Genre: Young Adult

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

Posted November 13, 2017 by karenbaron in Action, Adventure, Boarding School, Death, Dragons, Elementals, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher ManninoDaughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino
Series: The Scythe Wielder's Secret #3
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by MuseItUp Publishing on August 29th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 412
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
five-stars

Two years ago, Susan Sarnio was brought to the World of Deaths. Fighting sexism and bullying, the first female Death helped reinvent the College. Now, her friends journey deep into the heart of enemy territory, hoping to rescue her. Ancient secrets come to light. The horrifying truth behind Susan's arrival in the World of Deaths is at last revealed. War erupts between Dragons and Deaths, and the fate of three worlds hangs in the balance. The epic conclusion to The Scythe Wielder's Secret.

My take on this book:

A terrific ending to a wonderful trilogy by an amazing author.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino brings us to an amazing close to this great trilogy. I count myself as lucky to have been asked to read it. This book is so brilliant, I will try not to spoil anything.

This book starts kind of where the second book ended and it’s just a roller coaster ride from there. We have Will figuring some things out from some dragons to Sindril telling Susan why she is really there in the World of Deaths, that is important for him to have her here to Frank, Michi, and Cronk trying to save them to the War and then the ending.

Again Mr. Mannino has divided this book up into three different third person point of views but once again they work really well together especially when they reveal how some people can handle some things that are very different for the four young heroes (Susan, Will, Frank, and Michi). We also meet some new characters in the Elementals species, some as dragons’ species, and some new species’ as well. This book is just filled with so much information that I am hoping that Mr. Mannion will have more stories from this world.

The three different point of views is the same as the second book Susan, Frank, and Will. Susan’s, who is also really grown into herself in this book, Frank’s because he has an interesting role, and Will’s because is Susan’s best friend, housemate and her boyfriend. Together these three characters, who with the help of their friends, have grown and really had to push themselves to stand against the things that they are afraid of throughout the book.

We met a lot of new characters that are Elementals and Dragons in this book. Too many to name them and to give you what I thought of them. There is a new character a child with great power. I don’t really want to spoil it though but I can say that it ties into the name of the book. We also encounter a new species… Well kind of. They are called the Swarm by Frank and they are basically Fire themselves. They help Susan throughout the book once she and Will join back up with Frank.

This book is just filled with so much information and action and about countless other stories waiting to be told within it. Much like what Susan powerful speech once the war was done is about. There were some things that I kind of did dislike. Like some of the time skipping around, which I know was important for the story but kind of made me lose track of how old Susan really is, and that Will wasn’t really there much in the story. But I did like how Frank didn’t force Susan to take him with her to protect her since he knew that she is capable of protecting herself. I was also wondering what happened to the other Deaths that were worshipping the Shadow Dragon King.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is an awesome book and one I would recommend to everyone that loves books like this especially the young adult readers of my blog, basically all readers. I also believe there are more stories to be told within this world even if it’s in short story form (hint, Mr. Mannino). I am very happy how this story turned out. I am also giving this book five stars because it’s such an amazing book and a very fabulously good ending for the trilogy.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Daughter of Deaths **

Goodreads

five-stars

About Christopher Mannino

Christopher Mannino’s life is best described as an unending creative outlet. He teaches high school theatre in Greenbelt, Maryland. In addition to his daily drama classes, he runs several after-school performance and production drama groups. He spends his summers writing and singing. Mannino holds a Master of Arts in Theatre Education from Catholic University, and has studied mythology and literature both in America and at Oxford University. His work with youg people helped inspire him to write young adult fantasy, although it was his love of reading that truly brought his writing to life.
Christopher’s debut novel School of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 1) was published in May 2014 by MuseItUp Publishing. The second book in the trilogy, Sword of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 2), was published in August 2015. The third book Daughter of Deaths is expected to be released in 2016. His series has received rave reviews and been compared to Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.


