Publisher: Sugar Skull Books

The Dragon Finds Forever by Kristen Painter

Posted August 22, 2017 by karenbaron in Dragon Shifters, Fairies, Gargoyles, Guest Post, Leprechauns, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Vampires, Will O' The Wisp, Witches / 0 Comments

The Dragon Finds Forever by Kristen PainterThe Dragon Finds Forever by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #7
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on May 12th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 304
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.
The tourists think it’s all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
Monalisa Devlin is a Will O’ The Wisp, a rare and potentially dangerous creature. Unfortunately, her greedy father makes sure she lives up to that potential. Monalisa is magically compelled to obey her father’s evil commands—until he finally agrees to free her in exchange for one, last mission: Travel to Nocturne Falls and use her powers to force Ivan Tsvetkov back into the ring.
Once a champion on the supernatural MMA circuit, Ivan ‘The Hammer’ Tsvetkov retired after a devastating injury that left him unable to shift into his dragon form. Wounded and embittered, Ivan wants nothing more than to be left alone. Until an infuriating, stubborn, delicately beautiful stranger shows up on his doorstep and demands that he rebuild his life.
Posing as a rehab therapist seemed like the easiest way to get close to the smoldering recluse, but Monalisa quickly realizes that nothing about this mission is going to be easy. To gain his trust, she shares more of herself than she ever has before, and as their connection deepens, so does the weight of her secrets. She thought she was willing to do whatever it took to win her independence...but when her deception blows up in her face, will Monalisa discover that the loss of Ivan’s heart is too high a price to pay? Or will their love rise from the ashes to burn stronger than ever?

Just because he is all muscle doesn’t mean he doesn’t have a brain or heart.

The Dragon Finds Forever by Kristin Painter is the story of Ivan “the Hammer”, a paranormal mixed martial arts champion, a dragon and Monalisa Devlin, a Will O’ The Wisp and daughter of the King of Leprechauns in Las Vegas.

Ivan is injured in a match that Monalisa’s father rigged. Now she has been sent against her will to bring Ivan back to Las Vegas for a rematch (preferably before he is healed). Their story is full of freedom, growing love, respect, and a sort of coming of age. I love the way Ms. Painter incorporates the supernatural world in a growing romance. I believe in the way she allows even those with darkness around them to find the one that compliments them and empower each other.

Oh, yes and if Nocturne Falls were a real place I would be moving there…and I don’t plan to drink the water. My rating for The Dragon Finds Forever is 5 stars. If you haven’t read this series yet you should give it a try. I hope you like it as much as I do.

**The Dragon Finds Forever**

** Goodreads **        

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Vampire’s Fake Fiancée

Posted March 13, 2016 by karenbaron in Cats, Fairies, Gargoyles, Ghosts, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Shape Shifters, Supernatural, Urban, Valkyrie, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

Vampire’s Fake FiancéeThe Vampire’s Fake Fiancée by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on January 11th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
Sebastian Ellingham isn’t known for being a happy vampire. And when his long estranged wife comes to town expecting to pick up where they left off, things take a sharp turn toward cranky. Sure he’s been protecting her for centuries, but her assumption that he’s still available (he is) rankles.
His answer is to hire a woman to play his fiancée. The lucky victim is Tessa Blythe, sister of one of the town’s deputies, librarian in need of a job and, oh yes, reluctant Valkyrie. Playing along with Sebastian is all about the end game for her, the position of Dean of Library Studies at the local private academy.
When unexpected sparks fly between them, they agree to mutually deny the attraction. Fate, however, has other plans…

My Thoughts:         Love heals all wounds, even century old ones!

Sebastian Ellingham is the oldest of the three Ellingham Vampire Brothers. He is the recluse, stuffy, uptight and very lonely one. Some may even say he was untouchable, but then most don’t know him as he truly won’t allow anyone to get close to him.

Tessa Blythe older sister of the town’s deputy and Valkyrie. She has also lost her way in the world, set aside her heritage and found a different way to deal with the anger and the past. She is described as a mouse by many and allows it as a matter of fact.

Evangeline is a spoiled, self-serving, conniving, horrible Vampire. She wants what she wants and wants it now. She doesn’t care about the cost of the other person. She is as ugly on the inside as she is beautiful on the outside. Evangeline returns to Sebastian for reasons of her own, but it is clear they are for something and clearly not to reunite with Sebastian. She makes Sebastian lie and bring about the rouse of the engagement to save face in front of Evangeline.

Tessa isn’t keen on the act but understand and feels she should help protect Sebastian’s good name and wellbeing from being entangled with Evangeline again. Tessa and Sebastian are sweet together. They realize that they have much in common and start to enjoy each of others company. They are like kindred spirits. She helps him and he helps her. Evangeline never had a chance against love.

I truly love happy endings. I feel that a few things could have been wrapped up nicer, but I still adored the ending of the book. I like the combination of supernatural, lore, love, family, good vs evil that you find in Ms. Painter’s writings. She really has sucked me into this lovely world. If I could move to Nocturne Falls I would gladly drink the water and enjoy the wonder of living in a town that celebrates Halloween 365 days of the year.

