Format: Kindle

Giovanni Meets A Coven by Kathy Bryson

Posted August 2, 2017 by karenbaron in Comedy, Fantasy, Guest Post, Review, Series, Short Stories / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Giovanni Meets A Coven by Kathy BrysonGiovanni Meets A Coven by Kathy Bryson
Series: The Med School #2
Series Rating: four-stars
Published by Kathy Bryson Books on September 15, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Humor
Pages: 90
Format: Kindle
four-stars

Having successfully dealt with his first zombie, Giovanni is looking forward to the upcoming semester. Then the accidents start, costing Giovanni two jobs, no end of embarrassment, and multiple contusions and abrasions!

Is it just bad luck or is the curse of the zombie out to get him? And which of the voodoo queens suddenly surrounding him can he trust to help out?

Surprise, not everyone is what they seem to be.

Giovanni Meets a Coven by Kathy Bryson is a wonderful read. Giovanni is a med student with numerous jobs. He is so busy, he doesn’t have a place to live and he has a big dog. Studying has become the easiest part of his life that is when he can find the time. However, living in a morgue isn’t the greatest way to save money.

I like Giovanni, he loves coffee. He’s from New Jersey going to med school in Atlanta. He seems to be handling the cultural shock fairly well. He is stronger than he seems. He has a good heart and sense of humor. I would most definitely be his friend.

Gio has made many friends in Atlanta. However, I like the sassy, bossy and intimidating Astral. She isn’t perfect. She’s got some jealousy and anger issues. But hey, who doesn’t? She knows what she wants and she is working towards it, even though she thinks she is entitled. I believe that she can handle whatever is thrown at her, preferably with a little help from her friends.

I enjoyed the story. I was caught off guard by the ending, which only makes the story better. It was fast paced, with no poor pitiful me from Giovanni. Oh yes, the floor buffer incident made me laugh out loud. I was laughing about it for hours. My husband must have thought that I had lost my mind. That will haunt Gio for a long time.

My rating is 4 stars, and I plan to fit the first book Giovanni Goes to Med School into my TBR list. If you are looking for a clean story with a touch of paranormal this is one for you.

**Where to find Giovanni Meets a Coven**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

four-stars

About Kathy Bryson

Kathy Bryson is the award-winning author of a series of leprechaun romances as well as the adventures of a hapless med student. She has degrees in both advertising and literature as well 20+ years in business that came in handy for exposing leprechauns. For, the zombie stuff, she shamelessly exploit her coworkers. A recent transplant to Texas, she also runs a college writing center and caters to the whims of spoiled cats.


The Sabbath by Arthur Nsenga

Posted July 26, 2017 by karenbaron in Dystopia, Fiction, Review, Science Fiction, Series / 0 Comments

The Sabbath by Arthur NsengaThe Sabbath by Arthur Nsenga, Shaunakay Francis
Published by Say La V Publishing on December 19th 2015
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 191
Format: Kindle
four-stars

Would you rather suffer for eternity, or die peacefully?

What if you had no choice?

The morning after witnessing a spectacular meteorite shower, Cory and
his girlfriend Lana didn’t expect to wake up immortal.

News bulletins claim the meteorites have released a chemical compound
called ATHENS which has caused mutations in the human race. The
twisted outcome has left people unable to die but with an increased
sensitivity to pain.

Now with the majority of food supplies contaminated, and the rich
controlling what little is left, the desperate young couple are force
to go on merciless food raids just to stave off the pain.

During which they accidentally discover a secret government device and
find themselves caught up in a diabolical plot to control the future
of humanity.

Realizing that there is more to ATHENS than what they were led to
believe; Cory and Lana set out on a crusade to uncover the truth.
Their journey will lead them into the darkest depths of humanity. If
they can follow the trail, they may be able to find some answers.

But will the cost of knowing the truth be too much?

My take on this story:             I was asked to read this book by Miss Shaunakay Francis almost a year ago now and I have finally been able to read it.

