Genre: Fantasy

Witchful Thinking by Kristen Painter

Posted November 27, 2017 by karenbaron in Cats, Cozy, Guest Post, Mystery, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Rural, Series, Shape Shifters, Witches / 0 Comments

Witchful Thinking by Kristen PainterWitchful Thinking by Kristen Painter
Series: Happily Everlasting Series #4
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on October 31st 2017
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Everlasting, Maine, where there's no such thing as normal.
Charlotte Fenchurch knows that, which is why she’s not that surprised when a very special book of magic falls into her hands at the library where she works. As a fledgling witch, owning her own grimoire is a dream come true. But there’s something…mysterious about the book she just can’t figure out.
Leopard shifter Walker Black knows what’s odd about the book. It’s full of black magic and so dangerous that it could destroy the world. Good thing the Fraternal Order of Light has sent him to Everlasting to recover it and put it into safe storage. If he has to, he’ll even take the witch who owns it into custody.
That is until he meets Charlotte and realizes she’s not out to watch the world burn. She’s sweet and kind and wonderful. Suddenly protecting her is all he wants to do. Well, that and kiss her some more. But dark forces seem determined to get their hands on the book, making Charlotte their target, and Walker worries that he won't be able to protect her from them – or the organization he works for.
Can Walker and Charlotte survive the onslaught of danger? Or is that just witchful thinking?

Dark Magic can’t beat the true light of love.

Witchful Thinking by Kristen Painter is the fourth but not final book in the Happily Everlasting Series, two of the other authors will be releasing their next installment soon. The story takes place in Everlasting, Maine a small town along the coast, “where there’s no such thing as normal.”

OK, this book had me from the very beginning. I absolutely loved it. There is a dark underbelly side of Everlasting, Maine. It was so great to see the town from a different perspective. I have to say I did miss Hugh and his alternative swearing.

We start with our female lead, Charlotte. She is a young librarian working at the local library. She meets lots of townsfolk and knows her regulars. She is kind of gullible. She is also a very new witch, who really hasn’t learned how to use her powers yet. She is sweet and lives a very modest life, with her cat Edgar Allen. Charlotte likes books, all books, it really doesn’t matter. Charlotte doesn’t have much confidence in herself when it comes to men. She considers herself plain and ordinary. She really doesn’t date much. She takes people at their face value. I did mention she is gullible, maybe a little naïve too. However, for me, her saving grace is her love of chocolate. She is really a sweet person. I liked her immediately.

Walker Black is just visiting Everlasting, well actually is on an assignment. He is in Everlasting to find the spell book filled with dark magic. According to his employers, the spellbook will return to the Everlasting and he has been going there to look for the book. Where he runs into Charlotte. Walker is very good looking, a smooth talker and Charlotte is immediately drawn to him. Walker is many things but being witch-friendly isn’t exactly one of them. He is kind of the opposite.

We meet a few new characters in Everlasting, not too many of the ones from the other books. Oh, the Sheriff, herself is actually in here a lot, personally and professionally. Then, of course, we have the deputies, too. There are a lot of dark characters, I won’t go into their details so I don’t spoil anything.

You have to read this book, it is that fabulous, and my rating is 5 stars. Yes, I recommend it if you haven’t already got that.

**Add to Goodreads**

Coming Soon to the Happily Everlasting Series are:

Total Eclipse of the Hunt by Mandy M. Roth (I feel a little 80s vibe coming on…)

Curses & Cupcakes by Michelle M. Pillow

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book on your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Once Haunted, Twice Shy by Mandy M. Roth

Posted November 16, 2017 by karenbaron in Cozy, Guest Post, Hunters, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal People, Review, Rural, Shape Shifters, Witches / 0 Comments

