Genre: Paranormal

Madam Tulip by David Ahern

Posted December 4, 2016 by karenbaron in Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, New Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Madam Tulip by David AhernMadam Tulip by David Ahern
Series: Madam Tulip #1
on April 3rd 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 308
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Suspense, mystery, action, a little romance and lots of laughs
Out-of-work actress Derry O'Donnell is talented, professional, just a little psychic... and broke. Spurred on by an ultimatum from her awesomely high-achieving mother, Derry embarks on a part-time career as Madame Tulip, fortune teller to the rich and famous. But at her first fortune-telling gig - a celebrity charity weekend in a luxurious castle - a famous rap artist mysteriously dies.
As Derry is drawn deeper into a seedy world of fashion, millionaires, horses and cocaine, she must race to save her best friend from jail and a supermodel from being murdered. Her efforts threaten to destroy her friends, her ex-lover, her father and herself.
Fans of humorous mystery writers Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen will love Madam Tulip.
Madame Tulip is the first in a series of thrilling and hilarious Tulip adventures in which Derry O’Donnell, celebrity fortune-teller and reluctant amateur detective, plays the most exciting and perilous roles of her acting life, drinks borage tea, and fails to understand her parents.

My take on this book:              Wow! Madam Tulip by David Ahern is such a great read. From the moment I started reading the plot summary of this book in an email sent to me by the author I was hooked. This book was most definitely an awesome read for anyone that is into books like this one. This is a book that is funny, has a touch of romance, paranormal/supernatural points, and mystery.

What I liked about this book was not only because it’s different from what I normally read and it’s also refreshing and delightful. Derry O’Donnell had to find a way to stay in Ireland to do her acting career while her mom wants her to be more of an adult. Apparently, Derry is more like her father than what her mom thinks most of the time. The book kept me entertained which is something that I always like about a book. That is to be entertained and feel like I’m experiencing everything that the writer is saying with the characters while it was being written.

There wasn’t much I didn’t like about this book. Some of the words didn’t make any sense to me but then again it is written by a Scottish/Ireland writer so that right there can happen. Thankfully though that didn’t put me off with this book and I was still able to stay connected within the book while I looked it up.

Madam Tulip by David Ahern is an awesome book and I believe the next two books will be just as wonderful as this first one is. I am giving this book a five stars rating. I am also going to be recommending this book to anyone that likes books in these genres.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Where to find this book **

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About David Ahern

David Ahern grew up in a theatrical family in Ireland but ran away to Scotland to become a research psychologist and sensible person. He earned his doctorate and taught in major Universities but could never explain to his granny why he didn’t own a stethoscope.

Finding the challenge of pretending to know things exhausting, David Ahern shaved off his beard and absconded once more, this time to work in television. He became a writer, director, and producer, creating international documentary series and winning numerous awards, none of which got him free into nightclubs.

For no particular reason, David Ahern took to writing fiction. Madame Tulip wasn’t his first novel, but writing it was the most fun he’d ever had with a computer. The second in the Madam Tulip series, Madam Tulip and the Knave of Hearts, was published in autumn 2016. He is now writing the third Madam Tulip adventure and enjoys pretending this is actual work.

David Ahern lives in the beautiful West of Ireland with his wife, two cats and a vegetable garden of which he is inordinately proud.


Pawn in the Game by Tara R

Posted October 23, 2016 by karenbaron in Fantasy, Fiction, New Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Witches / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Pawn in the Game by Tara RPawn in the Game by Tara R
Series: Heroes and Villians #1
on December 28, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal
Pages: 243
Format: ebook
three-stars

Aurora Grimaldi’s life has been about fighting for justice under the ruthless regime of Shadow kingdoms. In a twist of fate, she uncovers a secret organization run by creatures of magic- the Imperium.

The Imperium is in a crisis. Something has been stolen from them and they will stop at nothing to get it back. The more Aurora gets involved, the deeper she is pulled into a web of lies and deceit. And it doesn’t help when the Shadow kingdoms start interfering.

With the thief lurking in the shadows, Aurora struggles to find her place in everything that is going on and her choices may just have far more dangerous consequences than she could have imagined.

