Format: Kindle

The Vampire’s True Love Trials

Posted May 31, 2017 by karenbaron in Berserkers, Cats, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Supernatural, Valkyrie, Vampires / 0 Comments

The Vampire’s True Love TrialsThe Vampire's True Love Trials by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls, #6.5
on 1/14/2017
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 55
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals in town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

Vampire Sebastian Ellingham wants one thing: to marry Tessa Blythe, the Valkyrie he’s fallen madly in love with. So meeting her parents seems like the natural thing to do. He’s even looking forward to it, until he discovers they’ve already found her a husband. Now the only way to keep Tessa in his life is to complete a series of tests meant for a very different kind of supernatural. And failing means losing her forever.

Proof that they are a team in love.

This novella The Vampire’s True Love Trials picks up the love story of Sebastian and Tessa. They have just finished testifying and the Vampire Council regarding Sebastian’s ex-wife, Evangeline. If you want to know more about that check out The Vampire’s Fake Fiancée.

Sebastian and Tessa are planning to stay in Europe for a short vacation when Tessa’s parents call. Now they are off to meet her parents in Paris. Tessa is nervous and Sebastian knows that this is important for their relationship. So, he is fine with it.

I have always loved the confidence that Sebastian puts out there. He seems like the perfect guy to bring home to meet Mom and Dad, except for the fang part. However, if your parents are a Berserker and Valkyrie maybe bringing a vampire home isn’t the easiest thing. Tessa just wants her parents to approve of Sebastian and her together.

Den is Tessa’s Dad and he is huge, just as you would think a Berserker would be. Den is a mixture of the traditional and the historical worlds. He seems like your typical over-protective father to me, with lots of grunting and super tight hand shaking.

Magna is Tessa’s Mom and she is a Valkyrie. She seems to love her daughters and really want them to be happy. I like Magna, she seemed sweet and yet has that don’t mess with me vibe. She is more compromising than Den but still believes that Sebastian needs to prove himself especially since Tessa didn’t tell them about him.

The True Love Trials are there for the Berserker to prove his ability to take care of and cherish the Valkyrie that he wants. Since Sebastian is a vampire, the trails don’t work in the same way. Or do they? I thought that the spark between Sebastian and Tessa worked great with this story, and we got to see how important the two have become to each other.

At the end, we find that Delaney has had her baby as Sebastian and Tessa stop by to visit at the hospital. I won’t spoil it, you will have to read it yourself to find out if the baby is a boy or girl.

My rating is 5 stars. I love this short story as much as the rest of the series. Kristin Painter has created a wonderful world full of exciting characters. I highly recommend this series, Nocturne Falls to all who read paranormal romance.

**Where to find The Vampire’s True Love Trials**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Chakana by W.E. Lawrence

Posted May 29, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fiction, Mystery, Review, Romance / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Chakana by W.E. LawrenceChakana by W.E. Lawrence
on January 4, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Romance
Pages: 347
Format: Kindle
five-stars

In 1940, before the start of World War II, James Fleming, the original British secret agent, races on a high-stakes chase to track down the ancient lost treasure of King Huascar of the Incas. He must recover it before the Nazis do or the whole world will be in imminent danger.

But this is no ordinary treasure hunt. The Incas have proven their cunning and intellect in not only how they hid their treasure, but how they protected it. Fleming joins forces in the remote ruins of Peru, South America with Kate Rhodes, a policewoman on leave from the United States, her archaeologist brother, Nick, and their college professor, Dr. Charlie. Together, they must decode, interpret the clues, and face the challenges of the Chakana on their hunt for the treasure.

If this wasn’t difficult enough, the group is hounded throughout their search of the ancient Sacred Valley by international artifact smugglers, familiar with the Chakana and working with the Nazis, who are determined to acquire the treasure to help finance their war effort. Intrigue, danger, suspense, action, adventure, and even romance abound in this brave band’s quest to save the free world.

My take on this book:              Chakana by W.E. Lawrence is a great book. I was so happy when this book hit the top of my TBR List to read it. Most definitely a cross between Indiana Jones and James Bond.

The main character of this book is Kate Rhodes.

What I like about Kate Rhodes is the fact that she’s the youngest kid in her family. She knows what she wants in life. By this, I mean that by the age of eighteen she knew that she wanted to be the first female Chief of Police but that kind of changes further into the book. What I also like about her is that she can hold her own in a fight or even with a gun which is needed as a police officer but even more with what she needs to do thanks to her brother. What I didn’t like about her is that when it comes to James Fleming, who I will introduce soon, is that she at times lets her emotions get the better of her. And we all know that can be used against her. Then again, none of us can help that happening, at least most of the time or who we fall in love with.

