Genre: Cozy

Madam Tulip by David Ahern

Posted December 4, 2016 by karenbaron in Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, New Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Madam Tulip by David AhernMadam Tulip by David Ahern
Series: Madam Tulip #1
Series Rating: five-stars
on April 3rd 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 308
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Suspense, mystery, action, a little romance and lots of laughs
Out-of-work actress Derry O'Donnell is talented, professional, just a little psychic... and broke. Spurred on by an ultimatum from her awesomely high-achieving mother, Derry embarks on a part-time career as Madame Tulip, fortune teller to the rich and famous. But at her first fortune-telling gig - a celebrity charity weekend in a luxurious castle - a famous rap artist mysteriously dies.
As Derry is drawn deeper into a seedy world of fashion, millionaires, horses and cocaine, she must race to save her best friend from jail and a supermodel from being murdered. Her efforts threaten to destroy her friends, her ex-lover, her father and herself.
Fans of humorous mystery writers Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen will love Madam Tulip.
Madame Tulip is the first in a series of thrilling and hilarious Tulip adventures in which Derry O’Donnell, celebrity fortune-teller and reluctant amateur detective, plays the most exciting and perilous roles of her acting life, drinks borage tea, and fails to understand her parents.

My take on this book:              Wow! Madam Tulip by David Ahern is such a great read. From the moment I started reading the plot summary of this book in an email sent to me by the author I was hooked. This book was most definitely an awesome read for anyone that is into books like this one. This is a book that is funny, has a touch of romance, paranormal/supernatural points, and mystery.

What I liked about this book was not only because it’s different from what I normally read and it’s also refreshing and delightful. Derry O’Donnell had to find a way to stay in Ireland to do her acting career while her mom wants her to be more of an adult. Apparently, Derry is more like her father than what her mom thinks most of the time. The book kept me entertained which is something that I always like about a book. That is to be entertained and feel like I’m experiencing everything that the writer is saying with the characters while it was being written.

There wasn’t much I didn’t like about this book. Some of the words didn’t make any sense to me but then again it is written by a Scottish/Ireland writer so that right there can happen. Thankfully though that didn’t put me off with this book and I was still able to stay connected within the book while I looked it up.

Madam Tulip by David Ahern is an awesome book and I believe the next two books will be just as wonderful as this first one is. I am giving this book a five stars rating. I am also going to be recommending this book to anyone that likes books in these genres.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Where to find this book **

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About David Ahern

David Ahern grew up in a theatrical family in Ireland but ran away to Scotland to become a research psychologist and sensible person. He earned his doctorate and taught in major Universities but could never explain to his granny why he didn’t own a stethoscope.

Finding the challenge of pretending to know things exhausting, David Ahern shaved off his beard and absconded once more, this time to work in television. He became a writer, director, and producer, creating international documentary series and winning numerous awards, none of which got him free into nightclubs.

For no particular reason, David Ahern took to writing fiction. Madame Tulip wasn’t his first novel, but writing it was the most fun he’d ever had with a computer. The second in the Madam Tulip series, Madam Tulip and the Knave of Hearts, was published in autumn 2016. He is now writing the third Madam Tulip adventure and enjoys pretending this is actual work.

David Ahern lives in the beautiful West of Ireland with his wife, two cats and a vegetable garden of which he is inordinately proud.


Gone With the Witch by Heather Blake

Posted June 15, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Rural, Series, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

Gone With the Witch by Heather BlakeGone With the Witch by Heather Blake
Series: A Wishcraft Mystery #6
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by NAL on May 3rd 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 336
Format: Kindle
five-stars

The national bestselling author of Some Like It Witchy returns as wish-granting witch Darcy Merriweather is put to the test after murder takes first prize at a pet show. . . .  Darcy and her dog Missy are determined to put their best foot forward at the Enchanted Village’s annual Pawsitively Enchanted pet contest. She’s happy to lend a hand when the show’s organizer hires Darcy to keep an eye on things among growing suspicions that someone is sabotaging the event. But Darcy’s quest for justice is thrown off the scent when her lead suspect is found dead at the competition.   As if a murder weren’t bad enough, someone begins snatching up prize-winning pets right from under their owners’ noses. Darcy is determined to protect the pampered participants at whatever cost. But she’ll have to work fast to sniff out the thief before she becomes the next victim of a killer determined to stop her dead in her tracks...

My take on this book:              Gone With the Witch by Heather Blake was such an awesome book. It had me thinking of who the Elder could be, who murdered Natasha, who was stealing the animals from the contest, and a bunch of other questions.

This book starts off with Darcy taking the job for “As You Wish,” her business now and right off the bat Darcy has a bad feeling about this assignment. From the beginning of this book Darcy has been on a whirlwind of emotions about the case and about everything else around her.