My take on this book:              Pawn in the Game by Tara R is a really great book that I am very glad that I got the chance to read the book. I believe that Tara R has a really good plot and this book was wonderfully written. I was sucked in the moment I was read the synopsis and I really wanted to read it.

Like I was saying before Pawn in the Game has a great plot and the author was able to take us to many places in the course of the book. I enjoyed the characters development, backstory and with how the author imagined the way that the Shadow kingdoms and the Imperium works as well. What a wonderful world she has created.

I did find some faults with the book, though. One was there were some spelling and grammar mistakes. Another thing that put me off was the gruesome gory details of the people that were killed. This is truly a personal thing, I don’t care for the gory and horror to be described in such detail, but I know that many people do. There are still some questions going through my head that didn’t get answered in this book but will probably get answered in the following books.

The Pawn in the Game by Tara R is a great book and I am grateful to have read it. My rating for this book is 3 stars and that is mostly because I kept losing the magic of the story due to the items listed above. Other than those things this book was really great but I am not sure if I will read the next one. We shall see. Please give it a try and let us know what you think.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Where to find this book **

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

three-stars

About Tara R

Tara lives in the lovely city of Toronto. An engineer during the day, she moonlights as a writer. Her favourite genres are romance, mystery and fantasy. She has been writing since she was 7 and her first story was about a spaceship (BIG Star Trek fan here).

When not working or writing, she catches up on her favourite shows on Netflix and spends time with family and friends.


A Bargain in Silver

Posted October 22, 2016 by karenbaron in Dystopia, Paranormal, Review, Series, Vampires / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Bargain in SilverA Bargain in Silver by Josie Jaffrey
Series: Solis Invicti #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on January 3, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

If the price of safety is slavery, would you bargain your life? A deadly infection threatens to wipe out humanity. The only people who can stem its advance are the Silver, a vampiric race who offer a simple exchange: protection in return for blood and subservience. It's not a deal that Emmy's willing to make, but as her world burns around her she finds herself in the arms of the enemy and the line between oppressor and saviour begins to blur. After an attack by the infected, Emmy is rescued by the handsome Drew who introduces her to the world of the Silver. Desperate to escape subjugation and confused by her attraction to him, she gathers what remains of her surrogate family and plans to make a break for freedom. But despite her efforts to resist, she is drawn further into the intrigues of the mysterious Silver through the agency of their ruler, the Primus: Solomon. Emmy refuses to submit to the cold and detached Primus and an attempt on her life makes it clear that he is unable to protect her from the political machinations of his race. As the connection between them deepens she must choose between her desire and her will to rebel, but can she trust his intentions when everyone is after her blood?

My Thoughts:   Does it matter if he is a vampire if he has a good heart?

I absolutely loved this book. I had the hardest time putting it down. I think I may have even growled at my family when they interrupted me. I was so worried about Emmy and her friends, that I couldn’t get them off my mind.

Emmy, for the most part, is your normal average girl. She wants to be part of a family and enjoy life. She gave up her life when her boyfriend disappeared, and move to London to start again. She gets a job as a bartender and gains a bunch of friends who become her family. Then the infection begins and she meets Drew. She is instantly drawn to him, even though she questions their connection constantly. She even allows someone she doesn’t really know to influence her perception of Drew.

Drew, who is second in command of the Solis Invicti, is kind in his own way. He is set in the fact that life is changing on earth and he will be one of those who will help make people comfortable and readjust to the new ways. He seems to try very hard to play within the rules that the Primus has set. Then he meets Emmy and instantly falls for her. Drew, however, knows of the consequences of loving her and wants to make sure that she has her complete free will to make the choice to love him back. He seems very noble. Can a vampire be good? He was born a vampire so perhaps it is possible.

There must be something about Emmy that is special, something unseen by most. Emmy catches the attention of Drew immediately, but also Solomon, who is in charge of the Silver and apparently the world as it is now known. They are both drawn to her even though she has a smart mouth and refuses to be their slave.

Since the story is told from Emmy’s point a view, there are secrets that she feels but is uncertain what they are. The Silver have quite a lot of superstitions and ways that are unknown to humans. Honestly, they must have had this planned for a while, at least by one faction or another. Humans didn’t know that they existed and were completely caught off guard.

My rating is 5 stars. I completely loved this book. I am so recommending this to my friends as I know they would enjoy it too.