The secondary character of this book is James Fleming.

What I like about him is that he tries to protect Kate even if she doesn’t want him. He tries to honor her request but he can’t help the way he was raised and wants to protect her as best as he can. Another thing that I like about him is that he tries to hide his obvious affections for Kate Rhodes and focus on the Incan trails that they have to face along with not being captured. He also struggles with this a lot throughout the book. James struggles with not only his feelings for Kate but also doing what is right by contacting his boss and stopping the smugglers from getting the gold.

The antagonist of this book is obviously the international smuggler.

He’s named in the book but I want you to find out about him on your own and draw your own conclusions about him. All I have to say about him is that Mr. Lawrence is great at creating bad guys.

Chakana by W.E. Lawrence is a great book and one that I couldn’t put down once I started to read it. I am giving this book a five-star rating. I love Indiana Jones and James Bond and that this book was a great mix of the two even though none of the two characters, that are in the male and female lead roles, have anything to do with archeology much. This book does have some grammar and spelling mistakes but not enough that it takes me out of the book to wonder what the author meant. I am definitely recommending it to my readers of this blog. Well to my adult readers this book does have some sex scenes in it.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

five-stars

About W.E. Lawrence

W. E. Lawrence graduated in 1978 from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill with a BS in business administration. He has run a successful home health care supplies distributorship for the past twenty-three years.

Passionate about God, writing, reading, family, sports, politics, and America, Lawrence currently lives in Davidson, North Carolina, with his lovely wife and their two wonderful children.

W. E. Lawrence enjoys writing historical romance novels filled with action, adventure, and suspense. He published his debut novel Guardian of Paradise in October 2014.


Arctic Dawn by Karissa Laurel

Posted May 25, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mythology, Norse Mythology, Review, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Arctic Dawn by Karissa LaurelArctic Dawn by Karissa Laurel
Series: The Norse Chronicles #2
Series Rating: five-stars
on July 5th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction
Pages: 276
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Alone and exhausted after her month-long sojourn as a shooting star, Solina Mundy flees to southern California to lie low, recuperate, and plot a survival strategy. The one person she trusts to watch her back is her best friend, Skyla Ramirez. But Skyla has been missing for weeks.
The arrival of a dangerous stranger and the discovery of a legendary weapon of mass destruction forces Solina out of hiding and back into the fight for her life. Solina knows she won’t last long on her own. She must find out what happened to Skyla and unite her contentious allies if she hopes to track down this devastating weapon before her enemies use it to burn the world to ash.

My take on this book:              Arctic Dawn by Karissa Laurel is another great book. I was so glad to see the email from Ms. Laurel about reviewing this book as I wanted to know what Solina Mundy, Thorin, Val, Baldur, and Skyla were up to especially after the end of the first book. I also couldn’t wait to see what Helena had up her sleeves for Solina and the others.

The main character of this book is, of course, Solina Mundy. Solina is the one that we see the story through. It’s pretty amazing to see the way she sees the world especially now that she is thrust into learning the Norse legends are real. The book takes us to with where we find Solina is in hiding and trying to find her friend. Solina is still mostly the same girl from the first book but she is now wary of anyone that could turn her into Helena so that the second Ragnorak can start. What I like about Solina is that she is still the same but also being cautious and want to stay alive more so now than anything. I also like that she is aware of what she can do and she tries to make sure that everyone that knows about the Gods walking among them. She can take care of herself if needed and that she can be trusted to help in battle. What I dislike about Solina is that she sometimes does things without really thinking it all the way through. I know that is something that some people make quick decisions in real life but those decisions don’t have anything to do with getting captured by the person that wants to kill you to start another Ragnorak. What I also dislike about Solina is that she is letting something that happened in the past sway her away from Thorin.

The antagonist of the book is someone that no one would suspect. Well besides Helena. She had a pretty small role in this book. Helena is preparing for the war. What I like about Helena is that she is still has a lot of cards that haven’t been revealed to us yet and it’s pretty amazing that even after all these years that she hasn’t let anything slip. She is tight-lipped when speaking to the other gods, not allowing them to know about her plans for when she finds the new reincarnations of the Sun Goddess and the Moon God. What I dislike about Helena is that she is trying to recreate Ragnorak thinking it will be better if she is controlling it. Another thing that I dislike about Helena is that she is still trying to hurt Baldor and even more this time around. Especially when it comes to the reincarnations of his beloved soulmate.

