Series: A Bewitching Mystery

Home for a Spell by Madelyn Alt

Posted August 5, 2015 by karenbaron in Cozy, Murder, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Witches / 0 Comments

Home for a Spell by Madelyn AltHome for a Spell by Madelyn Alt
Series: A Bewitching Mystery #7
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Berkley on January 4, 2011
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 290
Format: Hardcover
five-stars

In Madelyn Alt’s “enchanting and bewitching”* series, Maggie O’Neill is Stony Mill, Indiana’s newest witch. It’s a job that entails a fair share of magic and mysticism – and sometimes brews up a perilous potion of mystery and murder…

Maggie is back at work at the antique shop Enchantments. Unfortunately, she’s hobbled by a broken ankle, which makes helping customers a pretty lame proposition. But just because she’s sporting a bright yellow, sparkle-covered cast doesn’t mean the rest of her life is slowing down.

Her boyfriend, the magically inclined Marcus, has some unfinished business that she feels guilty about distracting him from. And her best friend and upstairs neighbor is getting ready to tie the knot with her own boyfriend and move away. This leads Maggie to wonder if it isn’t time to find her own change of scenery. First things first: a new apartment.

But when she finally finds a place to call her own, Maggie’s dream of new digs turns into a nightmare after the apartment manager is found dead before she can even sign the lease. And Maggie finds herself not only searching for a new home – but for a frightfully clever killer…
*Midwest Book Review

My take on this book: I am happy to say that I am giving this book a five stars because it kept my attention and I actually like the storyline this time. Granted we don’t see much of Steff or Dr. Dan or of mostly anyone else in the N.I.G.H.T.S unless they are the ones working at the antique shop with Maggie, Liss, Tara, and Evie.

The one time that Steff is mentioned is when Liss tells her that she is moving with Dr. Dan sometime soon. Which is how Maggie ends up trying to find a new place and she kind of does. Even if the apartment manager gives her the creeps and she had no clue why.

This time I actually figured out who did it along with Maggie and them. Granted I didn’t understand the motive for this person. However, I did realize it was her and we found out the reason at the end of the book. Let’s just say that even though the ending of the book is perfect. This might be the last book of Maggie’s life and that is sad. And we are left to our own devices on thinking up stuff for Maggie and the N.I.G.H.T.S. and what has been going on in their life.

Anyways until next time, enjoy this book review brought to you by:

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Madelyn Alt

Madelyn doesn’t seem to be writing anymore.


A Witch in Time by Madelyn Alt

Posted August 3, 2015 by karenbaron in Cozy, Murder, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Witches / 0 Comments

A Witch in Time by Madelyn AltA Witch in Time by Madelyn Alt
Series: A Bewitching Mystery #6
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Berkley on April 6, 2010
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover
five-stars

“This new series is going to be a winner.”**

Madelyn Alt’s mysteries featuring Maggie O’Neill – Stony Mill, Indiana’s newest witch – have been praised as “quirky, enchanting, mystical, and addictive.”** And exploring the spirit world has never been this much fun – or this much trouble…

For the past few weeks, Maggie has found that two is far better than one. She’s been attached at the hip to the smoking-hot Marcus Quinn. Things couldn’t get any better – until her sister, Mel, gives birth to not one but two little bundles of joy…

Maggie’s just left Enchantments, Indiana’s finest mystical antiques shop, for a date with Marcus when the call about Mel comes. Stopping to pick up refreshments for her family on the way to the hospital, she learns that a Stony Mill teenager has been found dead.

Later that night, at the hospital, she hears a whispered conversation that sends chills down her spine. Could the conversation be related to the teen’s death? Or to a murder that hasn’t happened yet? It may take all her witchy intuition to find out…

**Annette Blair

*The Romance Readers Connection

My take on this book: CAUTION!! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ ANY SPOILERS PLEASE STOP READING NOW! IF YOU DO WANT TO READ SPOILERS CONTINUE ON! I WON’T ALWAYS HAVE SPOILERS THOUGH!!

Maggie O’Neill is back in another good mystery. Right off the bat this book will be five stars. Maggie uncharacteristically, wanted to be done working at the store early that afternoon. She wanted to get her butt over to Marcus’s place so that they could watch movies and maybe do something more… That is until her mom called Liss who then called Marcus who told Maggie to get to the hospital asap.

