Author: Heather Blake

Gone With the Witch by Heather Blake

Posted June 15, 2016 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal People, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance, Rural, Series, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

Gone With the Witch by Heather BlakeGone With the Witch by Heather Blake
Series: A Wishcraft Mystery #6
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by NAL on May 3rd 2016
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 336
Format: Kindle
five-stars

The national bestselling author of Some Like It Witchy returns as wish-granting witch Darcy Merriweather is put to the test after murder takes first prize at a pet show. . . .  Darcy and her dog Missy are determined to put their best foot forward at the Enchanted Village’s annual Pawsitively Enchanted pet contest. She’s happy to lend a hand when the show’s organizer hires Darcy to keep an eye on things among growing suspicions that someone is sabotaging the event. But Darcy’s quest for justice is thrown off the scent when her lead suspect is found dead at the competition.   As if a murder weren’t bad enough, someone begins snatching up prize-winning pets right from under their owners’ noses. Darcy is determined to protect the pampered participants at whatever cost. But she’ll have to work fast to sniff out the thief before she becomes the next victim of a killer determined to stop her dead in her tracks...

My take on this book:              Gone With the Witch by Heather Blake was such an awesome book. It had me thinking of who the Elder could be, who murdered Natasha, who was stealing the animals from the contest, and a bunch of other questions.

This book starts off with Darcy taking the job for “As You Wish,” her business now and right off the bat Darcy has a bad feeling about this assignment. From the beginning of this book Darcy has been on a whirlwind of emotions about the case and about everything else around her.

I don’t really want to reveal too much about what happens in this book but it’s really good. I am happy to say that in this book we finally find out who the Elder is. I’m not going to say as the author doesn’t want anything like that to be spoiled for anyone that has yet to read the book. Happy guessing, unless you find the clues like a member of the Mystery, Inc. team.

I love the enchanted village that this series is set in. The town square where most things happen is so picturesque, the small town heart if you know what I mean. The shops and the characters that live there are so great.

I am happy to say that my rating for this book is five stars as it was that glamorous. Ms. Blake also has set up what might happen in the next book, The Witch and the Dead, which will be released in October of this year.  If you can’t wait for the next Wishcraft Mystery, check out Ms. Blake’s other series the Magic Potions Mysteries.

Anyways until the next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

Save

Save

five-stars

About Heather Blake

Heather Blake (aka Heather Webber) is the author of more than twenty novels and has been twice nominated for an Agatha Award. She’s a total homebody who loves to be close to her family, read, watch reality TV (especially cooking competition shows), drink too much coffee, crochet, bake (mostly cookies), and occasionally leave the house to travel to the beautiful mountains in the northeast. Heather grew up in a suburb of Boston, but currently she lives in the Cincinnati area with her family and is hard at work on her next book.


Some Like It Witchy by Heather Blake

Posted July 8, 2015 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Murder, Mystery, Paranormal, Review, Series, Supernatural, Urban, Witches / 0 Comments

Some Like It Witchy by Heather BlakeSome Like It Witchy by Heather Blake
Series: A Wishcraft Mystery #5
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by NAL on May 5th 2015
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 302
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Wishcrafter Darcy Merriweather can charm desires into reality, but as the national bestselling Wishcraft mysteries continue, she won’t be able to magically avoid trouble when death holds an open house….
The Enchanted Village is abuzz when the old Tavistock house finally goes up for sale. Darcy’s friend Curecrafter Cherise Goodwin is hoping she will have the winning bid on the home, but Darcy can’t shake the feeling that something bad is about to happen—and her magical instincts are usually right.
Sure enough, while Darcy and Cherise are looking at the property, they discover real estate agent Raina Gallagher stone-cold dead on the floor. Clutched in her hand is a gemstone amulet and, on the wall above her, a large red A. While Raina had no shortage of enemies, there’s also a dark legend about the house itself. To track down the killer, Darcy must unlock the secrets of both the deceased and the estate—and she’ll need to act fast, because revenge is a deal that never closes.…

My take on this book: CAUTION!! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ ANY SPOILERS PLEASE STOP READING NOW! IF YOU DO WANT TO READ SPOILERS CONTINUE ON! I WON’T ALWAYS HAVE SPOILERS THOUGH!!

