Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

A Bargain in Silver

Posted October 22, 2016 by karenbaron in Dystopia, Paranormal, Review, Series, Vampires / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Bargain in SilverA Bargain in Silver by Josie Jaffrey
Series: Solis Invicti #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on January 3, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

If the price of safety is slavery, would you bargain your life? A deadly infection threatens to wipe out humanity. The only people who can stem its advance are the Silver, a vampiric race who offer a simple exchange: protection in return for blood and subservience. It's not a deal that Emmy's willing to make, but as her world burns around her she finds herself in the arms of the enemy and the line between oppressor and saviour begins to blur. After an attack by the infected, Emmy is rescued by the handsome Drew who introduces her to the world of the Silver. Desperate to escape subjugation and confused by her attraction to him, she gathers what remains of her surrogate family and plans to make a break for freedom. But despite her efforts to resist, she is drawn further into the intrigues of the mysterious Silver through the agency of their ruler, the Primus: Solomon. Emmy refuses to submit to the cold and detached Primus and an attempt on her life makes it clear that he is unable to protect her from the political machinations of his race. As the connection between them deepens she must choose between her desire and her will to rebel, but can she trust his intentions when everyone is after her blood?

My Thoughts:   Does it matter if he is a vampire if he has a good heart?

I absolutely loved this book. I had the hardest time putting it down. I think I may have even growled at my family when they interrupted me. I was so worried about Emmy and her friends, that I couldn’t get them off my mind.

Emmy, for the most part, is your normal average girl. She wants to be part of a family and enjoy life. She gave up her life when her boyfriend disappeared, and move to London to start again. She gets a job as a bartender and gains a bunch of friends who become her family. Then the infection begins and she meets Drew. She is instantly drawn to him, even though she questions their connection constantly. She even allows someone she doesn’t really know to influence her perception of Drew.

Drew, who is second in command of the Solis Invicti, is kind in his own way. He is set in the fact that life is changing on earth and he will be one of those who will help make people comfortable and readjust to the new ways. He seems to try very hard to play within the rules that the Primus has set. Then he meets Emmy and instantly falls for her. Drew, however, knows of the consequences of loving her and wants to make sure that she has her complete free will to make the choice to love him back. He seems very noble. Can a vampire be good? He was born a vampire so perhaps it is possible.

There must be something about Emmy that is special, something unseen by most. Emmy catches the attention of Drew immediately, but also Solomon, who is in charge of the Silver and apparently the world as it is now known. They are both drawn to her even though she has a smart mouth and refuses to be their slave.

Since the story is told from Emmy’s point a view, there are secrets that she feels but is uncertain what they are. The Silver have quite a lot of superstitions and ways that are unknown to humans. Honestly, they must have had this planned for a while, at least by one faction or another. Humans didn’t know that they existed and were completely caught off guard.

My rating is 5 stars. I completely loved this book. I am so recommending this to my friends as I know they would enjoy it too.

**Where to find A Bargain in Sliver **

** Goodreads **

This book was given to the Baroness Book Trove for an honest review.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Josie Jaffrey

I have always written stories, but it wasn’t until I started the first book in the Solis Invicti series in 2014 that I really became obsessed with writing. I love to read, particularly where the escapism of the story is enhanced with an element of fantasy or science fiction. For me, writing is simply an extension of that journey, but I get to decide what happens next (though it’s amazing how often the characters seem to decide for themselves what I’m going to write!).

I grew up in the English countryside and studied Classics at the University of Oxford, subsequently converting to law. After a year working in London in Paternoster Square (where the majority of the Solis Invicti series is set), I returned to Oxford where I still live with my husband and two somali cats. When I’m not writing, I work as a solicitor specializing in Intellectual Property and Commercial law.

As a new author, I love to hear from readers with their comments and feedback on the books, so please do get in touch through the website or via Twitter.

Thank you for reading!