Sword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

Posted November 2, 2017 by karenbaron in Boarding School, Death, Dragons, Elementals, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Read-a-thon, Review, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sword of Deaths by Christopher ManninoSword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino
Series: The Scythe Wielder's Secret #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by MuseItUp Publishing on January 20, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 268
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
five-stars

THE SCYTHE WIELDER'S SECRET CONTINUES

Susan Sarnio made a choice, and will spend the rest of her life as the only female Death. Last year she was bullied and ostracized. Now, to her complete bewilderment, four Deaths vie for her affection. Yet, something is terribly wrong at the College of Deaths. When a ship carrying scythe metal is attacked, many blame the newly-freed Elementals, but Susan knows the Elementals are innocent.

Shadows from the distant past come to light. Dragons circle the horizon, blood spills, and nothing is what it seems. Susan and her friends struggle to stop a war. They search for the fabled First Scythe, hoping to sway the balance, but who is the true enemy?

My take on this book:              Sword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is an extremely interesting read. I have been looking forward to reading it since I finished the first book. Suzie, Susan now, Sarino is back to continue her story of being the only female Death in a million years in the World of Deaths. We start the book a short time after the first book ended. During the summer break of the school. Then we end up back in the school session and end at a very interesting turn of events for our young heroine.

There are a few things different in this book than in the first. Different in a good way since it helps convey the story more and brings the others more life than what we saw just from Susan’s point of view. We have two new points of views and I like how they are split up. The two-new point of views is Billy, known as Will now, and Frank. Will’s point of view is good to see a different side of the Junior College and at how much he loves Susan. This really helps a lot, especially in certain parts of the book. Frank’s point of view is also good to see how an Elemental is trying to hide who he really is and keep his power from being discovered.

Aside from the different point of views we also get a few new characters. Tom, a first-year student that didn’t make it very long in his first year, two new teachers of Susan’s one for Scythology and the other one is their new Applications teacher, and a new “myth” tied to Lovethar.

I was starting to like Tom when Mr. Mannino decided to go in a different direction with him. I can’t say that I liked it but I don’t want to spoil anything. Actually, Susan has three new teachers but we don’t know much about her Careers one. Her first new teacher is Professor Domen. He’s a bit of a weird one with being a bit obsessed over the First Scythe and if it’s a legend or myth or what. Then it’s her Careers teacher job to assist the second year students with their future after finishing Junior and Senior years at the College of Deaths. Then her last new teacher is Jose Ocoha, now known as Erebus, and he’s so full of himself. Out of the three new teachers and the ones we know about I have to say I like Domen the best. He isn’t boring or full of himself like her other two new teachers are. Sure, he’s a bit weird but oh well. Then we have another new student, well not really new, his name is Eshue. He really doesn’t like Susan at all. It has to do with who he was raised and with what she did to him. Lastly, the First Scythe is known around the World of Deaths but like Lovethar and other things from long ago as a myth. Even though that is the name of this book and what this book is kind of all about. Since history so far is repeating itself thanks in part to Susan being there.

It took me this long to read this book mostly because I had to go back and reread the first book to reacquaint myself with this world and story and characters. Basically, I had to refresh my memory of what happened in the first book before diving into the second one.

I am giving this book five stars because it is that good and I am in love with this trilogy. Most likely, by the time this review is made public, I will have already read the last book in this trilogy. Which I so can’t wait to read. I hope that Susan kicks Sindril’s butt.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Sword of Deaths**

Goodreads

five-stars

About Christopher Mannino

Christopher Mannino’s life is best described as an unending creative outlet. He teaches high school theatre in Greenbelt, Maryland. In addition to his daily drama classes, he runs several after-school performance and production drama groups. He spends his summers writing and singing. Mannino holds a Master of Arts in Theatre Education from Catholic University, and has studied mythology and literature both in America and at Oxford University. His work with youg people helped inspire him to write young adult fantasy, although it was his love of reading that truly brought his writing to life.
Christopher’s debut novel School of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 1) was published in May 2014 by MuseItUp Publishing. The second book in the trilogy, Sword of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 2), was published in August 2015. The third book Daughter of Deaths is expected to be released in 2016. His series has received rave reviews and been compared to Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.