**Where to find A Bargain in Sliver **

** Goodreads **

This book was given to the Baroness Book Trove for an honest review.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Josie Jaffrey

I have always written stories, but it wasn’t until I started the first book in the Solis Invicti series in 2014 that I really became obsessed with writing. I love to read, particularly where the escapism of the story is enhanced with an element of fantasy or science fiction. For me, writing is simply an extension of that journey, but I get to decide what happens next (though it’s amazing how often the characters seem to decide for themselves what I’m going to write!).

I grew up in the English countryside and studied Classics at the University of Oxford, subsequently converting to law. After a year working in London in Paternoster Square (where the majority of the Solis Invicti series is set), I returned to Oxford where I still live with my husband and two somali cats. When I’m not writing, I work as a solicitor specializing in Intellectual Property and Commercial law.

As a new author, I love to hear from readers with their comments and feedback on the books, so please do get in touch through the website or via Twitter.

Thank you for reading!


Better Homes and Hauntings

Posted September 4, 2016 by karenbaron in Audiobook, Ghosts, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Supernatural / 0 Comments

Better Homes and HauntingsBetter Homes and Hauntings by Molly Harper
Published by Pocket Books on June 24th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 318
Format: Kindle
four-stars

Author of the beloved Half Moon Hollow series of vampire romances (Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs), Molly Harper has created a standalone paranormal romance in which a dilapidated haunted house could bring star-crossed lovers together—if it doesn’t kill them first!
When Nina Linden is hired to landscape a private island off the New England coast, she sees it as her chance to rebuild her failing business after being cheated by her unscrupulous ex. She never expects that her new client, software mogul Deacon Whitney, would see more in her than just a talented gardener. Deacon has paid top dollar to the crews he’s hired to renovate the desolate Whitney estate—he had to, because the bumps, thumps, and unexplained sightings of ghostly figures in nineteenth-century dress are driving workers away faster than he can say “Boo.”
But Nina shows no signs of being scared away, even as she experiences some unnerving apparitions herself. And as the two of them work closely together to restore the mansion’s faded glory, Deacon realizes that he’s found someone who doesn’t seem to like his fortune more than himself—while Nina may have finally found the one man she can trust with her bruised and battered heart.
But something on the island doesn’t believe in true love…and if Nina and Deacon can’t figure out how to put these angry spirits to rest, their own love doesn’t stand a ghost of a chance.

My Thoughts:                    Spooky, funny, witty, supernatural mystery with a touch of love.

I really enjoyed this audio book. The story is wonderful. I loved the nerdy comments, the film references, and the witty conversations. The hauntings added just the right amount of spookiness.

Deacon is an unusual hero. He has the background of old money and yet the money he uses to rebuild the family home is from money that he has made himself in the tech world. I love that Deacon was extremely comfortable in his own skin, even though others didn’t agree with his decisions. He has an eclectic taste in movies and is a self-proclaimed Si-Fi nerd. Deacon has a way of making things fun even when it is serious. However, Deacon doesn’t believe in the hauntings at first but he goes along with the others.

Nina is a great character. She starts out meek and afraid of her own shadow, who unfolds much like her beloved flowers. It just took friendship, love, and acceptance for her to bloom. She is extremely talented in landscape design. The indoor room that she creates is so easy to picture. I loved the ideas that Nina has for the gardens and the interior. She loves to dig and design but she truly has a heart of gold. Nina is highly sensitive to the hauntings on the island, it made me think that she was the one related to the ghosts.

The supporting cast is great too. They all make a wonderful team. Jake and Cindy with their little romance of sorts, along with Dottie and the others all fit together wonderfully with a comedic attitude toward finding the cause of the haunting. The way they each deal with the supernatural haunting on the island adds a real belief to the story. They form this wonderful family unit. It is extremely nice the way that they protect, support and work together.

The narrator, Amanda Ronconi does a wonderful job. She has a way of playing off the suspense in the story and the voices that she uses to add a warmth to the story are lovely.

