Format: Kindle

American’s Next Reality Star

Posted May 15, 2017 by karenbaron in Contemporary Romance, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

American’s Next Reality StarAmerica's Next Reality Star by Laura Heffernan
Series: Reality Star #1
Published by Lyrical Shine on March 7th 2017
Genres: Romance
Pages: 254
Format: Kindle
five-stars

SEEKING THE SMART ONE
Twenty-four-year-old Jen Reid had her life in good shape: an okay job, a tiny-cute Seattle apartment, and a great boyfriend almost ready to get serious. In a flash it all came apart. Single, unemployed, and holding an eviction notice, who has time to remember trying out for a reality show? Then the call comes, and Jen sees her chance to start over—by spending her summer on national TV.
Luckily The Fishbowl is all about puzzles and games, the kind of thing Jen would love even if she wasn’t desperate. The cast checks all the boxes: cheerful, quirky Birdie speaks in hashtags; vicious Ariana knows just how to pout for the cameras; and corn-fed “J-dawg” plays the cartoon villain of the house. Then there’s Justin, the green-eyed law student who always seems a breath away from kissing her. Is their attraction real, or a trick to get him closer to the $250,000 grand prize? Romance or showmance, suddenly Jen has a lot more to lose than a summer . . .

Reality TV in a book? What a great concept…

I felt like a binged watch an entire season of The Fishbowl. I have to say first the concept of the fish bowl house with all glass wall and such is totally amazing. The description that Jen gave of the kitchen sounded so cool. I am not sure what I thought of the couch tree though.

I could totally get on board with Jen. I loved her naiveté with men, her acknowledging her inner nerd and that she tries to be a good person. Jen is the all-American girl next door. I would so be calling in and voting for her, even with all the bad press on the outside of the Fishbowl.

Justin is a law student from Florida. He is nice, athletic, smart and a little competitive. He is also so polite and such a gentlemen. Jen and Justin make a cute couple. They really need to get over the trust issues that they each seem to have.

Then there is Ariana, wow, what do I say about her? Scheming, lying, cheating, jerk, well those are some options. I am sure there are more of the same but you should just read it yourself so you can dislike her too.

The concept of the book was great, I loved the story. It kind of gave you this look into the hidden side of reality television. I can’t imagine putting myself or my family through all that drama. However, everyone has their own thing. Oh and that ending was so great. Right out of the fairy tales. I love happy endings.

My rating is 5 stars. I loved this book. Thank you, Ms. Heffernan, for bringing reality tv to books. It is much more fun to read about it than I thought it would be. I personally don’t watch reality tv anymore but this book is awesome. I can’t wait to read the next one in the series, Sweet Reality.

**Where to find America’s Next Reality Star**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Laura Heffernan

Laura Heffernan is living proof that watching too much TV can pay off: AMERICA’S NEXT REALITY STAR, the first book in the REALITY STAR series, is coming from Kensington’s Lyrical Press in March 2017. When not watching total strangers participate in arranged marriages, drag racing queens, or cooking competitions, Laura enjoys travel, baking, board games, helping with writing contests, and seeking new experiences. She lives in the northeast with her amazing husband and two furry little beasts.

 Some of Laura’s favorite things include goat cheese, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Battlestar Galactica, the Oxford comma, and ice cream. Not all together. The best place to find her is usually on Twitter, where she spends far too much time tweeting about writing, Canadian chocolate, and reality TV. Follow her @LH_Writes or visit www.lauraheffernan.com for more information.


Indiana Belle by John A. Heldt

Posted February 21, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fiction, Review, Romance, Science Fiction, Series, Time Travel / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Indiana Belle by John A. HeldtIndiana Belle by John A. Heldt
Series: American Journey #3
on April 14th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 406
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Providence, Rhode Island, 2017. When doctoral student Cameron Coelho, 28, opens a package from Indiana, he finds more than private papers that will help him with his dissertation. He finds a photograph of a beautiful society editor murdered in 1925 and clues to a century-old mystery. Within days, he meets Geoffrey Bell, the "time-travel professor," and begins an unlikely journey through the Roaring Twenties. Filled with history, romance, and intrigue, INDIANA BELLE follows a lonely soul on the adventure of a lifetime as he searches for love and answers in the age of Prohibition, flappers, and jazz.