Shadowhunters Season 2 Review

Posted October 2, 2017 by karenbaron in Action, Adventure, Book to Series, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Mortal Instruments, Review, Series, T.V. Series / 0 Comments

Shadowhunters Season 2 ReviewThe Shadowhunters T.V. Series Season 2 Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Format: T.V. Series
five-stars

 

My take on Season 2 of The Shadowhunters:

I’m trying something different with doing my review for this series. Instead of doing separate posts for the different episode’s I’m going to do a whole review of the whole season.  There were somethings that I liked about the season and somethings that I didn’t like about the season as well. One thing that I was on the fence about and a side notes about the season as well. I can’t wait for the show to come back on April 3rd of next year.

Scenes I liked:

  • The first scene that I liked was Clary and Jace sparring so that she could use her rune to show Inquisitor Herondale that she was able to accomplish that. Even though that didn’t end up happening but it was still cool to see.
  • In the season finale, it was pretty cool to see with how Clary figured out who Jonathon was impersonating.
  • Another scene that I liked was when Mia invited herself to go to Simon’s house with him for a Jewish holiday since he was scared to go and not really knowing how to deal with being a vampire around his family.
  • Raphael and Isabel’s budding relationship that was shown throughout the entire season even if it was kind of brought on by her addiction to vampire venom that started it. I thought it is pretty cool to see how the two of them are also still liking each other despite that little problem. Especially after the council meeting with the leaders of the warlock, faeries, vampires, werewolves, and shadowhunters ended and the two of them had their little talk and it makes me glad that she is liking Raphael.
  • The last scene I liked was the fact that Max is still alive despite what Jonathon did to him. It was cute since I was always dreading that moment of when Max was going to die and I like the fact that he didn’t since he is a very bright young boy with so much potential.

 

Scenes that I disliked:

  • The first scene that I disliked was when Victor Aldertree, the head of the New York Institute (at the time) gave Isabel the vampire venom and she got addicted to it. I know that this is counteracting with what I said in my likes about liking the budding relationship between Isabel and Raphael.
  • Luke getting a new partner on the force and she is being very nosy about Luke’s life away from the force makes me not really like her since it shouldn’t matter what he does away from the force to her.
  • Another scene that I disliked was the fact that Jocelyn died since that was very sad and made me feel very bad for Luke. Jocelyn and Luke looked really cute together and I miss that.
  • All of the scenes with the faerie queen since I don’t really like the faerie queen especially after she made a game out of Clary’s love life before allowing Clary, Jace, and Simon could leave her realm.
  • The last scene that I disliked was when Valentine killed Jace after he and Clary got to the lake. It was a very sad moment and I couldn’t help but think that he was lying when he told Clary that he didn’t want to kill Jace but knowing that if he didn’t that the two of them would stop him from contacting with the angel.

On the fence:

Both my mom and I are on the fence about Inquisitor Herondale. Mostly because before she knew who Jace actually was she didn’t treat him fairly and made him basically do grunt work. After she found out that he wasn’t Valentine’s son but her grandson it all changed for her and she was being nice to him. She made Jace the head of the New York Institute, because she all of a sudden thought he could make the right choices in her place. She trusts a Herondale more than a Lightwood. Also she knows who Jace is, everything that he is doing, and the others that she didn’t like before. She is praising their work and is happy with everything that they are doing. Seems to me that she is a bit two-faced and hypocrital from the she first time she showed up to the last episode of the season.

Shadowhunter Stars are the best:

Both my mom and I also liked the little commercial about the Shadowhunters explaining Stitching. It was really cute and awesome. Especially since it was mostly Katherine McNamara and Alberto Rosende explaining it with Emeraude Toubia just looking at them like they had lost it, while they are explaining about stictching and not even butting in. Another thing that my mom would like to be pointed out that she didn’t like was the way that Jace’s hair was slowly darkening from being blond to dirty blond and she would like it if it stayed blond.

Remember that these are just my opinions and no matter what I love the Shadowhunters series, book T.V. and movie.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

Stories From The Witch Store by Olga Gutsol

Stories From The Witch Store by Olga Gutsol

My take on this story:             Stories From The Witch Store by Olga Gutsol is definitely different than what I thought it was going to be. It’s still a good book, just not what I was expecting from reading the plot summary of the book. The main character is a hereditary witch named Arelia. She lets […]