This was the first book that I have read (heard) by Molly Harper, I truly enjoyed it and will be looking up some of her other books. The pop culture references and snarkiness is the best. My rating is 5 stars.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

four-stars

About Molly Harper

About the Author:

Her Tagline: Snarky Romance with Bite

“My mother remembers an 8-year-old me setting up my “writing office” in our living room by putting her old manual typewriter on the couch next to a toy phone. And I (very slowly) pecked out the story of my third-grade class taking a trip around the world and losing a kid in each city.

I had a dark sense of humor, even then.

In high school, when other girls my age were writing poems about dying unicorns and bleeding roses, I was writing essays about having political arguments with my dad at the dinner table. (Whoever made the other person laugh at their own political party won the argument.) I knew I wanted to write when I grew up, but I also knew there was very little chance I could make a living writing books, so I went for the next best thing – newspaper writing.

I majored in print journalism at Western Kentucky University and used my shiny new degree to get a job at my hometown newspaper. I married my high school sweetheart, David, a local police officer. And for six years, I wrote about school board meetings, quilt shows, a man “losing” the fully grown bear he kept as a pet in his basement, and a guy who faked his death by shark attack in Florida and ended up tossing pies at a local pizzeria.

I loved my job at the paper. I loved meeting new people every day and never knowing where I would end up. But somehow, the ever-shifting schedules of a police officer and a reporter did not equal “family friendly.” One of us needed to take a normal job for the sake of our young daughter. I took a secretarial position at a local church office, which left me with dependably free evenings for the first time in my adult life. David was working the night shift that summer and I was losing-my-mind. We were living in “The Apartment of Lost Souls” while building our new home. This was the place where appliances and small electronics went to die. Every night I would tuck our snoozing child into bed and wait for the washing machine to start smoking or the computer to suddenly flash the “blue screen of death.” Then there was the plague of frogs in the bathroom that put our daughter of potty-training for about six months. “ ~to see the rest visit her author page on Goodreads (just follow the link below).


School of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

Posted August 31, 2016 by karenbaron in Boarding School, Death, Dragons, Elementals, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

School of Deaths by Christopher ManninoSchool of Deaths by Christopher Mannino
Series: The Scythe Wielder's Secret #1
Published by Muse it Up Publishing on May 2nd 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 270
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Can a timid girl from Maryland become the first female Death?
Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio always believed the Grim Reaper was a fairy tale image of a skeleton with a scythe. Now, forced to enter the College of Deaths, she finds herself training to bring souls from the Living World to the Hereafter. The task is demanding enough, but as the only female in the all-male College, she quickly becomes a target. Attacked by both classmates and strangers, Suzie is alone in a world where even her teachers want her to fail.
Caught in the middle of a plot to overthrow the World of Deaths, Suzie must uncover the reason she’s been brought there: the first female Death in a million years.
PRE-ORDER NOW at https://museituppublishing.com/bookst...

My take on this book:              Wow. School of Deaths by Christopher Mannino was awesome and it kept me thinking about Suzie and her friends whenever I put it down to do something else. We follow Susan, Suzie as she likes to be called by her friends, on a sort of regular day for her in our world before she is whisked away by a Death to become a Death herself or to go back to the normal world thanks to an end of year test for the first years.

Suzie is able to make it through most of the first year with some hiccups as she is the only female in an all-male environment and not everyone is happy to see her there. Suzie is able to stand up for herself against some of the other students and even some of the teachers there that aren’t happy to see her there in the World of Deaths.

There is also a bunch of twists and turns that we unravel with Suzie as the book progresses that makes you want to read further and further into it. I was making guesses here and there about what I think is up with Suzie and most of my guesses were right.

Schools of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is different than with what I normally read as Young Adult book but I have to say that it was a good different and it truly kept my interest. I immediately thought that it was like Harry Potter but completely different as Harry was eleven when he was thrust into magic and Suzie is thirteen.

Suzie is a wonderful character with a lot of character development about with what she thought of the World of Deaths. Along  with everything else, that happens to her. She also learns more about the mystery regarding her being picked to go the School of Deaths. She also is able to help some other people out.

