Genre: Fantasy

Her Fiery Viking by AJ Tipton

Posted September 20, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Audiobook, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Her Fiery Viking by AJ TiptonHer Fiery Viking by AJ Tipton
Series: Her Elemental Viking #1
Series Rating: four-stars
Narrator: Audrey Lusk
on September 12, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 61
Format: Audible Audiobook
three-half-stars

Mikkel just might be too hot to handle. He's an ancient Viking, cursed with immortality and the compulsion to burst into an uncontrollable ball of fire when enraged. After centuries of tragedy, Mikkel fears the fury within him and the danger he poses to anyone he lets too close.

But when Joanna, a smart, sexy engineer angry at the world, explodes into his life, Mikkel can’t resist her smoldering allure. Has the time finally come to let someone in and embrace the fire? Or will their fiery passion scorch these lovers?

This mature romance includes incendiary bar room shenanigans, harrowing kidnapping, high speed car escapades, and a love strong enough to heal even the most damaged of hearts.

My take on this book:                          Wow. Her Fiery Viking by A.J. Tipton is such a good read. It was a short read and I listened to it on Audible while doing my chores.

The book was definitely different than what I thought it was going to be. Besides that, this book was a good read and it carries a big punch with a lot of things happening.

The main character Mikkel is a hot-tempered immortal man with a curse on him. It also doesn’t help his curse to have anger issues that can leave him in some sticky situations. It doesn’t help being a Viking working a job that he can blow things up for a living. Well mostly just buildings.

The main love interest is Joanna. She also has anger issues but not as bad as Mikkel and it also doesn’t help that she’s not cursed an immortal. She is able to take care of herself and is able to help Mikkel out with a lot of things. She also gets herself stuck in a dangerous situation with one of Mikkel’s coworkers completely on accident.

The descriptions in the book painted vivid pictures in my head about the places and the people in the book along with what they were doing.

The narrator for the book Audrey Lusk was also very good at bringing those pictures to life in my head. She did a good job with narrating and using different voices for each of the characters.

I am giving Her Fiery Viking by A.J. Tipton and narrated by Audrey Lusk 3.5 stars because it did keep me entertained and guessing but a few things about it I didn’t like. I would recommend this book to my very adult readers that like to read smut.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Her Fiery Viking **

Goodreads

three-half-stars

About AJ Tipton

AJ Tipton is the pseudonym for a writing team: Annie and Jess (Get it? “AJ”). We spend our days in Manhattan working for our corporate overlords, and during the evening we’re in Brooklyn writing fantasies to astound, amuse and arouse.

Our ideas for future books–everything from sex-robots to ghost brothels–will keep us busy for many decades to come, so be sure to join us for the fun! Let us know what stories you like best, we love to hear from readers.


Wyshea Shadows by Geoffrey Saign

Posted September 4, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Guest Post, Review, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wyshea Shadows by Geoffrey SaignWyshea Shadows by Geoffrey Saign
Series: Divided Draghons #1
Series Rating: three-stars
Published by Kiraku Press on November 26th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 296
Format: Kindle
three-half-stars

From the award-winning author of the WhipEye Chronicles series comes the first book in the new
Divided Draghon
series, an epic fantasy thriller, with romance, action, battles, and a world at stake...
A hundred-year-war that won't end...Three young women sworn to kill each other...Famere, the wyshea butcher, seeks vengeance with loyal mythic beasts called shadows;Jennelle, commander of the Northerners, fights for her people's survival using brilliant strategies; &Camette, a wild divided draghon, searches for her kidnapped lover...Famere, Jennelle, and Camette must discover who is friend or enemy, who is responsible for the hundred-year dark sky and death mists, and if the men they adore will still love them.

The author did a really good job explaining what was going on in each tribe and in the story as a whole. I really enjoyed the book once I got far enough into it to really understand where it was going. The book made me feel frustrated at times, had me cringing during certain scenes, and in some chapters a little bit of boredom as well as awe. The first thing that really drew me into the book was Camette’s claws.

My favorite characters were Famere & Jannelle.

Famere because she had so much to overcome.  She lost her Dad & Ison during the bonding ceremony of her people & was not able to pledge to Ison.  Then she bonded to 2 Shadows (somewhat like wolfs but bigger and worse).  She had to learn to take over running her people as the first woman to do it.  She had to be very strong.

Jannelle because she was such a kind heart and wanted peace.  She had to run her people as well but had no problems to overcome as everyone loved her and she took her father’s place without any issues.

I hated Ison.  He was all about power and hiding who he truly was from his people and especially Famere.  In the end, he chose power over breathen.

