Genre: Fiction

Beyond Death by Deb McEwan

Posted August 6, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Death, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghosts, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural / 1 Comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Beyond Death by Deb McEwanBeyond Death (Afterlife, #1) by Deb McEwan
Published by Createspace on June 18th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 190
Format: ebook
four-stars

A DEAD WOMAN'S STORY
“With so many supernatural tales on the shelves it’s hard to find something genuinely original yet Beyond Death fits the description well, with author Deb McEwan bringing a distinctive new voice to this ever popular genre.” Book Viral
What really happens when we die? Twenty-something Claire Sylvester is about to find out. The morning after the best night of her life she is taken before her time.
Claire is suspended in her strange new world. She watches as the secret lives of those she loves unravels, and sadistic villains are punished on the road to their own personal hell.
All the while a higher authority ponders her ultimate fate.
More than Claire knows depends on her actions and those of the unlikely partner who accompanied her on her journey.
What will be her final destination?
Beyond Death - a supernatural thriller of love and loss, deceit and revenge, with a little romance and humour.

My take on this book:              Beyond Death by Deb McEwan is a pretty interesting read. What first caught my interest is the plot then the book cover. The plot was well-crafted and made me interested in reading the book. Since this book isn’t what I normally read and everyone who knows me and has read this blog knows that. I do know that this is bad to say but I also sometimes judge a book by its cover but not all the time. Anyways I’m giving this book a four-star rating because it did keep me entertained but it did have something keeping it from being five stars.

One of those things is how the first act seemed a bit choppy especially with introducing so many characters at first in the beginning and then not seeing them again until the middle act. She did have a lot of subplots going on and she did finish them all up which is a good thing. Ms. McEwan is a pretty good author and a bit of the book seemed like it still needed some work to truly be a good book. What I mean by that like she could have gone back to reread it and make sure that it flowed nicely with the rest of the book.

All the character in the book were very well developed and I liked them all. Even the ones that are evil because of how well developed they all are. I especially liked the transformations of Claire, Ken, and Ron. Claire because she did it the most. She died at a young age and has to go through with the fact that she isn’t alive anymore and that she needs to let go and forgive the people that she loves down on Earth. Ken also did the most as well. He was first introduced as a bad guy and then he died. He has been going through more of a tough time than Claire and Ron ever did since dying and he is hoping to redeem himself. Ron kind of did as well. The reason for that is because he is also trying to learn to let go and forgive the people that he loves down on Earth while trying to figure out if he should do a hard thing at the end of the book.

I do recommend this book to my more adult readers of this blog if they are interested in this book. Beyond Death is a good book and I am glad that the author contacted me to read it. I am also at this moment unsure if I will be reading the rest of this series.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

four-stars

About Deb McEwan

Following a career of over thirty years in the British Army, Deb and her husband moved to Cyprus to become weather refugees.

She’s written children’s books about Jason the penguin and Barry the reindeer and adult books about aliens, the afterlife, soldiers, and netball players.
The first book in the latest series ‘Unlikely Soldiers’ is set in nineteen seventies Britain. The second covers the early eighties and includes the Falklands War, service in Northern Ireland and (the former) West Germany. ‘Friends and Revenge’ is the third in the series, and takes a sinister turn of events.

‘Court Out (A Netball Girls’ Drama)’ is Deb’s latest book. Using netball as an escape from her miserable home life, Marsha Lawson is desperate to keep the past buried and to forge a brighter future. But she’s not the only one with secrets. When two players want revenge, a Tsunami of emotions is released at a tournament leaving destruction in its wake. As the wave starts spreading throughout the team, can Marsha and the others escape its deadly grasp, or will their emotional baggage pull them under, with devastating consequences for their families and team-mates? ‘Court Out’ will be published in August 2017.

Deb spends her time writing, avoiding housework and playing tour guide. She occasionally blogs about her books and (tongue in cheek) from Donut the dog’s point of view. She also tries – and mostly fails – to keep the pounds off.


Links by Lisa Becker

Posted August 1, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Fiction, Review, Romance / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Links by Lisa BeckerLinks by Lisa Becker
Published by Desert Breeze Publishing on August 1st 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance
Pages: 197
Format: ebook
five-stars

Charlotte Windham, a nerdy high school prodigy who tutored classmates to earn money for college, escapes her geeky past to become a celebrated novelist. During a chance encounter at a Los Angeles restaurant 15 years after high school, she reconnects with her secret crush, Garrett Stephens, the popular star athlete and teen heart breaker. Garrett, still leaving broken hearts in his wake, is now a successful professional golfer who recently suffered a possible career-ending shoulder injury. As he and Charlotte spend time together, developing a friendship based on mutual respect and comfortable companionship, can Charlotte forgive the past and can Garrett reform his lothario ways for a chance at love?

