Genre: Paranormal

The Vampire’s True Love Trials

Posted May 31, 2017 by karenbaron in Berserkers, Cats, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Supernatural, Valkyrie, Vampires / 0 Comments

The Vampire’s True Love TrialsThe Vampire's True Love Trials by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls, #6.5
on 1/14/2017
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 55
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals in town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

Vampire Sebastian Ellingham wants one thing: to marry Tessa Blythe, the Valkyrie he’s fallen madly in love with. So meeting her parents seems like the natural thing to do. He’s even looking forward to it, until he discovers they’ve already found her a husband. Now the only way to keep Tessa in his life is to complete a series of tests meant for a very different kind of supernatural. And failing means losing her forever.

Proof that they are a team in love.

This novella The Vampire’s True Love Trials picks up the love story of Sebastian and Tessa. They have just finished testifying and the Vampire Council regarding Sebastian’s ex-wife, Evangeline. If you want to know more about that check out The Vampire’s Fake Fiancée.

Sebastian and Tessa are planning to stay in Europe for a short vacation when Tessa’s parents call. Now they are off to meet her parents in Paris. Tessa is nervous and Sebastian knows that this is important for their relationship. So, he is fine with it.

I have always loved the confidence that Sebastian puts out there. He seems like the perfect guy to bring home to meet Mom and Dad, except for the fang part. However, if your parents are a Berserker and Valkyrie maybe bringing a vampire home isn’t the easiest thing. Tessa just wants her parents to approve of Sebastian and her together.

Den is Tessa’s Dad and he is huge, just as you would think a Berserker would be. Den is a mixture of the traditional and the historical worlds. He seems like your typical over-protective father to me, with lots of grunting and super tight hand shaking.

Magna is Tessa’s Mom and she is a Valkyrie. She seems to love her daughters and really want them to be happy. I like Magna, she seemed sweet and yet has that don’t mess with me vibe. She is more compromising than Den but still believes that Sebastian needs to prove himself especially since Tessa didn’t tell them about him.

The True Love Trials are there for the Berserker to prove his ability to take care of and cherish the Valkyrie that he wants. Since Sebastian is a vampire, the trails don’t work in the same way. Or do they? I thought that the spark between Sebastian and Tessa worked great with this story, and we got to see how important the two have become to each other.

At the end, we find that Delaney has had her baby as Sebastian and Tessa stop by to visit at the hospital. I won’t spoil it, you will have to read it yourself to find out if the baby is a boy or girl.

My rating is 5 stars. I love this short story as much as the rest of the series. Kristin Painter has created a wonderful world full of exciting characters. I highly recommend this series, Nocturne Falls to all who read paranormal romance.

**Where to find The Vampire’s True Love Trials**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Madam Tulip by David Ahern

Posted December 4, 2016 by karenbaron in Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, New Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Madam Tulip by David AhernMadam Tulip by David Ahern
Series: Madam Tulip #1
Series Rating: five-stars
on April 3rd 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 308
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Suspense, mystery, action, a little romance and lots of laughs
Out-of-work actress Derry O'Donnell is talented, professional, just a little psychic... and broke. Spurred on by an ultimatum from her awesomely high-achieving mother, Derry embarks on a part-time career as Madame Tulip, fortune teller to the rich and famous. But at her first fortune-telling gig - a celebrity charity weekend in a luxurious castle - a famous rap artist mysteriously dies.
As Derry is drawn deeper into a seedy world of fashion, millionaires, horses and cocaine, she must race to save her best friend from jail and a supermodel from being murdered. Her efforts threaten to destroy her friends, her ex-lover, her father and herself.
Fans of humorous mystery writers Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen will love Madam Tulip.
Madame Tulip is the first in a series of thrilling and hilarious Tulip adventures in which Derry O’Donnell, celebrity fortune-teller and reluctant amateur detective, plays the most exciting and perilous roles of her acting life, drinks borage tea, and fails to understand her parents.

My take on this book:              Wow! Madam Tulip by David Ahern is such a great read. From the moment I started reading the plot summary of this book in an email sent to me by the author I was hooked. This book was most definitely an awesome read for anyone that is into books like this one. This is a book that is funny, has a touch of romance, paranormal/supernatural points, and mystery.