The other characters each had their own place in the story and made Jannelle, Famere, and Ison more of who they were.  Gofin and Malley are the perfect matches for the female leaders.

The fighting scene towards the end where all the different allies/enemies came together to fight the main enemies for peace was my favorite part of the book.

These are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

Jannelle “Would you feel honor in killing an enemy who is making himself vulnerable to save his riding beast?”

Sparks “I’ve never seen the sky open up.  It took my breath away.”

Profetess “Seek peace, Famere.  I’ve suffered many years for helping you.  Honor the light of the meadow.”

Famere “Because I am of two shadows”

I decided to read this book as a favor to Karen at the Baroness’ Book Trove.  Once I received the book & saw the picture I realized that had I not had the plot read to me to make me interested, I would never have given it a second glance.  Apparently, I do judge a book by its cover.  I am glad I read it through as it is a good book. I give it 3.5 stars.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to read and review this book for your site. ~Melissa

three-half-stars

About Geoffrey Saign

Geoffrey Saign’s passion for nature and wildlife inspired his award-winning middle grade/tween urban fantasy series, WhipEye Chronicles (WhipEye, Gorgon, Drasine), and previously led to his nationally endorsed book, Green Essentials: What You Need to Know About the Environment, as well as his books African Cats and Great Apes. He has a degree in biology, assisted in field research with hummingbirds and humpback whales, and sailed as far away as Australia. With more than twenty years of experience working in special education, he has taught adults and children everything from sailing to speech to self-awareness to novel writing. He won the Shabo Award for picture books in 2010 and the International Book Award, Outstanding Children’s Fiction, and Reader’s Favorite for WhipEye. He lives in St. Paul, Minnesota.


Eye of Nefertiti by Maria Luisa Lang

Posted August 20, 2017 by karenbaron in Animals, Cats, Fantasy, Fiction, Review, Time Travel / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Eye of Nefertiti by Maria Luisa LangThe Eye of Nefertiti by Maria Luisa Lang
Series: The Pharaoh's Cat #2
Series Rating: five-stars
on November 29, 2016
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 208
Format: Kindle
five-stars

The cat must free Queen Nefertiti from a horrific curse

The Eye of Nefertiti is both a stand-alone novel and a sequel to The Pharaoh’s Cat. The time-traveling ancient Egyptian feline with human powers returns together with his beloved Pharaoh and his close friends, the High Priest of Amun-Ra and Elena, an Egyptologist’s daughter.

The cat is quick-witted, wise-cracking narrator as well as free-spirited, ever-curious protagonist, and the story he tells is an exotic, imaginative, spell-binding tragicomedy. The cat travels from present-day New York City to England, both ancient and modern, then to ancient Egypt, where he confronts a horrible demon and experiences a sublime emotion. Once back in England, he descends into a psychological abyss so deep only the Pharaoh can save him.

The Eye of Nefertiti interweaves feline and human, past and present, natural and supernatural. It contains numerous surprises, twists and turns, intriguing characters, both human and animal, fascinating revelations about ancient Egyptian history and culture, and an ingenious application of the Tarot and an Italian opera.

Time travel, mystery, love and a Cat.

Eye of Nefertiti by Maria Luisa Lang is a cat’s story. This is the first adult story that I have read where the protagonist is a cat, but he is way more than your average cat. Wrappa-Hamen is a magic cat, he talks, walks on two legs, reads, writes, and eats human food. He is also the Pharaoh’s cat, although he does go by many names in this book.

I first thought the concept was good, this will be a good story, I mean ancient Egypt and cats…but once I got into the story I found that its fabulous. Ms. Lang does an awesome job with the character Wrappa-Hamen, he is a cat but he has such personality (not that regular cats don’t). She really nails Wrappa-Hamen’s priorities, such as food first, sleep second. He is vain and has an attitude. Yet, can be so loving when he wants to be. See, very cat like. However, if my daughter’s cat Mia, could talk, I’m not sure I would want to hear what is on her mind. I think most of it would be about the dog.

The family that Wrappa-Hamen lives with, have such character. Elena is bossy, and definitely keeps them moving, she is the mother of the Pharaoh. Then there is the High Priest, who is a total book worm and at times clueless (father of the Pharaoh). And the young Pharaoh, who is now an adorable toddler, who loves Wrappa-Hamen.

The settings were stunning, I was able to see them all so vividly. I think that time travel would be wonderful. The mystery was good, I enjoyed the clues and the explanations. A completely wonderful book, which makes my rating 5 stars. As the Baroness says anything that keeps you up at night is worth the stars.

