Publisher: Smashwords Edition

Going Back by Jennifer Young

Posted October 23, 2016 by karenbaron in Fiction, New Adult Fiction, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Going Back by Jennifer YoungGoing Back by Jennifer Young
Series: Lake Garda #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Smashwords Edition on April 20th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Feisty, redheaded, and fabulously rich student, Leona Castellano, is set upon returning to her Italian roots to put an old feud to bed. Her grandfather is dead, but his former enemy, Faustino Manfredi, seems determined the hostility should not die with him and turns his fury upon Leona.
When she becomes close to Faustino’s grandson, Nico, their romance strengthens Faustino’s vendetta and attracts the opposition of Leona’s parents, bringing Leona and Nico face to face with a terrible secret.

My take on this book:              Going Back by Jennifer Young is such a great book. I know it’s the second book in a series and even without reading the first book you get with what happened from the last book immediately.

This book was very interesting especially after you get to know the characters better. There was a lot of surprises here and there throughout, some that I either enjoyed or hated. The characters all seemed like they were real people for me and I was along for the ride on their emotions, fears, and other things that came up within the novel.

Just like any other review, there are somethings of the book that I didn’t enjoy. I had to reread a little bit of the first few chapters to be able to get an understanding of which point of view we were in for a chapter. We went from Leona’s, Nico’s, and lastly that of Alexandra for the three different point of views. Other than that I only hated one guy, Faustino. He was a cranky old dude, that was living in the past but I also kind of got with where he was coming from. I felt sorry for him at the end.

I love this book and I am giving it five stars despite my rocky start with the chapter changes along with the time it took me to finish reading this book. I will recommend this book to anyone that likes revised version of Romeo and Juliet, along with wonderful characters, and romances kindling between a lot of different people. If you like that then this book is for you. This is also my first New Adult book and I am glad that I was asked to read this book.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Where to find this book **

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Jennifer Young

Jennifer Young is an Edinurgh-based writer, editor and copywriter. She is interested in a wide range of subjects and writing media, perhaps reflecting the fact that she has both arts and science degrees. Jennifer has been writing fiction, including romantic fiction, for a number of years with several short stories already published. Thanks You For The Music, which is set on the Balearic island of Majorca, is her first published novel.


Catastrophe

Posted July 12, 2016 by karenbaron in Angels, Demons, Dragon Shifters, Elves, Fairies, Fantasy, Jinn, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal People, Review, Sekhmet, Series, Supernatural, Vampires, Witches / 0 Comments

CatastropheCatastrophe by Liz Schulte
Series: Sekhmet #1
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Smashwords Edition on December 15th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal
Format: Kindle
five-stars

I have learned a few things in my life. If you can’t wear clean underwear, don’t wear any at all. Never trust a vampire. Secret ruling councils should generally be avoided. Finally, and this is the most important, very few people are ever what they seem.However, it wasn’t always easy to live by these rules. Like, when said secret ruling council demanded my appearance and then did the worst thing they could possible do and inflamed my curiosity. Asking me to go to New Orleans to investigate a series of werewolf attacks, I couldn’t possibly say no to that.The first problem was werewolves had been eliminated from the Abyss so it was impossible that they were killing anyone. The second fiasco was that more vampires were in this city than ever before, including the one who was intent on ruining my life. And the third complication was I couldn’t tell anyone else about my mission or I would forfeit my freedom to the council.Some missions are easy. Others are a Catastrophe.

My Thoughts:         Curiosity may not kill the cat but…

First I must say that even though this is the first part of the Sekhmet Series, it is a spin off from the world of Liz Schulte. I like that Ms. Schulte doesn’t rehash the previous books and disrupt the story of this one. I have read her other books and thoroughly enjoy the world that she has created.

Femi is a wonderful character, she has depth, backbone, insecurities and attitude issues. She likes to know the “why” of each bounty not just how it is done. Femi does have a serious commitment issues. I am not sure if it is just a Sekhmet thing or just that she is afraid to lose someone she cares deeply for or she just hasn’t found that special person. Everyone has their own inner demons and reasons for being who they are. Femi is a warrior with tons of emotion and she cares way more than a Sekhmet should. Sekhmet are neutral in nature, but Femi has a hard time not helping the underdog/little guy.