My take on this book:              First off I am so terribly sorry for this very late review on this book. I am very glad once again for Mr. Heldt for asking me to read and review this book. This book has three different third person point of view chapters scattered throughout the book.

The main character is Cameron Coelho. He is a twenty-eight-year-old doctoral student who is working on his dissertation of the Mid-West during the Roaring Twenties. What I like about him is that despite being a very rich young man he acts like a normal college student trying to finish his degree. I also like how he tries to keep his promise to Geoffrey and himself. Cameron overall is a great and wonderful guy who tries to be a good person despite the trouble that finds him in 1925.

What I like about him is that despite being a very rich young man he acts like a normal college student trying to finish his degree. I also like how he tries to keep his promise to Geoffrey and himself. Cameron overall is a great and wonderful guy who tries to be a good person despite the trouble that finds him in 1925.

What I don’t like about Cameron Coelho is that he can be a bit too overprotective especially of Candice once they get together. I don’t know if you call this a dislike but I kind of found it strange that he fell in love with Candice without meeting her in person. This is truly a minor issue for this character, though, as Mr. Heldt has written him so well that he is very three dimensional in my honest opinion.

The second character is Candice Bell. She is a twenty-five-year-old society writer that lives in 1925 Evansville, Indiana. What I like about Miss Bell is that she has many sides to her that even we, the readers, don’t know all of them. We see her Mid-Western hospitality, the way that she acts as if she can do no wrong in front of her mother, along with how she acts tough when following a lead for a story, she is very stubborn when she is trying to do something that she knows is the right thing to do, and among many others. Candice Bell, in my humble opinion, is much like most women back then would have been. Reading about her is like being able to have a sneak peek into their lives back then. What else I liked about Candice is that she seemed to keep Cameron guessing since the first time they meet face to face.

What I like about Miss Bell is that she has many sides to her that even we, the readers, don’t know all of them. We see her Mid-Western hospitality, the way that she acts as if she can do no wrong in front of her mother, along with how she acts tough when following a lead for a story, she is very stubborn when she is trying to do something that she knows is the right thing to do, and among many others. Candice Bell, in my humble opinion, is much like most women back then would have been. Reading about her is like being able to have a sneak peek into their lives back then. What else I liked about Candice is that she seemed to keep Cameron guessing since the first time they meet face to face.

What I dislike about her is the fact that she was writing articles that were putting her in danger. I know that is something that she loves to do but I just can’t believe that she did that. She should have been thinking about might happen if she exposed these secrets, she might get herself into trouble. I also dislike that she couldn’t see who was one of the ringleaders, that she was trying to put away. Good thing that Cameron helped save her.

For the antagonist, I am still having a hard time deciding. At first, I thought it was time itself seeing as how Cameron is from the year 2017 while Candice is from 1925. Then I thought Geoffrey as I remembered that he told Cameron to not save Candice since she was supposed to die in 1925 so his great-great-great grandparents could meet. Seeing as Geoffrey is Candice’s cousin. However, what I liked about Geoffrey is that he is very cautious regarding information about his time machine and who he allowed to use it. I also liked how he willingly helped Cameron.

What I disliked is that he made Cameron promise him to not get involved with Candice. Another thing I disliked about him is that he wanted to be kept in the loop on almost everything that was going on with Cameron in Indiana.

What moved me about this story is Cameron’s determination to save Candice despite Geoffrey telling him not to. I totally loved the settings and the time travel. I felt like I was transported there through his words so I could be there with the characters. My favorite supporting character I think would have to be Geoffrey’s wife. Mostly because she is extremely observant and sees things that no one else does.

