Genre: Paranormal

Black Bullet by L.D. Rose

Posted October 10, 2017 by karenbaron in Cats, Guest Post, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Series, Supernatural, Urban, Vampires / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Black Bullet by L.D. RoseBlack Bullet by L. D. Rose
Series: The Order of the Senary #2
Series Rating: four-stars
Published by Soul Mate Publishing on August 23rd 2017
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 332
four-stars

Fledgling vampire Jonathan Kerr has just met his match.
Not even his past life as a former Marine and FBI agent could prepare him for the battle against the monster inside him, struggling to take hold. After an old nemesis of the Senary surfaces in Brooklyn, unleashing chaos and terror in the battered borough, Jon sets out to take him down. Instead, he ends up with far more than he bargained for when he clashes with the beautiful half-vampire hybrid, Lawan Knight.
After escaping near death and suffering unspeakable horror at the hands of vampires, Lawan trusts no one, regardless of species. In between bouts of drunken stupor, her only goal is to exterminate all those who've wronged her, including every member of Jon's vampire bloodline. But Jon's soulful eyes and quick smile crawls under her skin, transforming her black and white world into a hazy shade of gray.
As the days rapidly grow darker, Jon and Lawan turn to one another, but their inner demons threaten to tear them apart. The only way either of them will survive is if they overcome their greatest fear--
Love.
*First Place Winner of The Paranormal Romance Guild's 2016 Reader's Choice Awards for Paranormal Horror!*

Black Bullet by L.D. Rose is a dark story that shows how much love can change a life for the good or for the bad.

This is the second in the Order of the Senary books. It was all that I hoped it would be. I really like the Ms. Rose shows us both sides of love and how great it can be when it is with the right person.

Jon is a great character. I saw glimpses of him in the previous book, Releasing the Demons. But this is his story and we learn how a vampire was able to keep his sole. Jon is also a marine and federal agent, but that doesn’t really define him. Jon is so much more and Ms. Rose has made him jump off the pages and right into my heart. Jon has extreme patience, integrity and a huge heart.

Lawan is alone in the world (well, except for her little cat Oscar) and for the most part she wants it to stay that way. She has special powers but has been running for a long time and the last time she trusted someone, let’s just say that it literally left her scarred for life, emotionally and physically. She doesn’t want to trust, love or have anything to do with anyone. She has a plan and that is all that matters to her. She has a strength that is wonderfully tender and yet she doesn’t always feel strong. She tries to hide herself from the world.

Jon and Lawan are great for each other and the Ms. Rose does an awesome job showing us why and how much they need each other. It is really beautiful. The characters grow nicely within the story.

The Gemini Vampires, Regin and Taylon Ramsden are the worst vampires around. They had Lawan for a while but then Taylon released her to upset his brother. These two are wicked. Seriously, wicked. Then with Taylon’s connection to Jon, and Jon’s to Lawan, things got complicated really fast. I am so glad that everyone got what they deserved.

My rating is 4 stars. I truly like this series, and I am really glad that Jon figured it out. He and Lawan are really great for each other. Oh, and there was a nice little surprise for Kasen and Veronica.

**Where to find Black Bullet**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

four-stars

About L. D. Rose

L.D. Rose is a neurotic physician by day, crazed writer by night, and all around wannabe superhero. She writes dark paranormal romance and urban fantasy, but she’s been known to delve into horror, sci-fi, and medical suspense on occasion. L.D. Rose is a PAN member of the RWA, FF&P, NEC-RWA and CoLoNY. She currently lives in Rhode Island with her studly hubby, her hyperactive Boxer, and her two devious cats.