The Becoming by William Truax III

Posted October 22, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Angels, Fantasy, Fiction, Greek Mythology, Mythology, Novella, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Witches / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Becoming by William Truax IIIThe Becoming by William L. Truax III
Series: Angel/Witch Saga #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on September 25th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 204
Format: Kindle
three-stars

Just one day after Cameron leaves her job, Francis takes Cameron to meet Dean, (a charming, sophisticated and successful young man) her employer and friend. She is offered a position at his company where Francis works. Cameron is thrilled and accepts the position without hesitation. Read what happens when these two friends discover their true paths as they venture into endeavors with some unforeseen allies. Their goal is to stop an ancient evil who is hell bent on destroying Heaven and taking God's Throne!

My take on this book:              The Becoming by William Truax III is unlike what I thought it would be. I had a completely different version of the book from the synopsis to what the book actually is.

The book is in two different point-of-views. The first point-of-view is of Cameron and she is, unknowingly to her, a witch. The second point-of-view is of Sam and he is, unknowingly also an angel or at least part of an angel.

Cameron is a believable character that is trying to get a job and support herself. Which she does with the help of her friend, Francis.  Cameron finds out about her being a witch and that her main powers are with electricity and lightning. To me, those two powers sound so awesome. I also think that these powers totally fit Cameron. Cameron will isn’t as strong as I would think someone of her power should be. It is almost like she goes under a spell and loses herself in him.

Sam is living on his own despite his mom having a key to his apartment. He works at Walmart and has made recent changes to his lifestyle. Sam is a believable character. At first, his mother was very overprotective of him but then she seems to allow him to become an adult. The mother-son relationship between the two was totally sweet, I could totally picture it. He didn’t really know about himself being an Angel until he went to get his girlfriend back from the people that took her away.

The book overall was good. I truly like the concept. Although, the beginning of the book was slow and kind of hard for me to get into. Once  I got to the middle of the book, it was fast-paced and I liked it more. However, I found the gaps of time that weren’t explained well, due to the deep point of view that author maintains. I also found that I had a lot of unanswered questions after reading the book. These unanswered questions had to do with things that I didn’t understand in the book and with why certain things happened when it contradicted with what the character was thinking/doing in the first half of the book. The gaps in time really bothered the flow of the story. I figured these might be answered within the other books of the series.

The Becoming by William Truax III is overall a good book but not exactly what I thought it would be. I am giving it a three stars rating due to the time gaps and the unanswered questions. I think that the author really has a way with keeping with the point of view which is good. But I would like to see a better switch and less confusion when going from Cameron to Sam. I feel that this author will continue to grow as a writer. Please give it a try as if you like mythology you may understand it better than I did.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find The Becoming**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

three-stars

About William L. Truax III

William L. Truax III is a father of 2, an 11-year-old girl and an 8-year-old boy. His wife, Tiffany, and himself have been together now for the last 12 years and going strong. He works full time for Xerox and he, of course, writes. He resides in Marianna, Florida with his family. In 2006 to 2007 he served in the United States Military Corps and was sent home due to injury, since then he has been taken care of by the Veteran’s Affairs.


One Person’s Craziness by R.T. Ojas

Posted October 13, 2016 by karenbaron in Adventure, Aliens, Fantasy, Mystery, Novella, Review, Time Travel / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Person’s Craziness by R.T. OjasOne Person's Craziness by R.T. Ojas
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on February 6th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 102
Format: Kindle
three-half-stars

Amoli is a mysterious man with an even more mysterious past. During a recorded session with a psychiatrist, he reveals his perplexing story about survival, hope, ancient civilizations, and cosmic adventures.

My Thoughts:          Could this be what happened to the old civilizations?

I have to say that this isn’t really the type of book that I normally read. However, I was most intrigued by the book’s description. The book is a novella and a really quick read.

The book starts out a little on the slow side but kept me interested throughout Amoli’s adventure. I enjoyed the historical references and the not-so-historical parts of the story. I sort of pictured them somewhere like Easter Island.

I liked Amoli’s character. He had a little comedian in him, yet he tried to be tough even when he was scared.  I was really hoping that he would find Azanita and she would return his feelings. The alien part of the story was acceptable. Scully and Molder would have enjoyed this interview. I can imagine that they would have had so many questions. The ending was probably the greatest part. I won’t spoil it, but I didn’t see it coming.