Indiana Belle by John A. Heldt is an amazing book. I am giving this book a five star rating since I couldn’t stop thinking about it at all. In my mind, Mr. Heldt is a fantastic writer that can take you to place you never imagined. I also like his way of time travel as it is different than what we are used to seeing/reading about. This is the second book by him that I have read and I can’t wait to read his other books.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads ** 

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About John A. Heldt

John A. Heldt is the author of the critically acclaimed Northwest Passage and American Journey series. The former reference librarian and award-winning sportswriter has loved getting subjects and verbs to agree since writing book reports on baseball heroes in grade school. A graduate of the University of Oregon and the University of Iowa, Heldt is an avid fisherman, sports fan, home brewer, and reader of thrillers and historical fiction.


Madam Tulip by David Ahern

Posted December 4, 2016 by karenbaron in Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, New Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Madam Tulip by David AhernMadam Tulip by David Ahern
Series: Madam Tulip #1
on April 3rd 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 308
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Suspense, mystery, action, a little romance and lots of laughs
Out-of-work actress Derry O'Donnell is talented, professional, just a little psychic... and broke. Spurred on by an ultimatum from her awesomely high-achieving mother, Derry embarks on a part-time career as Madame Tulip, fortune teller to the rich and famous. But at her first fortune-telling gig - a celebrity charity weekend in a luxurious castle - a famous rap artist mysteriously dies.
As Derry is drawn deeper into a seedy world of fashion, millionaires, horses and cocaine, she must race to save her best friend from jail and a supermodel from being murdered. Her efforts threaten to destroy her friends, her ex-lover, her father and herself.
Fans of humorous mystery writers Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen will love Madam Tulip.
Madame Tulip is the first in a series of thrilling and hilarious Tulip adventures in which Derry O’Donnell, celebrity fortune-teller and reluctant amateur detective, plays the most exciting and perilous roles of her acting life, drinks borage tea, and fails to understand her parents.

My take on this book:              Wow! Madam Tulip by David Ahern is such a great read. From the moment I started reading the plot summary of this book in an email sent to me by the author I was hooked. This book was most definitely an awesome read for anyone that is into books like this one. This is a book that is funny, has a touch of romance, paranormal/supernatural points, and mystery.

What I liked about this book was not only because it’s different from what I normally read and it’s also refreshing and delightful. Derry O’Donnell had to find a way to stay in Ireland to do her acting career while her mom wants her to be more of an adult. Apparently, Derry is more like her father than what her mom thinks most of the time. The book kept me entertained which is something that I always like about a book. That is to be entertained and feel like I’m experiencing everything that the writer is saying with the characters while it was being written.

There wasn’t much I didn’t like about this book. Some of the words didn’t make any sense to me but then again it is written by a Scottish/Ireland writer so that right there can happen. Thankfully though that didn’t put me off with this book and I was still able to stay connected within the book while I looked it up.

Madam Tulip by David Ahern is an awesome book and I believe the next two books will be just as wonderful as this first one is. I am giving this book a five stars rating. I am also going to be recommending this book to anyone that likes books in these genres.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Where to find this book **

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About David Ahern

David Ahern grew up in a theatrical family in Ireland but ran away to Scotland to become a research psychologist and sensible person. He earned his doctorate and taught in major Universities but could never explain to his granny why he didn’t own a stethoscope.

Finding the challenge of pretending to know things exhausting, David Ahern shaved off his beard and absconded once more, this time to work in television. He became a writer, director, and producer, creating international documentary series and winning numerous awards, none of which got him free into nightclubs.

For no particular reason, David Ahern took to writing fiction. Madame Tulip wasn’t his first novel, but writing it was the most fun he’d ever had with a computer. The second in the Madam Tulip series, Madam Tulip and the Knave of Hearts, was published in autumn 2016. He is now writing the third Madam Tulip adventure and enjoys pretending this is actual work.

