Publisher: Createspace

Beyond Death by Deb McEwan

Posted August 6, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Death, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghosts, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural / 1 Comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Beyond Death by Deb McEwanBeyond Death (Afterlife, #1) by Deb McEwan
Published by Createspace on June 18th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 190
Format: ebook
four-stars

A DEAD WOMAN'S STORY
“With so many supernatural tales on the shelves it’s hard to find something genuinely original yet Beyond Death fits the description well, with author Deb McEwan bringing a distinctive new voice to this ever popular genre.” Book Viral
What really happens when we die? Twenty-something Claire Sylvester is about to find out. The morning after the best night of her life she is taken before her time.
Claire is suspended in her strange new world. She watches as the secret lives of those she loves unravels, and sadistic villains are punished on the road to their own personal hell.
All the while a higher authority ponders her ultimate fate.
More than Claire knows depends on her actions and those of the unlikely partner who accompanied her on her journey.
What will be her final destination?
Beyond Death - a supernatural thriller of love and loss, deceit and revenge, with a little romance and humour.

My take on this book:              Beyond Death by Deb McEwan is a pretty interesting read. What first caught my interest is the plot then the book cover. The plot was well-crafted and made me interested in reading the book. Since this book isn’t what I normally read and everyone who knows me and has read this blog knows that. I do know that this is bad to say but I also sometimes judge a book by its cover but not all the time. Anyways I’m giving this book a four-star rating because it did keep me entertained but it did have something keeping it from being five stars.

One of those things is how the first act seemed a bit choppy especially with introducing so many characters at first in the beginning and then not seeing them again until the middle act. She did have a lot of subplots going on and she did finish them all up which is a good thing. Ms. McEwan is a pretty good author and a bit of the book seemed like it still needed some work to truly be a good book. What I mean by that like she could have gone back to reread it and make sure that it flowed nicely with the rest of the book.

All the character in the book were very well developed and I liked them all. Even the ones that are evil because of how well developed they all are. I especially liked the transformations of Claire, Ken, and Ron. Claire because she did it the most. She died at a young age and has to go through with the fact that she isn’t alive anymore and that she needs to let go and forgive the people that she loves down on Earth. Ken also did the most as well. He was first introduced as a bad guy and then he died. He has been going through more of a tough time than Claire and Ron ever did since dying and he is hoping to redeem himself. Ron kind of did as well. The reason for that is because he is also trying to learn to let go and forgive the people that he loves down on Earth while trying to figure out if he should do a hard thing at the end of the book.

I do recommend this book to my more adult readers of this blog if they are interested in this book. Beyond Death is a good book and I am glad that the author contacted me to read it. I am also at this moment unsure if I will be reading the rest of this series.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

four-stars

About Deb McEwan

Following a career of over thirty years in the British Army, Deb and her husband moved to Cyprus to become weather refugees.

She’s written children’s books about Jason the penguin and Barry the reindeer and adult books about aliens, the afterlife, soldiers, and netball players.
The first book in the latest series ‘Unlikely Soldiers’ is set in nineteen seventies Britain. The second covers the early eighties and includes the Falklands War, service in Northern Ireland and (the former) West Germany. ‘Friends and Revenge’ is the third in the series, and takes a sinister turn of events.

‘Court Out (A Netball Girls’ Drama)’ is Deb’s latest book. Using netball as an escape from her miserable home life, Marsha Lawson is desperate to keep the past buried and to forge a brighter future. But she’s not the only one with secrets. When two players want revenge, a Tsunami of emotions is released at a tournament leaving destruction in its wake. As the wave starts spreading throughout the team, can Marsha and the others escape its deadly grasp, or will their emotional baggage pull them under, with devastating consequences for their families and team-mates? ‘Court Out’ will be published in August 2017.

Deb spends her time writing, avoiding housework and playing tour guide. She occasionally blogs about her books and (tongue in cheek) from Donut the dog’s point of view. She also tries – and mostly fails – to keep the pounds off.