**Eye of Nefertiti**

** Goodreads **        

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Maria Luisa Lang

Maria Luisa Lang has published two novels, The Pharaoh’s Cat and The Eye of Nefertiti, which is both a sequel to The Pharaoh’s Cat and a stand-alone novel. She was born in Rome, Italy, and lives in New York City. She often returns to Italy to visit her family and has stayed for extended periods in Bath and London. She has a degree in art from the City University of New York, and her artwork has been exhibited in New York galleries. She is an amateur Egyptologist. Her love of cats and ancient Egypt has inspired her to write two novels set there with a very special cat as her protagonist. Both The Pharaoh’s Cat and The Eye of Nefertiti are available on Amazon in paperback and in a Kindle edition.


Jonathon Goode, Honorary Witch: The Crystals of Aztlan by Michael Lingaard

Posted August 16, 2017 by karenbaron in Adventure, Elves, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Paranormal People, Review, Supernatural, Time Travel, Witches / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Jonathon Goode, Honorary Witch: The Crystals of Aztlan by Michael LingaardJonathon Goode, Honorary Witch: The Crystals of Aztlan by Michael Lingaard
Published by Strategic Book Publishing & Rights Agency, LLC on November 24, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal
Pages: 663
Format: Paperback
five-stars

Twelve thousand years ago, the fabled island of Aztlan, in a cataclysmic event, disappeared beneath the sea, taking with it all the island's mysteries, which were lost forever. Or were they?

Bloodlines lived on, passed on through Aztlan's survivors. These bloodlines included powerful priests and priestesses, who controlled almost mythical powers through the magic of Greater and Lesser crystals.

In modern day England, 16-year-old Jonathon Goode and his cousin, Elizabeth Waterhouse, are told by a fairground fortune teller that they will meet an elf in an emporium where magic is bought and sold. It comes to pass.

The elf gives Jonathon an Everywhere Key, opening a doorway to a realm between realities. Three Muses of magic in the realm are convinced that Elizabeth is the heir to an ancient bloodline of Priestesses, and believe she has the power to control a Lesser crystal.

They were wrong. Elizabeth does have a magic power, but it is the power of a biomorph. Elizabeth is a shape-shifter.

It is Jonathon who has the true power.

The Muses tell a tale of a crystal that is no longer lost and is being use for evil. They want Jonathon and Elizabeth to find it and return it to them. But the crystal is in another reality, one they can access through the Everywhere Key. They end up in the land of Thallos, where the survivors of Aztlan fled when their island home was submerged. But Thallos is also the home of Great Worms, dwarves, trolls, and magicians.

My take on this story:             Jonathon Goode, Honorary Witch: The Crystals of Aztlan by Michael Lingaard is really a great book. Despite some things that were a bit weird this book is definitely one that I can see myself rereading in the future.

What first caught me about this book is the wonderful plot it made me think about Atlantis since Aztlan sounded a little bit like Atlantis from the plot. I am so grateful that I did read it as it is such a great book. I like how Mr. Lingaard created a bit of three worlds and together into this book. I especially like the way he had the magic aspect of the book. I also liked how we followed more than one character throughout the book. I really liked that it actually made sense to do that. I also like despite the differences between Earth and the other two worlds the characters are all becoming friends with each other. The people from Earth try to help one of the worlds out even more than what they are supposed to do.

There were somethings I disliked about the book and the biggest one happened to be no chapters in the book. So, for someone, like me, who likes to read to the next chapter can’t exactly do that in this book. Instead I read from one set of bold words to the next. There were also some words missing but my brain was able to put the words in which is good and didn’t take me out of my story. That happens sometimes and I hate it when a story does that to you.

Another thing I liked about the book are the references to some past history thrown in. That history helped the protagonist a lot. Each of the characters are so well-crafted that I am glad to have read this book and created a lot of new friends.

I am giving this book a five-star rating because it is that good. Though I am sure by now my mom is tired of me talking about this book. I just can’t help it! Jonathon Goode, Honorary Witch: The Crystals of Aztlan by Michael Lingaard is definitely a book good enough for both young adults and adults’ a like. The ending also left it open for a sequel or for us to just contemplate about Jonathon, Elizabeth, and everyone else’s lives now. I will definitely say more of the second option though.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Jonathon Goode, Honorary Witch: The Crystals of Aztlan **

Goodreads

five-stars

About Michael Lingaard

Taken from the author’s website:

English born, New Zealand raised and Australia domiciled is the short answer to where I come from. Travel does that, you skip the bits in between in case people think you’re going to bring out the photographs.

New Zealand was where I grew up and finished my education. Then it was into engineering and getting on with things. It was also where I first began to read sci-fi.