David Ahern lives in the beautiful West of Ireland with his wife, two cats and a vegetable garden of which he is inordinately proud.


Going Back by Jennifer Young

Posted October 23, 2016 by karenbaron in Fiction, New Adult Fiction, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Going Back by Jennifer YoungGoing Back by Jennifer Young
Series: Lake Garda #2
Published by Smashwords Edition on April 20th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Feisty, redheaded, and fabulously rich student, Leona Castellano, is set upon returning to her Italian roots to put an old feud to bed. Her grandfather is dead, but his former enemy, Faustino Manfredi, seems determined the hostility should not die with him and turns his fury upon Leona.
When she becomes close to Faustino’s grandson, Nico, their romance strengthens Faustino’s vendetta and attracts the opposition of Leona’s parents, bringing Leona and Nico face to face with a terrible secret.

My take on this book:              Going Back by Jennifer Young is such a great book. I know it’s the second book in a series and even without reading the first book you get with what happened from the last book immediately.

This book was very interesting especially after you get to know the characters better. There was a lot of surprises here and there throughout, some that I either enjoyed or hated. The characters all seemed like they were real people for me and I was along for the ride on their emotions, fears, and other things that came up within the novel.

Just like any other review, there are somethings of the book that I didn’t enjoy. I had to reread a little bit of the first few chapters to be able to get an understanding of which point of view we were in for a chapter. We went from Leona’s, Nico’s, and lastly that of Alexandra for the three different point of views. Other than that I only hated one guy, Faustino. He was a cranky old dude, that was living in the past but I also kind of got with where he was coming from. I felt sorry for him at the end.

I love this book and I am giving it five stars despite my rocky start with the chapter changes along with the time it took me to finish reading this book. I will recommend this book to anyone that likes revised version of Romeo and Juliet, along with wonderful characters, and romances kindling between a lot of different people. If you like that then this book is for you. This is also my first New Adult book and I am glad that I was asked to read this book.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

** Where to find this book **

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Jennifer Young

Jennifer Young is an Edinurgh-based writer, editor and copywriter. She is interested in a wide range of subjects and writing media, perhaps reflecting the fact that she has both arts and science degrees. Jennifer has been writing fiction, including romantic fiction, for a number of years with several short stories already published. Thanks You For The Music, which is set on the Balearic island of Majorca, is her first published novel.


A Bargain in Silver

Posted October 22, 2016 by karenbaron in Dystopia, Paranormal, Review, Series, Vampires / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Bargain in SilverA Bargain in Silver by Josie Jaffrey
Series: Solis Invicti #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on January 3, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

If the price of safety is slavery, would you bargain your life? A deadly infection threatens to wipe out humanity. The only people who can stem its advance are the Silver, a vampiric race who offer a simple exchange: protection in return for blood and subservience. It's not a deal that Emmy's willing to make, but as her world burns around her she finds herself in the arms of the enemy and the line between oppressor and saviour begins to blur. After an attack by the infected, Emmy is rescued by the handsome Drew who introduces her to the world of the Silver. Desperate to escape subjugation and confused by her attraction to him, she gathers what remains of her surrogate family and plans to make a break for freedom. But despite her efforts to resist, she is drawn further into the intrigues of the mysterious Silver through the agency of their ruler, the Primus: Solomon. Emmy refuses to submit to the cold and detached Primus and an attempt on her life makes it clear that he is unable to protect her from the political machinations of his race. As the connection between them deepens she must choose between her desire and her will to rebel, but can she trust his intentions when everyone is after her blood?

My Thoughts:   Does it matter if he is a vampire if he has a good heart?

I absolutely loved this book. I had the hardest time putting it down. I think I may have even growled at my family when they interrupted me. I was so worried about Emmy and her friends, that I couldn’t get them off my mind.