My rating is 3.5 stars. I really liked the book but thought there could have been a little more to the adventure. I think that Mr. Ojas will only become better and better as a writer and I look forward to reading more of his works.

**Where to find One Person’s Craziness**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

three-half-stars

About R.T. Ojas

Software Engineer at day. Writer at Night.


Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes

Posted June 12, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

Spies and Spells by Tonya KappesSpies and Spells by Tonya Kappes
Series: Spies and Spells #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 21st 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 248
Format: Kindle
five-stars

SPIES AND SPELLS, the first in this highly anticipated new series from USA TODAY Bestseller Tonya Kappes because we know she's a queen at writing paranormal mystery witch series, is here! Spies and Spells Spies and Spells Book 1 While Maggie waits for her Witchy Hour, she works at the family diner with her mom, aunt Meme and Lilith, her sister - all witches. Soon Maggie gets entangled with a mysterious handsome stranger, Mick Jasper, and his secret U.S. organization, SKUL. Has she found her calling?

My take on this book:              Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes is another great book and series. All the characters are funny, great, and at times very nutty. The characters are all of those things plus more.

Maggie is the main character of the book and trying to figure out what she is supposed to do in this world, until her Witchy Hour, which she is wondering if it will ever happen to her. Her older sister, Lilith, hasn’t had her Witchy Hour yet and she doesn’t really mind waiting for it. While her mom and Aunt Meme have there’s. We follow Maggie as her Witchy Hour starts to happen and all the way through the mystery that she gets herself wrapped up in just from meeting Mick Jasper. My question is the life’s ambition SKUL or Mick Jasper? I am looking forward to finding out in the next book.

The spells that Tonya made up for the book were cute and silly but entertaining to read the mess or not so mess that it will cause. I loved the whole family of witches and their friends having a makeup party. Also Vinnie, her familiar, is super, funny and protective. He was entertaining as well.

Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes is a great book and one that I recommend for everyone to read. I am also giving this book a five star rating. If you like quirky fun cozy mysteries check out some of her other series, like the Magical Cures Mysteries or the Ghostly Southern Mysteries.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

five-stars

About Tonya Kappes

For years, USA Today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

She has a B.A. in Education from the University of Kentucky and a proud Kentucky Wildcat fan.

Married to an amazing man, Eddy, she has four son ranging in ages from twenty-two to sixteen years old, Charlie and Scooter (Schnauzers), and Kitty Kappes.

Now a full time writer, she spends her days creating the fun-loving, quirky southern characters that is full of charm that readers have come to love.


Gargoyle Gets His Girl

Posted February 26, 2016 by karenbaron in Fairies, Fantasy, Gargoyles, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Shape Shifters, Supernatural, Urban, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

Gargoyle Gets His GirlThe Gargoyle Gets His Girl by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #3
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on January 1st 1970
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better. Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs and all.
Willa Iscove, fae jeweler, has her first stalker. Really, he’s just one of her lovesick customers. The ring she crafted to help him find new love has backfired, making Willa the object of his affections. In a bid to rid herself of her amorous client, Willa makes a wish in the Nocturne Falls fountain using the piece of opal in her pocket and in doing so, unknowingly conscripts as her guardian the sexy gargoyle on duty.
Former Army Ranger and gargoyle Nick Hardwin has some serious suspicions about the pretty fae who just invoked the ancient pact for protection. Her kind have been at odds with his kind for ages. Now she wants his help? He’s determined to figure out what she’s up to. Which won’t be a hardship considering how much fun she is to be around. And kiss.
But then her stalker turns out to be the tip of the iceberg and things go really wrong, really fast. When Nick and Willa are both kidnapped, Willa is forced to make a hard decision. The life of her family or the freedom of the man she’s fallen for?

My Thoughts: Fae and Gargoyles. What an astounding adventure, adored it!