My rating is 5 stars. I thoroughly enjoy reading these wonderful stories, filled with outstanding characters, funny, romantic and family-oriented plots. I love the series and highly recommend it, however not necessary, you’ll want to start with the first on The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride, if you haven’t already.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Werewolf’s Christmas Wish

Posted March 12, 2016 by karenbaron in Fantasy, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Rooks, Series, Short Stories, Supernatural, Urban, Valkyrie, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

Werewolf’s Christmas WishThe Werewolf's Christmas Wish by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #4.6
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on February 23, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

*A Nocturne Falls Short Story*

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

Bridget Merrow has almost everything a werewolf could wish for. And it's not that her awesome family and popular business aren't enough - she just wants someone to share it all with this Christmas. Too bad the someone she wants doesn't want her. Or does he?

My Thoughts:        Howling Hot Holiday!

I was so relieved. Bridget and Sam flirted with each other in the Werewolf Meets his Match, but circumstances caused them to drop the romance before it could begin. They clearly like each other. Bridget just couldn’t figure it out what Sam’s problem was.

Sam Kincaid, doesn’t have much and is starting over. He doesn’t feel that he can provide for Bridget in the way that he thinks (or her brothers have said) she should be. However, being locked in a walk-in refrigerator gave them plenty of time to talk it out. They seem to have worked out for the most part.

My rating is 5 stars. I find this short story exceptionally sweet. Christmas for the normal working werewolf may be not be normal for everyone, but Bridget and Sam know what they want. I highly recommend this series.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Witch’s Halloween Hero

Posted March 6, 2016 by karenbaron in Fantasy, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Rooks, Series, Short Stories, Supernatural, Urban, Vampires, Witches / 0 Comments

Witch’s Halloween HeroThe Witch's Halloween Hero by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #4.5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on January 20, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 45
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
When a spell goes wrong on the night of Samhain for witch Corette Williams, her only hope is the man she loves, Bartholomew Stanhill. But time is running out. As the clock ticks toward midnight on Halloween, they grow closer to the moment when magic will erase him from her mind. Can Stanhill become Corette’s Halloween hero?

My Thoughts:                 Magic Mishaps with Miracle Mends…

What a wonderful story. I have truly liked Corette and Stanhill in the earlier books. It was sweet to get to know each a little better and to see them at the ball.

Corette’s three grown daughters create a spell for a customer and Corette inadvertently spills some on herself, per the spell she will forget her love and cease to even see him.

Stanhill and Corette’s love isn’t first or young. Their love is that of the mature, mutual respect and the joy that is felt with togetherness. Stanhill has such great patience even when his love may be taken from him. Corette can feel their love and sees how wonderful he is. Enough said, the ending is happy.

My rating is 5 stars. I loved the short story. In fact Spell of the Ball has a lot of great short stories in it. I may review those individually, but for now you can purchase The Witch’s Halloween Hero individually on Amazon. I truly love this series and highly recommend it.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


The Professor Woos the Witch

Posted March 1, 2016 by karenbaron in Cats, Fairies, Gargoyles, Ghosts, Paranormal, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Shape Shifters, Urban, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

The Professor Woos the WitchThe Professor Woos The Witch by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #4
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on October 9th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better. Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs and all.
Pandora Williams is Nocturne Falls’ most successful real estate agent. And least successful witch. Her magic never has the intended outcome, but she’s learned to live with that. Mostly. Yes, it sucks, but what can she do? Then a hot new neighbor shows up and suddenly her magic works. Very cool, but very suspect. Especially since he’s a total non-believer.
Cole Van Zant likes practicality and absolutes. Things he can see and touch. So not magic. But when his teenage daughter insists she’s a witch—and they’re now living in a town that celebrates Halloween every day—he needs help. Of the witchy variety. Thankfully, his sexy neighbor buys into all that hocus pocus.
Enlisting her help seems like a great idea until spending time together reveals a supernatural surprise about who Cole really is. A secret even he didn’t know. Could Pandora and Cole really be meant for one another or is their attraction too much to believe?

My Thoughts: DIY & Supernatural! Awesome…

Pandora is such a fabulous heroine. She is confident, beautiful, successful, and not perfect. All of that make her a superb leading lady. Pandora is remarkably kind with Kaley and we really get to see her soft side in this story. I enjoyed her banter with Cole and the way she kept strong and a little sassy with him.

Cole is the strong, handsome, nerdy guy who looks cute but has no clue he is hot. He is special and yet his parents’ way of protecting him was to keep him in the dark. He has no idea of the things that have gone and are going on around him. However, once it has been brought to his attention he can see it and kind of rolls with it. I really liked his compassion and heart. He adopted his ex’s daughter, Kaley and kept custody of her after the divorce. He is a great dad, even with Kaley believing that she is a witch.

They make a great team, with his construction background and her real estate expertise, that house will be such a show place. They all make such a wonderful happy family. I really like happy endings.

My rating is 5 stars. I find this series wonderfully witty, and filled with the right amount of magic, supernatural, humor and sexual innuendo. I can’t wait to read the next book, The Vampire’s Fake Fiancee.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.