A Charming Secret by Tonya Kappes

Posted June 8, 2015 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Cozy, Fantasy, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Rural, Series, Supernatural, Witches / 0 Comments

A Charming Secret by Tonya KappesA Charming Secret by Tonya Kappes
Series: Magical Cures Mystery #6
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Createspace on October 7th 2014
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 286
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Bubble... Bubble...

June Heal has it all.

A Charming Cure, her magical cure shop in the town of Whispering Falls, is thriving and she's engaged to her childhood sweetheart and sheriff, Oscar Park. Petunia Shrubwood is taking over as Village President and there is a new bed and breakfast in town, Full Moon Treesort.

Life in Whispering Falls is good.

Cures And Trouble...

Evil begins to lurk as June's nightmares return, sending her intuition into a downward spiral.

A Charming Cure goes up in flames and there is a dead body in the attic, clutching one of June's cures, sending some of the residents of Whispering Falls on a hunt. . .and she's the one they are looking for!

Magic Stirs...

June flees to her hometown of Locust Grove, reopening her cure shop at the local flea market, giving her the opportunity to use her intuition and put her sleuthing skills to work.

And Troubles Double...

Will June wake up from this nightmare in time to save Mr. Prince Charming, her Fairy-God cat, after her nightmare reveals his ultimate demise?

My take on this story:: CAUTION! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK ALREADY!!!!!!!

This is another good book by Tonya Kappes. Though I did just realize that I read this book and the last book I reviewed backwards. The reason I did that was because I didn’t realize that it went this one and then the last one I reviewed. But oh well. This book was very good.

I knew that Petunia had family members that were spiritualists I just didn’t know that she had a cousin and a sister though. I really do love this book series and I actually can’t wait to see what Tonya does in the next book.

I actually can’t believe that Petunia’s sister though was mean like she was though she hides it quite well. But yes this is a good book and I will give it a five star review!!!!!

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Tonya Kappes

For years, USA Today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

She has a B.A. in Education from the University of Kentucky and a proud Kentucky Wildcat fan.

Married to an amazing man, Eddy, she has four son ranging in ages from twenty-two to sixteen years old, Charlie and Scooter (Schnauzers), and Kitty Kappes.

Now a full time writer, she spends her days creating the fun-loving, quirky southern characters that is full of charm that readers have come to love.


A Charming Christmas

Posted June 8, 2015 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Cozy, Magic, Mystery, Novella, Paranormal Romance, Review, Rural, Series, Witches / 0 Comments

A Charming ChristmasA Charming Christmas by Tonya Kappes
Series: Magical Cures Mystery #6.5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Createspace on November 28, 2014
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 72
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Whispering Falls is having a winter storm warning. Not only from a blizzard, but a thief. . . the Whispering Falls Grinch.
Sheriff Oscar Park is snowed in the nearby town of Locust Grove and unable help catch the unwanted visitor in their magical town. It is up to June Heal and her familiars, Mr. Prince Charming and Madame Torres, to put their amateur sleuthing skills to work and bring the Whispering Falls Grinch to justice.

My take on this book:: CAUTION! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK ALREADY!!!!!!!

This book was soooo funny and a good one that keeps you guessing throughout the whole thing. I didn’t think that the Whispering Falls Grinch was who it was. I am quite happy with how this book turned out. June, Oscar, and Mr. Prince Charming are all quite funny in this one including Madame Torres. I won’t spoil it too much as it is a quite a good book. Tonya Kappes is a really good author and I am so happy to be reunited with Whispering Falls once again.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Tonya Kappes

For years, USA Today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

She has a B.A. in Education from the University of Kentucky and a proud Kentucky Wildcat fan.

Married to an amazing man, Eddy, she has four son ranging in ages from twenty-two to sixteen years old, Charlie and Scooter (Schnauzers), and Kitty Kappes.

Now a full time writer, she spends her days creating the fun-loving, quirky southern characters that is full of charm that readers have come to love.