Emmy, for the most part, is your normal average girl. She wants to be part of a family and enjoy life. She gave up her life when her boyfriend disappeared, and move to London to start again. She gets a job as a bartender and gains a bunch of friends who become her family. Then the infection begins and she meets Drew. She is instantly drawn to him, even though she questions their connection constantly. She even allows someone she doesn’t really know to influence her perception of Drew.

Drew, who is second in command of the Solis Invicti, is kind in his own way. He is set in the fact that life is changing on earth and he will be one of those who will help make people comfortable and readjust to the new ways. He seems to try very hard to play within the rules that the Primus has set. Then he meets Emmy and instantly falls for her. Drew, however, knows of the consequences of loving her and wants to make sure that she has her complete free will to make the choice to love him back. He seems very noble. Can a vampire be good? He was born a vampire so perhaps it is possible.

There must be something about Emmy that is special, something unseen by most. Emmy catches the attention of Drew immediately, but also Solomon, who is in charge of the Silver and apparently the world as it is now known. They are both drawn to her even though she has a smart mouth and refuses to be their slave.

Since the story is told from Emmy’s point a view, there are secrets that she feels but is uncertain what they are. The Silver have quite a lot of superstitions and ways that are unknown to humans. Honestly, they must have had this planned for a while, at least by one faction or another. Humans didn’t know that they existed and were completely caught off guard.

My rating is 5 stars. I completely loved this book. I am so recommending this to my friends as I know they would enjoy it too.

**Where to find A Bargain in Sliver **

** Goodreads **

This book was given to the Baroness Book Trove for an honest review.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Josie Jaffrey

I have always written stories, but it wasn’t until I started the first book in the Solis Invicti series in 2014 that I really became obsessed with writing. I love to read, particularly where the escapism of the story is enhanced with an element of fantasy or science fiction. For me, writing is simply an extension of that journey, but I get to decide what happens next (though it’s amazing how often the characters seem to decide for themselves what I’m going to write!).

I grew up in the English countryside and studied Classics at the University of Oxford, subsequently converting to law. After a year working in London in Paternoster Square (where the majority of the Solis Invicti series is set), I returned to Oxford where I still live with my husband and two somali cats. When I’m not writing, I work as a solicitor specializing in Intellectual Property and Commercial law.

As a new author, I love to hear from readers with their comments and feedback on the books, so please do get in touch through the website or via Twitter.

Thank you for reading!


The Becoming by William Truax III

Posted October 22, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Angels, Fantasy, Fiction, Greek Mythology, Mythology, Novella, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Witches / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Becoming by William Truax IIIThe Becoming by William L. Truax III
Series: Angel/Witch Saga #1
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on September 25th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 204
Format: Kindle
three-stars

Just one day after Cameron leaves her job, Francis takes Cameron to meet Dean, (a charming, sophisticated and successful young man) her employer and friend. She is offered a position at his company where Francis works. Cameron is thrilled and accepts the position without hesitation. Read what happens when these two friends discover their true paths as they venture into endeavors with some unforeseen allies. Their goal is to stop an ancient evil who is hell bent on destroying Heaven and taking God's Throne!

My take on this book:              The Becoming by William Truax III is unlike what I thought it would be. I had a completely different version of the book from the synopsis to what the book actually is.

The book is in two different point-of-views. The first point-of-view is of Cameron and she is, unknowingly to her, a witch. The second point-of-view is of Sam and he is, unknowingly also an angel or at least part of an angel.

Cameron is a believable character that is trying to get a job and support herself. Which she does with the help of her friend, Francis.  Cameron finds out about her being a witch and that her main powers are with electricity and lightning. To me, those two powers sound so awesome. I also think that these powers totally fit Cameron. Cameron will isn’t as strong as I would think someone of her power should be. It is almost like she goes under a spell and loses herself in him.