Nocturne Falls continues to amaze me. I love the neighborly citizens, and the underground tunnels, so awesome. It doesn’t matter who or what you are, they protect their own.

Willa has some serious magic skills, most of which she doesn’t even know about or understand. She definitely has the flight as opposed to fight gene. She is more extraordinary than she can imagine, but not just the magic, she has a truly special heart. Willa can create all kinds of jewelry and she can add magic to help the wearer with whatever they want. The Ellinghams like having her in Nocturne Falls and this is the longest that she has stayed anywhere. She has hidden strength and a stubbornness that most don’t see.

Nick is such a soldier. He has such a strong sense to protect, not just Willa but everyone who lives with injustice. Although Nick is strong he is also torn by the past of his kind and the loss of his parents. He is extremely brave and yet he enjoys taking care of Willa & her cat. His gentleness is striking. Nick although strong and a outstanding fighter, he has a genetic weakness that puts him and Willa in serious danger.

Willa’s grows so much in this story. We have been seeing her since Book 1, it is wonderful to now know her, her story and see her find love. Willa must forgive her parents to save Nick’s life and her own. She learns that her parents are sorry for the past, and Willa gets to know her brother and sisters, when she returns to her Fairy home with Nick. I enjoyed their story, especially like the description of the Fairy home and how they got back to returned to Nocturne Falls.

My rating is 5 stars. This series is remarkable and I find that I enjoy each book more and more. I can’t wait to read the next book, The Professor Woos the Witch.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Dead Money Run by J. Frank James

Posted February 24, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Adventure, Death, Fiction, Murder, Mystery, Review, Series, Thriller / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Dead Money Run by J. Frank JamesDead Money Run by J. Frank James
Series: Lou Malloy Crime #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on August 26th 2013
Genres: Crime, Fiction, Mystery, Romance
Pages: 280
Format: Kindle
four-stars

Lou Malloy has just maxed out on a fifteen year prison sentence for the theft of $15 million and just before leaving prison he learns that his sister is brutally killed. As he is leaving prison, he's told to keep his nose clean or he would soon be back. As far as Malloy is concerned all bets were off until he finds his sister's killer. In the meantime, he has to fight off predators trying to get their hands on the money he stole and keep from being sent back to prison trying to protect those dear to him. He catches a break when he meets up with Hilary Kelly, a private investigator with an agenda of her own, She has been hired by the insurance company that paid on the theft claim of the money stolen from the casino by Malloy. In the course of events, Malloy and Kelly become more than just friends and Kelly decides to throw in with Malloy. Together they work to uncover exactly what happened to Malloy's sister and why. Their search involves a vicious gang led by a vengeful old man and his crazy son who has his own problems keeping his hands off other women. To make matters worse, Malloy and Kelly's search is complicated by the fact that Malloy's sister was really a special agent with the Department of Home Land Security and she was working undercover when she was killed trying to locate the whereabouts of special plates to produce counterfeit currency that if the plates ended up in the wrong hands, whole banking systems of major foreign countries could collapse overnight. As Malloy and Kelly race to find the killer of Malloy's sister, they enlist the help of Crusher, a pro wrestler who served in the cell next to Malloy at the Atlanta Penitentiary. The decision is made for Malloy and company to hit the same casino again that Malloy robbed fifteen years ago by a special ops unit of the Department of Homeland Security. The plan is complicated by the fact that the ops unit is phony setup led by a former agent turned rouge who is backed by another vicious gang with international contacts intent on getting their hands on the missing money plates. Malloy decides to go through with the heist of the casino a second time, but on a different schedule than planned. If they don't make it they have no way to return to the real world. They are in a make or break it race. Read as they race to the finish line and learn if this where the run ends or the run begins....

My take on this book:   Dead Money Run by J. Frank James was not what I excepted it to be. Lou Malloy is quite the character as we start off the book with him in jail. Lou finds out that his sister was murdered and he wants to avenge his sister’s death.

