Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Guardian of Paradise by W.E. Lawrence

Posted September 9, 2017 by karenbaron in Action, Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fiction, Historical, Historical Romance, Review, Romance / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Guardian of Paradise by W.E. LawrenceGuardian of Paradise by W.E. Lawrence
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on October 3rd 2014
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
five-stars

In 1888, Kira Wall, surviving daughter of missionaries swept away in a tsunami, lives a primitive, but enjoyable life with natives on an isolated island in the South Pacific.

But her serene world is turned upside down when an Australian merchant ship, commanded by the sinister Captain Darcy Coleman, arrives with an overabundance of modern and lavish goods. Kira suspects ill intent. Chief Ariki refuses to listen to Kira’s warning, forcing her to uncover the real plan of the captain on her own.

Unfortunately, she has a distraction. A six-foot tall, blond, and handsome distraction. Trevor Marshall, doctor and botanist, hopes to find exotic plants on the island to research new cures and medicines. He is dedicated to science, but when meeting the strong-willed, beautiful Kira Wall, he’d prefer to spend time researching her—all night.

The captain thwarts Kira’s attempts to call him out at every step, turning the village chief against her. With only Trevor and her best friend Malana by her side, she stalks the captain and his officers through the dense, predator infested jungle, toward the island’s inactive volcano.

Frustrated by her failure to reveal the captain’s true intentions, Kira begins to think maybe she’s wrong about everything. Then an explosion and earthquake bigger than anyone on the island has ever seen renews her resolve. Was the blast natural or man-made? She is determined to prove it was the captain’s doing.

Kira races against time and the island people’s naivety to stop the captain from destroying her home and killing everyone she loves.

My take on this book:                       Guardian of Paradise by W.E. Lawrence was the first book I was asked to review by this author but it ended up becoming the second book I read from him. It was so good and I am glad that I was asked to review it.

The story starts when the male love interest, Dr. Trevor Marshall, is asking the captain of the ship for a job. Then we zoom right off to Kira Wells, the main character of the book, and her island. The thing that had me a bit worried about reading this book is that I don’t really read that many books that are historical fiction and that’s what this book is. In the past when I read historical fiction I would stop reading it when I had to look up definitions of the words used in that time period. Except in this book it wasn’t like that. Sure some of the words were a bit weird but then my brain immediately knew what word they meant to say since the islanders can speak English, well they are learning but some of the words come out a bit weird.

This book had me guessing about what made it like an adult version of Treasure Island as I kept on wondering what the Captain was after and why couldn’t he find anywhere else. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time reading this book even though I know that I’ve been reading this book for a while but I couldn’t stop thinking about it the entire time, I kept wondering what was happening in these people’s lives.

Kira Wells is basically a young woman trying to keep the people of this island safe. She’s been on since she was a young girl, helping her parents teach the islanders how to speak English and trying to keep them safe from outsiders like the Captain destroying their fields. Not only that but she chooses to stay instead of going back to Australia where she is from. I find that all very fascinating. I loved the way she just right away disliked the Captain and knew that he was there for more than just trading like he said he was.

Doctor Trevor Marshall is basically a young man, he was on the ship to find plants and things that could help his research on finding cures for different ailments. He was positive that going on a quest to some different places will do that. He also serves two purposes for the Captain. As he is a doctor, and a botanist. The second one is very helpful, as he can make sure that fields aren’t messed up and that the proper care of the plants is taken just like the islanders would do. The Captain hired him instead of having to hire two different people, so the Captain likes Trevor.

This story is an adventure. It is packed full of treasure hunting but it is also filled with action and romance. The romance one is like any one that involves the girl trying not to accept that she is falling for a handsome stranger but ends up realizing that she does and then having a whirlwind romance that makes them both sad on the day when the other has to leave. Except do they have to end things? You can easily find out by reading the book.

This book is so good that I’m giving it five stars and I loved it a lot. I am glad that I had the opportunity to read this book as it didn’t disappoint me at all.

Anyways until next time please enjoy this review,

Baroness Book Trove.

**Where to find Guardian of Paradise**

** Goodreads **

five-stars

About W.E. Lawrence

W. E. Lawrence graduated in 1978 from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill with a BS in business administration. He has run a successful home health care supplies distributorship for the past twenty-three years.

Passionate about God, writing, reading, family, sports, politics, and America, Lawrence currently lives in Davidson, North Carolina, with his lovely wife and their two wonderful children.

W. E. Lawrence enjoys writing historical romance novels filled with action, adventure, and suspense. He published his debut novel Guardian of Paradise in October 2014.