Sam is living on his own despite his mom having a key to his apartment. He works at Walmart and has made recent changes to his lifestyle. Sam is a believable character. At first, his mother was very overprotective of him but then she seems to allow him to become an adult. The mother-son relationship between the two was totally sweet, I could totally picture it. He didn’t really know about himself being an Angel until he went to get his girlfriend back from the people that took her away.

The book overall was good. I truly like the concept. Although, the beginning of the book was slow and kind of hard for me to get into. Once  I got to the middle of the book, it was fast-paced and I liked it more. However, I found the gaps of time that weren’t explained well, due to the deep point of view that author maintains. I also found that I had a lot of unanswered questions after reading the book. These unanswered questions had to do with things that I didn’t understand in the book and with why certain things happened when it contradicted with what the character was thinking/doing in the first half of the book. The gaps in time really bothered the flow of the story. I figured these might be answered within the other books of the series.

The Becoming by William Truax III is overall a good book but not exactly what I thought it would be. I am giving it a three stars rating due to the time gaps and the unanswered questions. I think that the author really has a way with keeping with the point of view which is good. But I would like to see a better switch and less confusion when going from Cameron to Sam. I feel that this author will continue to grow as a writer. Please give it a try as if you like mythology you may understand it better than I did.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find The Becoming**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

three-stars

About William L. Truax III

William L. Truax III is a father of 2, an 11-year-old girl and an 8-year-old boy. His wife, Tiffany, and himself have been together now for the last 12 years and going strong. He works full time for Xerox and he, of course, writes. He resides in Marianna, Florida with his family. In 2006 to 2007 he served in the United States Military Corps and was sent home due to injury, since then he has been taken care of by the Veteran’s Affairs.


One Person’s Craziness by R.T. Ojas

Posted October 13, 2016 by karenbaron in Adventure, Aliens, Fantasy, Mystery, Novella, Review, Time Travel / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Person’s Craziness by R.T. OjasOne Person's Craziness by R.T. Ojas
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on February 6th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 102
Format: Kindle
three-half-stars

Amoli is a mysterious man with an even more mysterious past. During a recorded session with a psychiatrist, he reveals his perplexing story about survival, hope, ancient civilizations, and cosmic adventures.

My Thoughts:          Could this be what happened to the old civilizations?

I have to say that this isn’t really the type of book that I normally read. However, I was most intrigued by the book’s description. The book is a novella and a really quick read.

The book starts out a little on the slow side but kept me interested throughout Amoli’s adventure. I enjoyed the historical references and the not-so-historical parts of the story. I sort of pictured them somewhere like Easter Island.

I liked Amoli’s character. He had a little comedian in him, yet he tried to be tough even when he was scared.  I was really hoping that he would find Azanita and she would return his feelings. The alien part of the story was acceptable. Scully and Molder would have enjoyed this interview. I can imagine that they would have had so many questions. The ending was probably the greatest part. I won’t spoil it, but I didn’t see it coming.

My rating is 3.5 stars. I really liked the book but thought there could have been a little more to the adventure. I think that Mr. Ojas will only become better and better as a writer and I look forward to reading more of his works.

**Where to find One Person’s Craziness**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

three-half-stars

About R.T. Ojas

Software Engineer at day. Writer at Night.


The Odd Fellows Society by CG Barrett

Posted September 20, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Fiction, Mystery, Read-a-thon, Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Odd Fellows Society by CG BarrettThe Odd Fellows Society on November 12th 2015
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 334
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Santiago Torres, the Jesuit headmaster of one of Washington, D.C.'s top high schools, knows two truths. First, historian Jasper Willoughs, his closest friend, didn't toss himself off a dormitory roof. Second, a Georgetown University secret society-a running joke on campus-has blood on its hands. Torres's pursuit of the truth embroils him in a bizarre and deadly scavenger hunt. The clues, scratched out on parchment by the mysterious Odd Fellows Society, lead Santi to risk everything he holds sacred: his job, his life, even the woman he secretly loves. As for his relationship with his God? Well, that's complicated. A hold-your-breath thriller that explores America's national obsession with race, The Odd Fellows Society will have you looking at the U.S. capital-and its monuments' secrets-in a whole different shade of black and white. Note: While this novel's protagonist is a Jesuit, this book is not a religious book.