Throughout the book we see it in Lou’s point-of-view until we start seeing it in third person point-of-view about some things that we wouldn’t be able to see in Lou’s point. Lou is in interesting character because he spent fifteen years in prison for a crime that he did commit but wouldn’t tell anyone anything about when they wanted to know. Lou also just wanted to be able to spend his time, not killing anyone, with his sister and spending the money. That changed when he found out that someone killed his sister and he wanted revenge.

Throughout Lou’s journey in the book he does a lot (like really a lot) of killing, he finds someone to care about (something he never thought would happen to him), he discovered a lot about his sister’s life in the past fifteen years, and he kind-of-sort-of has a job now.

This is the first book in the Lou Malloy series. I didn’t excepted so many killings to happen, or there to be so many details about it. I did figure out who killed his sister, I think, a little bit before Lou did which is kind of cool. Or at least I suspected who had a hand in it.

I am giving this book a four star rating. Dead Money Run by J. Frank James was a good book. However, it is totally different from what I normally read. I enjoyed reading out of my typical genres for this story. So, if you like action, and don’t mind a little gore this is a good book for you.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

four-stars

About J. Frank James

Frank James is the author of crime thriller novels. His crime fiction books are gripping and suspenseful with readers being unable to put them down once they get into them. Jim has a passion for writing, and he certainly has the knowledge and experience to write realistic crime thriller novels, thanks to his extensive background in law. Jim attended law school, where he was a member of the law review. He even went on to pass the state bar and started his own law practice that specialized in complex litigation.

Jim’s experience in law helps lend credibility to his crime fiction books. Not only that, Jim has traveled extensively and gains inspiration for his crime thriller novels from his travels. Some of the countries that Jim has visited include Peru, Brazil, Italy, Greece and countless others. From observing other cultures and gaining new experiences, Jim is able to infuse new life into his books and develop believable characters that readers can identify with.

At present, Jim has published four crime thriller novels. All four of his novels have the elements necessary of good crime novels that keep readers glued to the pages from start to finish. Although Jim’s crime novels are fiction works, they are exciting to read because of their authentic nature. They are written with the backing of Jim’s experience in law, so they are believable situations that have the readers wanting to find out what happens next just like they would in any crime situation.

They offer the readers just enough information to keep them guessing and trying to solve the crimes until the end of the books when they are actually revealed. Jim’s books are also fresh and unique takes on crime as well, though. They are not the same whodunit type books that have been done over and over again. By infusing his personal travels into his books, Jim creates characters and atmospheres based on just enough truth to be relatable.

Plus, Jim’s books have everything in them from robbery to prison to family. They have hard and soft elements simultaneously to really capture the life of a hardened criminal who is still very human and struggles with the same human emotions as the rest of society. At the same time, Jim gives the reader perspectives from private investigators to balance out the story.

Jim’s books even have a hit of romance when his characters come to care for each other as more than just friends. Then, crime and love mixes to create a dynamic atmosphere that is even more complicated than ever before since characters care not only for each other but for their other family members as well. Jim has an amazing way of incorporating various elements into his latest crime novels to create thrillers that readers cannot get enough of, which is perhaps why all four of his books so far carry on one from the other to continue the same story concerning the hardened criminal who did 15 years in prison, Lou Malloy and who comes to be his partner, private investigator, Hilary Kelly. The two of them go it together to create gripping stories that keep readers coming back for more.


Ash and Snow by Katie Doyle

Posted February 10, 2016 by karenbaron in Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Teen, Witches, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ash and Snow by Katie DoyleAsh and Snow by Katie Doyle
Series: A Grimm Tidings Novella #2
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on November 27th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 130
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Ash fought for her brother, now she has to fight for her life. When the spell to save her brother worked, she didn't anticipate the problems that would follow suit. It destroyed her magic and in so doing left her life force to drain away. For months, the Witch Council searched for a way to stop her inevitable death, but nothing has come of it so far. Then Ash has a dream and as soon as she wakes up meets the little girl who starred in it. Kay Dewitt is sick. She's also special. She knows things she shouldn't and guides Ash to find the thing that could save them both. But the Council doesn't believe and turns Ash's boyfriend against her. Ash is on her own again...Only this time two lives are at stake. Loyalty and friendship are tested in this Snow White retelling.