What I liked about this book was not only because it’s different from what I normally read and it’s also refreshing and delightful. Derry O’Donnell had to find a way to stay in Ireland to do her acting career while her mom wants her to be more of an adult. Apparently, Derry is more like her father than what her mom thinks most of the time. The book kept me entertained which is something that I always like about a book. That is to be entertained and feel like I’m experiencing everything that the writer is saying with the characters while it was being written.

There wasn’t much I didn’t like about this book. Some of the words didn’t make any sense to me but then again it is written by a Scottish/Ireland writer so that right there can happen. Thankfully though that didn’t put me off with this book and I was still able to stay connected within the book while I looked it up.

Madam Tulip by David Ahern is an awesome book and I believe the next two books will be just as wonderful as this first one is. I am giving this book a five stars rating. I am also going to be recommending this book to anyone that likes books in these genres.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Where to find this book **

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About David Ahern

David Ahern grew up in a theatrical family in Ireland but ran away to Scotland to become a research psychologist and sensible person. He earned his doctorate and taught in major Universities but could never explain to his granny why he didn’t own a stethoscope.

Finding the challenge of pretending to know things exhausting, David Ahern shaved off his beard and absconded once more, this time to work in television. He became a writer, director, and producer, creating international documentary series and winning numerous awards, none of which got him free into nightclubs.

For no particular reason, David Ahern took to writing fiction. Madame Tulip wasn’t his first novel, but writing it was the most fun he’d ever had with a computer. The second in the Madam Tulip series, Madam Tulip and the Knave of Hearts, was published in autumn 2016. He is now writing the third Madam Tulip adventure and enjoys pretending this is actual work.

David Ahern lives in the beautiful West of Ireland with his wife, two cats and a vegetable garden of which he is inordinately proud.


Pawn in the Game by Tara R

Posted October 23, 2016 by karenbaron in Fantasy, Fiction, New Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Witches / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Pawn in the Game by Tara RPawn in the Game by Tara R
Series: Heroes and Villians #1
Series Rating: three-stars
on December 28, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal
Pages: 243
Format: ebook
three-stars

Aurora Grimaldi’s life has been about fighting for justice under the ruthless regime of Shadow kingdoms. In a twist of fate, she uncovers a secret organization run by creatures of magic- the Imperium.

The Imperium is in a crisis. Something has been stolen from them and they will stop at nothing to get it back. The more Aurora gets involved, the deeper she is pulled into a web of lies and deceit. And it doesn’t help when the Shadow kingdoms start interfering.

With the thief lurking in the shadows, Aurora struggles to find her place in everything that is going on and her choices may just have far more dangerous consequences than she could have imagined.

My take on this book:              Pawn in the Game by Tara R is a really great book that I am very glad that I got the chance to read the book. I believe that Tara R has a really good plot and this book was wonderfully written. I was sucked in the moment I was read the synopsis and I really wanted to read it.

Like I was saying before Pawn in the Game has a great plot and the author was able to take us to many places in the course of the book. I enjoyed the characters development, backstory and with how the author imagined the way that the Shadow kingdoms and the Imperium works as well. What a wonderful world she has created.

I did find some faults with the book, though. One was there were some spelling and grammar mistakes. Another thing that put me off was the gruesome gory details of the people that were killed. This is truly a personal thing, I don’t care for the gory and horror to be described in such detail, but I know that many people do. There are still some questions going through my head that didn’t get answered in this book but will probably get answered in the following books.

The Pawn in the Game by Tara R is a great book and I am grateful to have read it. My rating for this book is 3 stars and that is mostly because I kept losing the magic of the story due to the items listed above. Other than those things this book was really great but I am not sure if I will read the next one. We shall see. Please give it a try and let us know what you think.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Where to find this book **

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

three-stars

About Tara R

Tara lives in the lovely city of Toronto. An engineer during the day, she moonlights as a writer. Her favourite genres are romance, mystery and fantasy. She has been writing since she was 7 and her first story was about a spaceship (BIG Star Trek fan here).

When not working or writing, she catches up on her favourite shows on Netflix and spends time with family and friends.


