Genre: Fiction

Her Fiery Viking by AJ Tipton

Posted September 20, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Audiobook, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Her Fiery Viking by AJ TiptonHer Fiery Viking by AJ Tipton
Series: Her Elemental Viking #1
Series Rating: four-stars
Narrator: Audrey Lusk
on September 12, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 61
Format: Audible Audiobook
three-half-stars

Mikkel just might be too hot to handle. He's an ancient Viking, cursed with immortality and the compulsion to burst into an uncontrollable ball of fire when enraged. After centuries of tragedy, Mikkel fears the fury within him and the danger he poses to anyone he lets too close.

But when Joanna, a smart, sexy engineer angry at the world, explodes into his life, Mikkel can’t resist her smoldering allure. Has the time finally come to let someone in and embrace the fire? Or will their fiery passion scorch these lovers?

This mature romance includes incendiary bar room shenanigans, harrowing kidnapping, high speed car escapades, and a love strong enough to heal even the most damaged of hearts.

My take on this book:                          Wow. Her Fiery Viking by A.J. Tipton is such a good read. It was a short read and I listened to it on Audible while doing my chores.

The book was definitely different than what I thought it was going to be. Besides that, this book was a good read and it carries a big punch with a lot of things happening.

The main character Mikkel is a hot-tempered immortal man with a curse on him. It also doesn’t help his curse to have anger issues that can leave him in some sticky situations. It doesn’t help being a Viking working a job that he can blow things up for a living. Well mostly just buildings.

The main love interest is Joanna. She also has anger issues but not as bad as Mikkel and it also doesn’t help that she’s not cursed an immortal. She is able to take care of herself and is able to help Mikkel out with a lot of things. She also gets herself stuck in a dangerous situation with one of Mikkel’s coworkers completely on accident.

The descriptions in the book painted vivid pictures in my head about the places and the people in the book along with what they were doing.

The narrator for the book Audrey Lusk was also very good at bringing those pictures to life in my head. She did a good job with narrating and using different voices for each of the characters.

I am giving Her Fiery Viking by A.J. Tipton and narrated by Audrey Lusk 3.5 stars because it did keep me entertained and guessing but a few things about it I didn’t like. I would recommend this book to my very adult readers that like to read smut.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Her Fiery Viking **

Goodreads

three-half-stars

About AJ Tipton

AJ Tipton is the pseudonym for a writing team: Annie and Jess (Get it? “AJ”). We spend our days in Manhattan working for our corporate overlords, and during the evening we’re in Brooklyn writing fantasies to astound, amuse and arouse.

Our ideas for future books–everything from sex-robots to ghost brothels–will keep us busy for many decades to come, so be sure to join us for the fun! Let us know what stories you like best, we love to hear from readers.


Guardian of Paradise by W.E. Lawrence

Posted September 9, 2017 by karenbaron in Action, Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fiction, Historical, Historical Romance, Review, Romance / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Guardian of Paradise by W.E. LawrenceGuardian of Paradise by W.E. Lawrence
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on October 3rd 2014
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
five-stars

In 1888, Kira Wall, surviving daughter of missionaries swept away in a tsunami, lives a primitive, but enjoyable life with natives on an isolated island in the South Pacific.

But her serene world is turned upside down when an Australian merchant ship, commanded by the sinister Captain Darcy Coleman, arrives with an overabundance of modern and lavish goods. Kira suspects ill intent. Chief Ariki refuses to listen to Kira’s warning, forcing her to uncover the real plan of the captain on her own.

Unfortunately, she has a distraction. A six-foot tall, blond, and handsome distraction. Trevor Marshall, doctor and botanist, hopes to find exotic plants on the island to research new cures and medicines. He is dedicated to science, but when meeting the strong-willed, beautiful Kira Wall, he’d prefer to spend time researching her—all night.

The captain thwarts Kira’s attempts to call him out at every step, turning the village chief against her. With only Trevor and her best friend Malana by her side, she stalks the captain and his officers through the dense, predator infested jungle, toward the island’s inactive volcano.

Frustrated by her failure to reveal the captain’s true intentions, Kira begins to think maybe she’s wrong about everything. Then an explosion and earthquake bigger than anyone on the island has ever seen renews her resolve. Was the blast natural or man-made? She is determined to prove it was the captain’s doing.

Kira races against time and the island people’s naivety to stop the captain from destroying her home and killing everyone she loves.

My take on this book:                       Guardian of Paradise by W.E. Lawrence was the first book I was asked to review by this author but it ended up becoming the second book I read from him. It was so good and I am glad that I was asked to review it.

