Series: Blue Bloods

Bloody Valentine by Melissa de la Cruz

Posted June 8, 2015 by karenbaron in Angels, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Teen, Urban, Vampires, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Bloody Valentine by Melissa de la CruzBloody Valentine by Melissa de la Cruz
Series: Blue Bloods #5.5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Hyperion on December 28th 2010
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 147
Format: Kindle
five-stars

The Blue Bloods have powers beyond human comprehension: strength that defies logic, speed that cannot be captured on film, the ability to shape-shift, and more. But in matters of the heart, no one, not even those immortal vampires, has total control.
In Bloody Valentine, part of the best-selling Blue Bloods series, author Melissa de la Cruz offers three tantalizing stories that delve deep into the love lives of the all-powerful vamps (and their Red Blood friends) from New York's Upper East Side. Might a witchy new girl help cure Oliver's broken heart? How did Allegra fall in love with a human? Will Schuyler and Jack finally be bonded?
Romantic and sensual, Bloody Valentine reveals the undying love, the hope and devastation, and the lust and longing that have defined the Blue Bloods throughout history. Prepare to be swept off your feet.

My take on this book:: CAUTION!! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ ANY SPOILERS PLEASE STOP READING NOW! IF YOU DO WANT TO READ SPOILERS CONTINUE ON! I WON’T ALWAYS HAVE SPOILERS THOUGH!!

So this is the second and last novella for the Blue Bloods series and I loved every last minute of reading it. Granted I could have probably finished it on Friday or Saturday but I finished it today. A Sunday. Mostly because yesterday, Saturday, I was busy helping my mom with planting flowers and stuff. Which was so fun and I was so tired after that, which isn’t good since that means I’m out of shape, that I didn’t have a chance to read. But today I did and I finished the book.

What I like about this book is that, despite it being short, we got to see a whole lot of other things. Like for instance in Oliver’s part of the book how he went from becoming a familiar trying to make it on his own to going back to that blood house to become a familiar but didn’t. We also got to see Freya. I liked how Melissa de la Cruz tied that into this series and into her Witches of East End series too. The other thing that I liked about it was the middle part had Allegra meeting her husband and seeing something that would happen later on in her life. Granted it did happen despite Gabrielle trying not to. I liked though how different Allegra and Charles was, unlike Abaddon and Azrael who were both kind of similar, even though I would have liked to see more of Allegra and Charles in the actual books. The last part I liked was of Schuyler and Jack. Those two are so cute together and I am happy that Jack, Abaddon, was finally able to find someone that he truly loves. Despite what he says during their bonding day about when they were all cast out of heaven.

What I didn’t like was, well more of is, that Melissa likes to torture us with the fact that Jack and Schuyler might not get to be together anymore despite them bonding. I mean I know that I’m not completely done reading the series but I also hope that maybe, hopefully, some of these characters in her books get to have a happy ending. But that is all that I dislike for right now.

Melissa de la Cruz has made another excellent book despite it ONLY being a novella it’s still a good one. And I’m sure when I get the last two books of the Blue Bloods series I will like them as well. I mean to me it’s kind of hard not to fall in love with this series. Or, in my case, almost any book I read I fall in love with. Okay I can give you a few books I didn’t like but it’s only a few. But this series and these books I have indeed fallen in love with them and I can’t wait to read more of Melissa de la Cruz’s books. Oh and I give this book 5 stars.

Oh and don’t worry everyone I am coming up with a rating system.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Melissa de la Cruz

Melissa de la Cruz is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for teens including The Au Pairs series, the Blue Bloods series, the Ashleys series, the Angels on Sunset Boulevard series and the semi-autobiographical novel Fresh off the Boat.

Her books for adults include the novel Cat’s Meow, the anthology Girls Who Like Boys Who Like Boys and the tongue-in-chic handbooks How to Become Famous in Two Weeks or Less and The Fashionista Files: Adventures in Four-inch heels and Faux-Pas.