A Bargain in Silver

Posted October 22, 2016 by karenbaron in Dystopia, Paranormal, Review, Series, Vampires / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Bargain in SilverA Bargain in Silver by Josie Jaffrey
Series: Solis Invicti #1
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on January 3, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

If the price of safety is slavery, would you bargain your life? A deadly infection threatens to wipe out humanity. The only people who can stem its advance are the Silver, a vampiric race who offer a simple exchange: protection in return for blood and subservience. It's not a deal that Emmy's willing to make, but as her world burns around her she finds herself in the arms of the enemy and the line between oppressor and saviour begins to blur. After an attack by the infected, Emmy is rescued by the handsome Drew who introduces her to the world of the Silver. Desperate to escape subjugation and confused by her attraction to him, she gathers what remains of her surrogate family and plans to make a break for freedom. But despite her efforts to resist, she is drawn further into the intrigues of the mysterious Silver through the agency of their ruler, the Primus: Solomon. Emmy refuses to submit to the cold and detached Primus and an attempt on her life makes it clear that he is unable to protect her from the political machinations of his race. As the connection between them deepens she must choose between her desire and her will to rebel, but can she trust his intentions when everyone is after her blood?

My Thoughts:   Does it matter if he is a vampire if he has a good heart?

I absolutely loved this book. I had the hardest time putting it down. I think I may have even growled at my family when they interrupted me. I was so worried about Emmy and her friends, that I couldn’t get them off my mind.

Emmy, for the most part, is your normal average girl. She wants to be part of a family and enjoy life. She gave up her life when her boyfriend disappeared, and move to London to start again. She gets a job as a bartender and gains a bunch of friends who become her family. Then the infection begins and she meets Drew. She is instantly drawn to him, even though she questions their connection constantly. She even allows someone she doesn’t really know to influence her perception of Drew.

Drew, who is second in command of the Solis Invicti, is kind in his own way. He is set in the fact that life is changing on earth and he will be one of those who will help make people comfortable and readjust to the new ways. He seems to try very hard to play within the rules that the Primus has set. Then he meets Emmy and instantly falls for her. Drew, however, knows of the consequences of loving her and wants to make sure that she has her complete free will to make the choice to love him back. He seems very noble. Can a vampire be good? He was born a vampire so perhaps it is possible.

There must be something about Emmy that is special, something unseen by most. Emmy catches the attention of Drew immediately, but also Solomon, who is in charge of the Silver and apparently the world as it is now known. They are both drawn to her even though she has a smart mouth and refuses to be their slave.

Since the story is told from Emmy’s point a view, there are secrets that she feels but is uncertain what they are. The Silver have quite a lot of superstitions and ways that are unknown to humans. Honestly, they must have had this planned for a while, at least by one faction or another. Humans didn’t know that they existed and were completely caught off guard.

My rating is 5 stars. I completely loved this book. I am so recommending this to my friends as I know they would enjoy it too.

**Where to find A Bargain in Sliver **

** Goodreads **

This book was given to the Baroness Book Trove for an honest review.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Josie Jaffrey

I have always written stories, but it wasn’t until I started the first book in the Solis Invicti series in 2014 that I really became obsessed with writing. I love to read, particularly where the escapism of the story is enhanced with an element of fantasy or science fiction. For me, writing is simply an extension of that journey, but I get to decide what happens next (though it’s amazing how often the characters seem to decide for themselves what I’m going to write!).

I grew up in the English countryside and studied Classics at the University of Oxford, subsequently converting to law. After a year working in London in Paternoster Square (where the majority of the Solis Invicti series is set), I returned to Oxford where I still live with my husband and two somali cats. When I’m not writing, I work as a solicitor specializing in Intellectual Property and Commercial law.

As a new author, I love to hear from readers with their comments and feedback on the books, so please do get in touch through the website or via Twitter.

Thank you for reading!


Better Homes and Hauntings

Posted September 4, 2016 by karenbaron in Audiobook, Ghosts, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Supernatural / 0 Comments

Better Homes and HauntingsBetter Homes and Hauntings by Molly Harper
Published by Pocket Books on June 24th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 318
Format: Kindle
four-stars

