Format: Kindle

Sticks and Bones by Carolyn Haines

Posted September 13, 2017 by karenbaron in Animals, Cats, Cozy, Dogs, Guest Post, Horses, Mystery, Review, Series / 0 Comments

Sticks and Bones by Carolyn HainesSticks and Bones by Carolyn Haines
Published by Minotaur Books on May 16th 2017
Genres: Cozy, Mystery
Pages: 352
Format: Kindle

Private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney and her friends are celebrating New Year's Eve at the party of the year, a smashing Winter Garden party at the Prince Albert Hotel. It's a dazzling success...until Frangelica "Sister" McFee walks through the door. Sarah Booth knew Sister in college, before Sister became a bestselling author and moved to New York, and fame and fortune don't seem to have tempered her arrogance and cruelty.
Sister's latest book is a memoir about the death of her mother and brother many years ago. Now, a film about the book is in the works, and a film crew has descended upon Zinnia, Mississippi, to tell the complete tale. The film crew soon realizes there may be more to the story than meets the eye--or is told in Sister's memoir--and they hire Sarah Booth to discover the absolute truth about those deaths so many years ago. But Sarah Booth quickly realizes that someone is desperate to keep the truth hidden and will go to any lengths necessary to protect a long-held secret.
Carolyn Haines's next Sarah Booth Delaney novel, Sticks and Bones, is sure to delight series fans and newcomers alike.

Murder, mayhem, old money and family secrets. So fun.

Sticks and Bones by Carolyn Haines is awesome, dahlink. I always find what Sarah Booth and Tinkie get messed up in will make me laugh.

I have read all the books in this series, they are all fabulous. I love Sunflower, Mississippi and the delta area where Sarah Booth lives. The culture and the people we meet through Sarah Booth’s adventures are extraordinary characters.

The mystery Sarah Booth and Tinkie are hired to solve this time really kept me guessing. I truly didn’t figure it out until almost end. Ms. Haines really kept me guessing. I actually dismissed the killer like three times in my head. The death of Son and Cleo McFee is a cold case that is brought up again by the release of a Sister McFee’s best-selling book, which was optioned into a movie deal. The movie production company has hired the ladies to find the truth.

I love the regular characters. Sarah Booth is feisty, stubborn, and brave. She will do anything for the people she loves. Tinkie is a petite, blond who the ability to make men bend to her will. They both run around with their pets, who create as much mischief as the two prying private eyes.

Sarah Booth seems to have decided on her beau finally. I kind of hoped that she might choose Harold, but Coleman and she have a great connection and they seem to be a good fit, too. I know that just making a choice will make Jitty happy.

The drama, lies, secrets, and dysfunction in this old money family is terrible. It is like the money has corrupted their entire beings. I love the way Ms. Haines incorporates all of this into the mystery and uses it to keep us guessing. Never underestimate what someone will do for money.

My rating is 5 stars, and I can’t wait for Sarah Booth and Tinkie’s next adventure. If you haven’t read any of the series you should definitely give it a shot.

**Sticks and Bones**

** Goodreads **        

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

About Carolyn Haines

Carolyn Haines is the USA Today bestselling author of over 70 books. She was the recipient of the Harper Lee Award for Distinguished Writing and the Richard Wright Award for Literary Excellence, as well as the “Best Amateur Sleuth” award by Romantic Times. Born and raised in Mississippi, she now lives in Alabama on a farm with more dogs, cats, and horses than she can possibly keep track of.


Stormy Weather by Glen Ebisch

Posted September 7, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Fiction, Guest Post, Mystery, Review, Romance, Suspense, Thriller / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Stormy Weather by Glen EbischStormy Weather by Glen Ebisch
Published by The Wild Rose Press on January 18th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Romance
Pages: 260
Format: Kindle
five-stars

When the body of Travis Lambert, senior meteorologist for a local television station, is found buried in a shallow grave next to the house of Stormy McCloud, junior meteorologist, things look bad for her. When the station hires Chance Malone to investigate the murder, her situation doesn’t improve. Malone is attractive, charming, and funny, all qualities that Stormy’s past experience with men has led her to avoid. It also doesn’t help that Stormy has little background or interest in religion, while Malone is the unusual private detective who has a Bible in his desk drawer rather than a bottle of scotch. When Stormy’s estranged mother appears on the scene, she also must decide whether to have a relationship with the woman who deserted her as a child. As the story proceeds, more is learned about the dark secrets of Travis’ life, and Stormy is forced to reconsider her view of men, her mother and her future.

