Genre: Contemporary

Storm of Attraction by Lily Black

Posted October 26, 2017 by karenbaron in Cats, Guest Post, Review, Romance, Rural, Series, Suspense / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Storm of Attraction by Lily BlackStorm of Attraction by Lily Black
Series: Willowdale #1
Series Rating: four-stars
Published by Red Adept Publishing, LLC on February 13th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 172
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
four-stars

Love is worth fighting for.
Alexa Wolving has just one rule: never give a guy a second chance. That works just fine in the safe life she’s built. In the charming town of Willowdale, her day job as a librarian balances perfectly with her evening job as a black belt instructor. But when she attracts the attention of a stalker, Alexa’s carefully built world begins to crumble.
Drew Cosimo knows he broke Alexa’s heart five years ago when he took his first Ranger assignment and disappeared from her life. Now that he’s out of the army, he’s moving back home to Willowdale. He’s not looking for a fight, but making peace would be easier if Alexa hadn’t told the entire town he was a money-grubbing jerk. Despite the tension between them, Drew is quick to offer his protection when a stalker forces Alexa from her home.
As the stalker’s attacks escalate, Alexa and Drew are forced to face their painful past and the simmering attraction between them. They must fight to save each other before everything they care about goes up in flames.
 

Storm of Attraction by Lily Black.

This is the first book in Ms. Black’s Willowdale Series a suspenseful romance. This is a great start to an upcoming series. I hope we get to see some of the other characters in Willowdale advance into the spotlight.

Alexa is a great character. I loved her spunk and independence. She tries very hard to live with her one rule. A rule that has serious consequences and was made out of fright. But she maintained that rule for years. Now she has a stalker after her and she can’t tell if she loves Drew or hates him. She does at times seem immature especially the talking about Drew when arrived back in town, her attitude towards him and her reaction to his actions throughout the story.

Drew the ex-ranger, super tough guy who left Alexa years ago after his leave was up, hasn’t had a solid relationship since. He volunteers to protect her after she is attacked by a stalker. Drew has a strong idea of what he wants but he has to figure out how to get it. I liked him, he is definitely hero material.

The suspense part of the story was good, but I thought that we could have a had a couple of more possible suspects to keep us guessing but at least the reasoning was discussed so we could connect the dots. I would have also preferred a little more mystery. I liked how it was wrapped up but it honestly didn’t make a lot of sense. Rangers are supposed to be one of our elite forces.

Overall, it was a good story once I got into it, I couldn’t put it down. Yep, finished it a 1 am. As I said before I am looking forward to the next installment in the Willowdale series. So, keep writing Ms. Black.

My rating is 4 stars, I recommend Storm of Attraction by Lily Black, for those of you who like a little mystery with your romance.

**Where to find Storm of Attraction**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

four-stars

About Lily Black

Lily Black believes in true love, but is also quite sure going after it is the scariest thing we’ll ever do! She explores this dynamic in her romantic suspense novels, which are set in the small imaginary town of Willowdale, where people dream big, love deeply, and kick butt if necessary. She has a black belt in Chung Do Kwan Tai Kwon Do, and has also trained in everything from judo to broadswords. She lives in North Carolina, where she divides her free time between the mountains and the sea, with her very patient and loving husband and their teen daughter.


Her Fiery Viking by AJ Tipton

Posted September 20, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Audiobook, Drama, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Her Fiery Viking by AJ TiptonHer Fiery Viking by AJ Tipton
Series: Her Elemental Viking #1
Series Rating: four-stars
Narrator: Audrey Lusk
on September 12, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 61
Format: Audible Audiobook
Source: Author
three-half-stars

Mikkel just might be too hot to handle. He's an ancient Viking, cursed with immortality and the compulsion to burst into an uncontrollable ball of fire when enraged. After centuries of tragedy, Mikkel fears the fury within him and the danger he poses to anyone he lets too close.

But when Joanna, a smart, sexy engineer angry at the world, explodes into his life, Mikkel can’t resist her smoldering allure. Has the time finally come to let someone in and embrace the fire? Or will their fiery passion scorch these lovers?

This mature romance includes incendiary bar room shenanigans, harrowing kidnapping, high speed car escapades, and a love strong enough to heal even the most damaged of hearts.

My take on this book:                          Wow. Her Fiery Viking by A.J. Tipton is such a good read. It was a short read and I listened to it on Audible while doing my chores.

The book was definitely different than what I thought it was going to be. Besides that, this book was a good read and it carries a big punch with a lot of things happening.

The main character Mikkel is a hot-tempered immortal man with a curse on him. It also doesn’t help his curse to have anger issues that can leave him in some sticky situations. It doesn’t help being a Viking working a job that he can blow things up for a living. Well mostly just buildings.

The main love interest is Joanna. She also has anger issues but not as bad as Mikkel and it also doesn’t help that she’s not cursed an immortal. She is able to take care of herself and is able to help Mikkel out with a lot of things. She also gets herself stuck in a dangerous situation with one of Mikkel’s coworkers completely on accident.

The descriptions in the book painted vivid pictures in my head about the places and the people in the book along with what they were doing.