My take on this book: Oh my god I loved this book so much. Katie Doyle has a way of creating a story that captivates her readers within the first sentence of a chapter. It makes them regret putting it down to do mundane things like chores or to make a meal or even just to go to bed. At least, it does with me.

Ash and Snow is the second book of the series and I have to say that it’s a really good story. I think this is an actual book for the series not a Novella. I am glad that Mrs. Doyle asked me to read the first book in this series as I am now hooked on it and I can’t wait to see which fairytale she does next.

This book takes place a short time after Ash saves her brother from her evil mother. Who was trying to kill him so that she could make Ash even more powerful however Ash loses her magic in the process. This kind of backfires in the way that Ash is now dying from doing the spell. The Witch Council of course is trying to find a way to save her and make sure that she has full custody of her little brother. After she has a dream  about something that could save her the council, especially her boyfriend are reluctant to help her. Even more so after she finds out that the little girl that was in her dream is in coma and doesn’t have long to live, much like Ash.

Ash takes off to find this cure with the help of the one person that she doesn’t want in her life ever again. Thankfully the book ends on a kind of happy note for both Kay and Ash. Ash and Snow is a brilliantly written book from Katie Doyle and one that I didn’t hesitate to give it five stars to. I can’t wait to see what happens in the future for these two especially with the predicament that Ash has put herself into after finding the cure.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she’s not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she’s screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.


Ash and the Prince by Katie Doyle

Posted December 20, 2015 by karenbaron in Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Teen, Witches, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ash and the Prince by Katie DoyleAsh and the Prince by Katie Doyle
Series: A Grimm Tidings Novella #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on October 9th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 90
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Ashley "Ash" Prince hates using magic, but that doesn't stop her mother from forcing lessons on her. She resists except when it helps her stepbrother, Charlie.
Charlie is sick and none of the doctors knows why. When Ash has a witch dream, she is determined to find the elusive and rare Ghost Orchid-a flower that could be the key to saving him. Her mother begs her not to go because not only did Ash's dream reveal a way to heal her brother, it also hinted at her death. But when her brother gets worse, she refuses to sit around and let him die. In a race against time, Ash and a boy she met in a coffee shop go in search of the Ghost Orchid.
Only someone doesn't want her to find it. Family secrets are revealed and Ash has to decide whom to trust-the mother that raised her, or the boy she barely knows.
Love and family collide in this Cinderella retelling.

My take on this book: Ash and the Prince is Katie’s first book and it was very excellent. It had me on my seats edge throughout the entire book. I would have gotten it finished earlier if it hadn’t been for a few things that needed to be taken care of around the house.

I loved how she incorporated the retelling of a classic fairytale, magic, love both romantic and familial, secrets, and a heroine that keeps true to being herself.

The first thing that she incorporated into her book is the retelling of Cinderella. She retold it by having Ash, Cinderella, be a witch that is trying to save her stepbrother who is sick much like his dad was, and Ash dealing with her mother not being happy about her trying to save her stepbrother. I was just so impressed with Katie’s ability to give a classic fairytale a new spun. It makes you hope that Ash doesn’t die because of the flower.

The second thing that Ms. Doyle incorporated into her book is magic. The fact that Ash hates using magic makes you stop and think about why she hates it. That is one reason to buy the book, you know, so that you can find out who would hate using magic. This made me very curious about how magic could be a part of the retelling of the classic fairytale, Cinderella. I loved the book completely, including the parts of the book that talk about magic. It really makes me wonder what if magic is still real.