The story starts when the male love interest, Dr. Trevor Marshall, is asking the captain of the ship for a job. Then we zoom right off to Kira Wells, the main character of the book, and her island. The thing that had me a bit worried about reading this book is that I don’t really read that many books that are historical fiction and that’s what this book is. In the past when I read historical fiction I would stop reading it when I had to look up definitions of the words used in that time period. Except in this book it wasn’t like that. Sure some of the words were a bit weird but then my brain immediately knew what word they meant to say since the islanders can speak English, well they are learning but some of the words come out a bit weird.

This book had me guessing about what made it like an adult version of Treasure Island as I kept on wondering what the Captain was after and why couldn’t he find anywhere else. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time reading this book even though I know that I’ve been reading this book for a while but I couldn’t stop thinking about it the entire time, I kept wondering what was happening in these people’s lives.

Kira Wells is basically a young woman trying to keep the people of this island safe. She’s been on since she was a young girl, helping her parents teach the islanders how to speak English and trying to keep them safe from outsiders like the Captain destroying their fields. Not only that but she chooses to stay instead of going back to Australia where she is from. I find that all very fascinating. I loved the way she just right away disliked the Captain and knew that he was there for more than just trading like he said he was.

Doctor Trevor Marshall is basically a young man, he was on the ship to find plants and things that could help his research on finding cures for different ailments. He was positive that going on a quest to some different places will do that. He also serves two purposes for the Captain. As he is a doctor, and a botanist. The second one is very helpful, as he can make sure that fields aren’t messed up and that the proper care of the plants is taken just like the islanders would do. The Captain hired him instead of having to hire two different people, so the Captain likes Trevor.

This story is an adventure. It is packed full of treasure hunting but it is also filled with action and romance. The romance one is like any one that involves the girl trying not to accept that she is falling for a handsome stranger but ends up realizing that she does and then having a whirlwind romance that makes them both sad on the day when the other has to leave. Except do they have to end things? You can easily find out by reading the book.

This book is so good that I’m giving it five stars and I loved it a lot. I am glad that I had the opportunity to read this book as it didn’t disappoint me at all.

Anyways until next time please enjoy this review,

Baroness Book Trove.

**Where to find Guardian of Paradise**

** Goodreads **

five-stars

About W.E. Lawrence

W. E. Lawrence graduated in 1978 from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill with a BS in business administration. He has run a successful home health care supplies distributorship for the past twenty-three years.

Passionate about God, writing, reading, family, sports, politics, and America, Lawrence currently lives in Davidson, North Carolina, with his lovely wife and their two wonderful children.

W. E. Lawrence enjoys writing historical romance novels filled with action, adventure, and suspense. He published his debut novel Guardian of Paradise in October 2014.


Stormy Weather by Glen Ebisch

Posted September 7, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Fiction, Guest Post, Mystery, Review, Romance, Suspense, Thriller / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Stormy Weather by Glen EbischStormy Weather by Glen Ebisch
Published by The Wild Rose Press on January 18th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Romance
Pages: 260
Format: Kindle
five-stars

When the body of Travis Lambert, senior meteorologist for a local television station, is found buried in a shallow grave next to the house of Stormy McCloud, junior meteorologist, things look bad for her. When the station hires Chance Malone to investigate the murder, her situation doesn’t improve. Malone is attractive, charming, and funny, all qualities that Stormy’s past experience with men has led her to avoid. It also doesn’t help that Stormy has little background or interest in religion, while Malone is the unusual private detective who has a Bible in his desk drawer rather than a bottle of scotch. When Stormy’s estranged mother appears on the scene, she also must decide whether to have a relationship with the woman who deserted her as a child. As the story proceeds, more is learned about the dark secrets of Travis’ life, and Stormy is forced to reconsider her view of men, her mother and her future.

The first thing that drew me in was the body being found in a big hole where a garage was supposed to be built that morning.  Then it turns out to be the daytime weather person……

My favorite character is Stormy McCloud the main character. She is a no-nonsense type of girl who doesn’t let her name get her down.  She might have issues in the relationship department due to her Mom taking off when she was young but she has major spunk.  She does whatever it takes to clear her name & won’t let Chance do much without her so she knows what is happening in the case at all times.

Chance Malone with ACME Investigations is awesome, too.  Everyone else is in it for how this situation (murder) will further their career or to cover up the murder.

I disliked Lieutenant Alan Green.  He seemed to be trying to blame the murder on Stormy just so he could close the case.  I understand the body was found in her yard but still – do your job.

My favorite part was when Malone attempts to rescue Stormy from Mr. Adams but she had already rescued herself.  I also loved when Stormy and Malone meet up with David to set him up to prove what he knew about the murder/missing stolen artifacts.