Maggie was pretty much busy with doing all the things her sister and mother wanted her to do at the hospital while waiting for her sister to give birth to her baby. Or in the case babies that no one knew about. Not even Felicity knew about the babies. The day after Mel gave birth to her twin girls Maggie was on her way out and going to her job when she broke her ankle.

Maggie was thrown into a loop over the conversation she heard from the elevator and has been trying to figure out who the people were while trying to figure out who they were talking about. That right there has been the biggest mystery especially considering the weird way that Dr. Dan has been acting around Steff. Steff is Maggie’s best friend. Marcus has also been trying to get Maggie to stay put so that her ankle could heal which is turned out to be pretty hard. Since Maggie has too many things to worry about right now. Like helping her sister with the twin girls while her husband is missing, figuring out what happened to the teen that died, figuring with why Tony Nunizo was killed, and to heal her ankle.

Madelyn Alt has woven a great mystery book as once again I didn’t guess who the killer was, once again. That has been becoming a trend for me as I haven’t figured out who killed the person that got killed in any of Madelyn Alt books.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by
Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Madelyn Alt

Madelyn doesn’t seem to be writing anymore.


Where There’s a Witch by Madelyn Alt

Posted July 29, 2015 by karenbaron in Cozy, Murder, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Witches / 0 Comments

Where There’s a Witch by Madelyn AltWhere There's a Witch by Madelyn Alt
Series: A Bewitching Mystery #5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Berkley on July 7th 2009
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 290
Format: Paperback
five-stars

Taking a break from her job at Enchantments, Stony Mill’s finest mystical antiques shop, Maggie O’Neill visits a carnival, where she senses some bad spirits. And though she’s Indiana’s newest witch, she’s learning fast that bad spirits spell big trouble.

A carnival has rolled into Stony Mill, and Maggie joins in the revelry but comes across a construction worker arguing intensely with a young woman. Later that day, the woman is found dead and fingers point to the worker: Ty Bennett.

Ty was part of the construction crew that unexpectedly unearthed a buried cellar – along with something supernatural – during the demolition of a local church. Now it’s up to Maggie to uncover the dark spiritual energy leaking into their town before it spoils everyone’s fun – and to catch a murderer while she’s at it.

My take on this book: CAUTION!! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ ANY SPOILERS PLEASE STOP READING NOW! IF YOU DO WANT TO READ SPOILERS CONTINUE ON! I WON’T ALWAYS HAVE SPOILERS THOUGH!!

Woot! I am done reading this book! I am really happy that Maggie finally choses between Marcus and Tom and that she chose the one that I liked. Granted it has taken her five books to finally make up her mind but she has finally chosen.

Once again Mrs. Alt has surprised me with who the killer is. I had a feeling though that it was someone with the church this time. I wasn’t too far off with my guessing of who was the murderer. I can’t believe what that person was doing to the people they loved. I won’t tell who the killer is, but still, wow.

I do hate that Melanie, Maggie’s sister told Margo about Marcus, Felicity, and their group of friends being witches. Margo, aka Melanie’s best friend and is Maggie’s arch enemy, then told her husband, who writes a newspaper, and wrote a letter in the newspaper but signed it Anonymous.

After that most of the town was interested in going to the store to see the witches. But mostly to judge as the townspeople are church going people that want to stop Maggie and friends “evil Devil ways.” Then there are ones that just don’t care what the newspaper printed. Granted it did take a little bit of time after the newspaper was out and about before Evie’s mom found out. Once she did Evie was no longer allowed to work there or see Maggie, Tara and Felicity. Of course that’s mostly because Evie hasn’t told her parents about her gift so they don’t see why she is connected to them.

I am giving this book five stars because it captured my attention, kept me guessing and I was able to finish it a whole lot faster. Not only that but this story was really good and with each story the characters are growing a little bit more. I especially like the new side of Tara, who I misjudges and she isn’t the polar opposite of Evie as I first assumed.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Madelyn Alt

Madelyn doesn’t seem to be writing anymore.