I don’t really want to reveal too much about what happens in this book but it’s really good. I am happy to say that in this book we finally find out who the Elder is. I’m not going to say as the author doesn’t want anything like that to be spoiled for anyone that has yet to read the book. Happy guessing, unless you find the clues like a member of the Mystery, Inc. team.

I love the enchanted village that this series is set in. The town square where most things happen is so picturesque, the small town heart if you know what I mean. The shops and the characters that live there are so great.

I am happy to say that my rating for this book is five stars as it was that glamorous. Ms. Blake also has set up what might happen in the next book, The Witch and the Dead, which will be released in October of this year.  If you can’t wait for the next Wishcraft Mystery, check out Ms. Blake’s other series the Magic Potions Mysteries.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Heather Blake

Heather Blake (aka Heather Webber) is the author of more than twenty novels and has been twice nominated for an Agatha Award. She’s a total homebody who loves to be close to her family, read, watch reality TV (especially cooking competition shows), drink too much coffee, crochet, bake (mostly cookies), and occasionally leave the house to travel to the beautiful mountains in the northeast. Heather grew up in a suburb of Boston, but currently she lives in the Cincinnati area with her family and is hard at work on her next book.


Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes

Posted June 12, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

Spies and Spells by Tonya KappesSpies and Spells by Tonya Kappes
Series: Spies and Spells #1
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 21st 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 248
Format: Kindle
five-stars

SPIES AND SPELLS, the first in this highly anticipated new series from USA TODAY Bestseller Tonya Kappes because we know she's a queen at writing paranormal mystery witch series, is here! Spies and Spells Spies and Spells Book 1 While Maggie waits for her Witchy Hour, she works at the family diner with her mom, aunt Meme and Lilith, her sister - all witches. Soon Maggie gets entangled with a mysterious handsome stranger, Mick Jasper, and his secret U.S. organization, SKUL. Has she found her calling?

My take on this book:              Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes is another great book and series. All the characters are funny, great, and at times very nutty. The characters are all of those things plus more.

Maggie is the main character of the book and trying to figure out what she is supposed to do in this world, until her Witchy Hour, which she is wondering if it will ever happen to her. Her older sister, Lilith, hasn’t had her Witchy Hour yet and she doesn’t really mind waiting for it. While her mom and Aunt Meme have there’s. We follow Maggie as her Witchy Hour starts to happen and all the way through the mystery that she gets herself wrapped up in just from meeting Mick Jasper. My question is the life’s ambition SKUL or Mick Jasper? I am looking forward to finding out in the next book.

The spells that Tonya made up for the book were cute and silly but entertaining to read the mess or not so mess that it will cause. I loved the whole family of witches and their friends having a makeup party. Also Vinnie, her familiar, is super, funny and protective. He was entertaining as well.

Spies and Spells by Tonya Kappes is a great book and one that I recommend for everyone to read. I am also giving this book a five star rating. If you like quirky fun cozy mysteries check out some of her other series, like the Magical Cures Mysteries or the Ghostly Southern Mysteries.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

five-stars

About Tonya Kappes

For years, USA Today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

She has a B.A. in Education from the University of Kentucky and a proud Kentucky Wildcat fan.

Married to an amazing man, Eddy, she has four son ranging in ages from twenty-two to sixteen years old, Charlie and Scooter (Schnauzers), and Kitty Kappes.

Now a full time writer, she spends her days creating the fun-loving, quirky southern characters that is full of charm that readers have come to love.


An Open Book GP

Posted December 31, 2015 by karenbaron in Cozy, Death, Murder, Mystery, Review, Short Stories / 0 Comments

An Open Book GPAn Open Book by Sheila Connolly
Published by Berkley Books on December 1st 2012
Genres: Cozy, Mystery
Format: Kindle
four-stars

National bestselling author Sheila Connolly presents a stand-alone story, only available digitally... After part-time librarian Sarabeth Dodson discovers elderly Edith Hathaway dead in a snowdrift in small-town Strathmere, Pennsylvania, she enlists the help of Police Chief Vanessa Hutchins to get to the bottom of the mystery. With no footprints around the body and no purse, what was the retired school teacher doing out in the middle of nowhere in the snow? The answer may have something to do with the library book Edith failed to return... Includes a preview of the first book in Sheila Connolly's brand-new County Cork Mystery series--"Buried in a Bog." Also includes excerpts from the first book in the Orchard Mystery series--"One Bad Apple"--and the first book in the Museum Mystery series--"Fundraising the Dead."

My Thoughts:        A startling short story. 4 Stars

This short story kept me entertained from the beginning paragraph. What a way to suck you in, especially since my favorite color is blue. The characters are believable and a little eccentric. The death is tragic but the conclusion is not what you would expect.

