Author: Rose Pressey

What the Hex? gp

Posted February 5, 2016 by karenbaron in Chick Lit, Cozy, Mystery, Paranormal Mystery, Review, Series, Witches / 0 Comments

What the Hex? gpWhat the Hex? by Rose Pressey
Series: Paranormal P.I. Mystery #1
Series Rating: five-stars
on December 21, 2015
Genres: Chick Lit, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance, Women's Fiction
Pages: 236
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Yesterday Cece Cash came dangerously close to stuffing Derek North into the trunk of her car and dumping his body in the Vegas desert. Then she snapped out of her daydream and realized he wasn’t worth the prison time.

As much as Cece hates to admit it, she needs Derek. Her old pal’s cash rescued her private investigation agency. Her witchcraft hadn’t been enough to save the business. Luckily for her, Derek has the money and she has the skills. Well, at least she thinks she has the skills. She’s still counting on the spell casting to help.

Now if she can just pay Derek back, she’ll send him packing to Savannah and get him out of her hair for good. Wisecracking and fun-loving Derek has other plans though. He enjoys being a part of the agency. Life is a party and he isn’t about to waste a minute of it. Why else would he come to Vegas?

What happens in Vegas doesn’t always stay in Vegas. Sometimes the shenanigans pop up in the middle of the desert in a burning car. A successful owner of a fitness club is suspected of murder and disappears right after the crime. Cece and Derek are hired to find the woman and uncover the truth about the homicide of a young fitness trainer. The stakes are high in Sin City for Cece and Derek. Will luck be on their side or will they lose it all?

My Thoughts: Murder and mayhem with a southern twist in Sin City! Super Cute!

Rose Pressey has another awesome series. I love Cece and her quirkiness. The accent, her “hobbies,” the coven, living at the retirement home, the whole package is fabulous. And Derek, he is so adorable, in a manly way of course. His blond hair, blue eyes, gorgeous smile and his ability to make Cece blush. I truly think he is in Vegas for other reasons then just to be a P.I., but we will let Cece figure that out on her own.

I love the murder-missing person aspect of the story. It is so true to see that even if you have the entire package, brains, beauty and a great body you don’t always have the personality and loving spirit to go with it. I truly liked that the people Cece and Derek interviewed were characters themselves.

I loved that Cece’s friends were her neighbors from the retirement community and that even though she isn’t of retirement age she is accepted and even feels part of the community. However the girl could get out a little bit more. The setting in Las Vegas is great. The Elvis and Marilyn Monroe impersonators competitions and performance, classic Rose – getting that Elvis in there. Loved it! Such a great little mystery.

My rating is 5 stars. I loved it and am looking forward to the 2nd installment of this series. I completely recommend this book! It is awesome, you never know what will happen next.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Rose Pressey

Rose Pressey is a USA TODAY bestselling author. She enjoys writing quirky and fun novels with a paranormal twist. The paranormal has always captured her interest. The thought of finding answers to the unexplained fascinates her.

When she’s not writing about werewolves, vampires and every other supernatural creature, she loves eating cupcakes with sprinkles, reading, spending time with family, and listening to oldies from the fifties.

Rose lives in the beautiful commonwealth of Kentucky with her husband, son and three sassy Chihuahuas.

Rose suffers from Psoriatic Arthritis and has knee replacements. She might just set the world record for joint replacements. She’s soon having her hips replaced, elbows, and at least one shoulder.


GP The Ghoul Next Door

Posted November 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghosts, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Urban, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

GP The Ghoul Next DoorThe Ghoul Next Door by Rose Pressey
Series: Larue Donavan #3
Series Rating: four-stars
on July 7, 2012
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 280
Format: Kindle
four-stars

Just when Larue Donavan, top-notch psychic medium and bookstore owner, thought she'd gotten a vacation from ghostly visitors, her ghoul friends are back. All she wants is to run her bookstore and help a few lost souls cross over into the light, but what she gets is black witchcraft, demons, and Elvis Presley. Oh wait, she likes the Elvis part.

A reality show is in town and wants Larue to join their team. She accepts the job, but gets more than she bargained for when, on the first day, she's thrown into a battle with dark forces. Larue has to deal with the demons lurking between this world and the next and even Elvis can't help her with this fight. This specter may not be out for the client after all. Instead, this demon is all over Larue like a bad rash.

The demon isn't the only one longing for someone, though. Larue's relationship with Callahan Weiss is in jeopardy when his ex-girlfriend arrives in town and decides to introduce herself to Larue via snail mail... not just once, but many times. This girl is definitely stalker material. She'll do anything to get to Callahan's heart.

When it seems as if things couldn't possibly get any worse, Larue, and everyone around her, realizes she isn't acting normal--even her eye color has changed. This demon may be playing tricks. Larue must use every bit of spiritual energy she can muster to save herself. If she doesn't outsmart the forces of evil, she may lose her sanity and possibly her soul.

Larue must banish this evil spirit back to hell with a little help from her ghoul friends... and Elvis.