My take on this book: Links by Lisa Becker is another wonderful book. Ms. Becker is a wonderful author that can transport you into her stories, that once you leave you just want to hop right back into it to keep on living with the amazing characters.

Speaking of amazing characters, I felt like I was best friends with both Garrett Stephens and Charlotte Windham. Granted I probably felt more like a best friend to Charlotte more than Garrett but seeing from both sides of their perspective in this book made it seem like anyone could be friends with both of them.

Charlotte Windham is the main character, and the main female lead, of this book and she, is such a wonderful character. She makes you fall in love with her and want to be her best friend. The entire time of this book she knew about Garrett’s past of being a player back in high school and thought he was the same now that they are adults especially, due to the number of girlfriends that he has had. She also changed from what she looked like in high school but she never really got over her insecurities. She was still thinking that Garrett is the same boy that she had a crush on back in high school without realizing that he was doing things with her that he has never done with any of his past girlfriends at all. She took a while to figure out that she was worth his attention and love. It was wonderful to see her open herself up to those possibilities.

Garrett Stephens is the main male lead of this book and he is also such a wonderful character. At first, you hate him for not realizing that Charlotte is there in his house and then to also not recognize her when we are in his first perspective. He would be clueless if his sister didn’t tell him. The further you get into the story, though, the more you realize that oh hey he isn’t that such of a bad guy. I especially liked when he wants to protect Charlotte from all the harm that has happened to her when he wasn’t around. He tries to protect her now from anyone that doesn’t want to say anything nice to her. I also truly enjoyed Garrett changing and trying to be a good person for Charlotte. It was like I was there watching the story unfold.

The copy I received had some mistakes here and there with words being in the wrong spot or the author’s editor made a change that wasn’t taken out before it was sent as the was an ARC copy. Besides those things, which weren’t bad enough to take me out of the book. The words just fixed themselves in my head.

I am giving this book a five-star review because it was totally awesome and I am still having a little bit of a book hangover over as it was that good.

Links by Lisa Becker was such an awesome book and I can’t wait to read another book by Ms. Becker. She is an outstanding author and an even better storyteller that makes you, at least for me, feel like you are a part of the book and hanging out with her characters.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

five-stars

About Lisa Becker

Lisa had endured her share of hilarious and heinous cyber dates, many of which inspired Click: An Online Love Story, Double Click and Right Click. The books, about a young woman’s search for love online in Los Angeles, have been called, “a fast read that will keep you entertained,” “a fun, quick read for fans of Sex and the City,” and “hard to put down.” The first in the series has now been optioned for a major motion picture.

She’s written bylined articles about online dating and has been featured in Cupid’s Pulse, Garmental.com, TV Grapevine, GalTime.com, Single Edition, Career 2.0, The Perfect Soulmate, Chick Lit Central and numerous other book blogs and websites.

A former public relations professional, Lisa has worked with some of the biggest consumer companies in the world including McDonald’s, Ford, Sony and Gatorade. She’s also a former college professor, teaching public relations and communications classes at University of Southern California and Oglethorpe University.

As Lisa’s grandmother used to say, “for every chair, there’s a tush.” Lisa is now happily married to a wonderful man she met online and lives in Manhattan Beach with him and their two daughters. So, if it happened for her, there’s hope for anyone!


The Sabbath by Arthur Nsenga

Posted July 26, 2017 by karenbaron in Dystopia, Fiction, Review, Science Fiction, Series / 0 Comments

The Sabbath by Arthur NsengaThe Sabbath by Arthur Nsenga, Shaunakay Francis
Published by Say La V Publishing on December 19th 2015
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 191
Format: Kindle
four-stars

Would you rather suffer for eternity, or die peacefully?

What if you had no choice?

The morning after witnessing a spectacular meteorite shower, Cory and
his girlfriend Lana didn’t expect to wake up immortal.

News bulletins claim the meteorites have released a chemical compound
called ATHENS which has caused mutations in the human race. The
twisted outcome has left people unable to die but with an increased
sensitivity to pain.

Now with the majority of food supplies contaminated, and the rich
controlling what little is left, the desperate young couple are force
to go on merciless food raids just to stave off the pain.