We follow Cory and Lana through dealing with what their government is calling The Sabbath. They are only calling it that because everyone in the whole entire world slept through a whole day and not just Cory and Lana after a night of getting drunk. The two friends get to Cory’s house to find out that his cancer-ridden mother is missing. He has no clue what to do especially since they all just learned that they can’t die. However, they can feel the pain and get sick while having it seem much worse than what it actually is.

After a bit of dealing with what do we do know we skip to a year later and Cory, Lana, and Isabel – Cory’s older sister are all still living in Cory and Isabel’s child home just trying to survive in a place that is basically being controlled by the government. In this new world that has been created the only jobs there are is working for the government and the only places with schools is in the cities that have walls surrounding them because it keeps the rich from hanging out with the normal people on the outside of the walls. We go with Cory and Lana for the time skip and follow them through everything including finding out that the government might be behind something that is really big.

This story isn’t that far into the future. It’s weird to think of something like this happening but it could easily happen. It kind of reminds me of a combination of The Hunger Games – without the kids fighting for survival and Divergent but not all the time. This story is really good and as I got closer to the end of the book I knew that it was going to be put into a sequel since we were going to be ending too soon and we didn’t really see a whole lot of other things.

Mr. Arthur Nsenga and Miss Shaunakay Francis have woven a good story. I am giving this book a four-star rating for. It kept me entertained when my cat would let me read it. Some days she is such a pest.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

four-stars

Come Sundown by Nora Roberts

Posted July 21, 2017 by karenbaron in Contemporary Romance, Guest Post, Horses, Mystery, Review, Suspense / 0 Comments

Come Sundown by Nora RobertsCome Sundown by Nora Roberts
Published by St. Martin's Press on May 30th 2017
Pages: 466
Format: Hardcover, Kindle
five-stars

A saga of love, family ties, and twisted passions from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Obsession
The Bodine ranch and resort in western Montana is a family business, an idyllic spot for vacationers. A little over thirty thousand acres and home to four generations, it’s kept running by Bodine Longbow with the help of a large staff, including new hire Callen Skinner. There was another member of the family once: Bodine’s aunt, Alice, who ran off before Bodine was born. She never returned, and the Longbows don’t talk about her much. The younger ones, who never met her, quietly presume she’s dead. But she isn’t. She is not far away, part of a new family, one she never chose—and her mind has been shattered…
When a bartender leaves the resort late one night, and Bo and Cal discover her battered body in the snow, it’s the first sign that danger lurks in the mountains that surround them. The police suspect Cal, but Bo finds herself trusting him—and turning to him as another woman is murdered and the Longbows are stunned by Alice’s sudden reappearance. The twisted story she has to tell about the past—and the threat that follows in her wake—will test the bonds of this strong family, and thrust Bodine into a darkness she could never have imagined.

Marvelous Montana is smaller than some would think.

Come Sundown by Nora Roberts is another hit. I loved the fast paced combination of mystery, romance, intrigue, and of course family.

The Bodine-Longbow family is very big on family, respect and taking care of their own, whether they are blood or not. All wonderful qualities that I have found in many of the people that I have met in Montana. I immediately like the Bodine Longbow, she smart, feisty, independent and an extremely hard worker. Although the rest of the family is full of characters, like Ms. Fancy and Cora. Those two are giving their two cents and holding their own, for the elderly women they are the bomb.

Then there is Alice. Alice is so strong and yet she has no idea. Her life has been tragic and yet she is now finding a positive in her life that is filled with family and love. Nora Roberts characters are so well written that its like she is just telling the story of this wonderful Montana ranch family, complete with all of the skeletons in the closets and the all the wonderfully sappy happy moments too.

I love the setting. Montana is one of my favorite states. The descriptions that Ms. Roberts uses are spot on. It was so easy to visualize the beauty and the isolation of southwestern Montana. Besides who can fault a book with cowboys and horses?

My rating is 5 stars, Nora Roberts doesn’t disappoint. If you haven’t read it Come Sundown yet, you will want to pick it up.

