Author: Kristen Painter

The Vampire’s True Love Trials

Posted May 31, 2017 by karenbaron in Berserkers, Cats, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Supernatural, Valkyrie, Vampires / 0 Comments

The Vampire’s True Love TrialsThe Vampire's True Love Trials by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls, #6.5
on 1/14/2017
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 55
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals in town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

Vampire Sebastian Ellingham wants one thing: to marry Tessa Blythe, the Valkyrie he’s fallen madly in love with. So meeting her parents seems like the natural thing to do. He’s even looking forward to it, until he discovers they’ve already found her a husband. Now the only way to keep Tessa in his life is to complete a series of tests meant for a very different kind of supernatural. And failing means losing her forever.

Proof that they are a team in love.

This novella The Vampire’s True Love Trials picks up the love story of Sebastian and Tessa. They have just finished testifying and the Vampire Council regarding Sebastian’s ex-wife, Evangeline. If you want to know more about that check out The Vampire’s Fake Fiancée.

Sebastian and Tessa are planning to stay in Europe for a short vacation when Tessa’s parents call. Now they are off to meet her parents in Paris. Tessa is nervous and Sebastian knows that this is important for their relationship. So, he is fine with it.

I have always loved the confidence that Sebastian puts out there. He seems like the perfect guy to bring home to meet Mom and Dad, except for the fang part. However, if your parents are a Berserker and Valkyrie maybe bringing a vampire home isn’t the easiest thing. Tessa just wants her parents to approve of Sebastian and her together.

Den is Tessa’s Dad and he is huge, just as you would think a Berserker would be. Den is a mixture of the traditional and the historical worlds. He seems like your typical over-protective father to me, with lots of grunting and super tight hand shaking.

Magna is Tessa’s Mom and she is a Valkyrie. She seems to love her daughters and really want them to be happy. I like Magna, she seemed sweet and yet has that don’t mess with me vibe. She is more compromising than Den but still believes that Sebastian needs to prove himself especially since Tessa didn’t tell them about him.

The True Love Trials are there for the Berserker to prove his ability to take care of and cherish the Valkyrie that he wants. Since Sebastian is a vampire, the trails don’t work in the same way. Or do they? I thought that the spark between Sebastian and Tessa worked great with this story, and we got to see how important the two have become to each other.

At the end, we find that Delaney has had her baby as Sebastian and Tessa stop by to visit at the hospital. I won’t spoil it, you will have to read it yourself to find out if the baby is a boy or girl.

My rating is 5 stars. I love this short story as much as the rest of the series. Kristin Painter has created a wonderful world full of exciting characters. I highly recommend this series, Nocturne Falls to all who read paranormal romance.

**Where to find The Vampire’s True Love Trials**

** Goodreads **

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


The Shifter Romances the Writer

Posted June 18, 2016 by karenbaron in Fairies, Gargoyles, Ghosts, Nymphs, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Review, Rooks, Series, Shape Shifters, Supernatural, Valkyrie, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

The Shifter Romances the WriterThe Shifter Romances The Writer by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #6
Series Rating: five-stars
on May 24th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 364
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.
The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
For romance writer Roxy St. James, living in Nocturne Falls also means a fresh start. And as soon as her unbearable ex signs the divorce papers, that new beginning will be a reality. Unfortunately, her ex doesn’t seem ready to let her go and the subtle threats he’s been making leave her no choice but to confide in her oh-so-handsome neighbor, who just happens to be a deputy with the sheriff’s department.
But Officer Alex Cruz isn’t just the law. He’s also a panther shifter, a secret he’s sworn to keep (along with the truth about Nocturne Falls) from the very foxy Roxy. Humans aren’t supposed to know the town is filled with supernaturals. Then she starts seeing things she shouldn’t and thinks she’s losing her mind. His attraction—and concern—for her wars with the promise he’s made.
Will his truth be more than she can handle? Or will it cause her to write him out of her life?

My Thoughts: Holy Black Panthers!

We heard of Roxy St. James as she went to school with Delaney Ellingham. Roxy is a romance writer of the paranormal nature. She is hoping for a fresh start in Nocturne Falls, leaving behind all of the bad (her ex), only bringing the good with her (her corvette, writing and the essentials). She buys a beautiful home next door to one of the sheriff deputies, Alex Cruz. We have also met Alex quite a few times in the past books.

The two of them don’t start out on the best of terms but their attraction quickly turns that around. Alex is always the gentleman and Roxy is sweet, funny and learning to like herself again.

We get to see what the other residents of Nocturne Falls are up to. Delaney’s pregnancy is going forward.  Ivy Merrow is pregnant now, Shanna has hooked up with Alex’s brother Diego, and they moved in together. We also heard from the Valkyrie sisters, got to check in with Pandora. We also met a few other residents, like Agnes the book shop owner.

Kristin Painter really spins a wonderful story. Honestly, if Nocturne Falls were a real place I would move to Georgia to live there. If you haven’t already read this series check it out, it’s fabulous. I can’t praise it enough. My rating is 5 stars.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


The Vampire’s Valentine Surprise

Posted June 8, 2016 by karenbaron in Fairies, Fantasy, Gargoyles, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Rooks, Rural, Series, Shape Shifters, Short Stories, Supernatural, Valkyrie, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

The Vampire’s Valentine SurpriseThe Vampire's Valentine Surprise by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #5.5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Bayou Moon Press on February 8, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 44
Format: Kindle
five-stars

*A Nocturne Falls Short Story*

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.