She has worked as a fashion and beauty editor and has written for many publications including The New York Times, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Allure, The San Francisco Chronicle, McSweeney’s, Teen Vogue, CosmoGirl! and Seventeen. She has also appeared as an expert on fashion, trends and fame for CNN, E! and FoxNews.

Melissa grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from The Convent of the Sacred Heart. She majored in art history and English at Columbia University (and minored in nightclubs and shopping!).

She now divides her time between New York and Los Angeles, where she lives in the Hollywood Hills with her husband and daughter.


Misguided Angel by Melissa de la Cruz

Posted June 8, 2015 by karenbaron in Angels, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Teen, Urban, Vampires, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Misguided Angel by Melissa de la CruzMisguided Angel by Melissa de la Cruz
Series: Blue Bloods #5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Hyperion on October 26th 2010
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 265
Format: Kindle

After inheriting the dark Van Alen Legacy, Schuyler fled to Florence with her forbidden love, Jack. Now the two of them must embark on the mission Schuyler was destined to complete: to find and protect the five remaining gates that guard the earth from Lucifer, lord of the Silver Bloods.
Back in New York, Mimi has been elected Regent of a crumbling coven. Struggling with her heartache over the loss of Kingsley and with her overwhelming desire to destroy Jack, she must focus all of her energy on a perilous new threat. Vampires are being abducted and their captors are planning to burn them alive online...for all the world to see. Help arrives in the form of Deming Chen, a Venator from Shanghai, who must untangle the web of deceptions before the killers strike again.
As the young vampires struggle for the survival of the coven, they uncover a deadly secret, a truth first discovered by Schuyler’s mother during the Renaissance but kept buried for centuries. And as the Blue Blood enclave weakens yet further, fate leads Schuyler to a terrible choice that will ultimately map the destiny of her heart.

My take on this book:: CAUTION!! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ ANY SPOILERS PLEASE STOP READING NOW! IF YOU DO WANT TO READ SPOILERS CONTINUE ON! I WON’T ALWAYS HAVE SPOILERS THOUGH!!

Hi everyone. This is the fifth book in the series of Blue Bloods. I love this series if you haven’t tell. The way Melissa writes is very good and awesome. In this book she has four parts and the first three are with someone else.

Of course Melissa starts with Schuyler who is her main character as Sky is the character that the first few books were based on. Melissa never did any first person point of view which I think is good since first person is good for some books but for this one I believe that third person point of view is the best.

This book takes place a month after The Van Alen Legacy book left with Sky and Jake leaving Oliver and Mimi behind. They are now trying to figure out with where the third Gate of Hell is so that they could make sure that nothing bad is happening to it.

One of the things that I like about this book and the series is that all of the characters seem so real and that I can actually talk to them in real life. Even if they are vampires. What I also like is that yeah they are vampires who have lived for a pretty long time and yeah most of them are just supposedly “teenagers” and some people don’t think that they should be acting like 50 year olds. The way I think about this is that since they are able to relive all of their past lives and with that I believe eventually it would take a toll on the vampire especially in Mimi’s case on having to be older and try to lead these vampires that it will make the vampire act older and probably fell older than what they actually are. But that is just my idea on something like that. I also like how she goes back and forth about where the book is leading up to in the past to the present. Like in the first book with the Mayflower stuff from Cordelia’s past life and we go off to the present time.

I guess I don’t really have any dislikes….well besides the whole thing of that I just want someone to have a happy ending. I mean I was routing for Dylan and Bliss. ;’( Still sad that Dylan is gone. He was such a good character. The second couple I am routing for is a tossup between Jake and Sky and Kingsley and Mimi. I mean Kingsley and Mimi are like so cute with their bickering. Or at least in my head whenever I was reading about them they were cute. I also wonder if maybe Abbandon and Azrael were just young and thought they loved each other when they did their bonding that so long ago. Now that they are much older and maybe they might have found the people that they were supposed to fall in love with a long time ago now.