My take on this novel:             The Odd Fellows Society by C.G. Barrett took me on a surprisingly good mystery that made me want to keep on reading. I was hooked from the email that the author sent me and the plot. Although, the life of a book blogger sometimes means I need to wait to read a book as I I have other commitments. Once I opened the book on my kindle fire I was once again reminded why I wanted to read it.

The Odd Fellows Society reminded me of a mixture of two great series. The first one is Dan Brown’s books with Robert Langdon, with the church and the teaching/history of the priesthood. The second one is National Treasure for the clues of using some pieces of our history, the baddies, and the history as well. I love both of these series. As I reading this book it reminded me of those two series which prompted me to read more to discover what happens next every single time.

I was instantly mesmerized with this novel. I wanted to know what happened next and what the clues meant. I was surprised in a few areas of the books as I didn’t expect what happened (such great plot shifts). Overall, this book caught me off guard and exceeded my expectations. That is always a good thing. This book is also not like one that I normally read. I try to stay away from ones that deal with religion. Unless the plot is really something, like this book and the Robert Langdon ones as well.

I am giving this book five stars as it is an outstanding read that I am glad I took the chance on. The characters are all perfectly developed and some plots twist I completely didn’t expect. The mystery was superb. I would and will recommend this really awesome book to anyone who loves a good mystery.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

“ Where to find The Odd Fellows Society**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About CG Barrett

A native of Northeast Pennsylvania, C.G. Barrett received a B.A. from Johns Hopkins University and a M.A. from George Mason University.

A former teacher and student of history, Barrett currently serves as publisher of a Tampa newsmagazine. His humor writing about life as a parent has appeared in over a dozen parenting magazines throughout the United States.

Barrett’s popular novels have included both young adult and adult fiction in the genres of fantasy and mystery. His love of mythology, fairy tales, history and politics is evident in his fiction, which frequently explores spirituality, family and identity in a rapidly changing world.

Barrett lives with his wife, his three daughters and his two Shetland Sheepdogs in Tampa, Florida.


The Death of Anyone by DJ Swykert

Posted September 8, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Crime, Death, Fiction, Murder, Mystery, Review, Urban / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Death of Anyone by DJ SwykertThe Death of Anyone by D.J. Swykert
on February 25th 2013
Genres: Crime, Fiction, Mystery
Pages: 221
Format: Kindle
four-stars

Detroit homicide Detective Bonnie Benham has been transferred from narcotics for using more than arresting and is working the case of the killer of adolescent girls. CSI collects DNA evidence from the scene of the latest victim, which has not been detected on the other victims. But no suspect turns up in the FBI database. Due to the notoriety of the crimes a task force is put together with Bonnie as the lead detective, and she implores the D.A. to authorize an as yet unapproved type of a DNA Search in an effort to identify the killer. Homicide Detective Neil Jensen, with his own history of drug and alcohol problems, understands Bonnie’s frailty and the two detectives become inseparable as they track this killer of children.

My take on the book:               Great. The Death of Anyone by DJ Swykert was different than with what I imagined it to be. I was reading it pretty faster than I did with most books. Mostly because I wanted to know who had killed the person at the beginning of the story.

The book was a good read but totally not what I imagined. By that I mean by the cussing and the whole thing that the characters’ kind of repeat themselves. They don’t do it often but when they do repeat themselves it makes me feel sad as it takes me out of the book. I had an idea about who the killer was and I was actually surprised that I was right about him.

The book is written in third-person point of view and it follows Bonnie. It also follows a few other people but mostly it’s Bonnie Benham. Mr. Swykert does follow the police procedure for the book and the lawyer stuff. Or at least I think so from what I’ve seen on TV shows. I know TV shows aren’t that reliable but that is what I only have for connections with the book.

