Genre: Young Adult

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold

Posted January 9, 2018 by karenbaron in Adventure, Drama, Fiction, Mystery, Review, Series, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon GoldKitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading
Series: Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency #1
Series Rating: three-stars
on November 30, 2012
Genres: Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Kindle
Source: Publisher
three-stars

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new series of adventure mystery stories that are one part travel, one part history and five parts adventure. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty's adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada and as the plot continues to unfold this spirited story will have armchair explorers and amateur detectives alike anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada's Yukon, the harsh land made famous in the stories and poems of such writers as Jack London, Robert Service and Pierre Berton. It is a riveting tale that brings to glorious life the landscape and history of Alaska's inside passage and Canada's Yukon, as Kitty is caught up in an epic mystery set against the backdrop of the scenery of the Klondike Gold Rush.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a perfect book to fire the imagination of readers of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history this book will inspire anyone to learn and experience more for themselves as Kitty prepares for her next adventure - flying around the world!

My take on this book:                       Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading was an okay book. This book to me was confusing at first. This book centers around a girl named Kitty Hawk who is a pilot. I thought this book would have been more Nancy Drew-like, but it didn’t quite get there.

What I like about this book:

  • Cool information on the humpback whales. I did not know how they fed and that there are different subspecies of the humpback whale species. It was quite interesting to read the main character using her plane to follow the daily paths. Though what she was planning on doing with this information wasn’t completely explained.
  • I liked relearning about the Klondike Gold Rush. It was a pretty cool thing to revisit and I liked the interesting tidbits Mr. Reading added in. I did not know about Harrison Ford having a personal plane so that was pretty cool to learn.

What I disliked about the book:

  • That there is two prologues’ and two epilogues’. That to me was just really confusing and didn’t make any sense. I mean I get the first one setting up for the whole series but it was still a bit weird.
  • Another thing that I disliked was that the chapters to me were divided into the scenes which made it seem like a mini-chapter within the book. That to me was very confusing.
  • I still didn’t get much with why Amanda Phillpott is Kitty Hawk’s enemy.
  • I think the book might have worked better in third person instead of first person.
  • I still didn’t necessarily get with why Kitty cared if the boat had gold on it or not since it didn’t really affect her all that much.

What I was iffy on about the book:

  • How could Kitty not have told anyone what she was doing before going to check on the campfire? I mean if it was me I would have just left it alone.
  • That she could fall for a guy without really knowing that much about him. And especially when she knew that she wasn’t going to stay there for very long.
  • That she now considers the people, that started the campfire, as her family. I mean to me that is just plain weird. I wouldn’t think of them like that.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading is an interesting book and one that I wouldn’t really recommend to my readers. I am giving this book three stars because I couldn’t get into it and I just don’t get how the gold and the whales really fit in together as a story. It also took me eight days to read this book and that is just something that I take into consideration as well when reading a book.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where you can find Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold**

Goodreads

three-stars

About Iain Reading

Iain Reading is passionate about Root Beer, music, and writing. He is Canadian, but currently resides in the Netherlands working for the United Nations.

Iain is the author of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series, The Wizards of Waterfire Series, and the dragon of the month club.


Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

Posted November 13, 2017 by karenbaron in Action, Adventure, Boarding School, Death, Dragons, Elementals, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher ManninoDaughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino
Series: The Scythe Wielder's Secret #3
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by MuseItUp Publishing on August 29th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 412
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
five-stars

Two years ago, Susan Sarnio was brought to the World of Deaths. Fighting sexism and bullying, the first female Death helped reinvent the College. Now, her friends journey deep into the heart of enemy territory, hoping to rescue her. Ancient secrets come to light. The horrifying truth behind Susan's arrival in the World of Deaths is at last revealed. War erupts between Dragons and Deaths, and the fate of three worlds hangs in the balance. The epic conclusion to The Scythe Wielder's Secret.

