU Katy Price Prize 2014 and finished runner-up in the RWA Marlene Contest 2014.

Recently graduating from Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge with First Class Honours, Hannah was also awarded the McCleod Prize for finishing top of her year.

Hannah balanced her time at university writing her novels and improving her craft, but also learning the art of screenwriting. To date, Hannah has completed three screenplays (one of which sparked her abrupt change in career to return to university as a mature student just so she could learn how to write it properly), all of which received critical praise and first class marks. The feature-length script, Incarnate, is a science fiction WW2 drama with romantic elements, a world – quite literally – away from Hannah’s comfort zone of horse racing romances.


Giving Chase by Hannah Hooton

Posted June 2, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Animals, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Horses, Review, Romance, Series, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Giving Chase by Hannah HootonGiving Chase (Aspen Valley, #2) by Hannah Hooton
Series: Aspen Valley #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Aspen Valley Books on April 1st 2013
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 344
Format: Kindle
five-stars

WINNER OF THE SKoW AWARDS BEST INTERNATIONAL ROMANCE 2012
The highly anticipated follow-up to amazon Sports Fiction Bestseller, Keeping the Peace.
There has only ever been one man in Frankie’s life: her father, Doug Cooper. That is, until she takes the job of amateur jockey at Aspen Valley Racing Stables. Here, in the rolling countryside of southwest England, she crosses paths with star rider, Rhys Bradford. Her crush on him would be made so much simpler if they didn’t both have their hearts set on the same prize: the coveted ride on Grand National favourite, Peace Offering.
In the turbulent run-up to National Hunt’s biggest event, questions are raised. What exactly does Doug have against the Bradfords? Is Rhys playing games with her heart? Will Ta’ Qali show his true potential in time to warrant his place at Aspen Valley? Why do there have to be so many blasted calories in strawberry cheesecake? And lastly, who exactly is Francesca Cooper?
Frankie’s curiosity unearths some long-buried secrets which their keepers would rather remain buried, and on a journey of self-discovery that takes in Britain’s fiercest steeplechase courses, love will prove her costliest stumbling point.

My take on this book:              I am so sorry that it took me a while to finish reading Giving Chase by Hannah Hooton and for doing this review. I am going to be giving this book five stars because it was so worth it. The beginning was a bit slow and I also had to get used to the fact that we are now getting to see with what the race part is like for a jockey.

Francesca (aka Frankie as she likes to be called) Cooper gets hired to work at Aspen Valley Racing Stables which is the same place her late brother used to work at before his death. The day before she went to work for Aspen Valley Racing Stables she had a race against Rhys Bradford and it went good overall. Rhys didn’t mind about her beating him in that one until he learned that she was going to work for the same stable as him. Let’s just say that there was pretty intense glare between the two of them.

Rhys and Frankie were doing okay. If they walked into each others way they would exchange a friendly work related greeting before going their separate ways. We still see Billy, Emmie, Pippa, and Tasha but not as regularly as we did in the first book since Billy and Emmie had their kid whereas Pippa and Tasha still had their jobs back in London or wherever Pippa is currently working at. Before Peace Offering had his first race as Grand National favorite Pippa and Frankie talked. Where Pippa liked Frankie’s reason for winning the Grand National. Rhys and Jack on the other hand didn’t agree, especially Rhys.

After that Rhys didn’t like Frankie very much as he would try to avoid Pippa as much as possible even if it was race day for the both of them. This went on for quite a while before the Christmas party where they got drunk and did some things. After that they’re pretty much a couple until she found out the reason for which he decided to do what he did at the Christmas party. She was quite upset and broke up with him. She was heartbroken after that but it lasted until the Grand National race where they patched things up. Especially in front of her father who didn’t exactly like Rhys and Rhys’s father was there who also didn’t like Frankie’s dad.

Giving Chase by Hannah Hooton is incredibly well-written and I loved every single bit of it. Ms. Hooton makes it where you fall in love with Frankie. You can see yourself as her going through these ups and downs as a jockey, while also falling in love with Rhys. You also see this different side to Rhys which makes you hate him for what he did to Frankie but then Ms. Hooton makes you fall again for him after his conversation with Frankie at the ending of the book.

Overall I would recommend reading Giving Chase by Hannah Hooton to everyone (at least adults to read it, it is a little much for the young adults).

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Hannah Hooton

Hannah Hooton is a multiple award-winning author and screenwriter based in UK.

After splitting with her literary agent to venture into indie-publishing, Hannah burst onto the contemporary romance scene in January 2012 with the release of her debut novel, At Long Odds. This was followed by the Amazon bestselling Aspen Valley series, which charts the lives, loves and dramas of a jump racing yard.