The first thing that drew me in was the body being found in a big hole where a garage was supposed to be built that morning.  Then it turns out to be the daytime weather person……

My favorite character is Stormy McCloud the main character. She is a no-nonsense type of girl who doesn’t let her name get her down.  She might have issues in the relationship department due to her Mom taking off when she was young but she has major spunk.  She does whatever it takes to clear her name & won’t let Chance do much without her so she knows what is happening in the case at all times.

Chance Malone with ACME Investigations is awesome, too.  Everyone else is in it for how this situation (murder) will further their career or to cover up the murder.

I disliked Lieutenant Alan Green.  He seemed to be trying to blame the murder on Stormy just so he could close the case.  I understand the body was found in her yard but still – do your job.

My favorite part was when Malone attempts to rescue Stormy from Mr. Adams but she had already rescued herself.  I also loved when Stormy and Malone meet up with David to set him up to prove what he knew about the murder/missing stolen artifacts.

I absolutely loved hearing Stormy’s side and how she thinks everything through and comes to her own conclusions.

I loved all the scenarios of what Travis was killed for and why.  And why he was killed outside Stormy’s house. I actually figured out part of the mystery as to who the art thief was but not the killer since their relationship was hidden. I went through all different emotions – cringing, happy, skeptical, doubtful, relief.

The best quotes from the book are:

Chance Malone “Well, then you must know that the innocent sometimes end up in jail.”
Chance Malone “As the bible says sometimes the evil flourish like a green bay tree”

The author did a wonderful job, this was absolutely a page turner. I mean how could stolen artifacts and drugs not be something that someone would kill for? My rating is 5 stars. I loved it and would love to read more like this.  It took me a little to get into it but it’s really good!!

I was asked to read and review this book as a favor for Karen at the Baroness’ Book Trove and I am glad that I did. ~Melissa

five-stars

About Glen Ebisch

I have been a professor of philosophy for over thirty years. Most recently I retired from teaching at a small university in western Massachusetts. For much of that time I have also written mystery and suspense fiction, starting with books for young adults and moving on to writing for adults. I have had twenty-five books published, twelve of them in the last fifteen years as time has allowed me to write more. All are cozy in nature and suitable for any reader.

I live in western Massachusetts with my wife. My hobbies include reading (of course) and going to the gym. We also look forward to traveling to Maine and Cape May, New Jersey for our needed dose of the beach.


Wyshea Shadows by Geoffrey Saign

Posted September 4, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Guest Post, Review, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wyshea Shadows by Geoffrey SaignWyshea Shadows by Geoffrey Saign
Series: Divided Draghons #1
Series Rating: three-stars
Published by Kiraku Press on November 26th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 296
Format: Kindle
three-half-stars

From the award-winning author of the WhipEye Chronicles series comes the first book in the new
Divided Draghon
series, an epic fantasy thriller, with romance, action, battles, and a world at stake...
A hundred-year-war that won't end...Three young women sworn to kill each other...Famere, the wyshea butcher, seeks vengeance with loyal mythic beasts called shadows;Jennelle, commander of the Northerners, fights for her people's survival using brilliant strategies; &Camette, a wild divided draghon, searches for her kidnapped lover...Famere, Jennelle, and Camette must discover who is friend or enemy, who is responsible for the hundred-year dark sky and death mists, and if the men they adore will still love them.

The author did a really good job explaining what was going on in each tribe and in the story as a whole. I really enjoyed the book once I got far enough into it to really understand where it was going. The book made me feel frustrated at times, had me cringing during certain scenes, and in some chapters a little bit of boredom as well as awe. The first thing that really drew me into the book was Camette’s claws.

My favorite characters were Famere & Jannelle.