My Thoughts: Wonderful story.

Larue and Callahan have a fabulous chemistry, but some people just don’t want them to be together. Then there is the coven, ghost busting, her book store and of course a demon. Can Larue be torn in any more directions? Perhaps, only the story teller knows and there are tons of red herrings, but at the actual climax is really very enlightening.

I truly enjoy the ghouls that are following her around. In this book she has celebrity ghost of Elvis, whom is related to her boyfriend Callahan. The other two ghosts are so annoying, but Larue has such strong patience that she can handle them. Larue is learning whom to ask for help and whom not to ask. That is such a hard lesson for all of us to learn. The greatest thing about Larue is her positive attitude. I find her resilience amazing. The only thing that puzzles me is her family’s lack of attendance in her life.

The sleepy little town of Magnolia is quite the supernatural mega center. Larue has yet to realize everything that is going on and around Magnolia. I think that she is known by all supernatural beings and they are introducing themselves to her, whether she wants to meet them or not.

Definitely a good read, I will be recommending it to my friends.

This is Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review a book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

four-stars

About Rose Pressey

Rose Pressey is a USA TODAY bestselling author. She enjoys writing quirky and fun novels with a paranormal twist. The paranormal has always captured her interest. The thought of finding answers to the unexplained fascinates her.

When she’s not writing about werewolves, vampires and every other supernatural creature, she loves eating cupcakes with sprinkles, reading, spending time with family, and listening to oldies from the fifties.

Rose lives in the beautiful commonwealth of Kentucky with her husband, son and three sassy Chihuahuas.

Rose suffers from Psoriatic Arthritis and has knee replacements. She might just set the world record for joint replacements. She’s soon having her hips replaced, elbows, and at least one shoulder.


GP Ghouls Night Out

Posted November 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghosts, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Urban, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

GP Ghouls Night OutGhouls Night Out by Rose Pressey
Series: Larue Donavan #2
Series Rating: four-stars
Published by Magical Press on September 27th 2011
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 261
Format: ebook
four-stars

Larue Donavan is a bookstore owner by day and psychic medium ghost buster by night. Just when she thought she’d gotten rid of the pesky ghosts following her, a new ghostly entourage has appeared. Her new group of ghoul friends includes a celebrity…the ghost of Mae West. And does Mae ever have dating advice for Larue!
When a stranger shows up in Magnolia, Kentucky, things take a turn for the worse. Larue’s new love interest, Callahan Weiss, barista extraordinaire, isn’t sure if Larue is interested in what he’s got brewing. Something weird is going on in town and Larue’s best friend, Mindy, is in danger.
Has a demon followed Larue home from an investigation? Is the new man in town to blame for the strange occurrences? Not only is Larue trying to save Mindy, but the coven leader wants Larue to use her new spellbinding talents and become a full-time witch. Larue’s not sure she’s ready for her new paranormal gift though.
If Larue doesn’t find the source of the evil soon, she may lose all she holds dear.

My Thoughts:        Great story, solid 2nd book in this series. I couldn’t put it down.

Larue just can’t catch a break. She and Callahan try to pick up where they left off by going out on a date. When Callahan comes to pick her up Larue meets his Grandfather’s ghost, Seth. Then she gets an urgent phone call and they run off to assist her friends with a ghost busting gone bad. So, Larue has her next set of ghouls and what a fun bunch they are, Mae West and the James-Dean-wanna-be.

Even though Larue’s tough exterior is in place and she tries so hard to keep her attitude positive, the best intentions can go astray when someone is out to steal your life. Larue loses her base of human friends and she almost waits too long to ask for assistance from new acquaintances.

Larue needs to trust her instincts and allow Callahan to help her. He clearly is not fazed by whatever she throws at him. I think they are a great couple.

I really like this series. I love the play between the ghosts and Larue when she is with humans and even without other humans around. She is such a smart, honest, friendly character. Magnolia sounds like a wonderful little town, if slightly filled with paranormal activity. I am recommending it to my friends.

This is Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review a book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

four-stars

About Rose Pressey

Rose Pressey is a USA TODAY bestselling author. She enjoys writing quirky and fun novels with a paranormal twist. The paranormal has always captured her interest. The thought of finding answers to the unexplained fascinates her.

When she’s not writing about werewolves, vampires and every other supernatural creature, she loves eating cupcakes with sprinkles, reading, spending time with family, and listening to oldies from the fifties.

Rose lives in the beautiful commonwealth of Kentucky with her husband, son and three sassy Chihuahuas.

Rose suffers from Psoriatic Arthritis and has knee replacements. She might just set the world record for joint replacements. She’s soon having her hips replaced, elbows, and at least one shoulder.