Arctic Dawn by Karissa Laurel is an amazing book and a wonderful read. I will certainly recommend this book and the first book to anyone. This book actually has two plot twists in it. Or at least I would like to think of them as plot twists since I certainly didn’t see them coming. I am giving this book a five-star rating and I can’t wait to read the next book of this wonderful series.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

five-stars

About Karissa Laurel

Karissa Laurel has tried her hand at many things — cooking/catering, law, art — but writing makes her the happiest.

When she’s feeling brave, she’s on the slopes or riding off-road motorcycles with her guys. When she’s less adventuresome, she’s on the couch with her nose buried in a book.

She lives in North Carolina with her kid, husband, occasional in-law, and a hairy husky named Bonnie.


American’s Next Reality Star

Posted May 15, 2017 by karenbaron in Contemporary Romance, Review, Romance, Series / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

American’s Next Reality StarAmerica's Next Reality Star by Laura Heffernan
Series: Reality Star #1
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Lyrical Shine on March 7th 2017
Genres: Romance
Pages: 254
Format: Kindle
five-stars

SEEKING THE SMART ONE
Twenty-four-year-old Jen Reid had her life in good shape: an okay job, a tiny-cute Seattle apartment, and a great boyfriend almost ready to get serious. In a flash it all came apart. Single, unemployed, and holding an eviction notice, who has time to remember trying out for a reality show? Then the call comes, and Jen sees her chance to start over—by spending her summer on national TV.
Luckily The Fishbowl is all about puzzles and games, the kind of thing Jen would love even if she wasn’t desperate. The cast checks all the boxes: cheerful, quirky Birdie speaks in hashtags; vicious Ariana knows just how to pout for the cameras; and corn-fed “J-dawg” plays the cartoon villain of the house. Then there’s Justin, the green-eyed law student who always seems a breath away from kissing her. Is their attraction real, or a trick to get him closer to the $250,000 grand prize? Romance or showmance, suddenly Jen has a lot more to lose than a summer . . .

Reality TV in a book? What a great concept…

I felt like a binged watch an entire season of The Fishbowl. I have to say first the concept of the fish bowl house with all glass wall and such is totally amazing. The description that Jen gave of the kitchen sounded so cool. I am not sure what I thought of the couch tree though.

I could totally get on board with Jen. I loved her naiveté with men, her acknowledging her inner nerd and that she tries to be a good person. Jen is the all-American girl next door. I would so be calling in and voting for her, even with all the bad press on the outside of the Fishbowl.

Justin is a law student from Florida. He is nice, athletic, smart and a little competitive. He is also so polite and such a gentlemen. Jen and Justin make a cute couple. They really need to get over the trust issues that they each seem to have.

Then there is Ariana, wow, what do I say about her? Scheming, lying, cheating, jerk, well those are some options. I am sure there are more of the same but you should just read it yourself so you can dislike her too.

The concept of the book was great, I loved the story. It kind of gave you this look into the hidden side of reality television. I can’t imagine putting myself or my family through all that drama. However, everyone has their own thing. Oh and that ending was so great. Right out of the fairy tales. I love happy endings.

My rating is 5 stars. I loved this book. Thank you, Ms. Heffernan, for bringing reality tv to books. It is much more fun to read about it than I thought it would be. I personally don’t watch reality tv anymore but this book is awesome. I can’t wait to read the next one in the series, Sweet Reality.

**Where to find America’s Next Reality Star**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Laura Heffernan

Laura Heffernan is living proof that watching too much TV can pay off: AMERICA’S NEXT REALITY STAR, the first book in the REALITY STAR series, is coming from Kensington’s Lyrical Press in March 2017. When not watching total strangers participate in arranged marriages, drag racing queens, or cooking competitions, Laura enjoys travel, baking, board games, helping with writing contests, and seeking new experiences. She lives in the northeast with her amazing husband and two furry little beasts.

 Some of Laura’s favorite things include goat cheese, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Battlestar Galactica, the Oxford comma, and ice cream. Not all together. The best place to find her is usually on Twitter, where she spends far too much time tweeting about writing, Canadian chocolate, and reality TV. Follow her @LH_Writes or visit www.lauraheffernan.com for more information.


Indiana Belle by John A. Heldt

Posted February 21, 2017 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fiction, Review, Romance, Science Fiction, Series, Time Travel / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Indiana Belle by John A. HeldtIndiana Belle by John A. Heldt
Series: American Journey #3
Series Rating: five-stars
on April 14th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 406
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Providence, Rhode Island, 2017. When doctoral student Cameron Coelho, 28, opens a package from Indiana, he finds more than private papers that will help him with his dissertation. He finds a photograph of a beautiful society editor murdered in 1925 and clues to a century-old mystery. Within days, he meets Geoffrey Bell, the "time-travel professor," and begins an unlikely journey through the Roaring Twenties. Filled with history, romance, and intrigue, INDIANA BELLE follows a lonely soul on the adventure of a lifetime as he searches for love and answers in the age of Prohibition, flappers, and jazz.