A Bargain in Silver

Posted October 22, 2016 by karenbaron in Dystopia, Paranormal, Review, Series, Vampires / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Bargain in SilverA Bargain in Silver by Josie Jaffrey
Series: Solis Invicti #1
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on January 3, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

If the price of safety is slavery, would you bargain your life? A deadly infection threatens to wipe out humanity. The only people who can stem its advance are the Silver, a vampiric race who offer a simple exchange: protection in return for blood and subservience. It's not a deal that Emmy's willing to make, but as her world burns around her she finds herself in the arms of the enemy and the line between oppressor and saviour begins to blur. After an attack by the infected, Emmy is rescued by the handsome Drew who introduces her to the world of the Silver. Desperate to escape subjugation and confused by her attraction to him, she gathers what remains of her surrogate family and plans to make a break for freedom. But despite her efforts to resist, she is drawn further into the intrigues of the mysterious Silver through the agency of their ruler, the Primus: Solomon. Emmy refuses to submit to the cold and detached Primus and an attempt on her life makes it clear that he is unable to protect her from the political machinations of his race. As the connection between them deepens she must choose between her desire and her will to rebel, but can she trust his intentions when everyone is after her blood?

My Thoughts:   Does it matter if he is a vampire if he has a good heart?

I absolutely loved this book. I had the hardest time putting it down. I think I may have even growled at my family when they interrupted me. I was so worried about Emmy and her friends, that I couldn’t get them off my mind.

Emmy, for the most part, is your normal average girl. She wants to be part of a family and enjoy life. She gave up her life when her boyfriend disappeared, and move to London to start again. She gets a job as a bartender and gains a bunch of friends who become her family. Then the infection begins and she meets Drew. She is instantly drawn to him, even though she questions their connection constantly. She even allows someone she doesn’t really know to influence her perception of Drew.

Drew, who is second in command of the Solis Invicti, is kind in his own way. He is set in the fact that life is changing on earth and he will be one of those who will help make people comfortable and readjust to the new ways. He seems to try very hard to play within the rules that the Primus has set. Then he meets Emmy and instantly falls for her. Drew, however, knows of the consequences of loving her and wants to make sure that she has her complete free will to make the choice to love him back. He seems very noble. Can a vampire be good? He was born a vampire so perhaps it is possible.

There must be something about Emmy that is special, something unseen by most. Emmy catches the attention of Drew immediately, but also Solomon, who is in charge of the Silver and apparently the world as it is now known. They are both drawn to her even though she has a smart mouth and refuses to be their slave.

Since the story is told from Emmy’s point a view, there are secrets that she feels but is uncertain what they are. The Silver have quite a lot of superstitions and ways that are unknown to humans. Honestly, they must have had this planned for a while, at least by one faction or another. Humans didn’t know that they existed and were completely caught off guard.

My rating is 5 stars. I completely loved this book. I am so recommending this to my friends as I know they would enjoy it too.

**Where to find A Bargain in Sliver **

** Goodreads **

This book was given to the Baroness Book Trove for an honest review.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Josie Jaffrey

I have always written stories, but it wasn’t until I started the first book in the Solis Invicti series in 2014 that I really became obsessed with writing. I love to read, particularly where the escapism of the story is enhanced with an element of fantasy or science fiction. For me, writing is simply an extension of that journey, but I get to decide what happens next (though it’s amazing how often the characters seem to decide for themselves what I’m going to write!).

I grew up in the English countryside and studied Classics at the University of Oxford, subsequently converting to law. After a year working in London in Paternoster Square (where the majority of the Solis Invicti series is set), I returned to Oxford where I still live with my husband and two somali cats. When I’m not writing, I work as a solicitor specializing in Intellectual Property and Commercial law.

As a new author, I love to hear from readers with their comments and feedback on the books, so please do get in touch through the website or via Twitter.

Thank you for reading!


The Becoming by William Truax III

Posted October 22, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Angels, Fantasy, Fiction, Greek Mythology, Mythology, Novella, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Witches / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Becoming by William Truax IIIThe Becoming by William L. Truax III
Series: Angel/Witch Saga #1
Series Rating: three-stars
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on September 25th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 204
Format: Kindle
three-stars

Just one day after Cameron leaves her job, Francis takes Cameron to meet Dean, (a charming, sophisticated and successful young man) her employer and friend. She is offered a position at his company where Francis works. Cameron is thrilled and accepts the position without hesitation. Read what happens when these two friends discover their true paths as they venture into endeavors with some unforeseen allies. Their goal is to stop an ancient evil who is hell bent on destroying Heaven and taking God's Throne!

My take on this book:              The Becoming by William Truax III is unlike what I thought it would be. I had a completely different version of the book from the synopsis to what the book actually is.

The book is in two different point-of-views. The first point-of-view is of Cameron and she is, unknowingly to her, a witch. The second point-of-view is of Sam and he is, unknowingly also an angel or at least part of an angel.

Cameron is a believable character that is trying to get a job and support herself. Which she does with the help of her friend, Francis.  Cameron finds out about her being a witch and that her main powers are with electricity and lightning. To me, those two powers sound so awesome. I also think that these powers totally fit Cameron. Cameron will isn’t as strong as I would think someone of her power should be. It is almost like she goes under a spell and loses herself in him.

Sam is living on his own despite his mom having a key to his apartment. He works at Walmart and has made recent changes to his lifestyle. Sam is a believable character. At first, his mother was very overprotective of him but then she seems to allow him to become an adult. The mother-son relationship between the two was totally sweet, I could totally picture it. He didn’t really know about himself being an Angel until he went to get his girlfriend back from the people that took her away.