**Where to find Come Sundown**

** Goodreads **        **Turn the Page Bookstore**

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts was born in Silver Spring, Maryland, the youngest of five children. After a school career that included some time in Catholic school and the discipline of nuns, she married young and settled in Keedysville, Maryland.

She worked briefly as a legal secretary. “I could type fast but couldn’t spell, I was the worst legal secretary ever,” she says now. After her sons were born she stayed home and tried every craft that came along. A blizzard in February 1979 forced her hand to try another creative outlet. She was snowed in with a three and six year old with no kindergarten respite in sight and a dwindling supply of chocolate.

Born into a family of readers, Nora had never known a time that she wasn’t reading or making up stories. During the now-famous blizzard, she pulled out a pencil and notebook and began to write down one of those stories. It was there that a career was born. Several manuscripts and rejections later, her first book, Irish Thoroughbred, was published by Silhouette in 1981.

Nora met her second husband, Bruce Wilder, when she hired him to build bookshelves. They were married in July 1985. Since that time, they’ve expanded their home, traveled the world and opened a bookstore together.

Through the years, Nora has always been surrounded by men. Not only was she the youngest in her family, but she was also the only girl. She has raised two sons. Having spent her life surrounded by men, Ms. Roberts has a fairly good view of the workings of the male mind, which is a constant delight to her readers. It was, she’s been quoted as saying, a choice between figuring men out or running away screaming.

Nora is a member of several writers groups and has won countless awards from her colleagues and the publishing industry. Recently The New Yorker called her “America’s favorite novelist.”


The Vampire’s True Love Trials

Posted May 31, 2017 by karenbaron in Berserkers, Cats, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Supernatural, Valkyrie, Vampires / 0 Comments

The Vampire’s True Love TrialsThe Vampire's True Love Trials by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls, #6.5
on 1/14/2017
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 55
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals in town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

Vampire Sebastian Ellingham wants one thing: to marry Tessa Blythe, the Valkyrie he’s fallen madly in love with. So meeting her parents seems like the natural thing to do. He’s even looking forward to it, until he discovers they’ve already found her a husband. Now the only way to keep Tessa in his life is to complete a series of tests meant for a very different kind of supernatural. And failing means losing her forever.

Proof that they are a team in love.

This novella The Vampire’s True Love Trials picks up the love story of Sebastian and Tessa. They have just finished testifying and the Vampire Council regarding Sebastian’s ex-wife, Evangeline. If you want to know more about that check out The Vampire’s Fake Fiancée.

Sebastian and Tessa are planning to stay in Europe for a short vacation when Tessa’s parents call. Now they are off to meet her parents in Paris. Tessa is nervous and Sebastian knows that this is important for their relationship. So, he is fine with it.

I have always loved the confidence that Sebastian puts out there. He seems like the perfect guy to bring home to meet Mom and Dad, except for the fang part. However, if your parents are a Berserker and Valkyrie maybe bringing a vampire home isn’t the easiest thing. Tessa just wants her parents to approve of Sebastian and her together.

Den is Tessa’s Dad and he is huge, just as you would think a Berserker would be. Den is a mixture of the traditional and the historical worlds. He seems like your typical over-protective father to me, with lots of grunting and super tight hand shaking.

Magna is Tessa’s Mom and she is a Valkyrie. She seems to love her daughters and really want them to be happy. I like Magna, she seemed sweet and yet has that don’t mess with me vibe. She is more compromising than Den but still believes that Sebastian needs to prove himself especially since Tessa didn’t tell them about him.

The True Love Trials are there for the Berserker to prove his ability to take care of and cherish the Valkyrie that he wants. Since Sebastian is a vampire, the trails don’t work in the same way. Or do they? I thought that the spark between Sebastian and Tessa worked great with this story, and we got to see how important the two have become to each other.

At the end, we find that Delaney has had her baby as Sebastian and Tessa stop by to visit at the hospital. I won’t spoil it, you will have to read it yourself to find out if the baby is a boy or girl.