The third thing that Ms. Doyle incorporated into her book is love both romantic and familial. The way that Ash cares about her little stepbrother, her mom, and her stepfather are all sweet. And yet the romance she finds with the boy that she met at a coffee shop is also sweet. Ash never knew her dad so when her mom married her stepdad he became her surrogate dad. Ash loved him very much and she also loves her little stepbrother. They treat each other as if they were actually siblings. No matter what ends up happening between Ash and her mom, Ash still loves her.  Ash doesn’t like the decisions that her mom made in the past, the and present and she probably won’t like the ones that her mom makes in the future as well. Ash has never really felt any romantically feelings for anyone until she meets Jason and she falls for him after he starts helping her research the Ghost Orchid flower. He even goes all the way to another state to help her look for it. Jason will stand against her mom and anyone else that gets in their way. Their relationship is another big main thing that is really present in the book.

The fourth thing that Ms. Doyle incorporated into her book is secrets because that seems to be the base of a lot of the stuff in the book. The big secret in the book is with the magical witch community. They will not telling anyone that they are witches unless  the person is also a witch. Ash kind of breaks this secret every time she tells stories to her little stepbrother, Charlie, but the little eight-year-old just thinks that they are all just stories. He loves the stories, and all that Ash wants is to see a happy smile on his face. The other secret is how Charlie got sick. However, that is a really big one that we don’t find out until later in the book. Another big secret is with why Ash has this much power when no one else really did and the one about Charlie, which we also find out until later in the book.

The last thing that Ms. Doyle incorporated into her book is a heroine that stays true to herself. Ash doesn’t really change all that much throughout the book. She is still that headstrong stubborn girl that doesn’t want to practice her magic because she doesn’t like it; while being a protective, kind, and nice person to Charlie and at times Jason. Ash tries her best to keep this strong face in front of Charlie so that he doesn’t see her break down. She needs to be strong for him while they try to find out what is wrong with him as Charlie is slowly deteriorating daily. Ash wants to save Charlie. this is very clear throughout the book and that she doesn’t care about the risks. Ash totally stays strong, true to her beliefs and yet she is still shows her femininity. Granted it isn’t highlighted in the book but I feel it is there.

Ms. Doyle is an excellent author. She had me sucked in with the plot of the book immediately, which is saying a lot about her writing. It usually takes me the first chapter or two of a book to decide if I am going to like it or if I think the plot seems interesting to me.

Ash and the Prince by Katie Doyle deserves the five stars rating that I am giving it. This is a really great book and  I will tell anyone that asks me what a brilliant book this is to read!

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she’s not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she’s screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.


Every Little Thing

Posted October 22, 2015 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Review, Romance, Series, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Every Little ThingEvery Little Thing by Tracy Broemmer
Series: Lorelei Bluffs #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on November 5th 2014
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 482
Format: Paperback
three-stars

Russ Wescott wants his ex-wife and his old life back. Remarried, with a new baby, Jorie Macaslan lives a comfortable life. Her ex-husband makes her crazy, and unfortunately, he seems to be around as often now as he did when they were married. When Russ and Jorie's eighteen-year-old son, Cody, announces that his not-girlfriend is pregnant, Russ and Jorie find themselves thrown together in a new family crisis. Cody insists that Steph is just a friend, that both of them want to give the baby up for adoption, and that he's most definitely not in love with Steph. Jorie is worried that one day Cody and Steph will regret their decision. Then again, she doesn't want Cody to be tied down with a baby when he should be starting college next fall. After all, she and Russ got married young because she was pregnant with Cody, and look how they turned out. Russ is worried that Jorie is too much in love with her new husband and too involved in her new life to ever consider forgiving him for his one transgression that hurt her so badly. Will Cody and Steph decide to keep their baby, or will they decide on adoption? Can Russ make Jorie believe he's still as in love with her now as the day they were married?

My take on this book: All I got to say is wow this book will make you feel a whole lot of different feelings throughout the story. Tracy Broemmer did a great job on this book. I actually felt like I was back in Lorelai Bluffs, Illinois with these amazing characters. This book is so filled with the drama of every day life. I wondered at what life threw at the characters, cried with them, was upset with and for them, I rallied for their happiness, yelled at them for some of the decisions that they made, and thoroughly was caught up in their lives.