Femi is extremely curious about the Abyss council. When they assign her a bounty in New Orleans, (ok they actually gloated her into taking the job). You know the ole’ greater good angle, either way Femi won’t back down and she can’t have unanswered questions if at all possible. Whenever the greater good plays in there is always a catastrophe on the horizon.

As for the Liz Schulte’s world of the Abyss, I love it. You have the humans who don’t see the other creatures walking among them, and you have the Abyss creatures. The Abyss creatures are wonderful and as with humans some are good, some are bad, and some are a little of both.

I think I truly like the mysteries that Ms. Schulte uses in each story, she keeps me guessing and manages to toss in that little bit to make me question if the one I picked is the bad guy (or should I say main bad guy). You really never know how many angles are being played until the story plays out. However, I like the way she wraps it up, with a kind of happy ending.

She also has that little bit of romance that keeps you coming back. As for Femi and Sy, I like the flirting and the way they protect each other, but I hope that there is a person that is truly for Femi. Someone who will compliment her and become the partner that she truly needs. If Sy is this person than that is great if not, I can’t wait to see who or what Ms. Schulte can imagine.

So, if you haven’t already read Liz Schulte’s Easy Bake Coven series, The Guardian Trilogy, or The Jinn Trilogy, you might want to look into these. She also has a few short stories that go with her world of the Abyss. My rating is 5 stars.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

 **Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

Chasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton

Posted June 5, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Animals, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Horses, Review, Romance, Series, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Chasing the Wind by Hannah HootonChasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton
Series: Aspen Valley #5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Smashwords Edition on January 30th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance
five-stars

Champions are made by the adversities they overcome.
When tragedy strikes Aspen Valley Stables, racehorse trainer Jack Carmichael is in danger of losing everything – his wife, his reputation, his sanity… then in walks Lucy Kendrick, a young reporter, all set to shadow him.
Every journalist has an agenda and Lucy is no different. Can she uphold her cover when charismatic jockey Finn O’Donaghue makes her want to be no one but herself?
The Grand National beckons once more, but when the yard’s runners start to foul fall of the authorities, the future of Aspen Valley Stables is threatened. Is the wreckage that is his personal life compromising Jack’s ability to train or is there something more sinister going on?
***
PRAISE FOR HANNAH HOOTON
‘The literary love child of Dick Francis and Jilly Cooper.’ ***** Christina Jones, bestselling author
‘Evocative imagery and crisp writing sets this story apart from the competition.’ ***** Natalie Keller Reinert, bestselling author
‘The female Dick Francis.’ ***** The Filly Forum

My take in this book:              Chasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton is such a wonderful book that I have been dying to read since I started this book series. These book is about the horse racing but also about two couples, Jack/Pippa and Lucy/Finn, that are trying to find their way back to each other and about starting a relationship. The way back to each other falls with Jack and Pippa whereas starting a relationship is with Lucy and Finn.

Jack and Pippa have been through a lot in this book and through every terrible turn that they went through, I just wanted to jump into the book to help them through it. Thankfully that didn’t have to happen as it ended up being good for the two of them after a lot of time. I felt bad for these two throughout the whole book since they went through losing someone to a strained relationship to almost ending their relationship but thankfully none of that ended up happening. Much like the other relationships in the Aspen Valley series they have a happy ending once again.

Well most relationships, Finn and Tash didn’t really get their happy ending, but that’s okay as Finn and Lucy ended up having one. Well one that they tried to avoid at first since Lucy had a boyfriend and that relationship didn’t last very long at all. Finn and Lucy’s relationship has been a very interesting one in the whole series but I ended up loving the two of them together. Lucy is a great addition to the series even if she came into it in the last book.

Chasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton is such a great book that I am giving it a five star rating. This story has made the characters even more real as they deal with the life issues that are thrown at them. I truly felt like I was a part of this wonderful world. I loved this story and I am glad that I had this opportunity to read this series.

Overall I would recommend reading Chasing the Wind by Hannah Hooton to everyone (at least adults to read it, it is a little much for the young adults).

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Hannah Hooton

Hannah Hooton is a multiple award-winning author and screenwriter based in UK.