Schools of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is a great book. It has a great world developed for it and I love the different species that he added to this world. It’s also one that will keep you wondering about it while you are doing all those boring normal everyday life things. All of that and other things I have mentioned above makes this book for me five star rating. I will totally recommend this book to other people to read as it is a great book for both young adults and adults.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Christopher Mannino

Christopher Mannino’s life is best described as an unending creative outlet. He teaches high school theatre in Greenbelt, Maryland. In addition to his daily drama classes, he runs several after-school performance and production drama groups. He spends his summers writing and singing. Mannino holds a Master of Arts in Theatre Education from Catholic University, and has studied mythology and literature both in America and at Oxford University. His work with youg people helped inspire him to write young adult fantasy, although it was his love of reading that truly brought his writing to life.
Christopher’s debut novel School of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 1) was published in May 2014 by MuseItUp Publishing. The second book in the trilogy, Sword of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 2), was published in August 2015. The third book Daughter of Deaths is expected to be released in 2016. His series has received rave reviews and been compared to Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.


Catastrophe

Posted July 12, 2016 by karenbaron in Angels, Demons, Dragon Shifters, Elves, Fairies, Fantasy, Jinn, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal People, Review, Sekhmet, Series, Supernatural, Vampires, Witches / 0 Comments

CatastropheCatastrophe by Liz Schulte
Series: Sekhmet #1
Published by Smashwords Edition on December 15th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal
Format: Kindle
five-stars

I have learned a few things in my life. If you can’t wear clean underwear, don’t wear any at all. Never trust a vampire. Secret ruling councils should generally be avoided. Finally, and this is the most important, very few people are ever what they seem.However, it wasn’t always easy to live by these rules. Like, when said secret ruling council demanded my appearance and then did the worst thing they could possible do and inflamed my curiosity. Asking me to go to New Orleans to investigate a series of werewolf attacks, I couldn’t possibly say no to that.The first problem was werewolves had been eliminated from the Abyss so it was impossible that they were killing anyone. The second fiasco was that more vampires were in this city than ever before, including the one who was intent on ruining my life. And the third complication was I couldn’t tell anyone else about my mission or I would forfeit my freedom to the council.Some missions are easy. Others are a Catastrophe.

My Thoughts:         Curiosity may not kill the cat but…

First I must say that even though this is the first part of the Sekhmet Series, it is a spin off from the world of Liz Schulte. I like that Ms. Schulte doesn’t rehash the previous books and disrupt the story of this one. I have read her other books and thoroughly enjoy the world that she has created.

Femi is a wonderful character, she has depth, backbone, insecurities and attitude issues. She likes to know the “why” of each bounty not just how it is done. Femi does have a serious commitment issues. I am not sure if it is just a Sekhmet thing or just that she is afraid to lose someone she cares deeply for or she just hasn’t found that special person. Everyone has their own inner demons and reasons for being who they are. Femi is a warrior with tons of emotion and she cares way more than a Sekhmet should. Sekhmet are neutral in nature, but Femi has a hard time not helping the underdog/little guy.

Femi is extremely curious about the Abyss council. When they assign her a bounty in New Orleans, (ok they actually gloated her into taking the job). You know the ole’ greater good angle, either way Femi won’t back down and she can’t have unanswered questions if at all possible. Whenever the greater good plays in there is always a catastrophe on the horizon.

As for the Liz Schulte’s world of the Abyss, I love it. You have the humans who don’t see the other creatures walking among them, and you have the Abyss creatures. The Abyss creatures are wonderful and as with humans some are good, some are bad, and some are a little of both.

I think I truly like the mysteries that Ms. Schulte uses in each story, she keeps me guessing and manages to toss in that little bit to make me question if the one I picked is the bad guy (or should I say main bad guy). You really never know how many angles are being played until the story plays out. However, I like the way she wraps it up, with a kind of happy ending.

She also has that little bit of romance that keeps you coming back. As for Femi and Sy, I like the flirting and the way they protect each other, but I hope that there is a person that is truly for Femi. Someone who will compliment her and become the partner that she truly needs. If Sy is this person than that is great if not, I can’t wait to see who or what Ms. Schulte can imagine.