I liked how the title Every Little Thing ended up in some of the chapters. I thought that was cool as we use the phrase “every little thing” as things crosses our paths in daily life. Mrs. Broemmer is an amazing author and this book is really good. If anyone asks for a recommendation I would probably give it to them. That is if they are looking for a book about somewhat day-to-day life book.

I will give this book five stars because it is that good and I think it deserves it.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

three-stars

About Tracy Broemmer

Tracy Broemmer holds a BS in political science and a Masters of Science in Education. Before deciding to stay at home full time with her children, Tracy worked in the early childhood education field.

Still a stay at home mom, though her children are now twenty and fifteen, Tracy is an avid reader, volunteers at a local parochial school library and spends her waking hours writing the books she’s thinking about when she should be sleeping.

Tracy is the author of fifteen women’s fiction novels, including the Lorelei Bluffs series and five middle grade/young adult novels. She is currently working on a stand-alone women’s fiction manuscript and avoiding edits on another project.

Tracy enjoys spending time with her family, watching NFL, listening to music and anything to do with books!


The Cats that Watched the Woods GP

Posted September 29, 2015 by karenbaron in Animals, Cats, Cozy, Mystery, Review, Rural, Series / 0 Comments

The Cats that Watched the Woods GPThe Cats that Watched the Woods by Karen Anne Golden
Series: The Cats That #5
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on April 1st 2015
Genres: Cozy, Fiction, Mystery
Pages: 300
Format: Kindle
five-stars

What have the extraordinary cats of millionaire Katherine “Katz” Kendall surfed up now? “Idyllic vacation cabin by a pond stocked with catfish.” It’s July in Erie, Indiana, and steamy weather fuels the tension between Katz and her fiancé, Jake. Katz rents the cabin for a private getaway, though Siamese cats, Scout and Abra, demand to go along. How does a peaceful, serene setting go south in such a hurry? Is the terrifying man in the woods real, or is he the legendary ghost of Peace Lake? It’s up to Katz and her cats to piece together the mysterious puzzle. The fifth book in the popular “The Cats that . . . Cozy Mystery” series is a suspenseful, thrilling ride that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Enjoy this stand-alone novel, or learn more about these amazing characters by exploring the first book in the series, “The Cats that Surfed the Web.”

My Thoughts:        These mysteries are reminiscent of The Cat Who…books by Lilian Jackson Braun. I loved those books.

However, these mysteries with Katz and her merry band of cats are a wonderful update. Katz inherited her great Aunt’s fortune and lives in Erie, Indiana. Katz is a programmer from Manhattan who is growing accustom to small town, Midwest life. Katz lives with her 5 cats in a pink mansion. She seems to be a danger magnet, who finds murder and/or mayhem wherever she goes. Along with her friends from New York and Indiana she solves the mysteries of Erie.

In this story, Katz is feeling the pressure of pleasing everyone and herself. She decides to take a weekend off at a lovely cabin near Peace Lake, Indiana. However, two of her Siamese cats don’t think it’s a good idea for her to go alone. So, they throw a fit until Katz agrees to take them. Once they get to the area, Katz realizes that this isn’t going to be the quiet weekend that she was looking for. And the adventure begins. Even with everything Katz goes through she shows how generous and kind natured she is. It is very sweet the way she helps people.

I like the characters and jams that Ms. Golden comes up. The neat thing about her stories are they aren’t always about murder, she has other mysteries in each story which is refreshing and intriguing. This is the fifth book in her series and I look forward to the next installment.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review a book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Karen Anne Golden

Karen Anne Golden currently lives in a Queen Anne Victorian home. Restoring the house was her obsession when she left her Manhattan job and moved to a small town in Indiana. With the house finished, she has time to do what she’s always been passionate about: writing. “The Cats that Surfed the Web” is the first book of “The Cats that . . . ” Cozy Mystery series. Karen Anne received a B.S. in History/Education from Columbus College, Columbus, Georgia and a M.S. in Anthropology from Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana. While living in NYC, she worked in the computer industry. She shares her home with her husband, several Siamese, Ginger and Tabby cats. Many of the cat scenes in the books are based on her own cats’ antics.