Famere because she had so much to overcome.  She lost her Dad & Ison during the bonding ceremony of her people & was not able to pledge to Ison.  Then she bonded to 2 Shadows (somewhat like wolfs but bigger and worse).  She had to learn to take over running her people as the first woman to do it.  She had to be very strong.

Jannelle because she was such a kind heart and wanted peace.  She had to run her people as well but had no problems to overcome as everyone loved her and she took her father’s place without any issues.

I hated Ison.  He was all about power and hiding who he truly was from his people and especially Famere.  In the end, he chose power over breathen.

The other characters each had their own place in the story and made Jannelle, Famere, and Ison more of who they were.  Gofin and Malley are the perfect matches for the female leaders.

The fighting scene towards the end where all the different allies/enemies came together to fight the main enemies for peace was my favorite part of the book.

These are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

Jannelle “Would you feel honor in killing an enemy who is making himself vulnerable to save his riding beast?”

Sparks “I’ve never seen the sky open up.  It took my breath away.”

Profetess “Seek peace, Famere.  I’ve suffered many years for helping you.  Honor the light of the meadow.”

Famere “Because I am of two shadows”

I decided to read this book as a favor to Karen at the Baroness’ Book Trove.  Once I received the book & saw the picture I realized that had I not had the plot read to me to make me interested, I would never have given it a second glance.  Apparently, I do judge a book by its cover.  I am glad I read it through as it is a good book. I give it 3.5 stars.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to read and review this book for your site. ~Melissa

three-half-stars

About Geoffrey Saign

Geoffrey Saign’s passion for nature and wildlife inspired his award-winning middle grade/tween urban fantasy series, WhipEye Chronicles (WhipEye, Gorgon, Drasine), and previously led to his nationally endorsed book, Green Essentials: What You Need to Know About the Environment, as well as his books African Cats and Great Apes. He has a degree in biology, assisted in field research with hummingbirds and humpback whales, and sailed as far away as Australia. With more than twenty years of experience working in special education, he has taught adults and children everything from sailing to speech to self-awareness to novel writing. He won the Shabo Award for picture books in 2010 and the International Book Award, Outstanding Children’s Fiction, and Reader’s Favorite for WhipEye. He lives in St. Paul, Minnesota.


The Dragon Finds Forever by Kristen Painter

Posted August 22, 2017 by karenbaron in Dragon Shifters, Fairies, Gargoyles, Guest Post, Leprechauns, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Series, Supernatural, Vampires, Will O' The Wisp, Witches / 0 Comments

The Dragon Finds Forever by Kristen PainterThe Dragon Finds Forever by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #7
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on May 12th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 304
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.
The tourists think it’s all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
Monalisa Devlin is a Will O’ The Wisp, a rare and potentially dangerous creature. Unfortunately, her greedy father makes sure she lives up to that potential. Monalisa is magically compelled to obey her father’s evil commands—until he finally agrees to free her in exchange for one, last mission: Travel to Nocturne Falls and use her powers to force Ivan Tsvetkov back into the ring.
Once a champion on the supernatural MMA circuit, Ivan ‘The Hammer’ Tsvetkov retired after a devastating injury that left him unable to shift into his dragon form. Wounded and embittered, Ivan wants nothing more than to be left alone. Until an infuriating, stubborn, delicately beautiful stranger shows up on his doorstep and demands that he rebuild his life.
Posing as a rehab therapist seemed like the easiest way to get close to the smoldering recluse, but Monalisa quickly realizes that nothing about this mission is going to be easy. To gain his trust, she shares more of herself than she ever has before, and as their connection deepens, so does the weight of her secrets. She thought she was willing to do whatever it took to win her independence...but when her deception blows up in her face, will Monalisa discover that the loss of Ivan’s heart is too high a price to pay? Or will their love rise from the ashes to burn stronger than ever?

Just because he is all muscle doesn’t mean he doesn’t have a brain or heart.

The Dragon Finds Forever by Kristin Painter is the story of Ivan “the Hammer”, a paranormal mixed martial arts champion, a dragon and Monalisa Devlin, a Will O’ The Wisp and daughter of the King of Leprechauns in Las Vegas.