After splitting with her literary agent to venture into indie-publishing, Hannah burst onto the contemporary romance scene in January 2012 with the release of her debut novel, At Long Odds. This was followed by the Amazon bestselling Aspen Valley series, which charts the lives, loves and dramas of a jump racing yard.

The inspiration for her novels came while combining her wanderlust with her love of horseracing when travelling around Australia and working from one racing stable to the next as a strapper (not to be confused with stripper) and the exuberant imagination of a girl with an empty purse and a passion for a very expensive sport.

Giving Chase was the winner of Best International Romance at the Some Kind of Wonderful Awards in 2012, one place better than Keeping the Peace finished the year before.
Share and Share Alike won the ARU Katy Price Prize 2014 and finished runner-up in the RWA Marlene Contest 2014.

Recently graduating from Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge with First Class Honours, Hannah was also awarded the McCleod Prize for finishing top of her year.

Hannah balanced her time at university writing her novels and improving her craft, but also learning the art of screenwriting. To date, Hannah has completed three screenplays (one of which sparked her abrupt change in career to return to university as a mature student just so she could learn how to write it properly), all of which received critical praise and first class marks. The feature-length script, Incarnate, is a science fiction WW2 drama with romantic elements, a world – quite literally – away from Hannah’s comfort zone of horse racing romances.


Making the Running by Hannah Hooton

Posted June 4, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Animals, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Horses, Romance, Series, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Making the Running by Hannah HootonMaking the Running by Hannah Hooton
Series: Aspen Valley #4
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Smashwords Edition on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 462
Format: Kindle
five-stars

On the surface of things, life for stable lass, Kate Creswell, looks rosy. Wealthy boyfriend, Nicholas, is a text-book example of the perfect partner, and her ambition to lead up at Cheltenham Festival is set to come true with her favourite horse, d'Artagnan.
But dig a little deeper and things aren’t quite so blissful. There’s the small task of keeping her mother's alcoholism a secret from Nicholas's well-to-do family. What about Nicholas’s dislike of d’Artagnan’s jockey, Ben de Jager? Could there be something more sinister to Ben's ability to be a good loser, and could their Gold Cup bid be in jeopardy?
A lot of things can change between flag fall and finish line. Nothing is a certainty. Not in life, not in racing, and not in love.
‘A modern day Jilly Cooper.’ ***** Gallops & Garlands
‘By far my favourite equestrian novel I’ve read.’ ***** LB Equestrian
‘The balance between simplicity of describing a race and giving my imagination enough fuel to see the horses jumping was perfect.’ ***** The Rubber Curry Comb

My take on this book:              Making the Running by Hannah Hooton is another great book of horse racing, from the Aspen Valley Series, by this wonderful author. This one focuses on Kate, a stable lass at Aspen Valley, and her, recently, complicated love life with two half-brothers, Nicholas and Ben. Kate has never really felt pretty or beautiful when she is standing or sitting next to her younger sister, Saskia, who she practically raised by herself because her mom was not really there and her dad was never around.

Kate’s life is pretty much complicated all the way around, between her complicated home life and dealing with two half-brothers’ that she might be in love with, but isn’t sure which. Kate has tried to keep her personal life away from her work life and it has been going very well for her. Although working with her sister is extremely trying at times..

She has mostly been keeping the secret of her mom’s alcoholism to herself, along with trying to keep her youngest brother in school and whatnot. Mostly she didn’t want Nicholas and his parents to dislike her or her family just because of her mom’s drinking problem. Kate tried to fit herself into Nicholas’ life while disliking what he was doing to d’Artagnan, the horse she takes care of, so that The Whistler could win.

Ben, d’Artagnan’s jockey and half-brother to Nicholas, didn’t like what was going on with the horse either but that is what he does for his dad. Ben thought he liked Saskia at first, which is why Kate went after Nicholas, but after a while he realized around the same time as Kate that he liked her and she liked him. Kate and Ben have been on a rollercoaster of feelings since they first met to the very ending of the book.

Making the Running by Hannah Hooton is such a good book that I’m giving it a five butterflies rating because it is that good.

Overall I would recommend reading Making the Running by Hannah Hooton to everyone (at least adults to read it, it is a little much for the young adults).