So, if you haven’t already read Liz Schulte’s Easy Bake Coven series, The Guardian Trilogy, or The Jinn Trilogy, you might want to look into these. She also has a few short stories that go with her world of the Abyss. My rating is 5 stars.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

 **Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

The Shifter Romances the Writer

Posted June 18, 2016 by karenbaron in Fairies, Gargoyles, Ghosts, Nymphs, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Rooks, Series, Shape Shifters, Supernatural, Valkyrie, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

The Shifter Romances the WriterThe Shifter Romances The Writer by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #6
on May 24th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 364
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.
The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
For romance writer Roxy St. James, living in Nocturne Falls also means a fresh start. And as soon as her unbearable ex signs the divorce papers, that new beginning will be a reality. Unfortunately, her ex doesn’t seem ready to let her go and the subtle threats he’s been making leave her no choice but to confide in her oh-so-handsome neighbor, who just happens to be a deputy with the sheriff’s department.
But Officer Alex Cruz isn’t just the law. He’s also a panther shifter, a secret he’s sworn to keep (along with the truth about Nocturne Falls) from the very foxy Roxy. Humans aren’t supposed to know the town is filled with supernaturals. Then she starts seeing things she shouldn’t and thinks she’s losing her mind. His attraction—and concern—for her wars with the promise he’s made.
Will his truth be more than she can handle? Or will it cause her to write him out of her life?

My Thoughts: Holy Black Panthers!

We heard of Roxy St. James as she went to school with Delaney Ellingham. Roxy is a romance writer of the paranormal nature. She is hoping for a fresh start in Nocturne Falls, leaving behind all of the bad (her ex), only bringing the good with her (her corvette, writing and the essentials). She buys a beautiful home next door to one of the sheriff deputies, Alex Cruz. We have also met Alex quite a few times in the past books.

The two of them don’t start out on the best of terms but their attraction quickly turns that around. Alex is always the gentleman and Roxy is sweet, funny and learning to like herself again.

We get to see what the other residents of Nocturne Falls are up to. Delaney’s pregnancy is going forward.  Ivy Merrow is pregnant now, Shanna has hooked up with Alex’s brother Diego, and they moved in together. We also heard from the Valkyrie sisters, got to check in with Pandora. We also met a few other residents, like Agnes the book shop owner.

Kristin Painter really spins a wonderful story. Honestly, if Nocturne Falls were a real place I would move to Georgia to live there. If you haven’t already read this series check it out, it’s fabulous. I can’t praise it enough. My rating is 5 stars.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Gone With the Witch by Heather Blake

Posted June 15, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Rural, Series, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

Gone With the Witch by Heather BlakeGone With the Witch by Heather Blake
Series: A Wishcraft Mystery #6
Published by NAL on May 3rd 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 336
Format: Kindle
five-stars

The national bestselling author of Some Like It Witchy returns as wish-granting witch Darcy Merriweather is put to the test after murder takes first prize at a pet show. . . .  Darcy and her dog Missy are determined to put their best foot forward at the Enchanted Village’s annual Pawsitively Enchanted pet contest. She’s happy to lend a hand when the show’s organizer hires Darcy to keep an eye on things among growing suspicions that someone is sabotaging the event. But Darcy’s quest for justice is thrown off the scent when her lead suspect is found dead at the competition.   As if a murder weren’t bad enough, someone begins snatching up prize-winning pets right from under their owners’ noses. Darcy is determined to protect the pampered participants at whatever cost. But she’ll have to work fast to sniff out the thief before she becomes the next victim of a killer determined to stop her dead in her tracks...

My take on this book:              Gone With the Witch by Heather Blake was such an awesome book. It had me thinking of who the Elder could be, who murdered Natasha, who was stealing the animals from the contest, and a bunch of other questions.

This book starts off with Darcy taking the job for “As You Wish,” her business now and right off the bat Darcy has a bad feeling about this assignment. From the beginning of this book Darcy has been on a whirlwind of emotions about the case and about everything else around her.

I don’t really want to reveal too much about what happens in this book but it’s really good. I am happy to say that in this book we finally find out who the Elder is. I’m not going to say as the author doesn’t want anything like that to be spoiled for anyone that has yet to read the book. Happy guessing, unless you find the clues like a member of the Mystery, Inc. team.

I love the enchanted village that this series is set in. The town square where most things happen is so picturesque, the small town heart if you know what I mean. The shops and the characters that live there are so great.