My take on this book:

A terrific ending to a wonderful trilogy by an amazing author.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino brings us to an amazing close to this great trilogy. I count myself as lucky to have been asked to read it. This book is so brilliant, I will try not to spoil anything.

This book starts kind of where the second book ended and it’s just a roller coaster ride from there. We have Will figuring some things out from some dragons to Sindril telling Susan why she is really there in the World of Deaths, that is important for him to have her here to Frank, Michi, and Cronk trying to save them to the War and then the ending.

Again Mr. Mannino has divided this book up into three different third person point of views but once again they work really well together especially when they reveal how some people can handle some things that are very different for the four young heroes (Susan, Will, Frank, and Michi). We also meet some new characters in the Elementals species, some as dragons’ species, and some new species’ as well. This book is just filled with so much information that I am hoping that Mr. Mannion will have more stories from this world.

The three different point of views is the same as the second book Susan, Frank, and Will. Susan’s, who is also really grown into herself in this book, Frank’s because he has an interesting role, and Will’s because is Susan’s best friend, housemate and her boyfriend. Together these three characters, who with the help of their friends, have grown and really had to push themselves to stand against the things that they are afraid of throughout the book.

We met a lot of new characters that are Elementals and Dragons in this book. Too many to name them and to give you what I thought of them. There is a new character a child with great power. I don’t really want to spoil it though but I can say that it ties into the name of the book. We also encounter a new species… Well kind of. They are called the Swarm by Frank and they are basically Fire themselves. They help Susan throughout the book once she and Will join back up with Frank.

This book is just filled with so much information and action and about countless other stories waiting to be told within it. Much like what Susan powerful speech once the war was done is about. There were some things that I kind of did dislike. Like some of the time skipping around, which I know was important for the story but kind of made me lose track of how old Susan really is, and that Will wasn’t really there much in the story. But I did like how Frank didn’t force Susan to take him with her to protect her since he knew that she is capable of protecting herself. I was also wondering what happened to the other Deaths that were worshipping the Shadow Dragon King.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is an awesome book and one I would recommend to everyone that loves books like this especially the young adult readers of my blog, basically all readers. I also believe there are more stories to be told within this world even if it’s in short story form (hint, Mr. Mannino). I am very happy how this story turned out. I am also giving this book five stars because it’s such an amazing book and a very fabulously good ending for the trilogy.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Daughter of Deaths **

Goodreads

five-stars

About Christopher Mannino

Christopher Mannino’s life is best described as an unending creative outlet. He teaches high school theatre in Greenbelt, Maryland. In addition to his daily drama classes, he runs several after-school performance and production drama groups. He spends his summers writing and singing. Mannino holds a Master of Arts in Theatre Education from Catholic University, and has studied mythology and literature both in America and at Oxford University. His work with youg people helped inspire him to write young adult fantasy, although it was his love of reading that truly brought his writing to life.
Christopher’s debut novel School of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 1) was published in May 2014 by MuseItUp Publishing. The second book in the trilogy, Sword of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 2), was published in August 2015. The third book Daughter of Deaths is expected to be released in 2016. His series has received rave reviews and been compared to Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.


Sword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

Posted November 2, 2017 by karenbaron in Boarding School, Death, Dragons, Elementals, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Read-a-thon, Review, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sword of Deaths by Christopher ManninoSword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino
Series: The Scythe Wielder's Secret #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by MuseItUp Publishing on January 20, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 268
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
five-stars

THE SCYTHE WIELDER'S SECRET CONTINUES

Susan Sarnio made a choice, and will spend the rest of her life as the only female Death. Last year she was bullied and ostracized. Now, to her complete bewilderment, four Deaths vie for her affection. Yet, something is terribly wrong at the College of Deaths. When a ship carrying scythe metal is attacked, many blame the newly-freed Elementals, but Susan knows the Elementals are innocent.

Shadows from the distant past come to light. Dragons circle the horizon, blood spills, and nothing is what it seems. Susan and her friends struggle to stop a war. They search for the fabled First Scythe, hoping to sway the balance, but who is the true enemy?