Overall The Death of Anyone by DJ Swykert is a good book. Good enough to keep me guessing and thinking about the book. I am giving this book a four stars review.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find The Death of Anyone**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

Save

four-stars

About D.J. Swykert

DJ Swykert is a former 911 operator, and wolf expert, living in Northern Kentucky, USA. His short fiction and poetry has been published in: The Tampa Review, Monarch Review, Sand Canyon Review, Zodiac Review, Scissors and Spackle, spittoon, Barbaric Yawp and BULL.


New Corpse in Town by Lucy Quinn

Posted September 7, 2016 by karenbaron in Cozy, Mystery, Review, Rural, Series / 0 Comments

New Corpse in Town by Lucy QuinnNew Corpse In Town by Lucy Quinn
Series: Secret Seal Isle Mysteries #1
Published by Seaside Story Productions on July 13, 2016
Genres: Chick Lit, Women's Fiction
Pages: 166
Format: Kindle
four-stars

FBI agent Cookie James is enjoying her extended leave from the agency on Secret Seal Isle, managing her quaint inn and flirting with the oh-so sexy-handyman, Dylan Creed…until her sixty-year-old mother goes skinny dipping and is almost drowned by a corpse.

A phone call to the sheriff should mean the end of Cookie’s involvement, but when it’s clear the sheriff has no interest in the investigation, Cookie calls in reinforcements…her ex-partner Hunter O’Neil. Suddenly it’s like old times while the pair questions the residents of Secret Seal Isle. Except it’s not. Now she has both Hunter and Dylan vying for her attention, a wayward hippy mother, and a potential killer on the loose.

With her love life heating up, her mother lighting up, and all signs pointing to the most unlikely suspect, Cookie does the only thing she knows to do—focus on solving the case.

My Thoughts:          Scintillating new series.

Cookie James is fabulous. She seems to have it all together with her new life, B&B and good looks. Yet, she worries about her looks, which guy to date, her Mother and the corpse of an unknown man and you have this wonderful story.

Hunter is sweet on Cookie but he is like the forbidden fruit or is he? Cookie has always wanted him, but if she ever returns to the FBI she doesn’t want to sample that deliciousness. Dylan is a “local”. He is mysterious, and has these hidden talents and baggage, but he is also on the sweeter side. Should Cookie even try with this one?

Cookie’s Mom, Rain is the ultimate hippy. Cookie feels like she needs to constantly chaperon her. Rain does the craziest things.  She is a great cook and seems to run the B&B but don’t eat the brownies…

The mystery was good. The clues were there if you pay attention. I enjoyed the red herrings and that Rain found some of the biggest clues. I liked that even though she seems out of it, she has her head on.

My rating is 5 stars. I am definitely looking forward to the second installment Life in the Dead Lane. I truly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it.

**Where to find New Corpse in Town**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

four-stars

About Lucy Quinn

Lucy Quinn is the brainchild of New York Times bestselling author Deanna Chase and USA Today bestselling author Violet Vaughn. Having met over a decade ago in a lampwork bead forum, the pair were first what they like to call “show wives” as they traveled the country together, selling their handmade glass beads. So when they both started writing fiction, it seemed only natural for the two friends to pair up with their hilarious, laugh-out-loud, cozy mysteries. At least they think so. Now they travel the country, meeting up in various cities to plan each new Lucy Quinn book while giggling madly at themselves and the ridiculous situations they force on their characters. They very much hope you enjoy them as much as they do.

Deanna Chase is a native Californian, transplanted to the slower paced lifestyle of southeastern Louisiana. When she isn’t writing, she is often goofing off with her husband in New Orleans, playing with her two Shih Tzu dogs, or making glass beads.

Violet Vaughn lives in coastal New Hampshire where she spends most mornings in the woods with her dogs, summer at the ocean, and winters skiing in the mountains of Maine.