This book has been one of those one where you want read it but you have had so much stuff happening that you couldn’t find the time. But I finally found the time last night and today and oh my god it was so good. Darcy has always been known in the last few books to always have something about the recently deceased always finding her and this is just another one of those times. Sure she doesn’t mean for herself to always find them but that’s just how it always has been for poor Darcy Merriweather.

There are a whole lot of suspects and this time I even had to write them all down so that I could keep track of them all. Not only that but once again I get sucked into trying to figure out who the Elder is just like Darcy is every time in these books. I love the idea of that maybe the Elder could be Darcy’s mom but now I’m not sure since of what happened at the end of this book. I’m hoping that we will be able to figure out who the Elder is.

With each new book though we get into the lives of these characters and we learn more about them. Like Calliope, Finn, Andreus, Dorothy, Glinda, and Aunt Ve. Those are just to name a few. With each new book though we get a little bit more of an understanding to them. Or at least I seem to think so. These books are one of my many favorites of books that I have read over the course of my life reading books. I knew that isn’t the case since I am only twenty-two years old and so I haven’t read that many books but I swear I have read quite a whole lot of books. I love Darcy and how she always seems to have a whole lot of stuff going on and lots of stuff to sort out in this new book. I think though at times my mom thinks that I am a lot like Darcy. Except I’m not a wishcrafter or anything like that.

Anyways until next time enjoy this book review brought to you by

Baroness’ Book Trove.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Heather Blake

Heather Blake (aka Heather Webber) is the author of more than twenty novels and has been twice nominated for an Agatha Award. She’s a total homebody who loves to be close to her family, read, watch reality TV (especially cooking competition shows), drink too much coffee, crochet, bake (mostly cookies), and occasionally leave the house to travel to the beautiful mountains in the northeast. Heather grew up in a suburb of Boston, but currently she lives in the Cincinnati area with her family and is hard at work on her next book.


The Goodbye Witch by Heather Blake

Posted June 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Review, Series, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

The Goodbye Witch by Heather BlakeThe Goodbye Witch by Heather Blake
Series: A Wishcraft Mystery #4
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by NAL on May 6th 2014
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 299
Format: Kindle
five-stars

As Enchanted Village’s resident Wishcrafter, Darcy Merriweather has the power to make other people’s wishes come true, but what she really wishes is that she had the power to uncloak the invisible man who’s stalking her best friend....   Darcy’s closest friend and fellow witch, Starla Sullivan, hoped she’d never see her ex-husband, Kyle, again. Two years ago he tried to kill her, and he has been a fugitive ever since. Now Starla claims to have seen him back in Enchanted Village, but it seems she’s the only one who can see him. To everyone else, her ex is invisible.   Darcy only wishes his motives were as transparent as the rest of him. Since the police can’t arrest someone they can’t see, it’s up to Darcy to find the secret behind Kyle’s latest disappearing act—before he does something they can’t see coming….

My take on this book: CAUTION! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK YET. CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

With this book I felt sorry for both Darcy and Starla. But more of Starla as she was the one that has only been seeing Kyle her ex-husband. Starla never knew about with why Kyle was acting the way he was when they were husband and wife since she wanted to get out of there.

The only reason Darcy decided to help Starla because she loves her best friend and she didn’t know what to think of what Starla was saying but she knew that if her friend said that she saw him then she believes her.

This book is a really good one and I love this book. I even more loved it at the end of the book when we find out what happened to one of the residents. It’s just so wonderful. I give this book five stars and it would be a good one as well. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series to see what else Darcy does to get into trouble.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Heather Blake

Heather Blake (aka Heather Webber) is the author of more than twenty novels and has been twice nominated for an Agatha Award. She’s a total homebody who loves to be close to her family, read, watch reality TV (especially cooking competition shows), drink too much coffee, crochet, bake (mostly cookies), and occasionally leave the house to travel to the beautiful mountains in the northeast. Heather grew up in a suburb of Boston, but currently she lives in the Cincinnati area with her family and is hard at work on her next book.