The narrator for the book Audrey Lusk was also very good at bringing those pictures to life in my head. She did a good job with narrating and using different voices for each of the characters.

I am giving Her Fiery Viking by A.J. Tipton and narrated by Audrey Lusk 3.5 stars because it did keep me entertained and guessing but a few things about it I didn’t like. I would recommend this book to my very adult readers that like to read smut.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Her Fiery Viking **

Goodreads

three-half-stars

About AJ Tipton

AJ Tipton is the pseudonym for a writing team: Annie and Jess (Get it? “AJ”). We spend our days in Manhattan working for our corporate overlords, and during the evening we’re in Brooklyn writing fantasies to astound, amuse and arouse.

Our ideas for future books–everything from sex-robots to ghost brothels–will keep us busy for many decades to come, so be sure to join us for the fun! Let us know what stories you like best, we love to hear from readers.


Sweet Reality by Laura Heffernan

Posted September 5, 2017 by karenbaron in Contemporary Romance, Guest Post, Review, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Author, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sweet Reality by Laura HeffernanSweet Reality by Laura Heffernan
Series: Reality Star #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Kensington on September 5th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Contemporary Women, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 272
Format: ebook
Source: Author, Publisher
five-stars

SUGAR, SEA SALT, AND SHOW BIZ   Jen Reid’s life after walking off a reality show has been great—she’s gone from being a broke twenty-four-year-old Seattleite with no love life and no job to the twenty-five-year-old who got the guy, moved to Miami, and is starting a bakery with her best friend. She thinks her showmance boyfriend might be about to propose. And with mouthwatering goodies based on everyone’s favorite shows, her business, Sweet Reality, is destined for success.   That is, until a killer competitor opens right across the street. If she’s going to save Sweet Reality, Jen has to come up with a secret ingredient—like the recipe that won the Totally 80s Bake-Off. Jen can get it—if she steps back into the spotlight. Soon she and her boyfriend are out to sea on a cruise ship full of reality stars, including her nemesis, Ariana; her lying, cheating ex; and some wicked producers looking to bring the drama. Separate cabins, “surprises” from her past, and scenarios tailor-made to spark fights are just the beginning. But with her self-respect, her business, and her future on the line, the fallout from this made-for-TV plotline will be all too real . . .   Praise for America’s Next Reality Star   “Smart, witty, and really freaking good, America’s Next Reality Star is a fun read that has you cheering from the first paragraph through the last page.” —Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal bestselling author   “Reality TV fans, this is your book! Laura Heffernan captures all the drama and over-the-top craziness in this fun and flirty romance.” —Amy E. Reichert, author of Love, Luck, and Lemon Pie   America’s Next Reality Star is one sweet, sexy brain-candy read! You won’t be sorry you indulged.” —Leah Marie Brown

A romantic cruise, some cupcakes and friends, what a delicious thought.

Sweet Reality by Laura Heffernan is the second addition of the Reality Star Series and it is great. Jen and Justin are dealing with family problems, a bar exam, a new bakery business, money, and trying to make time for their own relationship. Sounds normal, right? Now add in a offer of a free ocean cruise. This is just what they needed, time to themselves, beautiful scenarios, free publicity for the bakery and no cost to them. There has to be a catch, right?

They will be part of a new reality show called Real Ocean: Caribbean. Jen and Justin have a great relationship and being on a ship with all this negative feedback and people with different agendas really plays with their personal insecurities. On the ship we meet lots of reality stars from the other shows, this doesn’t promote warm fuzzy feeling between Jen and Justin.

It was nice to see some faces from the Fishbowl, like Rachel and Ed. It was nice for Jen to have that little backup that she needed. Justin was a little surprising, he did some things that seemed out of character. Oh, let’s not forget the return of Ariana, she was back in all her glory or was she? Then we meet some other reality stars, I will let you learn about them yourself.

I wanted to mention that I don’t actually watch reality tv (anymore), that being said I love this series. I think it appeals to me because even though they are on a reality show, we as readers get to see how the Network manipulates the stars and the viewers. Not to mention, it is easy root for Jen. Oh, you will never in a million years figure out the secret ingredient in Tammy Rae’s cupcakes. Crazy!

My rating is 5 stars. I loved this book this book as much as the first one, America’s Next Reality Star. Thank you Ms. Heffernan for such an awesome story, I read this book in a day. Yes, it is that fabulous! Please keep writing Ms. Heffernan.

**Where to find Sweet Reality**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Laura Heffernan

Laura Heffernan is living proof that watching too much TV can pay off: AMERICA’S NEXT REALITY STAR, the first book in the REALITY STAR series, is coming from Kensington’s Lyrical Press in March 2017. When not watching total strangers participate in arranged marriages, drag racing queens, or cooking competitions, Laura enjoys travel, baking, board games, helping with writing contests, and seeking new experiences. She lives in the northeast with her amazing husband and two furry little beasts.

 Some of Laura’s favorite things include goat cheese, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Battlestar Galactica, the Oxford comma, and ice cream. Not all together. The best place to find her is usually on Twitter, where she spends far too much time tweeting about writing, Canadian chocolate, and reality TV. Follow her @LH_Writes or visit www.lauraheffernan.com for more information.