Once Haunted, Twice Shy by Mandy M. RothOnce Hunted, Twice Shy by Mandy M. Roth
Series: Happily Everlasting Series, #2
Published by Raven Happy Hour, LLC on October 17th 2017
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Mystery, Paranormal, Romantic Comedy
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Everlasting, Maine, where there's no such thing as normal.
Wolf shifter Hugh Lupine simply wants to make it through the month and win the bet he has with his best friend. He’s not looking to date anyone, or to solve a murder, but when a breath taking beauty runs him over (literally) he’s left no choice but to take notice of the quirky, sassy newcomer. She’d be perfect if it wasn’t for the fact she’s the granddaughter of the local supernatural hunter. Even if he can set aside his feelings about her family, Penelope is his complete opposite in all ways.
Penelope Messing wanted to get away from the harsh reminder that her boyfriend of two years dumped her. Several pints of ice cream and one plane ticket to Maine later, she’s ready to forget her troubles. At least for a bit. When she arrives in the sleepy little fishing town of Everlasting, for a surprise visit with her grandfather, she soon learns that outrunning one problem can lead to a whole mess of others. She finds herself the prime suspect in a double homicide. She doesn’t even kill spiders, let alone people, but local law enforcement has their eyes on her.
The secrets of Everlasting come to light and Penelope has to not only accept that things that go bump in the night are real, but apparently, she’s destined for a man who sprouts fur and has a bizarre obsession with fish sticks. Can they clear Penelope’s name and set aside their differences to find true love?

Hunters, Shape Shifters and Grandpa’s stories are true? You never know what you will find in Everlasting.

Once Haunted, Twice Shy by Mandy M. Roth is the second book in the Happily Everlasting Series. The story takes place in Everlasting, Maine a small town along the coast, “where there’s no such thing as normal.” I have to say that this book made me laugh so hard, my husband really thought I was losing it.

There are so many great characters in this book and series. I am going try to break it down a bit. Let’s start with Penelope, she is our female lead. Penelope works for an auction house in Chicago. She was born in Everlasting but when her parents passed away she moved in with her mother’s parents. Penelope has a different sense of fashion. If you watch Criminal Minds, I think these two Penelopes must have met. So, Penelope wears sweaters with puppy dogs and leggings with fire hydrants. I am sure there are others that do that too, even at that age. She also doesn’t like to swear. She likes her current career position. She is sweet and really loves her Grandfather.

Then we have Hugh, he is all alpha male. He is a fishing charter captain and he controls his own destiny. Hugh has lived in Everlasting all of his life and doesn’t see any reason to be moving. He has some great friends in town, he seems to be helping the local school charity. Hugh’s biggest downside is he has a very foul mouth. So, foul that one of his best friends bet him that he couldn’t stop swearing for a month. Hugh runs a successful business and is apparently a great carpenter.

Curt is one of Hugh’s best friends. Curt is the one who bet Hugh he couldn’t stop swearing. Curt runs a local restaurant. Curt is kind of the opposite of Hugh, in that he wears nice clothes and doesn’t swear. He is my favorite character, I hope that he gets his own story.

Polly is a local witch, who is on Hugh side of the bet. So, she spiked his coffee with a potion to stop Hugh from swearing. It is a hilarious thing. Below is a quote from one of Hugh’s outbursts.

“How about I shove my sunflower up your whoops-a-daisy?” – Hugh Lupine

There are many other laughing out loud moments, and many more characters like Wilbur (Penelope’s grandfather), Sigmund (Hugh’s other best friend), and Petey, who is such a doll. Oh, yes and don’t forget about the Deputies. Oh, and did I mention there is a Kraken?

There are just so many wonderful plot twists, the mystery, a little romance between stubborn people and all the non-cussing going on. I adore Everlasting, Maine. There is a sense of community, it has that small town feel. The more I read about Everlasting the more I want to visit. Doesn’t everyone need a little magic and mystery in their lives?

My rating is 5 stars, I highly recommend this book and the series so far.

I am starting the third book in the series, Fooled Around and Spelled in Love by Michelle M. Pillow. I really hope it is just as great as the first two.

**Add to Goodreads**

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book on your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Mandy M. Roth

NY Times & USA Today Bestselling Author Mandy M. Roth is a self-proclaimed Goonie, loves 80s music and movies and wishes leg warmers would come back into fashion. She also thinks the movie The Breakfast Club should be mandatory viewing for…okay, everyone. When she’s not dancing around her office to the sounds of the 80s, she’s busy writing sexy paranormal operatives. Mandy lives in Oxford, Mississippi with her husband and three boys. She has sold well over 1 million ebooks. Mandy has published with Harlequin, Random House/ Virgin Books, and has had a wildly successful indie career in addition to publishing with more than one small press.
(Biography copied from her website)


Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

Posted November 13, 2017 by karenbaron in Action, Adventure, Boarding School, Death, Dragons, Elementals, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher ManninoDaughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino
Series: The Scythe Wielder's Secret #3
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by MuseItUp Publishing on August 29th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 412
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
five-stars

Two years ago, Susan Sarnio was brought to the World of Deaths. Fighting sexism and bullying, the first female Death helped reinvent the College. Now, her friends journey deep into the heart of enemy territory, hoping to rescue her. Ancient secrets come to light. The horrifying truth behind Susan's arrival in the World of Deaths is at last revealed. War erupts between Dragons and Deaths, and the fate of three worlds hangs in the balance. The epic conclusion to The Scythe Wielder's Secret.