Ivan is injured in a match that Monalisa’s father rigged. Now she has been sent against her will to bring Ivan back to Las Vegas for a rematch (preferably before he is healed). Their story is full of freedom, growing love, respect, and a sort of coming of age. I love the way Ms. Painter incorporates the supernatural world in a growing romance. I believe in the way she allows even those with darkness around them to find the one that compliments them and empower each other.

Oh, yes and if Nocturne Falls were a real place I would be moving there…and I don’t plan to drink the water. My rating for The Dragon Finds Forever is 5 stars. If you haven’t read this series yet you should give it a try. I hope you like it as much as I do.

**The Dragon Finds Forever**

** Goodreads **        

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Eye of Nefertiti by Maria Luisa Lang

Posted August 20, 2017 by karenbaron in Animals, Cats, Fantasy, Fiction, Review, Time Travel / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Eye of Nefertiti by Maria Luisa LangThe Eye of Nefertiti by Maria Luisa Lang
Series: The Pharaoh's Cat #2
Series Rating: five-stars
on November 29, 2016
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 208
Format: Kindle
five-stars

The cat must free Queen Nefertiti from a horrific curse

The Eye of Nefertiti is both a stand-alone novel and a sequel to The Pharaoh’s Cat. The time-traveling ancient Egyptian feline with human powers returns together with his beloved Pharaoh and his close friends, the High Priest of Amun-Ra and Elena, an Egyptologist’s daughter.

The cat is quick-witted, wise-cracking narrator as well as free-spirited, ever-curious protagonist, and the story he tells is an exotic, imaginative, spell-binding tragicomedy. The cat travels from present-day New York City to England, both ancient and modern, then to ancient Egypt, where he confronts a horrible demon and experiences a sublime emotion. Once back in England, he descends into a psychological abyss so deep only the Pharaoh can save him.

The Eye of Nefertiti interweaves feline and human, past and present, natural and supernatural. It contains numerous surprises, twists and turns, intriguing characters, both human and animal, fascinating revelations about ancient Egyptian history and culture, and an ingenious application of the Tarot and an Italian opera.

Time travel, mystery, love and a Cat.

Eye of Nefertiti by Maria Luisa Lang is a cat’s story. This is the first adult story that I have read where the protagonist is a cat, but he is way more than your average cat. Wrappa-Hamen is a magic cat, he talks, walks on two legs, reads, writes, and eats human food. He is also the Pharaoh’s cat, although he does go by many names in this book.

I first thought the concept was good, this will be a good story, I mean ancient Egypt and cats…but once I got into the story I found that its fabulous. Ms. Lang does an awesome job with the character Wrappa-Hamen, he is a cat but he has such personality (not that regular cats don’t). She really nails Wrappa-Hamen’s priorities, such as food first, sleep second. He is vain and has an attitude. Yet, can be so loving when he wants to be. See, very cat like. However, if my daughter’s cat Mia, could talk, I’m not sure I would want to hear what is on her mind. I think most of it would be about the dog.

The family that Wrappa-Hamen lives with, have such character. Elena is bossy, and definitely keeps them moving, she is the mother of the Pharaoh. Then there is the High Priest, who is a total book worm and at times clueless (father of the Pharaoh). And the young Pharaoh, who is now an adorable toddler, who loves Wrappa-Hamen.

The settings were stunning, I was able to see them all so vividly. I think that time travel would be wonderful. The mystery was good, I enjoyed the clues and the explanations. A completely wonderful book, which makes my rating 5 stars. As the Baroness says anything that keeps you up at night is worth the stars.

**Eye of Nefertiti**

** Goodreads **        

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Maria Luisa Lang

Maria Luisa Lang has published two novels, The Pharaoh’s Cat and The Eye of Nefertiti, which is both a sequel to The Pharaoh’s Cat and a stand-alone novel. She was born in Rome, Italy, and lives in New York City. She often returns to Italy to visit her family and has stayed for extended periods in Bath and London. She has a degree in art from the City University of New York, and her artwork has been exhibited in New York galleries. She is an amateur Egyptologist. Her love of cats and ancient Egypt has inspired her to write two novels set there with a very special cat as her protagonist. Both The Pharaoh’s Cat and The Eye of Nefertiti are available on Amazon in paperback and in a Kindle edition.