I think that this book is crucial for the plot because we find out about a new type of species. Yes there is more than just Angels, humans, and someone like Sky. We also find out about a new type of evil that our characters will have to deal with. I am also really hoping that Charles and Allegra get out of the White Darkness to help Mimi with the Coven and even more that Mimi can find Kingsley if she is ever able to. I am in love with this book series and I know that my mom has told me to critique these a little bit better but I am going to give this book another five stars.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

About Melissa de la Cruz

Melissa de la Cruz is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for teens including The Au Pairs series, the Blue Bloods series, the Ashleys series, the Angels on Sunset Boulevard series and the semi-autobiographical novel Fresh off the Boat.

Her books for adults include the novel Cat’s Meow, the anthology Girls Who Like Boys Who Like Boys and the tongue-in-chic handbooks How to Become Famous in Two Weeks or Less and The Fashionista Files: Adventures in Four-inch heels and Faux-Pas.

She has worked as a fashion and beauty editor and has written for many publications including The New York Times, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Allure, The San Francisco Chronicle, McSweeney’s, Teen Vogue, CosmoGirl! and Seventeen. She has also appeared as an expert on fashion, trends and fame for CNN, E! and FoxNews.

Melissa grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from The Convent of the Sacred Heart. She majored in art history and English at Columbia University (and minored in nightclubs and shopping!).

She now divides her time between New York and Los Angeles, where she lives in the Hollywood Hills with her husband and daughter.


Keys to the Repository

Posted June 8, 2015 by karenbaron in Angels, Fantasy, Fiction, Novella, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Short Stories, Supernatural, Teen, Urban, Vampires, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Keys to the RepositoryKeys to the Repository by Melissa de la Cruz
Series: Blue Bloods #4.5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Hyperion on June 29th 2010
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 227
Format: Hardcover
five-stars

Lavish parties. Secret trysts. Bone-chilling murders. Angel. Demons. Midterms. The day-to-day lives of Schuyler Van Alen and her Blue Blood friends (and enemies) are never boring. But there's on-so-much more to know about these beautiful and powerful teens. Below the streets of Manhattan, within the walls of the Repository, is a wealth of never-before-revealed information about the vampire elite that dates back to the dawn of history. In a series of short stories, journal entries, and intimate letters, New York Times best-selling author melissa de la Cruz gives you the keys to the Repository and an in-depth look into the secret world of the Blue Bloods.
Won't you come inside?

My take on this book:: CAUTION! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK ALREADY!!!!!!!

See I told you I will be back today..or tomorrow for the people on the East Coast or anywhere else. Anyways. This little novella is soo cute and it gives us an insight on what goes on in-between some things. Along with knowing a little bit more about some people. Like with what happened to poor Dylan when he was being hunted down. Or with what that first night for Sky and Jack was like. Or anything like that. Plus in Kingsley’s part he is soooo funny with what he does in his little section of the book.

Anyways this book is like super short but a good one that I couldn’t put down but had to for several long agonizing minutes. But I made it through dinner and watching television with my parents to finish this book and to give you, my loyal fans and my fellow book lovers, on another good book by Melissa de la Cruz.

And yes if anyone asked me about this book I will say that you should read it!!! Well after the other four books before this! I know I know I know. I say that about every book I have read so far but I only read books that I am certain that I will like. But I have two new books that I am going to read after I finish my last two Blue Bloods books of this series, that I own, that were given to me from a friend. So we shall see what I think about them. Well scratch that after I am done with one other book called The Scent by H.P. Mallory. It’s a second book in a series that I started reading a while ago so I am pretty excited to read it finally.