No Rest for the Wiccan by Madelyn Alt

Posted July 27, 2015 by karenbaron in Cozy, Murder, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Witches / 0 Comments

No Rest for the Wiccan by Madelyn AltNo Rest for the Wiccan by Madelyn Alt
Series: A Bewitching Mystery #4
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Berkley on November 4th 2008
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 295
Format: Paperback
four-stars

Maggie O’Neill loves her job at Enchantments as much as she loves being Indiana’s newest witch. But when her family needs her, she’s still willing to lend a hand – even if she has to reach beyond the grave…

It’s a long, hot summer in Stony Mill, and Maggie is busy watching TV reruns, minding the store, and figuring out her love life. Then, she reluctantly volunteers to care for her bedridden, oh-so-perfect sister, Mel. But Mel isn’t the only focus of Maggie’s attention. There are some strange spirits hanging about the area – and it looks like a job for Maggie and the N.I.G.H.T.S. ghost-hunting team.

Even as she tries to deal with the long dead, Maggie must also cope with the recently deceased. When a friend of Mel’s loses her husband to a dreadful fall, the police call it an accidental death. Maggie’s not so sure, and sets her second sights on finding a first-degree murderer…

My take on this book: CAUTION!! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ ANY SPOILERS PLEASE STOP READING NOW! IF YOU DO WANT TO READ SPOILERS CONTINUE ON! I WON’T ALWAYS HAVE SPOILERS THOUGH!!

This book was awesome. I’m giving it four stars because it was one that I really really liked and I was caught up in the story after the first chapter. Granted it took me a little bit longer to finish this book then I wanted, but that’s okay I guess.

Even though I am reading these books after my mom, aunt, and sister I am enjoying reading them. I felt so sorry for Maggie throughout the whole book because of her having to deal with her younger drama queen of a pregnant sister, Tom’s jealousy toward Marcus, trying not to run into Marcus, and a bunch of other things. I am quite pleased to say that Maggie caught a pretty friendly kitten.

I hope that Maggie figures out her feelings for both Marcus and Tom since a love triangle is pretty exciting for a little bit but it does faze out as well. I still stand by my early comment before that Maggie would be better off with Marcus than with Tom in the long run. Then again that is just my thinking and I wonder if we ever actually do find out.

Overall this book is really exciting and pretty entertaining. I actually never thought of the murderer being two people and let alone the two people that it was. But then again that is usually how it always is for me with these mystery books. I always think of one person and having it completely turned around and the actual killer surprising me. But then again I can’t believe what Melanie and Margo did to Maggie, Marcus, and Liss about their witch ways.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

four-stars

About Madelyn Alt

Madelyn doesn’t seem to be writing anymore.


Hex Marks the Spot by Madelyn Alt

Posted July 22, 2015 by karenbaron in Cozy, Murder, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Witches / 0 Comments

Hex Marks the Spot by Madelyn AltHex Marks the Spot by Madelyn Alt
Series: A Bewitching Mystery #3
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Berkley on November 27th 2007
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 246
Format: Paperback
three-stars

While her boss becomes entranced with a beautiful armoire at the countywide craft bazaar, Maggie can't help noticing the Amish craftsman who made it. Though his clothes may be plain, he himself is more handsome than a man sporting a jawline-only beard has any right to be. And he seems pretty aware that the ladies love his...furniture. But when the hunky craftsman turns up dead with a strange hex symbol near his corpse, Maggie wonders if the craft involved is the witchy kind.

My take on this book:: CAUTION!! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ ANY SPOILERS PLEASE STOP READING NOW! IF YOU DO WANT TO READ SPOILERS CONTINUE ON! I WON’T ALWAYS HAVE SPOILERS THOUGH!!

Oh my god. I didn’t realize how long it has been while I was off and on reading this book. I mean I know I started it on July 2 and I’m just now finishing it on July 17. Well for one thing it has been one crazy month so far for me. Well not only that but at times I didn’t feel up to reading or I was just so tired from doing things around the house for my mom that I couldn’t help but not read. Not only that but I am playing a game on my kindle fire called Minion Rush and it is a pretty addicting game. I was playing it today a little bit but I decided on reading tonight. That and I was just starting Chapter 16 when I took a little break earlier this week.

I liked this book but I am just going to give it a three butterflies. The reason for that is mostly because it didn’t really hold my attention. Everyone knows how that is important to me. I mean it held it but not all that much. Mostly I think that’s because I liked the idea that Madelyn Alt was going for but at the same time not really. I mean I get the whole Amish thing since even though I don’t live anywhere near any Amish people I know that there is some Amish people still around. I just don’t think that they would be very much like the book. But then again I don’t really know.

This book is a really good one but just not one that I actually really liked. Sorry Mrs. Alt.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

three-stars

About Madelyn Alt

Madelyn doesn’t seem to be writing anymore.