Author: Hilary Duff

Devoted by Hilary Duff

Posted September 20, 2015 by karenbaron in Chick Lit, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Teen, Womens Fiction, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Devoted by Hilary DuffDevoted by Hilary Duff, Elise Allen
Series: Elixir #2
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Simon & Schuster BFYR on October 11th 2011
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 350
Format: Hardcover
five-stars

When love is lost but never forgotten...
Clea Raymond found her soulmate in mysterious and handsome Sage, and discovered that they have loved each other through many past lives, all of which ended tragically. Clea wants nothing more than to prevent history from repeating itself and to be with her true love. But there are dark forces in the world: people who want to destroy Sage and the Elixir that makes him immortal.
Sage has been taken, yet Clea is certain he is still alive and will stop at nothing to find him. She turns to her friend Ben, and they enter into an uneasy alliance with Cursed Vengeance, an ancient faction that has information that can lead them to Sage. Clea must get to Sage before Cursed Vengeance does, or risk his death at their hands. But Ben's role in Sage's kidnapping - and in their past lives - leaves Clea questioning whether Ben can be counted on. Just when they get closest to their goal, the events around her make Clea wonder if she's really saving Sage... or if she's leading them to repeat their disastrous pasts all over again.
Devoted is the thrilling continuation of the heart-pounding series that began with the New York Times bestseller Elixir.

My take on this book: Wow this book was good. I got to say that I liked the first one a lot better than this one. I will give a four star rating. I mean I liked it don’t get me wrong but it just felt a little bit weird to me. I mean we have Sage missing and Clea is still looking for him but without Ben’s help because of what happened in the past.

I wasn’t entirely sure about the whole thing of having an immortal family in there. I mean yeah it helped with the plot I guess but it still didn’t make much sense with why we found out about them now. Why not in the first book? Oh well it’s still a good book. I am happy to say though that at least Clea and her mom seem to be getting a long a little bit better. Granted it doesn’t help that her mom moved her office to the family home so that she could be with Clea more but at least she is trying. Clea’s relationship with Ben has gone poof since we, and them, found out about how Clea, Ben and Sage are always stuck in this love triangle type of thing that they have been going through for five different lifetimes.

I’m not sure how Clea and Rayna’s relationship would be like in the next book since with what ended up happening. I feel bad though for Rayna since she finds someone that could be the one for her and something bad has to have happened to him.

I would totally recommend it if anyone asks me about it.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Hilary Duff

Hilary Erhard Duff is an American actress, pop singer-songwriter and entrepreneur. After gaining fame for playing the title role in the television show Lizzie McGuire, Duff went on to have a film career; her most commercially successful movies include Cheaper by the Dozen (2003), The Lizzie McGuire Movie (2003), and A Cinderella Story (2004).

Duff has expanded her repertoire into pop music, with four RIAA certified Platinum albums and over thirteen million albums sold worldwide. Her first studio album, Metamorphosis (2003), was certified triple platinum and she followed it up with two more platinum albums, Hilary Duff (2004) and Most Wanted (2005). Duff’s last studio album, Dignity, was released in April 2007 and was certified Gold in August 2007.

She has also launched a clothing line, “Stuff by Hilary Duff”, and two exclusive perfume collections with Elizabeth Arden. Duff and her mother were listed as producers for the movie Material Girls, As of April 2008, her upcoming films include the action thriller War, Inc., animated comedy Foodfight!, and independent films Greta and Safety Glass.


Elixir by Hilary Duff

Posted September 14, 2015 by karenbaron in Adventure, Chick Lit, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Teen, Womens Fiction, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Elixir by Hilary DuffElixir by Hilary Duff, Elise Allen
Series: Elixir #1
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on October 12th 2010
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 327
Format: Hardcover
five-stars

Clea Raymond has felt the glare of the spotlight her entire life. The daughter of a renowned surgeon and a prominent Washington DC politician, she has grown to be a talented photojournalist who takes refuge in a career that allows her to travel to the most exotic parts of the world. But after Clea’s father disappears while on a humanitarian mission, Clea’s photos begin to feature eerie, shadowy images of a strange and beautiful man—a man she has never seen before.
When fate brings Clea and this man together, she is stunned by the immediate and powerful connection she feels with him. As they grow closer, they are drawn deep into the mystery behind her father’s disappearance, and they discover the centuries old truth behind their intense bond. Torn by a dangerous love triangle and haunted by a powerful secret that holds their fates, together they race against time to unravel their pasts in order to save their lives—and their futures.

My take on this story: Wow all I have to say is that this book is awesome and a great read. I have to admit Hilary Duff is a pretty good writer. I felt like I was actually a part of Clea’s life throughout this whole book. The story that Hilary crafted with the help of Elise Allen is mesmerizing.

Clea is a talented photojournalist.  I felt sad for Clea whenever she talked about her dad. You can so see that Clea wants to be close to her mom but that she was closer to being a dad’s girl. This is especially noticeable in the way that she looks for what truly happened to her dad. She doesn’t really have that super close connection to either of her parents with them being gone most of the time. She is close to Rayna, her best friend, because they are both born on the same day and they live together on the same property that her parents own. The two are so close that they can tell when the other is lying to the other or when the other is upset. Rayna is the one that pushed her to follow her feelings between Ben, a guy that is a friend/bodyguard-type of person that her parents hired for her photojournalist trips, and the one that has been showing up in Clea’s pictures. Clea is a pretty stubborn person when it comes to certain parts of her life such as her photojournalist assignments, to getting her pictures taken, to her love life, and of course about her dad.

I am glad that I read this book finally (as it has been on my to read shelf for a while), to me it is worth ten stars as a rating, if I had a rating like that, but five stars rating works. If anyone asked me about this book for a recommendation I would tell them that the book was awesome and that they should give the book a try.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Hilary Duff

Hilary Erhard Duff is an American actress, pop singer-songwriter and entrepreneur. After gaining fame for playing the title role in the television show Lizzie McGuire, Duff went on to have a film career; her most commercially successful movies include Cheaper by the Dozen (2003), The Lizzie McGuire Movie (2003), and A Cinderella Story (2004).

Duff has expanded her repertoire into pop music, with four RIAA certified Platinum albums and over thirteen million albums sold worldwide. Her first studio album, Metamorphosis (2003), was certified triple platinum and she followed it up with two more platinum albums, Hilary Duff (2004) and Most Wanted (2005). Duff’s last studio album, Dignity, was released in April 2007 and was certified Gold in August 2007.

She has also launched a clothing line, “Stuff by Hilary Duff”, and two exclusive perfume collections with Elizabeth Arden. Duff and her mother were listed as producers for the movie Material Girls, As of April 2008, her upcoming films include the action thriller War, Inc., animated comedy Foodfight!, and independent films Greta and Safety Glass.