Author: Veronica Roth

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Posted June 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Adventure, Dystopia, Fiction, Review, Romance, Science Fiction, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Allegiant by Veronica RothAllegiant by Veronica Roth
Series: Divergent #3
Series Rating: five-stars
on October 22nd 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 526
Format: Kindle
five-stars

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered - fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she's known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.
But Tris's new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningliess. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend to complexities of human nature - and of herself - while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.
Told from a riveting dual perspective, ALLEGIANT, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the DIVERGENT series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in DIVERGENT and INSURGENT.

My take on this book: CAUTION! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK YET. CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

I was sad that this series was ending and the ending of this book just planned sucked. Well I mean it didn’t suck but I was quite sad that Veronica did what she did with this book. This book just like the last two had me guessing and sucked in all the way through.

It also shows that just because you have the technology to control some human beings in a controlled environment that you shouldn’t do that because no matter what human beings always go back to the way that we were. Granted not all the times but most of the times yes. In this book we also see some things through Four’s eyes which I have to say is pretty entertaining. Tris and her brother Caleb learn more about their mother. Okay the part of their mother that she kept hidden from them since she couldn’t tell anyone about her being from the “outside” world and about her life even before that.

We also get to know more about what being a Divergent is really about. Everything about this book is pretty awesome and I say that it is such a good book that everyone should read if they have read the first two.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Veronica Roth

Veronica Roth is from a Chicago suburb. She studied creative writing at Northwestern University, and wrote DIVERGENT (Katherine Tegen Books, May 2011) and INSURGENT (May 2012). The third and final book in The Divergent Trilogy, ALLEGIANT, will come out on October 22, 2013. In the meantime she will spend endless hours browsing Wikipedia in her pajamas as she eats corn flakes. (Or some other kind of bland breakfast cereal.)


Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Posted June 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Adventure, Dystopia, Fiction, Review, Romance, Science Fiction, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Insurgent by Veronica RothInsurgent by Veronica Roth
Series: Divergent #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by HarperCollins Children's Books on May 1st 2012
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 525
Format: Kindle
five-stars

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.
Tris's initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.
New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth's much-anticipated second book of the dystopian DIVERGENT series is another intoxicating thrill ride of a story, rich with hallmark twists, heartbreaks, romance, and powerful insights about human nature.

My take on this book: CAUTION! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK YET. CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

This book, like the first one, is a good book. Or at least I would like to think so. Then again if I don’t like a book I will stop reading it and not read any more of it. Unless I am close to the end of it and then I would finish it just because I need to find out what the ending was. But with this one I didn’t have this problem.

Insurgent starts off with Tris, Four and the rest of them on their way to the outside so that they could stay with Amity. I know that Tris ends up going all around Chicago and the end of the book was such a big shocker for me. I mean I wouldn’t really think of it happening the way it did. But then again the ending was good.

Though if you liked Jeanine then you probably wouldn’t like the ending of the book. The other person I didn’t really like would be Four’s mother because for one she is supposed to be dead but we learned that she wasn’t since she had to fake her death just to get away from her abusive husband. Though that I get. What I didn’t get was why didn’t she take Tobias, who is Four, with her? I mean that wouldn’t have been a selfish thing to do. But then again he would have been in the factionless and wouldn’t have gotten where he is now.

Another thing I disliked was how Four didn’t trust Tris’s judgement on his father, who is an evil person, but if he knows something about the outside world then why not find out what it is. We find out that one of Tris’s ancestor’s on her dad’s side came into Chicago, well besides her mom, from the outside world and that whenever they had enough Divergent people to send them out. Thankfully they found that out after Jeanine was dead from Tris killing her. She didn’t know what to think about that discovery. Since that was a big shocker for everyone in the compound to find out the truth about the Divergent. Well unless they were Erudite people like Tris’s brother. Even if he didn’t know about that being one of his ancestor’s. The only thing he knew was that they wouldn’t allow the Divergent people to leave because they have no clue what the outside world really looks like or if they even need help any more

This book was such a good one that it had me guessing the whole time I was reading it. Which is something that I love about some books.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Veronica Roth

Veronica Roth is from a Chicago suburb. She studied creative writing at Northwestern University, and wrote DIVERGENT (Katherine Tegen Books, May 2011) and INSURGENT (May 2012). The third and final book in The Divergent Trilogy, ALLEGIANT, will come out on October 22, 2013. In the meantime she will spend endless hours browsing Wikipedia in her pajamas as she eats corn flakes. (Or some other kind of bland breakfast cereal.)


Divergent by Veronica Roth

Posted June 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Adventure, Dystopia, Fiction, Review, Romance, Series, Teen, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Divergent by Veronica RothDivergent by Veronica Roth
Series: Divergent #1
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on February 28th 2012
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 487
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Paperback features over fifty pages of bonus materials, including a sneak peek of Insurgent, an author Q&A, a discussion guide, a Divergent playlist, faction manifestos, and more!
In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.
Veronica Roth is the New York Times bestselling author of Divergent, the first in a trilogy of dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.

My take on the book: CAUTION! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK YET. CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

I heard about this series, before the movie came out, but I never really thought much about reading the series. I never read the plot I just heard from a bunch of people, with different opinions on it, that the series was good and that the series was bad. I decided that after I was done reading the Hunger Games, a couple of years ago, that I would read this book series to see what the hype was all about it.

I actually get with why the author took a while to get up to the “main event” of the book towards the end of it because she wanted to get us, the readers, into Beatrice’s world and see how their lives are totally different from ours in the here and now. I actually liked it since throughout the Dauntless initiations we see Beatrice totally change from the way that she was raised to be like what the Dauntless people would be like. It was a pretty good change to me.

Toward the end of it though I was quite sad and I had to stop reading after, the first time, when Beatrice’s mom got killed and, the second time, then again when Beatrice’s dad got killed as well. Those two were like the saddest parts but I know that the author must have had a good reason to do it. Overall this book was a good one and I am happy to have read it finally.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Veronica Roth

Veronica Roth is from a Chicago suburb. She studied creative writing at Northwestern University, and wrote DIVERGENT (Katherine Tegen Books, May 2011) and INSURGENT (May 2012). The third and final book in The Divergent Trilogy, ALLEGIANT, will come out on October 22, 2013. In the meantime she will spend endless hours browsing Wikipedia in her pajamas as she eats corn flakes. (Or some other kind of bland breakfast cereal.)