The Good, the Bad, and the Witchy

Posted June 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Review, Romance, Series, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

The Good, the Bad, and the WitchyThe Good, the Bad, and the Witchy by Heather Blake
Series: A Wishcraft Mystery #3
Series Rating: five-stars
Published by Signet on April 2nd 2013
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 320
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Darcy Merriweather is Enchanted Village’s newest resident Wishcrafter—a witch who can grant wishes for others. But as Darcy prepares a celebration for a magical florist, she discovers that every rose has its thorns… When magical florist Harriette Harkette decides to throw a lavish eightieth birthday party for herself, she hires Darcy’s Aunt Ve’s personal concierge service, As You Wish, to plan the soiree. But turning eighty isn’t all Harriette is celebrating—the Floracrafter has recently created the midnight black Witching Hour rose, the first all-natural rose of that color.
Darcy works hard on planning an extravagant celebration that will make Harriette feel like the belle of the ball. But when cake delivery boy Michael Healey—a former employee at Harriette’s greenhouse—is found dead, the celebration takes a turn. Now Michael’s ghost has imprinted on Darcy, meaning that they’re bonded until she can untangle the thicket surrounding his murder—and what exactly it has to do with the Witching Hour rose….  

My take on this book: CAUTION! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK YET. CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

With this book I felt sorry for Darcy as she was stuck with a ghost that wanted her to solve his murder so that someone will know about what was really going on.

Much like Heather’s other two books this one was such a good one that I couldn’t put it down for a while and when it was done I felt a little bit good but also sad. The reason for that is because I didn’t want it to end but then I remembered that she had another book out that I could read. I love these books though I am wondering with when Darcy will ever figure out that her dog is a familiar and that her Aunt Ve knew about it.

The other mystery that I am still curious about is who the Elder is. Since that is like a big one and it’s always something that I always want to figure out in every book I read of the Wishcrafter series. I give this book five stars and I love it.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Heather Blake

Heather Blake (aka Heather Webber) is the author of more than twenty novels and has been twice nominated for an Agatha Award. She’s a total homebody who loves to be close to her family, read, watch reality TV (especially cooking competition shows), drink too much coffee, crochet, bake (mostly cookies), and occasionally leave the house to travel to the beautiful mountains in the northeast. Heather grew up in a suburb of Boston, but currently she lives in the Cincinnati area with her family and is hard at work on her next book.


A Witch Before Dying by Heather Blake

Posted June 7, 2015 by karenbaron in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal Mystery, Review, Series, Witches, Womens Fiction / 0 Comments

A Witch Before Dying by Heather BlakeA Witch Before Dying by Heather Blake
Series: A Wishcraft Mystery #2
Series Rating: five-stars
on August 7, 2012
Genres: Cozy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Pages: 298
Format: Kindle
five-stars

When Darcy is hired by Elodie Keaton to clean up her missing mother’s disorderly home, the Wishcrafter is certainly up for the task. After all, the motto of her Aunt Ve’s personal concierge service As You Wish is “No Job Impossible.” But beneath the piles of old newspapers and knickknacks, Darcy discovers something much more disturbing: Patrice Keaton’s body.
Darcy’s determined to give Elodie peace of mind by investigating her mother’s disappearance and death. Patrice was last seen over a year ago after a fight with her Charmcrafter boyfriend. Was her murder a crime of passion? Or were Patrice’s troubles caused by the Anicula, a wish-granting amulet? Now Darcy has to find not only a killer but also the Anicula— before the power of ultimate wish fulfillment falls into the wrong hands…

My take on this book: CAUTION! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK YET. CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

This book is such a good one as well. The reason for this is because of the whole thing that just like the first one it seems like you are a detective as you go through everything that Darcy does as you try to figure out the killer. Plus who knew that someone who is a hoarder will have something that will help you grant wishes without having to go to a Wishcrafter.

With each new book we get new characters in the books and with each new character becomes a lot of new things. They are all very lovely and I love them very much. The reason for that is because with each new character there is a whole lot of new possible choices for them.

And with each new character new motives as well. Plus a killer that you would never think of before killed Patrice. It’s just so amazing how anyone could get wrapped up into a story that you swear are real. Just like this one. And I also give this book a five stars as well.

This Review was previously posted on my blogspot site which I will be closing soon.

**Where to find this book**

** Goodreads **

Save

five-stars

About Heather Blake

Heather Blake (aka Heather Webber) is the author of more than twenty novels and has been twice nominated for an Agatha Award. She’s a total homebody who loves to be close to her family, read, watch reality TV (especially cooking competition shows), drink too much coffee, crochet, bake (mostly cookies), and occasionally leave the house to travel to the beautiful mountains in the northeast. Heather grew up in a suburb of Boston, but currently she lives in the Cincinnati area with her family and is hard at work on her next book.