What did you guys think of this book? Did you like it? Or did you hate it? If you hated it why? I am quite curious to know since I know that not a whole lot of people have the same taste of books that I do. Oh and if you guys have any suggestions for books to read I will love to hear them in the comment section below 😀

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Melissa de la Cruz

Melissa de la Cruz is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for teens including The Au Pairs series, the Blue Bloods series, the Ashleys series, the Angels on Sunset Boulevard series and the semi-autobiographical novel Fresh off the Boat.

Her books for adults include the novel Cat’s Meow, the anthology Girls Who Like Boys Who Like Boys and the tongue-in-chic handbooks How to Become Famous in Two Weeks or Less and The Fashionista Files: Adventures in Four-inch heels and Faux-Pas.

She has worked as a fashion and beauty editor and has written for many publications including The New York Times, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Allure, The San Francisco Chronicle, McSweeney’s, Teen Vogue, CosmoGirl! and Seventeen. She has also appeared as an expert on fashion, trends and fame for CNN, E! and FoxNews.

Melissa grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from The Convent of the Sacred Heart. She majored in art history and English at Columbia University (and minored in nightclubs and shopping!).

She now divides her time between New York and Los Angeles, where she lives in the Hollywood Hills with her husband and daughter.


The Van Alen Legacy

Posted June 8, 2015 by karenbaron in Angels, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Teen, Urban, Vampires, Young Adult / 0 Comments

The Van Alen LegacyThe Van Alen Legacy by Melissa de la Cruz
Series: Blue Bloods #4
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Disney/Hyperion on October 6th 2009
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 369
Format: Hardcover
five-stars

With the stunning revelation surrounding Bliss's true identity comes the growing threat of the sinister Silver Bloods. Once left to live the glamorous life in New York City, the Blue Bloods now find themselves in an epic battle for survival. Not to worry; love is still in the air for the young vampires of the Upper East Side. Or is it? Schuyler has made her choice. She has forsaken Jack for Oliver, choosing human over vampire. But old loves die hard.... And even coldhearted Mimi seems to suffer from the ties that bind.
Young vampires unite in this highly anticipated fourth installment of the New York Times best-selling series.

My take on this book:: CAUTION! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK ALREADY!!!!!!!

Okay so I am sooooo sorry to everyone for not being on for like a long time since my last review/post. I have been busy but I finished the book!!!!!! And oh my god it was such a turn pager that kept me on my toes. The reason that I haven’t been on is because I have been playing with my cat and doing other things that kept me away from reading this book and finishing it.

Well that is until today obviously. But yeah I finished it and it was sooo good. This book takes place two years after the first book, Blue Bloods, and a year after the last book. I’m not going to say anything about this book that could give anything away to anyone but this book also has three point of views. One from our heroine Schuyler, then Mimi, and then Bliss. I feel so bad though for Bliss and Mimi. Bliss because of Dylan and how she will never see him again which sucks for the two of them. They are bonded and won’t be able to do anything about it anymore..Mimi because she started to realize that maybe she does have feelings for Kingsley but can’t do anything about that anymore either. And Schuyler is able to be with Jack but with the New York Coven after them again…Well mostly Mimi and it just plain sucks for these poor teenage kids. But at least her mom is awake now and yeah.

Okay so I am now spoiling most of this for you and I will just shut up. Okay so I won’t shut up until this review is done. But this book is sooo good that I couldn’t get it out of my head. If anyone asked me about this book I would recommend it to them especially if they read the first three books.

What about you guys? Would you recommend this book to anyone? Or did anyone recommend it to you? I can’t wait to see your answers to my questions down below 😀

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Melissa de la Cruz

Melissa de la Cruz is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for teens including The Au Pairs series, the Blue Bloods series, the Ashleys series, the Angels on Sunset Boulevard series and the semi-autobiographical novel Fresh off the Boat.

Her books for adults include the novel Cat’s Meow, the anthology Girls Who Like Boys Who Like Boys and the tongue-in-chic handbooks How to Become Famous in Two Weeks or Less and The Fashionista Files: Adventures in Four-inch heels and Faux-Pas.