Years and much traveling later, I’m in Australia working as a senior construction estimator when I decided that I was going to write a sci-fi novel. So I designed my universe along with appropriate technology and characters and diligently scribbled everything down over many, many, many late nights. Then I carefully put my story away for a while until I’d finished rebuilding the house. Then along came the kids. And a different house…

… twenty years later I finally got down to serious writing. Three hundred thousand words; first part of a trilogy; great story; great technology. Sure fire winner, right? ( those out there sniggering… this was my first book and I knew nothing ) Three re-writes and many bruises later I realized I needed something different. The ego had gone and I could look at things objectively.

From my now-uncluttered mind up popped the concept of the Mirror Worlds and I went from there. It was fun to write. I wanted to make magic believable, as if it could really be explained. I hope I’ve succeeded.

We’ll see.


Beyond Death by Deb McEwan

Posted August 6, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Death, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghosts, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural / 1 Comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Beyond Death by Deb McEwanBeyond Death (Afterlife, #1) by Deb McEwan
Published by Createspace on June 18th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 190
Format: ebook
four-stars

A DEAD WOMAN'S STORY
“With so many supernatural tales on the shelves it’s hard to find something genuinely original yet Beyond Death fits the description well, with author Deb McEwan bringing a distinctive new voice to this ever popular genre.” Book Viral
What really happens when we die? Twenty-something Claire Sylvester is about to find out. The morning after the best night of her life she is taken before her time.
Claire is suspended in her strange new world. She watches as the secret lives of those she loves unravels, and sadistic villains are punished on the road to their own personal hell.
All the while a higher authority ponders her ultimate fate.
More than Claire knows depends on her actions and those of the unlikely partner who accompanied her on her journey.
What will be her final destination?
Beyond Death - a supernatural thriller of love and loss, deceit and revenge, with a little romance and humour.

My take on this book:              Beyond Death by Deb McEwan is a pretty interesting read. What first caught my interest is the plot then the book cover. The plot was well-crafted and made me interested in reading the book. Since this book isn’t what I normally read and everyone who knows me and has read this blog knows that. I do know that this is bad to say but I also sometimes judge a book by its cover but not all the time. Anyways I’m giving this book a four-star rating because it did keep me entertained but it did have something keeping it from being five stars.

One of those things is how the first act seemed a bit choppy especially with introducing so many characters at first in the beginning and then not seeing them again until the middle act. She did have a lot of subplots going on and she did finish them all up which is a good thing. Ms. McEwan is a pretty good author and a bit of the book seemed like it still needed some work to truly be a good book. What I mean by that like she could have gone back to reread it and make sure that it flowed nicely with the rest of the book.

All the character in the book were very well developed and I liked them all. Even the ones that are evil because of how well developed they all are. I especially liked the transformations of Claire, Ken, and Ron. Claire because she did it the most. She died at a young age and has to go through with the fact that she isn’t alive anymore and that she needs to let go and forgive the people that she loves down on Earth. Ken also did the most as well. He was first introduced as a bad guy and then he died. He has been going through more of a tough time than Claire and Ron ever did since dying and he is hoping to redeem himself. Ron kind of did as well. The reason for that is because he is also trying to learn to let go and forgive the people that he loves down on Earth while trying to figure out if he should do a hard thing at the end of the book.

I do recommend this book to my more adult readers of this blog if they are interested in this book. Beyond Death is a good book and I am glad that the author contacted me to read it. I am also at this moment unsure if I will be reading the rest of this series.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

four-stars

About Deb McEwan

Following a career of over thirty years in the British Army, Deb and her husband moved to Cyprus to become weather refugees.

She’s written children’s books about Jason the penguin and Barry the reindeer and adult books about aliens, the afterlife, soldiers, and netball players.
The first book in the latest series ‘Unlikely Soldiers’ is set in nineteen seventies Britain. The second covers the early eighties and includes the Falklands War, service in Northern Ireland and (the former) West Germany. ‘Friends and Revenge’ is the third in the series, and takes a sinister turn of events.

‘Court Out (A Netball Girls’ Drama)’ is Deb’s latest book. Using netball as an escape from her miserable home life, Marsha Lawson is desperate to keep the past buried and to forge a brighter future. But she’s not the only one with secrets. When two players want revenge, a Tsunami of emotions is released at a tournament leaving destruction in its wake. As the wave starts spreading throughout the team, can Marsha and the others escape its deadly grasp, or will their emotional baggage pull them under, with devastating consequences for their families and team-mates? ‘Court Out’ will be published in August 2017.

Deb spends her time writing, avoiding housework and playing tour guide. She occasionally blogs about her books and (tongue in cheek) from Donut the dog’s point of view. She also tries – and mostly fails – to keep the pounds off.