Genre: Romance

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

Posted November 13, 2017 by karenbaron in Action, Adventure, Boarding School, Death, Dragons, Elementals, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher ManninoDaughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino
Series: The Scythe Wielder's Secret #3
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by MuseItUp Publishing on August 29th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 412
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
five-stars

Two years ago, Susan Sarnio was brought to the World of Deaths. Fighting sexism and bullying, the first female Death helped reinvent the College. Now, her friends journey deep into the heart of enemy territory, hoping to rescue her. Ancient secrets come to light. The horrifying truth behind Susan's arrival in the World of Deaths is at last revealed. War erupts between Dragons and Deaths, and the fate of three worlds hangs in the balance. The epic conclusion to The Scythe Wielder's Secret.

My take on this book:

A terrific ending to a wonderful trilogy by an amazing author.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino brings us to an amazing close to this great trilogy. I count myself as lucky to have been asked to read it. This book is so brilliant, I will try not to spoil anything.

This book starts kind of where the second book ended and it’s just a roller coaster ride from there. We have Will figuring some things out from some dragons to Sindril telling Susan why she is really there in the World of Deaths, that is important for him to have her here to Frank, Michi, and Cronk trying to save them to the War and then the ending.

Again Mr. Mannino has divided this book up into three different third person point of views but once again they work really well together especially when they reveal how some people can handle some things that are very different for the four young heroes (Susan, Will, Frank, and Michi). We also meet some new characters in the Elementals species, some as dragons’ species, and some new species’ as well. This book is just filled with so much information that I am hoping that Mr. Mannion will have more stories from this world.

The three different point of views is the same as the second book Susan, Frank, and Will. Susan’s, who is also really grown into herself in this book, Frank’s because he has an interesting role, and Will’s because is Susan’s best friend, housemate and her boyfriend. Together these three characters, who with the help of their friends, have grown and really had to push themselves to stand against the things that they are afraid of throughout the book.

We met a lot of new characters that are Elementals and Dragons in this book. Too many to name them and to give you what I thought of them. There is a new character a child with great power. I don’t really want to spoil it though but I can say that it ties into the name of the book. We also encounter a new species… Well kind of. They are called the Swarm by Frank and they are basically Fire themselves. They help Susan throughout the book once she and Will join back up with Frank.

This book is just filled with so much information and action and about countless other stories waiting to be told within it. Much like what Susan powerful speech once the war was done is about. There were some things that I kind of did dislike. Like some of the time skipping around, which I know was important for the story but kind of made me lose track of how old Susan really is, and that Will wasn’t really there much in the story. But I did like how Frank didn’t force Susan to take him with her to protect her since he knew that she is capable of protecting herself. I was also wondering what happened to the other Deaths that were worshipping the Shadow Dragon King.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is an awesome book and one I would recommend to everyone that loves books like this especially the young adult readers of my blog, basically all readers. I also believe there are more stories to be told within this world even if it’s in short story form (hint, Mr. Mannino). I am very happy how this story turned out. I am also giving this book five stars because it’s such an amazing book and a very fabulously good ending for the trilogy.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Daughter of Deaths **

Goodreads

five-stars

About Christopher Mannino

Christopher Mannino’s life is best described as an unending creative outlet. He teaches high school theatre in Greenbelt, Maryland. In addition to his daily drama classes, he runs several after-school performance and production drama groups. He spends his summers writing and singing. Mannino holds a Master of Arts in Theatre Education from Catholic University, and has studied mythology and literature both in America and at Oxford University. His work with youg people helped inspire him to write young adult fantasy, although it was his love of reading that truly brought his writing to life.
Christopher’s debut novel School of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 1) was published in May 2014 by MuseItUp Publishing. The second book in the trilogy, Sword of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 2), was published in August 2015. The third book Daughter of Deaths is expected to be released in 2016. His series has received rave reviews and been compared to Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.