My take on this book:

A terrific ending to a wonderful trilogy by an amazing author.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino brings us to an amazing close to this great trilogy. I count myself as lucky to have been asked to read it. This book is so brilliant, I will try not to spoil anything.

This book starts kind of where the second book ended and it’s just a roller coaster ride from there. We have Will figuring some things out from some dragons to Sindril telling Susan why she is really there in the World of Deaths, that is important for him to have her here to Frank, Michi, and Cronk trying to save them to the War and then the ending.

Again Mr. Mannino has divided this book up into three different third person point of views but once again they work really well together especially when they reveal how some people can handle some things that are very different for the four young heroes (Susan, Will, Frank, and Michi). We also meet some new characters in the Elementals species, some as dragons’ species, and some new species’ as well. This book is just filled with so much information that I am hoping that Mr. Mannion will have more stories from this world.

The three different point of views is the same as the second book Susan, Frank, and Will. Susan’s, who is also really grown into herself in this book, Frank’s because he has an interesting role, and Will’s because is Susan’s best friend, housemate and her boyfriend. Together these three characters, who with the help of their friends, have grown and really had to push themselves to stand against the things that they are afraid of throughout the book.

We met a lot of new characters that are Elementals and Dragons in this book. Too many to name them and to give you what I thought of them. There is a new character a child with great power. I don’t really want to spoil it though but I can say that it ties into the name of the book. We also encounter a new species… Well kind of. They are called the Swarm by Frank and they are basically Fire themselves. They help Susan throughout the book once she and Will join back up with Frank.

This book is just filled with so much information and action and about countless other stories waiting to be told within it. Much like what Susan powerful speech once the war was done is about. There were some things that I kind of did dislike. Like some of the time skipping around, which I know was important for the story but kind of made me lose track of how old Susan really is, and that Will wasn’t really there much in the story. But I did like how Frank didn’t force Susan to take him with her to protect her since he knew that she is capable of protecting herself. I was also wondering what happened to the other Deaths that were worshipping the Shadow Dragon King.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is an awesome book and one I would recommend to everyone that loves books like this especially the young adult readers of my blog, basically all readers. I also believe there are more stories to be told within this world even if it’s in short story form (hint, Mr. Mannino). I am very happy how this story turned out. I am also giving this book five stars because it’s such an amazing book and a very fabulously good ending for the trilogy.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Daughter of Deaths **

Goodreads

five-stars

About Christopher Mannino

Christopher Mannino’s life is best described as an unending creative outlet. He teaches high school theatre in Greenbelt, Maryland. In addition to his daily drama classes, he runs several after-school performance and production drama groups. He spends his summers writing and singing. Mannino holds a Master of Arts in Theatre Education from Catholic University, and has studied mythology and literature both in America and at Oxford University. His work with youg people helped inspire him to write young adult fantasy, although it was his love of reading that truly brought his writing to life.
Christopher’s debut novel School of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 1) was published in May 2014 by MuseItUp Publishing. The second book in the trilogy, Sword of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder’s Secret book 2), was published in August 2015. The third book Daughter of Deaths is expected to be released in 2016. His series has received rave reviews and been compared to Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.


Sword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

Sword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino

My take on this book:              Sword of Deaths by Christopher Mannino is an extremely interesting read. I have been looking forward to reading it since I finished the first book. Suzie, Susan now, Sarino is back to continue her story of being the only female Death in a million years in the World of Deaths. […]


The Hex With It by Rose Pressey

The Hex With It by Rose Pressey

My take on this book:              The Hex With It by Rose Pressey was a very interesting book, to say the least. I did lose focus so it took me a while to read it. Cece is different from Ms. Pressey’s other characters in a few ways, the biggest being she is a witch who’s spell […]