I am happy to say that my rating for this book is five stars as it was that glamorous. Ms. Blake also has set up what might happen in the next book, The Witch and the Dead, which will be released in October of this year.  If you can’t wait for the next Wishcraft Mystery, check out Ms. Blake’s other series the Magic Potions Mysteries.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Heather Blake

Heather Blake (aka Heather Webber) is the author of more than twenty novels and has been twice nominated for an Agatha Award. She’s a total homebody who loves to be close to her family, read, watch reality TV (especially cooking competition shows), drink too much coffee, crochet, bake (mostly cookies), and occasionally leave the house to travel to the beautiful mountains in the northeast. Heather grew up in a suburb of Boston, but currently she lives in the Cincinnati area with her family and is hard at work on her next book.


Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes

Posted June 12, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

Spies and Spells by Tonya KappesSpies and Spells by Tonya Kappes
Series: Spies and Spells #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 21st 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 248
Format: Kindle
five-stars

SPIES AND SPELLS, the first in this highly anticipated new series from USA TODAY Bestseller Tonya Kappes because we know she's a queen at writing paranormal mystery witch series, is here! Spies and Spells Spies and Spells Book 1 While Maggie waits for her Witchy Hour, she works at the family diner with her mom, aunt Meme and Lilith, her sister - all witches. Soon Maggie gets entangled with a mysterious handsome stranger, Mick Jasper, and his secret U.S. organization, SKUL. Has she found her calling?

My take on this book:              Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes is another great book and series. All the characters are funny, great, and at times very nutty. The characters are all of those things plus more.

Maggie is the main character of the book and trying to figure out what she is supposed to do in this world, until her Witchy Hour, which she is wondering if it will ever happen to her. Her older sister, Lilith, hasn’t had her Witchy Hour yet and she doesn’t really mind waiting for it. While her mom and Aunt Meme have there’s. We follow Maggie as her Witchy Hour starts to happen and all the way through the mystery that she gets herself wrapped up in just from meeting Mick Jasper. My question is the life’s ambition SKUL or Mick Jasper? I am looking forward to finding out in the next book.

The spells that Tonya made up for the book were cute and silly but entertaining to read the mess or not so mess that it will cause. I loved the whole family of witches and their friends having a makeup party. Also Vinnie, her familiar, is super, funny and protective. He was entertaining as well.

Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes is a great book and one that I recommend for everyone to read. I am also giving this book a five star rating. If you like quirky fun cozy mysteries check out some of her other series, like the Magical Cures Mysteries or the Ghostly Southern Mysteries.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

five-stars

About Tonya Kappes

For years, USA Today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

She has a B.A. in Education from the University of Kentucky and a proud Kentucky Wildcat fan.

Married to an amazing man, Eddy, she has four son ranging in ages from twenty-two to sixteen years old, Charlie and Scooter (Schnauzers), and Kitty Kappes.

Now a full time writer, she spends her days creating the fun-loving, quirky southern characters that is full of charm that readers have come to love.


The Vampire’s Valentine Surprise

Posted June 8, 2016 by karenbaron in Fairies, Fantasy, Gargoyles, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Rooks, Rural, Series, Shape Shifters, Short Stories, Supernatural, Valkyrie, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

The Vampire’s Valentine SurpriseThe Vampire's Valentine Surprise by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #5.5
Published by Bayou Moon Press on February 8, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 44
Format: Kindle
five-stars

*A Nocturne Falls Short Story*

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.

The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

When Delaney Ellingham enters the Nocturne Falls Valentine’s Day Bake-Off, she has no idea that an old rival will create such havoc. Her husband, Hugh, and her friends all come to her aid, but even they can’t guess the surprise that lays in store…

My Thoughts:               Sweets and sweetness!

Delaney and Hugh Ellingham are from the first Nocturne Falls book The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride. I loved their story. This chance to take a look into where their romance and relationship is at and is going is wonderful. We see them the other books, but it is nice to see them front and center again. Delaney is such a nice vampire. She likes to take care of everyone. It’s lovely the way that Hugh adores her, is so protective and wants to make sure that he takes care of her.

I can’t tell you much about the book without telling you what the surprise is but if you read the first book, you will most definitely want to read this book. I really hope Kristen Painter follows through with this in the next book in the series. I am really looking forward to it.

My rating is 5 stars. I find this short story is incredible. What a wonderful Valentine’s surprise. I highly recommend this series.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.