Dead Man Talking by Jana Deleon

Posted November 11, 2017 by karenbaron in Cats, Cozy, Ghosts, Guest Post, Mystery, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Rural, Series, Witches / 0 Comments

Dead Man Talking by Jana DeleonDead Man Talking by Jana Deleon
Series: Happily Everlasting Series #1
Series Rating: five-stars
on October 10, 2017
Genres: Cozy, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 250
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Everlasting, Maine, where there's no such thing as normal.
Meteorologist Zoe Parker put Everlasting in her rearview mirror as soon as she had her college degree in hand. But when Sapphire, her eccentric great-aunt, takes a tumble down the stairs in her lighthouse home, Zoe returns to the tiny fishing hamlet to look after her. Zoe has barely crossed the county line when strange things start happening with the weather, and she discovers Sapphire’s fall was no accident. Someone is searching the lighthouse but Sapphire has no idea what they’re looking for. Determined to ensure her aunt’s ongoing safety, Zoe promises to expose the intruders, even though it means staying in Everlasting and confronting the past she thought she’d put behind her.
Dane Stanton never expected to see Zoe standing in the middle of her aunt’s living room, and was even more unprepared for the flood of emotion he experiences when coming face to face with his old flame. Zoe is just as independent and determined as he remembered, and Dane knows she won’t rest until Sapphire can return to the lighthouse in peace, so he offers to help her sort things out.
Armed with old legends, Sapphire’s ten cats, and a talking ghost, Zoe has to reconcile her feelings for Dane and embrace her destiny before it’s too late.
The secrets of Everlasting come to light and Penelope has to not only accept that things that go bump in the night are real, but apparently, she’s destined for a man who sprouts fur and has a bizarre obsession with fish sticks. Can they clear Penelope’s name and set aside their differences to find true love?

Magic Emerald, 10 cats, remodeling, crazy weather and a ghost, what…?

Dead Man Talking is the first book in the Happily Everlasting Series written by four authors, Jana Deleon, Mandy M. Roth, Michelle M. Pillow and Kristen Painter. The stories take place in Everlasting, Maine a small town along the coast, “where there’s no such thing as normal.”

I love this book, it is the first book that I have read by Jana Deleon. I found it well written with mystery, paranormal, and a little romance all perfectly balance.

Everlasting, Maine sounds like a very interesting place to live. The town is inhabited by many great characters, some grumpy, some eccentric, some who believe in magic and some who don’t. It is an old fishing village with that small town flavor and lots of local humor. There is also a little mysterious side to the town.

Zoe is a meteorologist/TV weather person in Los Angeles, California, who grew up in Everlasting. Zoe couldn’t wait to get out of Everlasting as a kid. She doesn’t believe in magic but her Aunt Sapphire does believe in magic and has for her entire life. Sapphire isn’t your average magic loving crazy cat lady. So, when she is hurt Zoe makes it her business to find out what happened to her beloved aunt. I like Zoe’s morals and that she isn’t willing to compromise them for any reason. I really liked her interactions with her aunt and the love between them.

Then there is Dane. He and Zoe had a relationship before she left town. He is a contractor with a touch of interior decorator now. He is loyal, handsome and friendly. Dane having always lived in Everlasting has some really great retired fishermen friends who are like town gossips hanging out at the local pool hall. Dane isn’t a believer of magic or the town lore either, but he likes Sapphire and may still have feelings for Zoe. Dane and Zoe make a good couple if they can just figure it out.

My favorite supporting character is Mary Jo, the Texas transplant. She is this cheery, super friendly nurse, who understands that hospital food sucks and visiting hours don’t always work out for everyone. She is really helpful and notices things like family resemblance. Mary Jo seemed to know her nursing stuff too. If I had to be hospitalized I would hope for a nurse like her.

There are some funny parts of this town, like the Deputy Months, Cornelius, and some very well trained cats. I won’t go into detail as I don’t want to ruin the story for you.

My rating is 5 stars, I highly recommend this book.

I am starting Once Haunted, Twice Shy by Mandy M. Roth which is the second book in the series. I really hope it is just as good as this one.

**Add to Goodreads**

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Jana Deleon

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jana DeLeon was raised in southwest Louisiana among the bayous and gators. Her hometown is Carlyss, but you probably won’t find it on a map. Her family owned a camp located on a bayou just off the Gulf of Mexico that you could only get to by boat. The most important feature was the rope hammock hanging in the shade on a huge deck that stretched out over the water where Jana spent many hours reading books.

Jana and her brother spent thousands of hours combing the bayous in a flat-bottomed aluminum boat, studying the natural habitat of many birds, nutria, and alligators. She would like you to know that no animals were injured during these “studies,” but they kept makers of peroxide in business.

Jana has never stumbled across a mystery or a ghost like her heroines, but she’s still hopeful.