(Taken directly from L.D. Rose’s website)


Releasing the Demons by L.D. Rose

Posted October 7, 2017 by karenbaron in Fantasy, Guest Post, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Urban, Vampires / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Releasing the Demons by L.D. RoseReleasing the Demons by L. D. Rose
Series: The Order of the Senary #1
Series Rating: four-stars
Published by Soul Mate Publishing on April 28th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General
Pages: 332
Format: ebook
four-stars

Blaze Knight has been through hell and back, but the nightmares aren't over yet. Five years after Blaze was maimed by Cyrus Chimola, a powerful vampire with a penchant for torture, he's still trying to pick up the pieces of his shattered life. As a genetically engineered mercenary with the ability to bend fire to his will and to see in infrared, Blaze's mission is to protect what's left of humanity. When Chimola and his crew return to the Bronx gunning for Blaze's blood, Blaze is forced to face the demons of his past. Hell-bent on revenge, he seeks the help of Valerie Medeiros, an NYPD detective who manages to steal his heart and save his life in more ways than one. Motivated by her sister's gruesome death, Valerie has made it her life's goal to bury every vampire in the ground where they belong. When she brings in Blaze Knight for suspected murder, she discovers he's not only innocent, he isn't a man at all-he's a half-vampire hybrid working with a band of brothers for the U.S. military. Valerie has a hard time trusting anything with fangs, yet she quickly falls headlong into Blaze's life, a life full of darkness and horror she can't even begin to fathom. The bodies are stacking up, but Valerie can't seem to let go of this hybrid, a beautiful monster filled with pain, rage, and passion unlike anything she's ever known. In a world where the line between good and evil is blurred, Blaze and Valerie will find danger at every turn, risking everything they've come to know and love, including one another.

Releasing the Demons by L.D. Rose was dark but filled with light.

Things that I liked:

  • Blaze isn’t perfect on the outside or inside, but he kept it together and truly tried to be whom his family needed him to be
  • Blaze’s power, fire is very compelling
  • Valerie is strong and trust mostly her own instinct but she is willing to trust Blaze
  • The romance worked out great not one of the love at first sight type of books
  • The setting of New York City, with parts closed off and in ruin.
  • I really like the Ms. Rose’s descriptions, it made the story so fluid in my mind
  • The concept. I really loved, the dark and light, humanity and strong characters

I think this is an excellent start to a new series. It is a little on the dark side but that is part of the draw. The characters are witty, scarred and full of life. The Order of the Senary, seems to hold many secrets along with its collection of oversized men and their abilities. However, that mansion might needs a bit of the feminine touch.

My rating is 4 stars. I really enjoyed the story and I am looking forward to starting the next book in the Order of the Senary series, Black Bullet.

**Where to find Releasing the Demons**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

four-stars

About L. D. Rose

L.D. Rose is a neurotic physician by day, crazed writer by night, and all around wannabe superhero. She writes dark paranormal romance and urban fantasy, but she’s been known to delve into horror, sci-fi, and medical suspense on occasion. L.D. Rose is a PAN member of the RWA, FF&P, NEC-RWA and CoLoNY. She currently lives in Rhode Island with her studly hubby, her hyperactive Boxer, and her two devious cats.

(Taken directly from L.D. Rose’s website)


Her Fiery Viking by AJ Tipton

Posted September 20, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Audiobook, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Her Fiery Viking by AJ TiptonHer Fiery Viking by AJ Tipton
Series: Her Elemental Viking #1
Series Rating: four-stars
Narrator: Audrey Lusk
on September 12, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 61
Format: Audible Audiobook
three-half-stars

Mikkel just might be too hot to handle. He's an ancient Viking, cursed with immortality and the compulsion to burst into an uncontrollable ball of fire when enraged. After centuries of tragedy, Mikkel fears the fury within him and the danger he poses to anyone he lets too close.

But when Joanna, a smart, sexy engineer angry at the world, explodes into his life, Mikkel can’t resist her smoldering allure. Has the time finally come to let someone in and embrace the fire? Or will their fiery passion scorch these lovers?

This mature romance includes incendiary bar room shenanigans, harrowing kidnapping, high speed car escapades, and a love strong enough to heal even the most damaged of hearts.

My take on this book:                          Wow. Her Fiery Viking by A.J. Tipton is such a good read. It was a short read and I listened to it on Audible while doing my chores.