During which they accidentally discover a secret government device and
find themselves caught up in a diabolical plot to control the future
of humanity.

Realizing that there is more to ATHENS than what they were led to
believe; Cory and Lana set out on a crusade to uncover the truth.
Their journey will lead them into the darkest depths of humanity. If
they can follow the trail, they may be able to find some answers.

But will the cost of knowing the truth be too much?

My take on this story:             I was asked to read this book by Miss Shaunakay Francis almost a year ago now and I have finally been able to read it.

We follow Cory and Lana through dealing with what their government is calling The Sabbath. They are only calling it that because everyone in the whole entire world slept through a whole day and not just Cory and Lana after a night of getting drunk. The two friends get to Cory’s house to find out that his cancer-ridden mother is missing. He has no clue what to do especially since they all just learned that they can’t die. However, they can feel the pain and get sick while having it seem much worse than what it actually is.

After a bit of dealing with what do we do know we skip to a year later and Cory, Lana, and Isabel – Cory’s older sister are all still living in Cory and Isabel’s child home just trying to survive in a place that is basically being controlled by the government. In this new world that has been created the only jobs there are is working for the government and the only places with schools is in the cities that have walls surrounding them because it keeps the rich from hanging out with the normal people on the outside of the walls. We go with Cory and Lana for the time skip and follow them through everything including finding out that the government might be behind something that is really big.

This story isn’t that far into the future. It’s weird to think of something like this happening but it could easily happen. It kind of reminds me of a combination of The Hunger Games – without the kids fighting for survival and Divergent but not all the time. This story is really good and as I got closer to the end of the book I knew that it was going to be put into a sequel since we were going to be ending too soon and we didn’t really see a whole lot of other things.

Mr. Arthur Nsenga and Miss Shaunakay Francis have woven a good story. I am giving this book a four-star rating for. It kept me entertained when my cat would let me read it. Some days she is such a pest.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

four-stars

Chakana by W.E. Lawrence

Posted May 29, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fiction, Mystery, Review, Romance / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Chakana by W.E. LawrenceChakana by W.E. Lawrence
on January 4, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Romance
Pages: 347
Format: Kindle
five-stars

In 1940, before the start of World War II, James Fleming, the original British secret agent, races on a high-stakes chase to track down the ancient lost treasure of King Huascar of the Incas. He must recover it before the Nazis do or the whole world will be in imminent danger.

But this is no ordinary treasure hunt. The Incas have proven their cunning and intellect in not only how they hid their treasure, but how they protected it. Fleming joins forces in the remote ruins of Peru, South America with Kate Rhodes, a policewoman on leave from the United States, her archaeologist brother, Nick, and their college professor, Dr. Charlie. Together, they must decode, interpret the clues, and face the challenges of the Chakana on their hunt for the treasure.

If this wasn’t difficult enough, the group is hounded throughout their search of the ancient Sacred Valley by international artifact smugglers, familiar with the Chakana and working with the Nazis, who are determined to acquire the treasure to help finance their war effort. Intrigue, danger, suspense, action, adventure, and even romance abound in this brave band’s quest to save the free world.

My take on this book:              Chakana by W.E. Lawrence is a great book. I was so happy when this book hit the top of my TBR List to read it. Most definitely a cross between Indiana Jones and James Bond.

The main character of this book is Kate Rhodes.

What I like about Kate Rhodes is the fact that she’s the youngest kid in her family. She knows what she wants in life. By this, I mean that by the age of eighteen she knew that she wanted to be the first female Chief of Police but that kind of changes further into the book. What I also like about her is that she can hold her own in a fight or even with a gun which is needed as a police officer but even more with what she needs to do thanks to her brother. What I didn’t like about her is that when it comes to James Fleming, who I will introduce soon, is that she at times lets her emotions get the better of her. And we all know that can be used against her. Then again, none of us can help that happening, at least most of the time or who we fall in love with.

The secondary character of this book is James Fleming.

What I like about him is that he tries to protect Kate even if she doesn’t want him. He tries to honor her request but he can’t help the way he was raised and wants to protect her as best as he can. Another thing that I like about him is that he tries to hide his obvious affections for Kate Rhodes and focus on the Incan trails that they have to face along with not being captured. He also struggles with this a lot throughout the book. James struggles with not only his feelings for Kate but also doing what is right by contacting his boss and stopping the smugglers from getting the gold.

The antagonist of this book is obviously the international smuggler.

He’s named in the book but I want you to find out about him on your own and draw your own conclusions about him. All I have to say about him is that Mr. Lawrence is great at creating bad guys.