I liked the main character, Sarabeth and her friend the Chief of Police, Vanessa they make a good team. Vanessa is a little more laid back and keeps things to herself, whereas Sarabeth is nosy. Only in a small town could the suspect sip tea and explain the story in their own way while sitting in a comfortable sitting room, instead of a dirty police interrogation room.

I like the small town setting. Ms. Connolly writes about life in small towns exactly the way I remember it, everyone knows everyone and their business. When someone dies in an unexpected way, the whole town is abuzz.

All in all, a great short story, worth the time. I definitely recommend this to my friends who like cozy mysteries.

This is Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review a book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

four-stars

About Sheila Connolly

Connolly was born in Rochester, New York, and since then has lived in Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, California, and Massachusetts. In 1972 she graduated with honors from Wellesley College, then earned a Ph.D. in Fine Arts from Harvard University. When art history jobs proved elusive, she obtained an M.B.A. from the University of California, Berkeley. She has worked as an art historian, a municipal financial advisor for U.S. cities and states, a non-profit fundraiser for institutions and two statewide political campaigns, and a professional genealogist. She has included elements of all of these in her mysteries.

Connolly is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Romance Writers of America, and Sisters in Crime, and is also a member of the steering committee for the New England Crime Bake, an annual mystery conference.

Currently she lives in southeastern Massachusetts, with her husband, daughter, and three cats.

(Info above from Wikipedia)


A Gala Event GP

Posted December 30, 2015 by karenbaron in Cozy, Mystery, Review, Rural, Series / 0 Comments

A Gala Event GPA Gala Event by Sheila Connolly
Series: Orchard #9
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Berkley on October 6th 2015
Genres: Cozy, Fiction, Mystery, Romance
Pages: 304
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Wedding bells are ringing for Meg and Seth in the latest Orchard Mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of Picked to Die
The fall harvest may be just about over, but orchard owner Meg Corey is busier than ever planning her wedding to Seth Chapin. Who knew picking apples would be less work than picking out rings and a dress? And even though the happy couple has invited most of Granford, Massachusetts, to the ceremony, they might have to make room for one more guest…
Ex-con Aaron Eastman has unexpectedly reappeared in his hometown, searching for answers to the tragic fire in his family’s past that put him behind bars twenty-five years ago. Moved by his sincerity, Meg vows to do everything she can to help him solve the cold case. As she cobbles together the clues, it becomes increasingly clear that Aaron may have been considered the bad seed of the family, but someone else was one bad apple…
Includes Delicious Recipes!

My Thoughts:                     So happy for this couple! This one gets 5 stars.

I truly like Meg’s character. She stands up for what she believes even if that means she has to take the hard road. She is completely a down to earth woman. She reminds me of my old friend Nopal. Nopal would call herself an old farm woman. She didn’t put on airs and she preferred to keep her mind and body busy, much like Meg. Meg and Seth make a great pair, they are both hardworking, honest and don’t shy giving helping a hand.

In this episode Meg’s friend Gail uncharacteristically freaks out and hurts a stranger. In comes Meg to help figure out what happened recently and then she attempts to solve a very old cold case with hardly any evidence. Meg enlists the assistance of Seth’s sister, mother, Gail, Art and of course Seth. This task seems daunting until most of the paperwork is back and they have done some leg work. Each person had a different part of the puzzle which allowed Meg to come up with the best conclusion possible and present it to Aaron and his siblings.

I think what I like most in this story was the melting of the different personalities through the actual story. There are quite a few characters (and I do mean characters) in this series. They seemed to all come together for the wedding and do it in a way that was sincere. Although Meg and Seth get married in this book, there are so many other things going on, such as planning the nuptials, the ex-con showing up, his relationship with his siblings, remodeling, finishing the harvest, entertaining, Thanksgiving, the birth of a new character, and the solving of an old fire. Talk about multi-tasking.

This is an outstanding series, I would highly recommend it and do. You may want to start from the first book in the series (One Bad Apple) even though that isn’t necessary as each book stands alone also. There are some nice apple recipes included if you like to bake/cook. So check it out!

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

If you would like to see other reviews like this one, check out BaronessBookTrove.com.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Sheila Connolly

Connolly was born in Rochester, New York, and since then has lived in Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, California, and Massachusetts. In 1972 she graduated with honors from Wellesley College, then earned a Ph.D. in Fine Arts from Harvard University. When art history jobs proved elusive, she obtained an M.B.A. from the University of California, Berkeley. She has worked as an art historian, a municipal financial advisor for U.S. cities and states, a non-profit fundraiser for institutions and two statewide political campaigns, and a professional genealogist. She has included elements of all of these in her mysteries.

Connolly is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Romance Writers of America, and Sisters in Crime, and is also a member of the steering committee for the New England Crime Bake, an annual mystery conference.

Currently she lives in southeastern Massachusetts, with her husband, daughter, and three cats.

(Info above from Wikipedia)