GP Me And My Ghoulfriends

Posted November 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghosts, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Urban, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

GP Me And My GhoulfriendsMe and My Ghoulfriends by Rose Pressey
Series: Larue Donavan #1
Series Rating: four-stars
Published by Magical Press on October 6th 2008
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 308
Format: ebook
four-stars

There's always fun to be had on a ghoul's night out. By day, Larue Donavan is a down-to-earth bookstore owner. But by night, she's a world-renowned psychic investigator dedicated to helping lost spirits find peace. Dead people won't leave her alone and Abraham Lincoln thinks he's in charge of her lovelife. Larue can handle ghosts and undead presidents. It's the living that drive her crazy. When Callahan Weiss moves to town, the handsome newcomer opens a coffee shop right next door. She's smitten from the start, but she's not the only one -- The boutique owner across the street has her eye on Callahan too, and uses witchcraft to fight dirty. When Callahan gets hit by a love spell, Larue will need more than a little help from her ghoul-friends to save the day..

My Thoughts:        Good story; definitely, one to recommend.

I like Larue, she has a great attitude and her occasional outbursts are comical. She handles ghosts and demons every day, but toss a little other paranormal activities her way and she starts doubting. I thought that was classic. Larue has a great sense of humor. Larue’s best friend Mindy is fantastic, she is there to back up and support Larue. Yet, Mindy drags her into funny situations too.

Larue and Callahan seem to hit it off immediately. The beginning of their love is cute and touching. Hopefully, trust will continue to grow between them.

The ghouls are a wonderful touch and add so much color to the story. I thought that Larue’s relationships with them were touching. Abe Lincoln…loved it.

I already have the next book in the series ready, really looking forward to reading it.

This is Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review a book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

four-stars

About Rose Pressey

Rose Pressey is a USA TODAY bestselling author. She enjoys writing quirky and fun novels with a paranormal twist. The paranormal has always captured her interest. The thought of finding answers to the unexplained fascinates her.

When she’s not writing about werewolves, vampires and every other supernatural creature, she loves eating cupcakes with sprinkles, reading, spending time with family, and listening to oldies from the fifties.

Rose lives in the beautiful commonwealth of Kentucky with her husband, son and three sassy Chihuahuas.

Rose suffers from Psoriatic Arthritis and has knee replacements. She might just set the world record for joint replacements. She’s soon having her hips replaced, elbows, and at least one shoulder.


GP These Haunts Are Made

Posted July 24, 2015 by karenbaron in Cozy, Ghosts, Murder, Review / 0 Comments

GP These Haunts Are MadeThese Haunts Are Made for Walking by Rose Pressey
Series: Haunted Tour Guide Mystery #1
Series Rating: five-stars
on September 22, 2014
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 219
Format: Kindle
five-stars

If ever a whole town could be haunted, Devil's Moon, Kentucky would be that town. Ripley Van Raden, or Rip as her friends call her, has come back to her hometown to start her own ghost tour business. That’s not her only career path though. Librarian by day, and ghost tour guide by night, Rip is ready to take on the ghosts following her around and the mysterious residents who show up for more than the tour in the Devil’s Moon Cemetery.

Her first day on the job as librarian, Ripley finds a dead body and a ghost who can only communicate through electronics. Who knew ghosts could send text messages? To make things even more complicated, Ripley meets a hot cop who happens to also be a ghost hunter. She doesn’t know if Brannon Landon is interested in helping her or just around for the paranormal activity.

When Rip discovers threatening notes between the pages of a novel, she must solve the library patron’s mysterious death before she unwillingly joins the other side of her haunted tour.

My Thoughts:       This book is easily five stars. I loved the quirky town of Devil’s Moon and the people of this small town.

Rip, returned to her hometown after she broke with her cheating boyfriend. I like that Rip is hurt but doesn’t let the baggage of the break up keep her from going about her life. She is effectively making her dreams come true with her Haunted Tours and being the head Librarian at the town Library.

Rip sees ghosts but doesn’t want to believe it at first. She is drawn to the paranormal as it seems a lot of people in Devil’s Moon are. After the death of a library patron Rip feels the need to find the murderer. She is assisted in this by her friend Tammy, Annie the first Librarian’s ghost and a few other specters. During the adventure Rip meets a handsome police officer…que the new love interest. Things get a little dicey at times, but Rip and Tammy figure it out whodunit and confront the culprit before another life is taken.

I really liked the characters. The story has the right amount of spookiness, mystery and a little flirtations. It’s the perfect cozy mystery, very nicely done, Ms. Pressey. I will definitely be recommending this one to my friends and reading the next book in the series: A Walk on the Haunted Side.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review a book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Rose Pressey

Rose Pressey is a USA TODAY bestselling author. She enjoys writing quirky and fun novels with a paranormal twist. The paranormal has always captured her interest. The thought of finding answers to the unexplained fascinates her.

When she’s not writing about werewolves, vampires and every other supernatural creature, she loves eating cupcakes with sprinkles, reading, spending time with family, and listening to oldies from the fifties.

Rose lives in the beautiful commonwealth of Kentucky with her husband, son and three sassy Chihuahuas.

Rose suffers from Psoriatic Arthritis and has knee replacements. She might just set the world record for joint replacements. She’s soon having her hips replaced, elbows, and at least one shoulder.