Chakana by W.E. Lawrence is a great book and one that I couldn’t put down once I started to read it. I am giving this book a five-star rating. I love Indiana Jones and James Bond and that this book was a great mix of the two even though none of the two characters, that are in the male and female lead roles, have anything to do with archeology much. This book does have some grammar and spelling mistakes but not enough that it takes me out of the book to wonder what the author meant. I am definitely recommending it to my readers of this blog. Well to my adult readers this book does have some sex scenes in it.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

five-stars

About W.E. Lawrence

W. E. Lawrence graduated in 1978 from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill with a BS in business administration. He has run a successful home health care supplies distributorship for the past twenty-three years.

Passionate about God, writing, reading, family, sports, politics, and America, Lawrence currently lives in Davidson, North Carolina, with his lovely wife and their two wonderful children.

W. E. Lawrence enjoys writing historical romance novels filled with action, adventure, and suspense. He published his debut novel Guardian of Paradise in October 2014.


Arctic Dawn by Karissa Laurel

Posted May 25, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mythology, Norse Mythology, Review, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Arctic Dawn by Karissa LaurelArctic Dawn by Karissa Laurel
Series: The Norse Chronicles #2
Series Rating: five-stars
on July 5th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 276
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Alone and exhausted after her month-long sojourn as a shooting star, Solina Mundy flees to southern California to lie low, recuperate, and plot a survival strategy. The one person she trusts to watch her back is her best friend, Skyla Ramirez. But Skyla has been missing for weeks.
The arrival of a dangerous stranger and the discovery of a legendary weapon of mass destruction forces Solina out of hiding and back into the fight for her life. Solina knows she won’t last long on her own. She must find out what happened to Skyla and unite her contentious allies if she hopes to track down this devastating weapon before her enemies use it to burn the world to ash.

My take on this book:              Arctic Dawn by Karissa Laurel is another great book. I was so glad to see the email from Ms. Laurel about reviewing this book as I wanted to know what Solina Mundy, Thorin, Val, Baldur, and Skyla were up to especially after the end of the first book. I also couldn’t wait to see what Helena had up her sleeves for Solina and the others.

The main character of this book is, of course, Solina Mundy. Solina is the one that we see the story through. It’s pretty amazing to see the way she sees the world especially now that she is thrust into learning the Norse legends are real. The book takes us to with where we find Solina is in hiding and trying to find her friend. Solina is still mostly the same girl from the first book but she is now wary of anyone that could turn her into Helena so that the second Ragnorak can start. What I like about Solina is that she is still the same but also being cautious and want to stay alive more so now than anything. I also like that she is aware of what she can do and she tries to make sure that everyone that knows about the Gods walking among them. She can take care of herself if needed and that she can be trusted to help in battle. What I dislike about Solina is that she sometimes does things without really thinking it all the way through. I know that is something that some people make quick decisions in real life but those decisions don’t have anything to do with getting captured by the person that wants to kill you to start another Ragnorak. What I also dislike about Solina is that she is letting something that happened in the past sway her away from Thorin.

The antagonist of the book is someone that no one would suspect. Well besides Helena. She had a pretty small role in this book. Helena is preparing for the war. What I like about Helena is that she is still has a lot of cards that haven’t been revealed to us yet and it’s pretty amazing that even after all these years that she hasn’t let anything slip. She is tight-lipped when speaking to the other gods, not allowing them to know about her plans for when she finds the new reincarnations of the Sun Goddess and the Moon God. What I dislike about Helena is that she is trying to recreate Ragnorak thinking it will be better if she is controlling it. Another thing that I dislike about Helena is that she is still trying to hurt Baldor and even more this time around. Especially when it comes to the reincarnations of his beloved soulmate.

Arctic Dawn by Karissa Laurel is an amazing book and a wonderful read. I will certainly recommend this book and the first book to anyone. This book actually has two plot twists in it. Or at least I would like to think of them as plot twists since I certainly didn’t see them coming. I am giving this book a five-star rating and I can’t wait to read the next book of this wonderful series.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

five-stars

About Karissa Laurel

Karissa Laurel has tried her hand at many things — cooking/catering, law, art — but writing makes her the happiest.

When she’s feeling brave, she’s on the slopes or riding off-road motorcycles with her guys. When she’s less adventuresome, she’s on the couch with her nose buried in a book.

She lives in North Carolina with her kid, husband, occasional in-law, and a hairy husky named Bonnie.