Third Time’s a Charm by Rose Pressey

Posted June 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Urban, Witches / 0 Comments

Third Time’s a Charm by Rose PresseyThird Time's a Charm by Rose Pressey
Series: Halloween LaVeau #3
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Createspace on September 30th 2013
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Humor, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Charmed, I'm sure...
Halloween LaVeau is the new leader of the Underworld, but before the ink's dry on her business cards, a mysterious man appears, claiming the title belongs to him. Giovanni St. Clair declares he has proof that he's the true owner of the Book of Mystics, and therefore, the leader of the Underworld.
Halloween has reason to believe that Giovanni's motives are nothing but sinister. Not only must she defend her status as the witch in charge, but Halloween has to protect the world from a coven she inadvertently reanimates.
Sexy brothers, Liam Rankin and Nicolas Marcos, band together to help Halloween discover the stranger's true intentions and attempt to cast the reanimated coven back to the grave where they belong.

My take on this book: CAUTION! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK YET. CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

Poor Hallie. She can never get a break before something else happens in her life. It’s even worse with the ghosts still running around her property, since the first book, waiting to come back to life with her help.

She has so much stuff happening in her life that I believe she needs to have a rest. But once again this book is another great fast-paced and is a good book. Rose Pressey is just another great author with another great book.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Rose Pressey

Rose Pressey is a USA TODAY bestselling author. She enjoys writing quirky and fun novels with a paranormal twist. The paranormal has always captured her interest. The thought of finding answers to the unexplained fascinates her.

When she’s not writing about werewolves, vampires and every other supernatural creature, she loves eating cupcakes with sprinkles, reading, spending time with family, and listening to oldies from the fifties.

Rose lives in the beautiful commonwealth of Kentucky with her husband, son and three sassy Chihuahuas.

Rose suffers from Psoriatic Arthritis and has knee replacements. She might just set the world record for joint replacements. She’s soon having her hips replaced, elbows, and at least one shoulder.


A Charming Magic by Tonya Kappes

Posted June 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Cozy, Fantasy, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Rural, Series, Witches / 0 Comments

A Charming Magic by Tonya KappesA Charming Magic by Tonya Kappes
Series: Magical Cures Mystery #5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Createspace on January 7th 2013
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 200
Format: Kindle

Whispering Falls is getting a new store. Magical Moments Flower Shop is bound to be a hit, especially since there is an upcoming Whispering Falls wedding. Arabella Paxton is the beautiful new owner and resident of Whispering Falls and she has her eyes set on Oscar Park. No one is going to get in her way. Not even June Heal who is desperately trying to figure out why there is a looming dark cloud over their magical town and things around them are dying. But when a beloved village resident is poisoned from a potion that was bought at A Charming Cure, June Heal has to use all of her sleuthing skills and a little bit of magic to clear her name and save her town.

My take on this book: CAUTION! IF YOU ARE READING THIS REVIEW BEFORE READING THE BOOK. CONTINUE ON WITH CAUTION!!!

I finished this book in my new house that we are renting in Montana on a day that my mom and I were taking a break from unpacking. I gotta say this book was really good. I mean sure June can be, a lot, insecure with herself about Oscar when he is being near other woman. That, to her are more beautiful than her, but Oscar doesn’t think so.

This book is a really good book and I am oh so very happy with how this book ended. Without June’s help Oscar got his memory back which is a very good thing. Also like in all of the other book’s June got the person that was making her look bad. I think that is it that I want to say on this review. Oh Tonya Kappes is an amazing author and I am very happy with the books that I have read from hers turned out to be.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

About Tonya Kappes

For years, USA Today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

She has a B.A. in Education from the University of Kentucky and a proud Kentucky Wildcat fan.

Married to an amazing man, Eddy, she has four son ranging in ages from twenty-two to sixteen years old, Charlie and Scooter (Schnauzers), and Kitty Kappes.

Now a full time writer, she spends her days creating the fun-loving, quirky southern characters that is full of charm that readers have come to love.