I absolutely loved hearing Stormy’s side and how she thinks everything through and comes to her own conclusions.

I loved all the scenarios of what Travis was killed for and why.  And why he was killed outside Stormy’s house. I actually figured out part of the mystery as to who the art thief was but not the killer since their relationship was hidden. I went through all different emotions – cringing, happy, skeptical, doubtful, relief.

The best quotes from the book are:

Chance Malone “Well, then you must know that the innocent sometimes end up in jail.”
Chance Malone “As the bible says sometimes the evil flourish like a green bay tree”

The author did a wonderful job, this was absolutely a page turner. I mean how could stolen artifacts and drugs not be something that someone would kill for? My rating is 5 stars. I loved it and would love to read more like this.  It took me a little to get into it but it’s really good!!

I was asked to read and review this book as a favor for Karen at the Baroness’ Book Trove and I am glad that I did. ~Melissa

five-stars

About Glen Ebisch

I have been a professor of philosophy for over thirty years. Most recently I retired from teaching at a small university in western Massachusetts. For much of that time I have also written mystery and suspense fiction, starting with books for young adults and moving on to writing for adults. I have had twenty-five books published, twelve of them in the last fifteen years as time has allowed me to write more. All are cozy in nature and suitable for any reader.

I live in western Massachusetts with my wife. My hobbies include reading (of course) and going to the gym. We also look forward to traveling to Maine and Cape May, New Jersey for our needed dose of the beach.


Sweet Reality by Laura Heffernan

Posted September 5, 2017 by karenbaron in Contemporary Romance, Guest Post, Review, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sweet Reality by Laura HeffernanSweet Reality by Laura Heffernan
Series: Reality Star #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Kensington on September 5th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Contemporary Women, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 272
Format: ebook
five-stars

SUGAR, SEA SALT, AND SHOW BIZ   Jen Reid’s life after walking off a reality show has been great—she’s gone from being a broke twenty-four-year-old Seattleite with no love life and no job to the twenty-five-year-old who got the guy, moved to Miami, and is starting a bakery with her best friend. She thinks her showmance boyfriend might be about to propose. And with mouthwatering goodies based on everyone’s favorite shows, her business, Sweet Reality, is destined for success.   That is, until a killer competitor opens right across the street. If she’s going to save Sweet Reality, Jen has to come up with a secret ingredient—like the recipe that won the Totally 80s Bake-Off. Jen can get it—if she steps back into the spotlight. Soon she and her boyfriend are out to sea on a cruise ship full of reality stars, including her nemesis, Ariana; her lying, cheating ex; and some wicked producers looking to bring the drama. Separate cabins, “surprises” from her past, and scenarios tailor-made to spark fights are just the beginning. But with her self-respect, her business, and her future on the line, the fallout from this made-for-TV plotline will be all too real . . .   Praise for America’s Next Reality Star   “Smart, witty, and really freaking good, America’s Next Reality Star is a fun read that has you cheering from the first paragraph through the last page.” —Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal bestselling author   “Reality TV fans, this is your book! Laura Heffernan captures all the drama and over-the-top craziness in this fun and flirty romance.” —Amy E. Reichert, author of Love, Luck, and Lemon Pie   America’s Next Reality Star is one sweet, sexy brain-candy read! You won’t be sorry you indulged.” —Leah Marie Brown

A romantic cruise, some cupcakes and friends, what a delicious thought.

Sweet Reality by Laura Heffernan is the second addition of the Reality Star Series and it is great. Jen and Justin are dealing with family problems, a bar exam, a new bakery business, money, and trying to make time for their own relationship. Sounds normal, right? Now add in a offer of a free ocean cruise. This is just what they needed, time to themselves, beautiful scenarios, free publicity for the bakery and no cost to them. There has to be a catch, right?

They will be part of a new reality show called Real Ocean: Caribbean. Jen and Justin have a great relationship and being on a ship with all this negative feedback and people with different agendas really plays with their personal insecurities. On the ship we meet lots of reality stars from the other shows, this doesn’t promote warm fuzzy feeling between Jen and Justin.

It was nice to see some faces from the Fishbowl, like Rachel and Ed. It was nice for Jen to have that little backup that she needed. Justin was a little surprising, he did some things that seemed out of character. Oh, let’s not forget the return of Ariana, she was back in all her glory or was she? Then we meet some other reality stars, I will let you learn about them yourself.

I wanted to mention that I don’t actually watch reality tv (anymore), that being said I love this series. I think it appeals to me because even though they are on a reality show, we as readers get to see how the Network manipulates the stars and the viewers. Not to mention, it is easy root for Jen. Oh, you will never in a million years figure out the secret ingredient in Tammy Rae’s cupcakes. Crazy!