The inspiration for her novels came while combining her wanderlust with her love of horseracing when travelling around Australia and working from one racing stable to the next as a strapper (not to be confused with stripper) and the exuberant imagination of a girl with an empty purse and a passion for a very expensive sport.

Giving Chase was the winner of Best International Romance at the Some Kind of Wonderful Awards in 2012, one place better than Keeping the Peace finished the year before.
Share and Share Alike won the ARU Katy Price Prize 2014 and finished runner-up in the RWA Marlene Contest 2014.

Recently graduating from Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge with First Class Honours, Hannah was also awarded the McCleod Prize for finishing top of her year.

Hannah balanced her time at university writing her novels and improving her craft, but also learning the art of screenwriting. To date, Hannah has completed three screenplays (one of which sparked her abrupt change in career to return to university as a mature student just so she could learn how to write it properly), all of which received critical praise and first class marks. The feature-length script, Incarnate, is a science fiction WW2 drama with romantic elements, a world – quite literally – away from Hannah’s comfort zone of horse racing romances.


Keeping the Peace by Hannah Hooton

Posted May 2, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Animals, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Horses, Review, Romance, Series, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Keeping the Peace by Hannah HootonKeeping the Peace by Hannah Hooton
Series: Aspen Valley #1
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Aspen Valley Books on August 16th 2012
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 380
Format: Kindle
five-stars

London waitress, Pippa Taylor has no interest in horses or country-living. But when she inherits Peace Offering, a hopeless racehorse, she embarks on a career change in order to see her late uncle’s wish to run him in the Grand National come true.
But having talked her way into a job as racing secretary to champion National Hunt trainer, Jack Carmichael and moved to the West Country, Pippa finds herself faced with more daunting obstacles than even the Grand National can throw at her.
Most take the form of Jack, her moody boss. Although easy on the eye, he's certainly not easy on the ear. And after a Christmas they would both rather forget, danger and deception threaten Pippa’s life in the country. As her time at Aspen Valley Racing Stables draws to its conclusion she discovers Peace Offering is not the only thing she must fight to keep.
Amazon Sports Fiction BestsellerRunner-up Best International Romance, SKoW Awards 2010Inducted into the Hall of Fame, A Drop of Romeo

KeepMy take on this book:             Keeping the Peace by Hannah Hooton is just wow. Pippa Taylor is an awesome character and she is just so three-dimensional. We go through this journey with Pippa when she is on her way to Aspen Valley Racing Stables to see the two racehorses that her dearly departed Uncle Dave left her and decided to sell them. Of course she changed her mind and is lucky enough to still own Peace Offering. She ends up talking both herself and Jack into being his secretary so that she could be able to have Jack as Peace Offering’s trainer.

We see how much she has changed from the beginning of the book to the end of the book and she has made a lot of changes.  I’m giving this book a five star rating as it is a perfect mix of romance, the racing part, and other things. It took me some time getting used to the way the British and Irish talked in the book but it was so good that I totally didn’t care once I got into it. Hannah Hooton is an incredible author and I am so happy to be able to read these books from her. I love the actual racing facts that she researched for the book as it gives it more of a feel that it is actually happening around the reader as we are reading the novel.

Overall I would recommend reading Keeping the Peace by Hannah Hooton to everyone (at least adults to read it, it is a little much for the young adults).

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Hannah Hooton

Hannah Hooton is a multiple award-winning author and screenwriter based in UK.

After splitting with her literary agent to venture into indie-publishing, Hannah burst onto the contemporary romance scene in January 2012 with the release of her debut novel, At Long Odds. This was followed by the Amazon bestselling Aspen Valley series, which charts the lives, loves and dramas of a jump racing yard.

The inspiration for her novels came while combining her wanderlust with her love of horseracing when travelling around Australia and working from one racing stable to the next as a strapper (not to be confused with stripper) and the exuberant imagination of a girl with an empty purse and a passion for a very expensive sport.

Giving Chase was the winner of Best International Romance at the Some Kind of Wonderful Awards in 2012, one place better than Keeping the Peace finished the year before.
Share and Share Alike won the ARU Katy Price Prize 2014 and finished runner-up in the RWA Marlene Contest 2014.

Recently graduating from Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge with First Class Honours, Hannah was also awarded the McCleod Prize for finishing top of her year.

Hannah balanced her time at university writing her novels and improving her craft, but also learning the art of screenwriting. To date, Hannah has completed three screenplays (one of which sparked her abrupt change in career to return to university as a mature student just so she could learn how to write it properly), all of which received critical praise and first class marks. The feature-length script, Incarnate, is a science fiction WW2 drama with romantic elements, a world – quite literally – away from Hannah’s comfort zone of horse racing romances.