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Hannah Hooton

Hannah Hooton is a multiple award-winning author and screenwriter based in UK.

After splitting with her literary agent to venture into indie-publishing, Hannah burst onto the contemporary romance scene in January 2012 with the release of her debut novel, At Long Odds. This was followed by the Amazon bestselling Aspen Valley series, which charts the lives, loves and dramas of a jump racing yard.

The inspiration for her novels came while combining her wanderlust with her love of horseracing when travelling around Australia and working from one racing stable to the next as a strapper (not to be confused with stripper) and the exuberant imagination of a girl with an empty purse and a passion for a very expensive sport.

Giving Chase was the winner of Best International Romance at the Some Kind of Wonderful Awards in 2012, one place better than Keeping the Peace finished the year before.
Share and Share Alike won the ARU Katy Price Prize 2014 and finished runner-up in the RWA Marlene Contest 2014.

Recently graduating from Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge with First Class Honours, Hannah was also awarded the McCleod Prize for finishing top of her year.

Hannah balanced her time at university writing her novels and improving her craft, but also learning the art of screenwriting. To date, Hannah has completed three screenplays (one of which sparked her abrupt change in career to return to university as a mature student just so she could learn how to write it properly), all of which received critical praise and first class marks. The feature-length script, Incarnate, is a science fiction WW2 drama with romantic elements, a world – quite literally – away from Hannah’s comfort zone of horse racing romances.


A Change of Heart by Mark Benjamin

Posted May 29, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Vampires / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Change of Heart by Mark BenjaminA Change Of Heart by Mark Benjamin
Series: The Royal Blood Chronicles #1
Series Rating: three-stars
Published by Smashwords Edition on May 29th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal
Format: Kindle
three-stars

*UPDATE: Revised for easier reader compatibility when following the novel's characters*
Bullied his entire life, orphaned university graduate, Gabriel Harper, is bitten by a Royal vampire moments before sunrise, transforming him over the course of six terrible and exhilarating nights into a hybrid—human by day, vampire by night.
Just as he learns to come to grips with what he has become, the Silver Legion—a covert, vampire-hunting organisation—kidnap him and his three friends, forcing them to join their clandestine crusade; however, they remain unaware of Gabriel’s nature until it is too late.
Each choice made sets in motion a turn of devastating events—from love-triangles and fratricide, lust and betrayal, broken dreams and the thirst for power, vengeance and the spilling of blood defines victory.
A Change Of Heart is set primarily in the fictional City of Penance; interweaving the lives of Legionnaires, humans and vampires in the course of a year.

My take on this book:              A Change Of Heart by Mark Benjamin is a different take on vampires living among us. It kind of reminded me of a Quentin Tarantino film meets the Underworld movies (just without the werewolves).

Mr. Benjamin’s writing for this book is totally different from most of the other authors I read. This book was good and I felt bad for the main character, Gabriel, or at least I hope he is the main kind of hard to tell. The one downside is that the author writes it in a way that made me have to take notes on the character he was focusing on for that chapter. I’m guessing at traditional role the character were. What drew me in for this book was the interesting plot that the book has. I still think the main idea is good.

I am sadly giving this book a three stars rating, as it didn’t live up to my expectations.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

three-stars

About Mark Benjamin

Mark Benjamin is the author of one (and counting) book in the adult urban fantasy series, The Royal Blood Chronicles. Devouring all books he could get his hands on from an early age, he managed to ruin his eyesight by reading (when he should have been asleep) under his bedcovers with a torch (video games had no say in his bad eyesight…okay, maybe a little). His love of books translated to a passion for writing, which he began aged ten (He still has his first juvenile novel to this day).
Currently working for a national bank, his dream job is to be a full-time author, a path he fully took when he sent a sample of his work to a ten-week introductory fiction course funded by an American foundation and conducted worldwide in 2010. Out of the 15 available slots, one was his out of hundreds of thousands of applicants (okay, perhaps a slight exaggeration, but it was advertised in the national dailies).
When not writing his second book or planning literary world domination, Mark enjoys spending time with this wife, entertaining his under one-year old daughter, playing on his PlayStation (AnnA) and reading (obviously).