My rating is 5 stars. I loved this book this book as much as the first one, America’s Next Reality Star. Thank you Ms. Heffernan for such an awesome story, I read this book in a day. Yes, it is that fabulous! Please keep writing Ms. Heffernan.

**Where to find Sweet Reality**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Laura Heffernan

Laura Heffernan is living proof that watching too much TV can pay off: AMERICA’S NEXT REALITY STAR, the first book in the REALITY STAR series, is coming from Kensington’s Lyrical Press in March 2017. When not watching total strangers participate in arranged marriages, drag racing queens, or cooking competitions, Laura enjoys travel, baking, board games, helping with writing contests, and seeking new experiences. She lives in the northeast with her amazing husband and two furry little beasts.

 Some of Laura’s favorite things include goat cheese, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Battlestar Galactica, the Oxford comma, and ice cream. Not all together. The best place to find her is usually on Twitter, where she spends far too much time tweeting about writing, Canadian chocolate, and reality TV. Follow her @LH_Writes or visit www.lauraheffernan.com for more information.


Wyshea Shadows by Geoffrey Saign

Posted September 4, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Guest Post, Review, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wyshea Shadows by Geoffrey SaignWyshea Shadows by Geoffrey Saign
Series: Divided Draghons #1
Series Rating: three-stars
Published by Kiraku Press on November 26th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 296
Format: Kindle
three-half-stars

From the award-winning author of the WhipEye Chronicles series comes the first book in the new
Divided Draghon
series, an epic fantasy thriller, with romance, action, battles, and a world at stake...
A hundred-year-war that won't end...Three young women sworn to kill each other...Famere, the wyshea butcher, seeks vengeance with loyal mythic beasts called shadows;Jennelle, commander of the Northerners, fights for her people's survival using brilliant strategies; &Camette, a wild divided draghon, searches for her kidnapped lover...Famere, Jennelle, and Camette must discover who is friend or enemy, who is responsible for the hundred-year dark sky and death mists, and if the men they adore will still love them.

The author did a really good job explaining what was going on in each tribe and in the story as a whole. I really enjoyed the book once I got far enough into it to really understand where it was going. The book made me feel frustrated at times, had me cringing during certain scenes, and in some chapters a little bit of boredom as well as awe. The first thing that really drew me into the book was Camette’s claws.

My favorite characters were Famere & Jannelle.

Famere because she had so much to overcome.  She lost her Dad & Ison during the bonding ceremony of her people & was not able to pledge to Ison.  Then she bonded to 2 Shadows (somewhat like wolfs but bigger and worse).  She had to learn to take over running her people as the first woman to do it.  She had to be very strong.

Jannelle because she was such a kind heart and wanted peace.  She had to run her people as well but had no problems to overcome as everyone loved her and she took her father’s place without any issues.

I hated Ison.  He was all about power and hiding who he truly was from his people and especially Famere.  In the end, he chose power over breathen.

The other characters each had their own place in the story and made Jannelle, Famere, and Ison more of who they were.  Gofin and Malley are the perfect matches for the female leaders.

The fighting scene towards the end where all the different allies/enemies came together to fight the main enemies for peace was my favorite part of the book.

These are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

Jannelle “Would you feel honor in killing an enemy who is making himself vulnerable to save his riding beast?”

Sparks “I’ve never seen the sky open up.  It took my breath away.”

Profetess “Seek peace, Famere.  I’ve suffered many years for helping you.  Honor the light of the meadow.”

Famere “Because I am of two shadows”

I decided to read this book as a favor to Karen at the Baroness’ Book Trove.  Once I received the book & saw the picture I realized that had I not had the plot read to me to make me interested, I would never have given it a second glance.  Apparently, I do judge a book by its cover.  I am glad I read it through as it is a good book. I give it 3.5 stars.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to read and review this book for your site. ~Melissa

three-half-stars

About Geoffrey Saign

Geoffrey Saign’s passion for nature and wildlife inspired his award-winning middle grade/tween urban fantasy series, WhipEye Chronicles (WhipEye, Gorgon, Drasine), and previously led to his nationally endorsed book, Green Essentials: What You Need to Know About the Environment, as well as his books African Cats and Great Apes. He has a degree in biology, assisted in field research with hummingbirds and humpback whales, and sailed as far away as Australia. With more than twenty years of experience working in special education, he has taught adults and children everything from sailing to speech to self-awareness to novel writing. He won the Shabo Award for picture books in 2010 and the International Book Award, Outstanding Children’s Fiction, and Reader’s Favorite for WhipEye. He lives in St. Paul, Minnesota.