My take on this book:              Sword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is an extremely interesting read. I have been looking forward to reading it since I finished the first book. Suzie, Susan now, Sarino is back to continue her story of being the only female Death in a million years in the World of Deaths. We start the book a short time after the first book ended. During the summer break of the school. Then we end up back in the school session and end at a very interesting turn of events for our young heroine.

There are a few things different in this book than in the first. Different in a good way since it helps convey the story more and brings the others more life than what we saw just from Susan’s point of view. We have two new points of views and I like how they are split up. The two-new point of views is Billy, known as Will now, and Frank. Will’s point of view is good to see a different side of the Junior College and at how much he loves Susan. This really helps a lot, especially in certain parts of the book. Frank’s point of view is also good to see how an Elemental is trying to hide who he really is and keep his power from being discovered.

Aside from the different point of views we also get a few new characters. Tom, a first-year student that didn’t make it very long in his first year, two new teachers of Susan’s one for Scythology and the other one is their new Applications teacher, and a new “myth” tied to Lovethar.

I was starting to like Tom when Mr. Mannino decided to go in a different direction with him. I can’t say that I liked it but I don’t want to spoil anything. Actually, Susan has three new teachers but we don’t know much about her Careers one. Her first new teacher is Professor Domen. He’s a bit of a weird one with being a bit obsessed over the First Scythe and if it’s a legend or myth or what. Then it’s her Careers teacher job to assist the second year students with their future after finishing Junior and Senior years at the College of Deaths. Then her last new teacher is Jose Ocoha, now known as Erebus, and he’s so full of himself. Out of the three new teachers and the ones we know about I have to say I like Domen the best. He isn’t boring or full of himself like her other two new teachers are. Sure, he’s a bit weird but oh well. Then we have another new student, well not really new, his name is Eshue. He really doesn’t like Susan at all. It has to do with who he was raised and with what she did to him. Lastly, the First Scythe is known around the World of Deaths but like Lovethar and other things from long ago as a myth. Even though that is the name of this book and what this book is kind of all about. Since history so far is repeating itself thanks in part to Susan being there.

It took me this long to read this book mostly because I had to go back and reread the first book to reacquaint myself with this world and story and characters. Basically, I had to refresh my memory of what happened in the first book before diving into the second one.

I am giving this book five stars because it is that good and I am in love with this trilogy. Most likely, by the time this review is made public, I will have already read the last book in this trilogy. Which I so can’t wait to read. I hope that Susan kicks Sindril’s butt.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Sword of Deaths**

Goodreads

five-stars

About Christopher Mannino

Christopher Mannino’s life is best described as an unending creative outlet. He teaches high school theatre in Greenbelt, Maryland. In addition to his daily drama classes, he runs several after-school performance and production drama groups. He spends his summers writing and singing. Mannino holds a Master of Arts in Theatre Education from Catholic University, and has studied mythology and literature both in America and at Oxford University. His work with youg people helped inspire him to write young adult fantasy, although it was his love of reading that truly brought his writing to life.
Christopher’s debut novel School of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 1) was published in May 2014 by MuseItUp Publishing. The second book in the trilogy, Sword of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 2), was published in August 2015. The third book Daughter of Deaths is expected to be released in 2016. His series has received rave reviews and been compared to Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.


Shadowhunters Season 2 Review

Shadowhunters Season 2 Review

  My take on Season 2 of The Shadowhunters: I’m trying something different with doing my review for this series. Instead of doing separate posts for the different episode’s I’m going to do a whole review of the whole season.  There were somethings that I liked about the season and somethings that I didn’t like […]


Stories From The Witch Store by Olga Gutsol

Stories From The Witch Store by Olga Gutsol

My take on this story:             Stories From The Witch Store by Olga Gutsol is definitely different than what I thought it was going to be. It’s still a good book, just not what I was expecting from reading the plot summary of the book. The main character is a hereditary witch named Arelia. She lets […]