The book overall was good. I truly like the concept. Although, the beginning of the book was slow and kind of hard for me to get into. Once  I got to the middle of the book, it was fast-paced and I liked it more. However, I found the gaps of time that weren’t explained well, due to the deep point of view that author maintains. I also found that I had a lot of unanswered questions after reading the book. These unanswered questions had to do with things that I didn’t understand in the book and with why certain things happened when it contradicted with what the character was thinking/doing in the first half of the book. The gaps in time really bothered the flow of the story. I figured these might be answered within the other books of the series.

The Becoming by William Truax III is overall a good book but not exactly what I thought it would be. I am giving it a three stars rating due to the time gaps and the unanswered questions. I think that the author really has a way with keeping with the point of view which is good. But I would like to see a better switch and less confusion when going from Cameron to Sam. I feel that this author will continue to grow as a writer. Please give it a try as if you like mythology you may understand it better than I did.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find The Becoming**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

three-stars

About William L. Truax III

William L. Truax III is a father of 2, an 11-year-old girl and an 8-year-old boy. His wife, Tiffany, and himself have been together now for the last 12 years and going strong. He works full time for Xerox and he, of course, writes. He resides in Marianna, Florida with his family. In 2006 to 2007 he served in the United States Military Corps and was sent home due to injury, since then he has been taken care of by the Veteran’s Affairs.


One Person’s Craziness by R.T. Ojas

Posted October 13, 2016 by karenbaron in Adventure, Aliens, Fantasy, Mystery, Novella, Review, Time Travel / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Person’s Craziness by R.T. OjasOne Person's Craziness by R.T. Ojas
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on February 6th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 102
Format: Kindle
three-half-stars

Amoli is a mysterious man with an even more mysterious past. During a recorded session with a psychiatrist, he reveals his perplexing story about survival, hope, ancient civilizations, and cosmic adventures.

My Thoughts:          Could this be what happened to the old civilizations?

I have to say that this isn’t really the type of book that I normally read. However, I was most intrigued by the book’s description. The book is a novella and a really quick read.

The book starts out a little on the slow side but kept me interested throughout Amoli’s adventure. I enjoyed the historical references and the not-so-historical parts of the story. I sort of pictured them somewhere like Easter Island.

I liked Amoli’s character. He had a little comedian in him, yet he tried to be tough even when he was scared.  I was really hoping that he would find Azanita and she would return his feelings. The alien part of the story was acceptable. Scully and Molder would have enjoyed this interview. I can imagine that they would have had so many questions. The ending was probably the greatest part. I won’t spoil it, but I didn’t see it coming.

My rating is 3.5 stars. I really liked the book but thought there could have been a little more to the adventure. I think that Mr. Ojas will only become better and better as a writer and I look forward to reading more of his works.

**Where to find One Person’s Craziness**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

three-half-stars

About R.T. Ojas

Software Engineer at day. Writer at Night.


Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes

Posted June 12, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

Spies and Spells by Tonya KappesSpies and Spells by Tonya Kappes
Series: Spies and Spells #1
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 21st 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 248
Format: Kindle
five-stars

SPIES AND SPELLS, the first in this highly anticipated new series from USA TODAY Bestseller Tonya Kappes because we know she's a queen at writing paranormal mystery witch series, is here! Spies and Spells Spies and Spells Book 1 While Maggie waits for her Witchy Hour, she works at the family diner with her mom, aunt Meme and Lilith, her sister - all witches. Soon Maggie gets entangled with a mysterious handsome stranger, Mick Jasper, and his secret U.S. organization, SKUL. Has she found her calling?

My take on this book:              Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes is another great book and series. All the characters are funny, great, and at times very nutty. The characters are all of those things plus more.

Maggie is the main character of the book and trying to figure out what she is supposed to do in this world, until her Witchy Hour, which she is wondering if it will ever happen to her. Her older sister, Lilith, hasn’t had her Witchy Hour yet and she doesn’t really mind waiting for it. While her mom and Aunt Meme have there’s. We follow Maggie as her Witchy Hour starts to happen and all the way through the mystery that she gets herself wrapped up in just from meeting Mick Jasper. My question is the life’s ambition SKUL or Mick Jasper? I am looking forward to finding out in the next book.

The spells that Tonya made up for the book were cute and silly but entertaining to read the mess or not so mess that it will cause. I loved the whole family of witches and their friends having a makeup party. Also Vinnie, her familiar, is super, funny and protective. He was entertaining as well.

Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes is a great book and one that I recommend for everyone to read. I am also giving this book a five star rating. If you like quirky fun cozy mysteries check out some of her other series, like the Magical Cures Mysteries or the Ghostly Southern Mysteries.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

five-stars

About Tonya Kappes

For years, USA Today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

She has a B.A. in Education from the University of Kentucky and a proud Kentucky Wildcat fan.

Married to an amazing man, Eddy, she has four son ranging in ages from twenty-two to sixteen years old, Charlie and Scooter (Schnauzers), and Kitty Kappes.

Now a full time writer, she spends her days creating the fun-loving, quirky southern characters that is full of charm that readers have come to love.