She now resides in Dallas, Texas, with the most spoiled Sheltie in the world.

Jana DeLeon is a former CFO who jumped off the corporate ladder to write books.

(Biography copied from her website)


Sword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

Posted November 2, 2017 by karenbaron in Boarding School, Death, Dragons, Elementals, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Read-a-thon, Review, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sword of Deaths by Christopher ManninoSword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino
Series: The Scythe Wielder's Secret #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by MuseItUp Publishing on January 20, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 268
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
five-stars

THE SCYTHE WIELDER'S SECRET CONTINUES

Susan Sarnio made a choice, and will spend the rest of her life as the only female Death. Last year she was bullied and ostracized. Now, to her complete bewilderment, four Deaths vie for her affection. Yet, something is terribly wrong at the College of Deaths. When a ship carrying scythe metal is attacked, many blame the newly-freed Elementals, but Susan knows the Elementals are innocent.

Shadows from the distant past come to light. Dragons circle the horizon, blood spills, and nothing is what it seems. Susan and her friends struggle to stop a war. They search for the fabled First Scythe, hoping to sway the balance, but who is the true enemy?

My take on this book:              Sword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is an extremely interesting read. I have been looking forward to reading it since I finished the first book. Suzie, Susan now, Sarino is back to continue her story of being the only female Death in a million years in the World of Deaths. We start the book a short time after the first book ended. During the summer break of the school. Then we end up back in the school session and end at a very interesting turn of events for our young heroine.

There are a few things different in this book than in the first. Different in a good way since it helps convey the story more and brings the others more life than what we saw just from Susan’s point of view. We have two new points of views and I like how they are split up. The two-new point of views is Billy, known as Will now, and Frank. Will’s point of view is good to see a different side of the Junior College and at how much he loves Susan. This really helps a lot, especially in certain parts of the book. Frank’s point of view is also good to see how an Elemental is trying to hide who he really is and keep his power from being discovered.

Aside from the different point of views we also get a few new characters. Tom, a first-year student that didn’t make it very long in his first year, two new teachers of Susan’s one for Scythology and the other one is their new Applications teacher, and a new “myth” tied to Lovethar.

I was starting to like Tom when Mr. Mannino decided to go in a different direction with him. I can’t say that I liked it but I don’t want to spoil anything. Actually, Susan has three new teachers but we don’t know much about her Careers one. Her first new teacher is Professor Domen. He’s a bit of a weird one with being a bit obsessed over the First Scythe and if it’s a legend or myth or what. Then it’s her Careers teacher job to assist the second year students with their future after finishing Junior and Senior years at the College of Deaths. Then her last new teacher is Jose Ocoha, now known as Erebus, and he’s so full of himself. Out of the three new teachers and the ones we know about I have to say I like Domen the best. He isn’t boring or full of himself like her other two new teachers are. Sure, he’s a bit weird but oh well. Then we have another new student, well not really new, his name is Eshue. He really doesn’t like Susan at all. It has to do with who he was raised and with what she did to him. Lastly, the First Scythe is known around the World of Deaths but like Lovethar and other things from long ago as a myth. Even though that is the name of this book and what this book is kind of all about. Since history so far is repeating itself thanks in part to Susan being there.

It took me this long to read this book mostly because I had to go back and reread the first book to reacquaint myself with this world and story and characters. Basically, I had to refresh my memory of what happened in the first book before diving into the second one.

I am giving this book five stars because it is that good and I am in love with this trilogy. Most likely, by the time this review is made public, I will have already read the last book in this trilogy. Which I so can’t wait to read. I hope that Susan kicks Sindril’s butt.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Sword of Deaths**

Goodreads

five-stars

About Christopher Mannino

Christopher Mannino’s life is best described as an unending creative outlet. He teaches high school theatre in Greenbelt, Maryland. In addition to his daily drama classes, he runs several after-school performance and production drama groups. He spends his summers writing and singing. Mannino holds a Master of Arts in Theatre Education from Catholic University, and has studied mythology and literature both in America and at Oxford University. His work with youg people helped inspire him to write young adult fantasy, although it was his love of reading that truly brought his writing to life.
Christopher’s debut novel School of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 1) was published in May 2014 by MuseItUp Publishing. The second book in the trilogy, Sword of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 2), was published in August 2015. The third book Daughter of Deaths is expected to be released in 2016. His series has received rave reviews and been compared to Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.