She has worked as a fashion and beauty editor and has written for many publications including The New York Times, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Allure, The San Francisco Chronicle, McSweeney’s, Teen Vogue, CosmoGirl! and Seventeen. She has also appeared as an expert on fashion, trends and fame for CNN, E! and FoxNews.

Melissa grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from The Convent of the Sacred Heart. She majored in art history and English at Columbia University (and minored in nightclubs and shopping!).

She now divides her time between New York and Los Angeles, where she lives in the Hollywood Hills with her husband and daughter.


Revelations by Melissa de la Cruz

Posted June 8, 2015 by karenbaron in Angels, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Teen, Urban, Vampires, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Revelations by Melissa de la CruzRevelations by Melissa de la Cruz
Series: Blue Bloods #3
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Hyperion on October 31st 2008
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 264
Format: Paperback
five-stars

Schuyler Van Alen's blood legacy has just been called into question: is the young vampire in fact a Blue Blood, or is it the sinister Silver Blood that runs through her veins? As controversy swirls, Schuyler is left stranded in the Force household, trapped under the same roof as her cunning nemesis, Mimi Force, and her forbidden crush, Jack Force.
When an ancient place of power is threatened in Rio de Janeiro, however, the Blue Bloods need Schuyler on their side. The stakes are high, the battle is bloody; and through it all Schuyler is torn between duty and passion, love and freedom.
Romance, glamour, and vampire lore collide in the highly anticipated third book in best-selling author Melissa de la Cruz's Blue Bloods series.

My take on this book:: CAUTION! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK ALREADY!!!!!!!

The third book and certainly not the last in the Blue Bloods series is certainly a good book. I have been reading this book for about six days and that is the amount of days since my last review. I am hoping that I will be able to catch myself up with the many books that I read this year. This book though was soo good. Especially since when I wasn’t reading it I was thinking about it or dreaming about it. In my mind is always a good thing when you are trying to get readers to stay with you.

Some people might think that this is a weird way to turn what happened after the Angels fall from Heaven but I actually like it. It’s a different twist that I love very much. This book is pretty good and I love everything about it. Though the fact that Dylan and Bliss don’t get together makes me sad and that poor Jordan might get killed is like making me all sad since Jordan is just soo cute…or at least the way I have her pictured in my head. But also the whole thing that Schuyler and Jack might not be together either makes me sad but maybe that is a good thing that they aren’t together since Mimi seems to be a force not to be on the wrong side too.

I strongly would tell anyone to read this series even if they don’t believe in God, like I don’t, since it’s a pretty good read despite that. I mean Melissa de la Cruz has set up her own world with these vampires/angels that you just want to be a part of in every single book that you read. So I am giving this book a five stars and that everyone should read this series. I think that is it with this review. I hope this review helps you with deciding on reading this book series. And my other reviews, both before and after, this review helps you decide on reading it or not.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Melissa de la Cruz

Melissa de la Cruz is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for teens including The Au Pairs series, the Blue Bloods series, the Ashleys series, the Angels on Sunset Boulevard series and the semi-autobiographical novel Fresh off the Boat.

Her books for adults include the novel Cat’s Meow, the anthology Girls Who Like Boys Who Like Boys and the tongue-in-chic handbooks How to Become Famous in Two Weeks or Less and The Fashionista Files: Adventures in Four-inch heels and Faux-Pas.

She has worked as a fashion and beauty editor and has written for many publications including The New York Times, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Allure, The San Francisco Chronicle, McSweeney’s, Teen Vogue, CosmoGirl! and Seventeen. She has also appeared as an expert on fashion, trends and fame for CNN, E! and FoxNews.

Melissa grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from The Convent of the Sacred Heart. She majored in art history and English at Columbia University (and minored in nightclubs and shopping!).

She now divides her time between New York and Los Angeles, where she lives in the Hollywood Hills with her husband and daughter.