The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

When Delaney Ellingham enters the Nocturne Falls Valentine’s Day Bake-Off, she has no idea that an old rival will create such havoc. Her husband, Hugh, and her friends all come to her aid, but even they can’t guess the surprise that lays in store…

My Thoughts:               Sweets and sweetness!

Delaney and Hugh Ellingham are from the first Nocturne Falls book The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride. I loved their story. This chance to take a look into where their romance and relationship is at and is going is wonderful. We see them the other books, but it is nice to see them front and center again. Delaney is such a nice vampire. She likes to take care of everyone. It’s lovely the way that Hugh adores her, is so protective and wants to make sure that he takes care of her.

I can’t tell you much about the book without telling you what the surprise is but if you read the first book, you will most definitely want to read this book. I really hope Kristen Painter follows through with this in the next book in the series. I am really looking forward to it.

My rating is 5 stars. I find this short story is incredible. What a wonderful Valentine’s surprise. I highly recommend this series.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Vampire’s Fake Fiancée

Posted March 13, 2016 by karenbaron in Cats, Fairies, Gargoyles, Ghosts, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Series, Shape Shifters, Supernatural, Urban, Valkyrie, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

Vampire’s Fake FiancéeThe Vampire’s Fake Fiancée by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on January 11th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
Sebastian Ellingham isn’t known for being a happy vampire. And when his long estranged wife comes to town expecting to pick up where they left off, things take a sharp turn toward cranky. Sure he’s been protecting her for centuries, but her assumption that he’s still available (he is) rankles.
His answer is to hire a woman to play his fiancée. The lucky victim is Tessa Blythe, sister of one of the town’s deputies, librarian in need of a job and, oh yes, reluctant Valkyrie. Playing along with Sebastian is all about the end game for her, the position of Dean of Library Studies at the local private academy.
When unexpected sparks fly between them, they agree to mutually deny the attraction. Fate, however, has other plans…

My Thoughts:         Love heals all wounds, even century old ones!

Sebastian Ellingham is the oldest of the three Ellingham Vampire Brothers. He is the recluse, stuffy, uptight and very lonely one. Some may even say he was untouchable, but then most don’t know him as he truly won’t allow anyone to get close to him.

Tessa Blythe older sister of the town’s deputy and Valkyrie. She has also lost her way in the world, set aside her heritage and found a different way to deal with the anger and the past. She is described as a mouse by many and allows it as a matter of fact.

Evangeline is a spoiled, self-serving, conniving, horrible Vampire. She wants what she wants and wants it now. She doesn’t care about the cost of the other person. She is as ugly on the inside as she is beautiful on the outside. Evangeline returns to Sebastian for reasons of her own, but it is clear they are for something and clearly not to reunite with Sebastian. She makes Sebastian lie and bring about the rouse of the engagement to save face in front of Evangeline.

Tessa isn’t keen on the act but understand and feels she should help protect Sebastian’s good name and wellbeing from being entangled with Evangeline again. Tessa and Sebastian are sweet together. They realize that they have much in common and start to enjoy each of others company. They are like kindred spirits. She helps him and he helps her. Evangeline never had a chance against love.

I truly love happy endings. I feel that a few things could have been wrapped up nicer, but I still adored the ending of the book. I like the combination of supernatural, lore, love, family, good vs evil that you find in Ms. Painter’s writings. She really has sucked me into this lovely world. If I could move to Nocturne Falls I would gladly drink the water and enjoy the wonder of living in a town that celebrates Halloween 365 days of the year.

My rating is 5 stars. I thoroughly enjoy reading these wonderful stories, filled with outstanding characters, funny, romantic and family-oriented plots. I love the series and highly recommend it, however not necessary, you’ll want to start with the first on The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride, if you haven’t already.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.


Werewolf’s Christmas Wish

Posted March 12, 2016 by karenbaron in Fantasy, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Rooks, Series, Short Stories, Supernatural, Urban, Valkyrie, Vampires, Werewolves, Witches / 0 Comments

Werewolf’s Christmas WishThe Werewolf's Christmas Wish by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #4.6
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Sugar Skull Books on February 23, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Kindle
five-stars

*A Nocturne Falls Short Story*

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

Bridget Merrow has almost everything a werewolf could wish for. And it's not that her awesome family and popular business aren't enough - she just wants someone to share it all with this Christmas. Too bad the someone she wants doesn't want her. Or does he?

My Thoughts:        Howling Hot Holiday!

I was so relieved. Bridget and Sam flirted with each other in the Werewolf Meets his Match, but circumstances caused them to drop the romance before it could begin. They clearly like each other. Bridget just couldn’t figure it out what Sam’s problem was.

Sam Kincaid, doesn’t have much and is starting over. He doesn’t feel that he can provide for Bridget in the way that he thinks (or her brothers have said) she should be. However, being locked in a walk-in refrigerator gave them plenty of time to talk it out. They seem to have worked out for the most part.

My rating is 5 stars. I find this short story exceptionally sweet. Christmas for the normal working werewolf may be not be normal for everyone, but Bridget and Sam know what they want. I highly recommend this series.

This is a Guest Review for Baroness’ Book Trove. Thank you for the opportunity to review this book for your site. ~Jen

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Kristen Painter

About the Author:

Kristen Painter likes to balance her obsessions with shoes and cats by making the lives of her characters miserable and surprising her readers with interesting twists. She currently writes award-winning paranormal romance and urban fantasy. The former college English teacher can often be found on the social media links below where she loves to interact with readers.