The book was definitely different than what I thought it was going to be. Besides that, this book was a good read and it carries a big punch with a lot of things happening.

The main character Mikkel is a hot-tempered immortal man with a curse on him. It also doesn’t help his curse to have anger issues that can leave him in some sticky situations. It doesn’t help being a Viking working a job that he can blow things up for a living. Well mostly just buildings.

The main love interest is Joanna. She also has anger issues but not as bad as Mikkel and it also doesn’t help that she’s not cursed an immortal. She is able to take care of herself and is able to help Mikkel out with a lot of things. She also gets herself stuck in a dangerous situation with one of Mikkel’s coworkers completely on accident.

The descriptions in the book painted vivid pictures in my head about the places and the people in the book along with what they were doing.

The narrator for the book Audrey Lusk was also very good at bringing those pictures to life in my head. She did a good job with narrating and using different voices for each of the characters.

I am giving Her Fiery Viking by A.J. Tipton and narrated by Audrey Lusk 3.5 stars because it did keep me entertained and guessing but a few things about it I didn’t like. I would recommend this book to my very adult readers that like to read smut.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Her Fiery Viking **

Goodreads

three-half-stars

About AJ Tipton

AJ Tipton is the pseudonym for a writing team: Annie and Jess (Get it? “AJ”). We spend our days in Manhattan working for our corporate overlords, and during the evening we’re in Brooklyn writing fantasies to astound, amuse and arouse.

Our ideas for future books–everything from sex-robots to ghost brothels–will keep us busy for many decades to come, so be sure to join us for the fun! Let us know what stories you like best, we love to hear from readers.


The Dragon Finds Forever by Kristen Painter

Posted August 22, 2017 by karenbaron in Dragon Shifters, Fairies, Gargoyles, Guest Post, Leprechauns, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Vampires, Will O' The Wisp, Witches / 0 Comments

The Dragon Finds Forever by Kristen PainterThe Dragon Finds Forever by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #7
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on May 12th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 304
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.
The tourists think it’s all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
Monalisa Devlin is a Will O’ The Wisp, a rare and potentially dangerous creature. Unfortunately, her greedy father makes sure she lives up to that potential. Monalisa is magically compelled to obey her father’s evil commands—until he finally agrees to free her in exchange for one, last mission: Travel to Nocturne Falls and use her powers to force Ivan Tsvetkov back into the ring.
Once a champion on the supernatural MMA circuit, Ivan ‘The Hammer’ Tsvetkov retired after a devastating injury that left him unable to shift into his dragon form. Wounded and embittered, Ivan wants nothing more than to be left alone. Until an infuriating, stubborn, delicately beautiful stranger shows up on his doorstep and demands that he rebuild his life.
Posing as a rehab therapist seemed like the easiest way to get close to the smoldering recluse, but Monalisa quickly realizes that nothing about this mission is going to be easy. To gain his trust, she shares more of herself than she ever has before, and as their connection deepens, so does the weight of her secrets. She thought she was willing to do whatever it took to win her independence...but when her deception blows up in her face, will Monalisa discover that the loss of Ivan’s heart is too high a price to pay? Or will their love rise from the ashes to burn stronger than ever?

Just because he is all muscle doesn’t mean he doesn’t have a brain or heart.

The Dragon Finds Forever by Kristin Painter is the story of Ivan “the Hammer”, a paranormal mixed martial arts champion, a dragon and Monalisa Devlin, a Will O’ The Wisp and daughter of the King of Leprechauns in Las Vegas.

Ivan is injured in a match that Monalisa’s father rigged. Now she has been sent against her will to bring Ivan back to Las Vegas for a rematch (preferably before he is healed). Their story is full of freedom, growing love, respect, and a sort of coming of age. I love the way Ms. Painter incorporates the supernatural world in a growing romance. I believe in the way she allows even those with darkness around them to find the one that compliments them and empower each other.

Oh, yes and if Nocturne Falls were a real place I would be moving there…and I don’t plan to drink the water. My rating for The Dragon Finds Forever is 5 stars. If you haven’t read this series yet you should give it a try. I hope you like it as much as I do.