My take on this book:              First off I am so terribly sorry for this very late review on this book. I am very glad once again for Mr. Heldt for asking me to read and review this book. This book has three different third person point of view chapters scattered throughout the book.

The main character is Cameron Coelho. He is a twenty-eight-year-old doctoral student who is working on his dissertation of the Mid-West during the Roaring Twenties. What I like about him is that despite being a very rich young man he acts like a normal college student trying to finish his degree. I also like how he tries to keep his promise to Geoffrey and himself. Cameron overall is a great and wonderful guy who tries to be a good person despite the trouble that finds him in 1925.

What I like about him is that despite being a very rich young man he acts like a normal college student trying to finish his degree. I also like how he tries to keep his promise to Geoffrey and himself. Cameron overall is a great and wonderful guy who tries to be a good person despite the trouble that finds him in 1925.

What I don’t like about Cameron Coelho is that he can be a bit too overprotective especially of Candice once they get together. I don’t know if you call this a dislike but I kind of found it strange that he fell in love with Candice without meeting her in person. This is truly a minor issue for this character, though, as Mr. Heldt has written him so well that he is very three dimensional in my honest opinion.

The second character is Candice Bell. She is a twenty-five-year-old society writer that lives in 1925 Evansville, Indiana. What I like about Miss Bell is that she has many sides to her that even we, the readers, don’t know all of them. We see her Mid-Western hospitality, the way that she acts as if she can do no wrong in front of her mother, along with how she acts tough when following a lead for a story, she is very stubborn when she is trying to do something that she knows is the right thing to do, and among many others. Candice Bell, in my humble opinion, is much like most women back then would have been. Reading about her is like being able to have a sneak peek into their lives back then. What else I liked about Candice is that she seemed to keep Cameron guessing since the first time they meet face to face.

What I like about Miss Bell is that she has many sides to her that even we, the readers, don’t know all of them. We see her Mid-Western hospitality, the way that she acts as if she can do no wrong in front of her mother, along with how she acts tough when following a lead for a story, she is very stubborn when she is trying to do something that she knows is the right thing to do, and among many others. Candice Bell, in my humble opinion, is much like most women back then would have been. Reading about her is like being able to have a sneak peek into their lives back then. What else I liked about Candice is that she seemed to keep Cameron guessing since the first time they meet face to face.

What I dislike about her is the fact that she was writing articles that were putting her in danger. I know that is something that she loves to do but I just can’t believe that she did that. She should have been thinking about might happen if she exposed these secrets, she might get herself into trouble. I also dislike that she couldn’t see who was one of the ringleaders, that she was trying to put away. Good thing that Cameron helped save her.

For the antagonist, I am still having a hard time deciding. At first, I thought it was time itself seeing as how Cameron is from the year 2017 while Candice is from 1925. Then I thought Geoffrey as I remembered that he told Cameron to not save Candice since she was supposed to die in 1925 so his great-great-great grandparents could meet. Seeing as Geoffrey is Candice’s cousin. However, what I liked about Geoffrey is that he is very cautious regarding information about his time machine and who he allowed to use it. I also liked how he willingly helped Cameron.

What I disliked is that he made Cameron promise him to not get involved with Candice. Another thing I disliked about him is that he wanted to be kept in the loop on almost everything that was going on with Cameron in Indiana.

What moved me about this story is Cameron’s determination to save Candice despite Geoffrey telling him not to. I totally loved the settings and the time travel. I felt like I was transported there through his words so I could be there with the characters. My favorite supporting character I think would have to be Geoffrey’s wife. Mostly because she is extremely observant and sees things that no one else does.

Indiana Belle by John A. Heldt is an amazing book. I am giving this book a five star rating since I couldn’t stop thinking about it at all. In my mind, Mr. Heldt is a fantastic writer that can take you to place you never imagined. I also like his way of time travel as it is different than what we are used to seeing/reading about. This is the second book by him that I have read and I can’t wait to read his other books.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads ** 

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About John A. Heldt

John A. Heldt is the author of the critically acclaimed Northwest Passage and American Journey series. The former reference librarian and award-winning sportswriter has loved getting subjects and verbs to agree since writing book reports on baseball heroes in grade school. A graduate of the University of Oregon and the University of Iowa, Heldt is an avid fisherman, sports fan, home brewer, and reader of thrillers and historical fiction.