My rating is 5 stars. I love this short story as much as the rest of the series. Kristin Painter has created a wonderful world full of exciting characters. I highly recommend this series, Nocturne Falls to all who read paranormal romance.

**Where to find The Vampire’s True Love Trials**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Chakana by W.E. Lawrence

Posted May 29, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fiction, Mystery, Review, Romance / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Chakana by W.E. LawrenceChakana by W.E. Lawrence
on January 4, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Romance
Pages: 347
Format: Kindle
five-stars

In 1940, before the start of World War II, James Fleming, the original British secret agent, races on a high-stakes chase to track down the ancient lost treasure of King Huascar of the Incas. He must recover it before the Nazis do or the whole world will be in imminent danger.

But this is no ordinary treasure hunt. The Incas have proven their cunning and intellect in not only how they hid their treasure, but how they protected it. Fleming joins forces in the remote ruins of Peru, South America with Kate Rhodes, a policewoman on leave from the United States, her archaeologist brother, Nick, and their college professor, Dr. Charlie. Together, they must decode, interpret the clues, and face the challenges of the Chakana on their hunt for the treasure.

If this wasn’t difficult enough, the group is hounded throughout their search of the ancient Sacred Valley by international artifact smugglers, familiar with the Chakana and working with the Nazis, who are determined to acquire the treasure to help finance their war effort. Intrigue, danger, suspense, action, adventure, and even romance abound in this brave band’s quest to save the free world.

My take on this book:              Chakana by W.E. Lawrence is a great book. I was so happy when this book hit the top of my TBR List to read it. Most definitely a cross between Indiana Jones and James Bond.

The main character of this book is Kate Rhodes.

What I like about Kate Rhodes is the fact that she’s the youngest kid in her family. She knows what she wants in life. By this, I mean that by the age of eighteen she knew that she wanted to be the first female Chief of Police but that kind of changes further into the book. What I also like about her is that she can hold her own in a fight or even with a gun which is needed as a police officer but even more with what she needs to do thanks to her brother. What I didn’t like about her is that when it comes to James Fleming, who I will introduce soon, is that she at times lets her emotions get the better of her. And we all know that can be used against her. Then again, none of us can help that happening, at least most of the time or who we fall in love with.

The secondary character of this book is James Fleming.

What I like about him is that he tries to protect Kate even if she doesn’t want him. He tries to honor her request but he can’t help the way he was raised and wants to protect her as best as he can. Another thing that I like about him is that he tries to hide his obvious affections for Kate Rhodes and focus on the Incan trails that they have to face along with not being captured. He also struggles with this a lot throughout the book. James struggles with not only his feelings for Kate but also doing what is right by contacting his boss and stopping the smugglers from getting the gold.

The antagonist of this book is obviously the international smuggler.

He’s named in the book but I want you to find out about him on your own and draw your own conclusions about him. All I have to say about him is that Mr. Lawrence is great at creating bad guys.

Chakana by W.E. Lawrence is a great book and one that I couldn’t put down once I started to read it. I am giving this book a five-star rating. I love Indiana Jones and James Bond and that this book was a great mix of the two even though none of the two characters, that are in the male and female lead roles, have anything to do with archeology much. This book does have some grammar and spelling mistakes but not enough that it takes me out of the book to wonder what the author meant. I am definitely recommending it to my readers of this blog. Well to my adult readers this book does have some sex scenes in it.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

five-stars

About W.E. Lawrence

W. E. Lawrence graduated in 1978 from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill with a BS in business administration. He has run a successful home health care supplies distributorship for the past twenty-three years.

Passionate about God, writing, reading, family, sports, politics, and America, Lawrence currently lives in Davidson, North Carolina, with his lovely wife and their two wonderful children.

W. E. Lawrence enjoys writing historical romance novels filled with action, adventure, and suspense. He published his debut novel Guardian of Paradise in October 2014.