**The Dragon Finds Forever**

** Goodreads **        

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


A Ghostly Light by Juliet Blackwell

Posted August 19, 2017 by karenbaron in Cozy, Dogs, Ghosts, Guest Post, Mystery, Paranormal Mystery, Review, Series, Urban / 0 Comments

A Ghostly Light by Juliet BlackwellA Ghostly Light by Juliet Blackwell
Published by Berkley on June 4th 2017
Genres: Cozy, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 330
Format: Kindle
five-stars

In the latest mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of Give Up the Ghost, it will take a beacon of ghostly intervention to guide contractor Mel Turner to the truth... Dangerous tides ahead...  When her friend Alicia hires Turner Construction to renovate a historic lighthouse in the San Francisco Bay, Mel Turner can’t wait to get her hands dirty. Alicia plans to transform the island property into a welcoming inn, and while Mel has never attempted a project so ambitious—or so tall—before, she’s definitely up for the challenge.   But trouble soon arises when Alicia’s abusive ex-husband shows up to threaten both her and Mel, and later turns up dead at the base of the lighthouse stairs. With no other suspects in sight, things start looking choppy for Alicia. Now, if Mel wants to clear her friend’s name, she’ll need the help of the lighthouse’s resident ghosts to shine a light on the real culprit...

This lighthouse holds more than just light.

A Ghostly Light by Juliet Blackwell this is one of my favorite series. I truly love the mix of history, home renovation, paranormal, mystery and the quirkiness of San Francisco and the bay area.

The world that Ms. Blackwell has created by mixing fact and fiction is so believable. Honestly, I would like to hire Turner Construction just to be a little part of this world.

I really think that Mel is shining in this addition. It’s nice to see her with her new man Landon. She is so happy. She still has things to work on (such as her recent fear of heights0 but don’t we all. She is finally working through all of her jobs: ghost, construction or murder. Landon is extremely supportive. It’s so sweet.

Mel has two mysteries to solve: the recent murder that her friend has been accused of and the mystery of the lighthouse ghost. Ms. Blackwell does such a great job keeping the whole thing moving through the past, present and glimpses of the future.

I adored the lighthouse history that was included with the story. The treasure maps were so thoughtful. What a wonderful way to teach and entertain your child, so much better than handing them a cellphone to play with.

I found this quote online and thought it was such a great fit for this story. “Books are lighthouses erected in the great sea of time.” ~E.P. Whipple

My rating is 5 stars, of course. If you haven’t read the other books you should try the first book in the series, Home Renovation or you can just start with this one. I guarantee you will want more. Mel and her entourage are worth your time.

**A Ghostly Light**

** Goodreads **        

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Juliet Blackwell

Juliet Blackwell was born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, the youngest child of a jet pilot from New York and an editor from Texas. She graduated with a degree in Latin American Studies from University of California, Santa Cruz, and went on to earn Masters degrees in Anthropology and Social Work from the State University of New York, Albany.

While in graduate school she published several articles based on her research with immigrant families from Mexico and Viet Nam, as well as one full-length translation: Miguel León-Portilla’s seminal work, Endangered Cultures. Juliet taught Medical Anthropology at SUNY-Albany, was a producer for a BBC documentary about Vietnamese children left behind by US soldiers, and worked as an elementary school social worker in rural New York. Upon her return to California, she became a professional artist and ran her own decorative painting, historical renovation, and domestic design studio for more than a decade.

In addition to mainstream novels, Juliet pens the New York Times Bestselling Witchcraft Mysteries and the Haunted Home Renovation series. As Hailey Lind, she wrote the Agatha Award-nominated Art Lover’s Mystery series. She is past president of Northern California Sisters in Crime and former board member of Mystery Writers of America.

Juliet lives in a hundred-year-old house with extensive botanical gardens in Northern California but spends as much time as possible in Europe and Latin America. She believes in the magic of language, travel, and cultural exchange to open hearts, minds, and souls.