Author of the beloved Half Moon Hollow series of vampire romances (Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs), Molly Harper has created a standalone paranormal romance in which a dilapidated haunted house could bring star-crossed lovers together—if it doesn’t kill them first!
When Nina Linden is hired to landscape a private island off the New England coast, she sees it as her chance to rebuild her failing business after being cheated by her unscrupulous ex. She never expects that her new client, software mogul Deacon Whitney, would see more in her than just a talented gardener. Deacon has paid top dollar to the crews he’s hired to renovate the desolate Whitney estate—he had to, because the bumps, thumps, and unexplained sightings of ghostly figures in nineteenth-century dress are driving workers away faster than he can say “Boo.”
But Nina shows no signs of being scared away, even as she experiences some unnerving apparitions herself. And as the two of them work closely together to restore the mansion’s faded glory, Deacon realizes that he’s found someone who doesn’t seem to like his fortune more than himself—while Nina may have finally found the one man she can trust with her bruised and battered heart.
But something on the island doesn’t believe in true love…and if Nina and Deacon can’t figure out how to put these angry spirits to rest, their own love doesn’t stand a ghost of a chance.

My Thoughts:                    Spooky, funny, witty, supernatural mystery with a touch of love.

I really enjoyed this audio book. The story is wonderful. I loved the nerdy comments, the film references, and the witty conversations. The hauntings added just the right amount of spookiness.

Deacon is an unusual hero. He has the background of old money and yet the money he uses to rebuild the family home is from money that he has made himself in the tech world. I love that Deacon was extremely comfortable in his own skin, even though others didn’t agree with his decisions. He has an eclectic taste in movies and is a self-proclaimed Si-Fi nerd. Deacon has a way of making things fun even when it is serious. However, Deacon doesn’t believe in the hauntings at first but he goes along with the others.

Nina is a great character. She starts out meek and afraid of her own shadow, who unfolds much like her beloved flowers. It just took friendship, love, and acceptance for her to bloom. She is extremely talented in landscape design. The indoor room that she creates is so easy to picture. I loved the ideas that Nina has for the gardens and the interior. She loves to dig and design but she truly has a heart of gold. Nina is highly sensitive to the hauntings on the island, it made me think that she was the one related to the ghosts.

The supporting cast is great too. They all make a wonderful team. Jake and Cindy with their little romance of sorts, along with Dottie and the others all fit together wonderfully with a comedic attitude toward finding the cause of the haunting. The way they each deal with the supernatural haunting on the island adds a real belief to the story. They form this wonderful family unit. It is extremely nice the way that they protect, support and work together.

The narrator, Amanda Ronconi does a wonderful job. She has a way of playing off the suspense in the story and the voices that she uses to add a warmth to the story are lovely.

This was the first book that I have read (heard) by Molly Harper, I truly enjoyed it and will be looking up some of her other books. The pop culture references and snarkiness is the best. My rating is 5 stars.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

four-stars

About Molly Harper

About the Author:

Her Tagline: Snarky Romance with Bite

“My mother remembers an 8-year-old me setting up my “writing office” in our living room by putting her old manual typewriter on the couch next to a toy phone. And I (very slowly) pecked out the story of my third-grade class taking a trip around the world and losing a kid in each city.

I had a dark sense of humor, even then.

In high school, when other girls my age were writing poems about dying unicorns and bleeding roses, I was writing essays about having political arguments with my dad at the dinner table. (Whoever made the other person laugh at their own political party won the argument.) I knew I wanted to write when I grew up, but I also knew there was very little chance I could make a living writing books, so I went for the next best thing – newspaper writing.

I majored in print journalism at Western Kentucky University and used my shiny new degree to get a job at my hometown newspaper. I married my high school sweetheart, David, a local police officer. And for six years, I wrote about school board meetings, quilt shows, a man “losing” the fully grown bear he kept as a pet in his basement, and a guy who faked his death by shark attack in Florida and ended up tossing pies at a local pizzeria.

I loved my job at the paper. I loved meeting new people every day and never knowing where I would end up. But somehow, the ever-shifting schedules of a police officer and a reporter did not equal “family friendly.” One of us needed to take a normal job for the sake of our young daughter. I took a secretarial position at a local church office, which left me with dependably free evenings for the first time in my adult life. David was working the night shift that summer and I was losing-my-mind. We were living in “The Apartment of Lost Souls” while building our new home. This was the place where appliances and small electronics went to die. Every night I would tuck our snoozing child into bed and wait for the washing machine to start smoking or the computer to suddenly flash the “blue screen of death.” Then there was the plague of frogs in the bathroom that put our daughter of potty-training for about six months. “ ~to see the rest visit her author page on Goodreads (just follow the link below).